IL.

1.

IV

Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy
P.O. Box 12489

Jackson, MS 39236
December 14,2005 1:00 p.m.-4:00p.m.
Woolfolk Building Room 204
501 N. West St.

Jackson, Mississippi

Statutory Board Meeting Minutes
Call to Order:

The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy meeting was called to order
by Chairman, Lynn Cox at 1:09 p.m.

The following persons were present: The following persons were absent:
Gloria Waldrip W. R. Webb
Josie Dorman
Connie Shanks-Knight
Lynn Cox
Also present was Beverly Limbaugh of LBMS and Leyser Morris-Hayes for
the Attorney Generals Office.

Approval of minutes:

A motion was made by Gloria Waldrip that the November 16, 2005 minutes
be approved with minor changes in 2006 meeting schedule dates. The motion
was seconded by Connie Shanks-Knight and passed unanimously.

Report of Officers:

A. Chairman — Lynn Cox
Lynn recommended that the fee for Instructor License be increased from
$10.00 annually to $50.00 annually effective immediately. A motion was
made by Connie Shanks-Knight that the Board accepts the
recommendation made by Lynn Cox. The motion was seconded by Gloria
Waldrip and passed unanimously.

B. Secretary — Gloria Waldrip

New Business:

A. Introduction of Guests

B. A motion was made by Connie Shanks-Knight that the Board joins the
Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards for 1 year. The motion
was seconded by Gloria Waldrip and passed unanimously.



tools such as electrical hand massagers used adjunctively to the application of hand massage or
devices designed as t-bars or knobbies, and (iii) instruct self care and stress management.
“Manual” means by use of hand or body.

H. “Massage establishment” means a place of business where massage is being conducted.

L “Massage therapist” means a person who practices massage therapy.

1. «MPMTA” means the “Mississippi Professional Massage Therapy Act”

K. “Pre-act practitioner” means an individual who has practiced professional massage therapy before
January 1, 2001.

L. «professional” means requiring minimum standards of conduct, ethics and education.

M. “ Provisional permit” means a temporary certificate of registration approved by the board when all
requirements, other than re gistration examination, have been met and until the next registration
examination OCcurs.

CHAPTER 2

FEES:

201. Fee Schedule o _

A.  Application Packet Fee (or actual per page cost) if mailed e sreenenn 315,00

B, Application Fee for REGISITAtion ........coooiimiiirsimmmnrsniesss s $50.00

C. - Two year Renewal Fee PP PP PEPPERTPE PR REREES $192.00*

D. S T B Y L - T ——————— S $100.00

E. AdATO0A]L COTtIBCAE 1 vvenersarmsssnnsinsssbsebissvissmivmssassiommmmmsnmsmmrontens s4 a2 foens o $25.00

F. Replacement Certificate Fee or Certificate Renewal Fee ....ocvvavuieriieisincensiiinaininns $10.00

G. O e Te 1 L R $175.00

H. COE OF FHICS ..o vevruvnsmmsassessessssiorsssisssstssssscstinsnsssssasassamsassesssmsstamsmass sasmnssinas s sinsossssssaseasns $5.00

L PrOViSIONAl PEITIL +1e.vvvvverrsersssrinesssssiesinnnssna st s et $30.00

I Directory or Labels of Registered Massage TRELAPISE ..veveveerrerrimsmsnsesensssinmesssasase s sesescncs $50.00

K. Examination Fee (determined by NCTMB, etc.)

| Instructor Registration or Renewal T N TR e 5}9106 5} 51’) 00D

M. Instructor Registration or Renewal Late Fee ....coouevriiiriinrmniie e $100.00

N. Per Page Copying Fee (plus postage if mailed) .................. R RN RS $0.50

0. Continuing education provider biennial fEe ..o $100.00

P Continuing education program approval fee ... $50.00

Q. Aerrell TIACHE T wssswsnninacissmasssewniisasesssone s HAHS AT I e e s s $10.00

R. Mobile Therapist wallet $ize CertifiCate. ......coovrrriinrimmmimmrinirrrennnsen s $10.00

* Optional 1 year renewal available for the year 2005 only with $8.00 for each additional month from
June 2005 to the individuals’ anniversary of original issue.

202. Fines and Penalties

A. The Board shall establish reasonable and customary fines and penalties. Any violation of the Rules
and Regulations, or provisions of 73-67-1 through 73-67-39, shall be punishable by a fine of no
less than $25.00 or no more than$100.00 per occurrence unless otherwise set forth by rule or
statutory provision. Fine schedule for first offense: (includes but not limited to)

Working without a certificate of registration properly displayed - $25.00 to $100.00.

Working without a certificate of registration for that location - $25.00 - $100.00.

Working without a Code of Ethics properly displayed - $25.00 - 100.00.

Continuing to work with an expired Provisional Permit - $100.00 — $500.00.

Continuing to work with an expired certificate of registration - $100.00 - $500.00.
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