Chapter 9

Mississippi Criminal Information Center Policy: 9.001

9.001.01 Applicant Record Checks Policy

L

The Center currently processes a number of background checks by name and/or
fingerprints. Included below is a brief description of each check. A fee schedule,
provided in Section 9.0.1, summarizes the statutory authority, type and cost of check, and
contact person.

9.001.02 Billable Applicant Fingerprint Checks

2.

A memorandum of understanding must be executed between the Center and any state
agency authorized by state statute to submit fingerprint cards to the Center. State agencies
are provided fingerprint cards which are assigned to the agency based on an ORI
(originating agency identifier). An ORI is assigned by the Federal Bureau of
Investigation. The applicant/employee is fingerprinted on the card which is forwarded to
the Center for a state check. Upon completion of the state check, the card is forwarded
by the Center to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) for a nationwide check. Any
criminal background information is returned to the requesting state agency. The agency
will determine an applicant’s/employee’s fitness for employment. A fee is charged for
the check which the requesting entity pays to the CIC. The CIC forwards the appropriate
fees to the FBL

a. Alcoholic Beverage Control

1. The Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (ABC) is required to
conduct a criminal history check on each applicant for an alcoholic
beverage license and on the applicant’s key employees, as determined by
ABC. The applicant and applicant’s key employees are fingerprinted by a
local law enforcement agency on fingerprint cards by ABC. The
fingerprint cards are returned to ABC; ABC submits the fingerprint cards
to CIC. The fingerprint cards are checked against the Mississippi criminal
history system database and forwarded to the FBI for a national criminal
history record check. A fee of $32.00 is charged by the CIC to process a
record check based on the fingerprint card.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. Section 67-1-57.
b. Check Cashing Business
i, Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance is required to
submit a request for fingerprint checks for its check cashing applicants.

Banking provides the fingerprint cards to the applicant and submits the
applicant’s fingerprints to CIC. CIC checks the fingerprints against the



Mississippi criminal history system database and then forwards the
fingerprints to the FBI for a national criminal history records check. CIC
charges a $32.00 fee to process a fingerprint-based record check.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. Section 75-67-509.

c. Child Care Facilities Licensed by MS Department of Health

i

Child care facilities require all prospective and current care givers to
undergo a criminal history background check to determine suitability for
employment. The Mississippi Department of Health (MSDH) provides
the fingerprint cards to the facilities. The fingerprint cards are submitted
to CIC, checked against the Mississippi Criminal History System
database, and forwarded to the FBI for a national criminal history record
check. CIC charges a $32.00 fee to process a fingerprint-based check for
an employee and a fee of $23.00 for a volunteer. The MDH is authorized
to set fees in addition to those charged by CIC and the FBI.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. Section 43-20-8.

¢ Child Residential Agencies and Foster Parents/Homes

i.

ii.

Any person, institution, facility, clinic, organization or other entity that
provides services to children in a residential setting as described in Miss.
Code Ann. Section 43-15-6 (1) must undergo a national criminal history
record check and a child abuse registry check for each owner, operator,
employee, prospective employee, volunteer or prospective volunteer of the
entity that has or may have unsupervised access to a child.

The Mississippi Department of Human Services (DHS) provides the
fingerprint card to the individual or entity. DHS submits the fingerprint
card to CIC, where it is checked against the Mississippi criminal history
system database and forwarded to the FBI for a national criminal history
record check. A fee of $32.00 is charged by the CIC to process a
fingerprint-based record check for an employee and $23.00 for a
volunteer. The DHS is authorized to set fees in addition to those charged
by CIC and the FBI.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. Section 43-15-6.

d. Community (Regional) Mental Health Center Employees and/or Volunteers

i.

The 15 Regional Mental Health — Mental Retardation Centers in
Mississippi (CMHC) are authorized to fingerprint and perform a criminal
history records check on every employee and volunteer of each
community mental health facility. Each CMHC submits its own
applicant/employee or volunteer set of fingerprints to CIC. The CMHC
provides the fingerprint card to the applicant/volunteer. The



applicant/volunteer is fingerprinted; CMHC submits the fingerprint card to
CIC, where it is checked against the Mississippi criminal history system
database and forwarded to the FBI for a national criminal history record
check. The results from the check are sent from the FBI to CIC and then
to CMHC. Each CMHC determines the suitability of the applicant or
volunteer for employment or service. A fee of $32.00 is charged by the
CIC to process a fingerprint-based record check for an employee and
$23.00 for a volunteer.

Statutory Authority: 42 U.S.C. Sec;tion 5119a. and Miss. Code Ann. § 41-19-33
Gaming

i. The Gaming Commission requires all applicants or licensees and gaming
employees of a licensee to be fingerprinted. The Gaming Commission has
its own fingerprint cards which it provides to applicants. The fingerprint
cards are forwarded to the CIC where they are checked against the
Mississippi Criminal History System database and forwarded to the FBI
for a national criminal history record check. A fee of $32.00 is imposed to
process a fingerprint-based record check under this statute.

Home Health Agencies and Nursing Facilities

i Any home health care agency or nursing facility may require applicants
for employment to undergo a criminal history records check. The
fingerprint cards are provided to the facility by the CIC. The facility
submits the set of fingerprints to CIC along with a statement signed by the
applicant authorizing the record check in accordance with Public Law #
105-277. The MDH submits the fingerprint cards to CIC. The cards are
checked against the Mississippi criminal history system database and
forwarded to the FBI for a national criminal history record check. CIC
returns the results of the criminal history record check to the MDH to be
disseminated to the requesting facility. The facility determines the
suitability of the applicant for employment. A fee of $32.00 is charged by
the CIC to process a fingerprint-based record check for an employee and
$23.00 for a volunteer.

Statutory Authority.: Public Law #105-277 (note to 28 U.S.C. Section 534).

Home Health Care Agencies, Hospitals, Hospices, Nursing and Personal Care
Homes

i. The Mississippi State Department of Health (MDH) is required to have
every new employee of a licensed entity, who provides direct patient care
and who is employed after July 1, 2002, and every employee of a licensed
entity employed before July 1, 2002, who has a documented disciplinary
action by his present employer, to undergo a criminal history background



h.

h.

check to determine suitability for employment. MDH provides the
fingerprint card to the applicant/employee to be fingerprinted. MDH
submits the fingerprint card to CIC to be checked against the Mississippi
criminal history system database, and forwarded to the FBI for a national
criminal history record check. CIC returns the results of the criminal
history check to the MDH, which determines the suitability of the
applicant for employment. CIC charges $32.00 to process a fingerprint-
based check for an employee/applicant and $23.00 for a volunteer.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 43-11-13

Information Technology Services

i.

To qualify for the position of an information confidentiality officer with
the Department of Information Technology Services, a person must
undergo a criminal history records check. The person is fingerprinted and
the set of fingerprints is forwarded to the CIC, checked against the
Mississippi Criminal History System database, and forwarded to the FBI
for a national criminal history record check. A fee of $32.00 is charged to
process this check.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. Section 25-53-51.

MS. Dept. of Mental Health Employees and/or Volunteers

1.

The Mississippi Board of Mental Health (MH) is authorized to fingerprint
and perform a criminal history records check on every employee and
volunteer. MH submits the applicant/employee or volunteer set of
fingerprints to CIC. The fingerprints are checked against the Mississippi
criminal history record check. The results of the check are sent from the
FBI to CIC and then to MH. MH determines the suitability of the
applicant or volunteer for employment. A $32.00 fee is charged to process
a fingerprint-based record check for an applicant/employee and $23.00 for
a volunteer.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 41-4-7

Mortgage Companies

i.

Applicants of mortgage companies applying for registration or licensure
from the Department of Banking and Consumer Finance (Banking) are
required to undergo criminal history record checks. The fingerprint cards
are provided to the applicant by the Department of Banking and Consumer
Finance. Banking submits a set of fingerprints obtained by a local law
enforcement entity to CIC. The fingerprints are checked against the
Mississippi criminal history database system and forwarded to the FBI for
a national criminal history record check. A fee of $32.00 is charged to
process the record check.



Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. Section 81-18-13.

i. Non-Government Entity or Employer

i

ii.

State conviction information shall be made available for the following
non-criminal justice purpose: To any non-governmental entity or
employer authorized either in writing by the person who is subject to the
requested record or if authorized by state or federal law to receive such
information. Information disseminated for non-criminal justice purposes
shall be used only for the purpose for which it was made available and
may not be re-disseminated. The existence or non-existence of criminal
history record information shall not be confirmed to any person or
organization that is not eligible by law to receive the information. Non-
conviction information shall be available for non-criminal conviction
purposes. Non-governmental entity or employer requests must proper
identification and authorization information from the person who is
subject of a requested record and any request must further adhere to the
CIC policies established for obtaining record checks.

The statutory right to view a person’s own criminal history record
information, shall not be used by a prospective employer or others as a
means to circumvent procedures or fees for accessing records for non-
criminal justice purposes. The CIC may impose procedures, including the
submission of fingerprints, fees or restrictions, as are reasonable and
necessary for security, to verify identities, and for orderly and efficient
information access. Release of State conviction information for non-
criminal justice purposes shall be made only by CIC pursuant to certain
statutory limitations. Such records will not be released or disclosed for
non-criminal justice purposes by other agencies in the state. There isa
$32.00 fee to process the fingerprint check.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 45-27-12

Pawn Brokers

Applicants for a pawn broker’s license are required to submit a set of
fingerprints to the Department of Banking and Consumer Finance
(Banking). The fingerprint cards are provided to the applicant by the
Banking. Banking submits the fingerprint card to CIC to be checked
against the Mississippi criminal history system database and forwarded to
the FBI for a national criminal history record check. A fee of $32.00 is
charged by the CIC to process a fingerprint-based record check. The
results of the check are sent to the Department of Banking and Consumer
Finance to determine an applicant’s suitability for employment.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 75-67-323

Iz, State Board of Pharmacy Applicants for License



1.

m.

1.

To insure that all applicants are of good moral character, the board
conducts a criminal history records check on all applicants for a license.
To determine suitability for licensing, the applicant must be fingerprinted.
The board submits fingerprints to the CIC for check of the state criminal
records and forwards to the FBI for the national criminal records check.
The CIC disseminates the results of the state check and the national check
to the board for suitability determination. The board is authorized to
collect from the applicant the fee amount which the CIC charges the board
for fingerprinting, whether manual or electronic, and that is charged for
the state and national criminal history records checks. CIC charges $32.00
to process a fingerprint-based check for an applicant.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-21-85

State Board of Pharmacy Technicians

i.

To insure that all applicants are of good moral character, the board
conducts a criminal history records check on all applicants for a technician
license or registration. To determine suitability for licensing, the applicant
must be fingerprinted. The board submits fingerprints to the CIC for
check of the state criminal records and forwards to the FBI for the national
criminal records check. The CIC disseminates the results of the state
check and the national check to the board for suitability determination.
The board is authorized to collect from the applicant the fee amount which
the CIC charges the board for fingerprinting, whether manual or
electronic, and that is charged for the state and national criminal history
records checks. CIC charges $32.00 to process a fingerprint-based check
for an applicant.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-21-111

Private or Nonpublic Schools

i.

Any nonpublic school which is accredited or approved by the State Board
of Education may avail itself of the criminal record information and
registry check procedure that is provided for public schools and shall be
responsible for the same fee charged as for local public schools. The
applicant/ employee is fingerprinted on a card provided by the school
district. Each school district submits the applicant’s fingerprint card to the
CIC for check against the Mississippi criminal history database system
and forward to the FBI for a national criminal history record check. The
determination whether the applicant has a disqualifying crime shall be
made by the appropriate governmental authority, who shall notify the
private firm whether a disqualifying crime exists. CIC imposes a $32.00
fee to process the record checks for each employee.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 37-9-17

Public Schools



Each superintendent of a school district is required to obtain criminal
record background checks and child abuse registry checks for all new
hires applying for employment as a licensed or non-licensed employee at a
school not previously employed in that district prior to July 1, 2000. To
determine suitability, the applicant must be fingerprinted. Each school
district has its own fingerprint cards which are submitted to CIC, checked
against the Mississippi Criminal History System database, and are
forwarded to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal
history record check. A fee of $32.00 is imposed by the CIC to process
the record checks for employees.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. Section 37-9-17,

j. Title Pledge Lenders

i

Title pledge lenders (or sales finance companies which engage in the
business of purchasing retail installment contracts from one or more retail
sellers) are required to be licensed by the Department of Banking and
Consumer Finance. Applicants must submit a set of fingerprints to the
CIC for a record check. CIC checks the fingerprints against the
Mississippi Criminal History System database and forwards the prints to
the FBI for a national criminal history record check. A fee of $32.00 is
charged to process the record check.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 75-67-421.

k. University of Mississippi Medical Center Employees

i.

The University of Mississippi Medical Center is required to fingerprint
and perform a criminal history record check on all new employees that
work in or provide direct patient care. No employee of UMMC hired on
or after July 1, 2004, is permitted to provide direct patient care until the
results of the criminal history record check have revealed no disqualifying
or the employee has been granted a waiver. To determine suitability for
employment, the applicant must be fingerprinted. Fingerprints are
submitted to the CIC by UMMC via scanning or other electronic method.
If no disqualifying record is identified at the state level, the applicant’s
fingerprints must then be forwarded to the FBI for a national criminal
history record check. CIC returns the results of any criminal history
record check to the UMMC, which determines the suitability of the
applicant for employment. CIC charges $32.00 to process a fingerprint-
based check for an employee/applicant.

Statutory Authority: Miss. Code Ann. § 37-115-41.



MISSISSIPPI CRIMINAL INFORMATION CENTER

FEE SCHEDULE (10/05)
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NO. ENTITY AUTHORITY CHECK FEE CONTACT
1. A Alcohol Beverage Control Miss. Code Ann. §67- | FINGERPRINT | $32 ABC
(State Tax Commission) 1- 57 (601) 856-1320
Miss. Code Ann. Department of Banking &
1.B Check Cashing Business §75-67-509 FINGERPRINT | $32 employee Consumer Finance
(601) 359-1031
1. Child Care Facilities Licensed by the Miss. Code Ann. §43- | FINGERPRINT | $32 employee Department of Health
MS State Department of Health 20-8 $23 volunteer (601) 576-7613
1.D Child Residential Agencies Licensed by the Miss. Code Ann. §43- | FINGERPRINT | $32 employee Dept. of Human Services
MS Department of Human Services 15-6 $23 volunteer (601) 359-4994
2. A & | Criminal Justice/ Law Enforcement Agencies Miss. Code Ann. §45- | NAME CHECK or| no charge DPS/CIC Records Division
(governmental) 27-7 & FINGERPRINT (601)933-2600
3A §45-27-12
Contact Appropriate
1.E Community (Regional) Mental Miss. Code Ann. FINGERPRINT | $32 employee Community Mental Health
Health Center Employees §41-19-33 $23 volunteer  |[Center
3.B Federal Child Care Employees 42 U.S.C. 813041 FINGERPRINT |TOBE DPS/CIC Applicant Processin
ORI of submitting Federal Agency DETERMINED (601)933-2600
I.F Gaming Employees Miss. Code Ann. §75- | FINGERPRINT |$32 Jackson (601) 351-2842
76-33 Vickshurg (601) 636-3349
Tunica (662) 363-3073
Biloxi (228) 432-0181
3.C. 1. |Gun Permits Miss. Code Ann. §45- | FINGERPRINT $32
and 9-101 Firearm Permits Unit/DPS
3.C. 2. |Private Security/Guard Miss, Code Ann. §97- | FINGERPRINT |$32 (601) 987-1587
37-7
1.G Home Health Care Agencies & Nursing P, Law #105-277 FINGERPRINT | $32 employee Department of Health
Facilities (28 U.S.C. §534) (601) 576-7300
1.H Home Health Care Agencies, Hospitals, Miss. Code Ann. FINGERPRINT | $32 employee Department of Health (601)
[Hospices, Nursing & Personal Care Homes 8§43-11-13 576-7300
1.1 Information Technology Services (MDITS) Miss. Code Ann. §25- | FINGERPRINT | $32 employee ITS
53-51 (601) 359-1395
Department of
1.] Ms. Dept. of Mental Health Employees Miss. Code Ann. FINGERPRINT | $32 employee Mental Health
§41-4-7 $23 volunteer (601)359-1288
2.B Military 10 U.S.C. §520a STATE RECORDS | no charge DPS\CIC Applicant Processin
ONLY (601) 933-2600

(NO FEDERAL)
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LK Mortgage Companies Miss. Code Ann. §81- | FINGERPRINT | $32 Department of Banking &
18-13 Consumer Finance
(601) 359-1031
I.L Non-governmental Entity or Employer Miss. Code Ann. §45- |STATERECORDS |$32 DPS CIC Applicant Processin
27-12 ONLY (601) 933-2600
(NO FEDERAL)
FINGERPRINT
.M Pawnbrokers Miss. Code Ann. §75- | FINGERPRINT $32 Department of Banking &
67-323 Consumer Finance
(601) 359-1031
LN Miss. Pharmacy Board
a. Pharmacy licensure Miss. Code Ann. § 73- | FINGERPRINT | $32
71.85 Mississippi Pharmacy Board
(601) 605-5388
b. Pharmacy Technician licensure Miss. Code Ann. § 73- | FINGERPRINT | $32
21-111
1. O |Private Schools Miss. Code Ann. FINGERPRINT |$32 Contact CIC for addt'l info
§37-9-17 1(601) 933-2600
1. P | Public Schools Miss. Code Ann. FINGERPRINT | $32 Department of Education
§37-9-17 601) 359-3513
1.Q |Public School Attendance Officers Miss. Code Ann. §37- | FINGERPRINT | $32 Department of Education
13-89 (601) 359-3513
2.C | Sex Offender Registry Checks Miss. Code Ann. §§45-| STATE NAME | no charge MSOR (601) 368-1740
33-21 et seq.
1. R | Title Pledge Lenders Miss. Code Ann. §75- | FINGERPRINT [ $32 Department of Banking &
67-421 iConsumer Finance
(601) 359-1031
1.S | University of Mississippi Medical Center Miss. Code Ann. § FINGERPRINT | $32 University of Mississippi
Employees (direct patient care) 37-115-41 Medical Center
(601)984-1000




