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Rule 20. Reciprocity or Endorsement

The Board, subject to the law pertaining to the licensing of nursing home administrators
may at its discretion, endorse a nursing home administrator license issued by the proper
authorities of any other state, upon payment of the biennial license fee and the application fee,
and upon submission of evidence satisfactory to the Board that:

A.   The A.I.T. period may be waived if applicant can provide evidence of completion of 
       of at least a 1,040 hour A.I.T. program in the State of original license, or

       Applicant shall have had two (2) years experience out of the past three (3) years as a 
      sub-acute or long-term health care facility administrator;

B.   Applicant must be entering employment in a Mississippi sub-acute or long-term 
       health care facility;

C.   Applicant must have a NAB Scale score of 113 as outlined in Rule 9;

D.   Applicant for endorsement is examined and successfully passes the State Test within 
       sixty (60) days after Board approval;

E.   Applicant has not had a license revoked or suspended in any state from which he has 
      received a nursing home administrator license or reciprocal endorsement; 

F.    Such licensing jurisdiction extends reciprocity to licensees of the State of Mississippi 
       under reasonable terms and conditions.

G.   A temporary permit, to practice as a nursing home administrator in Mississippi, 
       may be issued to an applicant who has applied for a Mississippi nursing home 
       administrator license under the requirements stated above (Rule 20) of the Board’s 
       Rules and Regulations. A temporary permit may be considered when the 
       applicant: 

1.  Submits the original documentation for all of the above requirements to 
     apply with the Board for a Mississippi nursing home administrator license 
     through Reciprocity/Endorsement, as well as payment of the current 
     Application fee;

2.  Holds a current and unencumbered nursing home administrator license, 
     which is in good standing, in at least one other state;  

3.  Submits a formal request, along with the Application, documenting the 
     circumstances that created the need for a temporary permit, as well as the 
     temporary permit fee.



4.  Submits satisfactory proof from each state board that has issued him/ her a 
     nursing home administrator license at any time in the past:

a. that there has been no formal discipline taken against the license;

b. that the applicant received an acceptable NAB Exam Scale score 
     of 113 or greater;

c. that the applicant either successfully completed a 1,040 hour A.I.T. 
    Program, or he/she has been licensed and working as a long-term 
    health care facility administrator for at least two of the three past years,
    prior to applying.

5.  In no cases shall a temporary permit be issued for a period of longer than 
     three (3) months.

a. In no case shall an individual nursing home facility be administered 
    by a nursing home administrator holding a “temporary permit” for 
    more than three (3) months in one (1) calendar year.

H.  Under a lawfully declared state of emergency by either Federal, State or Local 
       government, an administrator who holds a valid license in good standing in 
       another state, is eligible to work as the administrator of record in a MS nursing 
       home facility after:

1.  submitting a picture I.D. to the Board office;

2.  submitting to the Board office proof that he/she currently holds a nursing 
     home administrator license which is valid and in good standing in another 
     state;

3.  completes and submits to the Board office a 1 page Application designed for 
     this purpose;

4.  the authority to work under these conditions will be for a maximum period 
     of 60 days.




