
The Assisted Living Waiver provides services to individuals who, but for the provision of such services, 
would require placement in a nursing facility. Qualified beneficiaries are allowed to reside in a Personal 
Care Home-Assisted Living (PCH-AL) facility, and Medicaid reimburses for the services received in the 
facility. The facility must be licensed as a PCH-AL Facility by the Mississippi State Department of Health. 

Eligibility requirements for the Assisted Living Waiver Program include following: 

Beneficiary must be 21 years of age or older, AND 

Beneficiary must have a deficit in at least three (3) activities of daily living or a diagnosis of 
Alzheimer's or other dementia with a deficit in at least two (2) activities of daily living, AND 

Beneficiary must require nursing facility level of care, if assistance is not otherwise provided, 
AND 

Beneficiary must be aged, blind or disabled and currently qualify for Medicaid due to receipt of 
SSI cash assistance or qualify for Medicaid based on income that is under 300% of the SSI limit 
for an individual. Resources must be less than $4,000.00. 
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The Assisted Living Waiver provides the following services: 

Case Manaqement Services 

Case Management Services assist beneficiaries in accessing needed waiver and other State Plan 
services, as well as needed medical, social, educational, and other services, regardless of the funding 
source for the services. 

Under the Assisted Living Waiver, all case managers must be a social worker licensed to practice in the 
State of Mississippi with at least two (2) years of full time experience in direct services to elderly and 
disabled clients. Case manaaers mav carrv an averaae, active caseload, of no more than fiftv (50) cases. 

Currently, all case management services are provided through the Division of Medicaid, HCBS section of 
the Bureau of Long Term Care. 

Assisted Livinq Services 

Assisted Living Services may include the following: 

Personal care services 

Homemaker services 

Chore services 

Attendant care services 

Medication oversight/medication administration (to the extent permitted under state law) 

Therapeutic, social, and recreational programming 

Intermittent skilled nursing services 

Transportation 

Attendant call system 

Services are provided in a home-like environment in a licensed PCH-AL facility. The service includes 
twenty-four (24) hour on-site response staff to meet scheduled or unpredictable needs in a way that 
promotes maximum dignity and independence, and provides for supervision, safety and security. 

Other individuals or agencies may also furnish care directly, or under agreement with the PCH-AL facility. 
Care provided by these other entities may supplement services provided by the PCH-AL facility, but they 
may not be provided in lieu of those provided by the PCH-AL facility. 
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