MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF FAMILY AND CHILDREN’S SERVICES

Cover Memorandum accompanying the May 9, 2007 filing of Proposed Rule
Adoption by the Division of Family and Children’s Services proposing to issue new
Visitation Plan for Children in Custody policy for its policy manual.

Listed below are five (5) proposed rules amending Visitation Plan for Children in
Custody policy for the Mississippi Department of Human Services, Division of Family
and Children’s Services. This proposed policy has been added to placement in VVolume
IV policy manual.

1. Proposed Rule:

Children have a right to visit their parents, legal guardians or primary caretakers.
Frequent visitation has a direct and positive effect in aiding the return of the child
to his/her family. Visitation with kin will be held at the discretion of the COR
staff. Kin should include but not be limited to any relative to the 3" degree. The
Mississippi Code, Section 43-15-13(7) states if the child cannot be placed with
the parents, relatives “in the third degree, as computed by civil law rule” shall be
considered. Every effort should be made to provide visitation with the child in
order for the child to have continuing connections, especially in cases where
individuals are potential placement resources.

Current Rule:
Contact between the child and his parents is essential in foster care services.

2. Proposed Rule:

In order to maintain this connection, contact between the child and his/her family
shall occur within the first week after placement of the child into foster care.

Current Rule:

It is imperative that contact between the child and his family be arranged
immediately (within 24 hours) after placement unless there are documented
reasons why this should not occur.



Proposed Rule:

When siblings in custody are not placed together, it is very important that regular
contacts be maintained unless the case record justifies that this is not in the best
interest of the children. They must be allowed monthly face-to-face visits, or by
phone or in writing when face-to-face visits cannot take place. More frequent
visits may be arranged with the Supervisor’s approval.

Current Rule:

It is very important that regular visitation at least twice a month be maintained
among siblings if they are not placed together, unless the child’s case record
justifies that this is impossible.

Proposed Rule:

A foster child who has been placed in a licensed resource family home, relative
home, licensed or not, shall be seen once a quarter, face-to-face, by the direct
service Worker, in the resource home.

Current Rule:

None

Proposed Rule:

The DFCS direct service Worker shall maintain monthly face-to-face contact with
every child in custody. Monthly contact means at least once every calendar month

and includes the documentation in MACWIS as soon after the visit as
possible.

Current Rule:

The MDHS/DFCS Staff shall maintain weekly contacts (either face to face or by
telephone) with the child during the first 30 days of placement.



I. Visitation Plan for Children in Custody

Every child in custody shall have visitation in order to maintain connections. A
visitation plan should be developed with children/youth in custody, his/her mother
and father, primary caretakers, siblings and kin. Resource Families may also be
included in development of visitation plans.

Children have a right to visit their parents, legal guardians or primary caretakers.
Frequent visitation has a direct and positive effect in aiding the return of the child to
his/her family. In order to maintain this connection, contact between the child and his/her
family shall occur within the first week after placement of the child into foster care. If
this contact cannot be face-to-face, the Worker shall arrange a telephone call between the
child and his parents, legal guardian or primary caretaker.




Visitation between a foster child and her (or his) own child shall be arranged weekly if
they are not placed together in the same home or facility.

Contact between a Teen Parent in Custody and her/his Own Child

All consideration should be made to place a teen parent in custody with her/his own
child. If placement is not possible, visitation between the teen parent and her (or his) own
child shall be arranged weekly if they are not placed together in the same home or
facility, unless there is a documented reason why this should not occur.

Visitation Documentation

The Worker shall document visits in MACWIS on the Visitation Screen using the
Visitation log to record each visit or contact between parent/primary caretakers and child.
Evaluation of the visit shall be documented in narratives.

A plan shall be developed specifying the time and location of visits. The Worker,
parents/guardian/primary caretakers, Resource Parents and the child, if age appropriate,
shall be involved in the development of this schedule.

Exceptions

There are times and/or circumstances in which visitation are not advisable or may require
consultation:

a. When the court order forbids visitation. (If the Social Worker
believes that this decision is not in the best interest of the child, this
shall be presented to the court.)

b. When a psychiatrist, psychologist, or other mental health professional
recommends that visitation would be physically or emotionally
damaging to the child. (This shall be documented by a written report
and a written court order.)

B. Visits with Siblings

When siblings in custody are not placed together, it is very important that regular
contacts be maintained unless the case record justifies that this is not in the best
interest of the children. They must be allowed monthly face-to-face visits, or by
phone or in writing when face-to-face visits cannot take place. More frequent
visits may be arranged with the Supervisor’s approval. The sibling’s visitation

plan must be documented on the log in MACWIS on the Visitation screen. An
evaluation of the visit shall be documented in narratives.



C. Visits with Kin

Children have a right to visit their parents, legal guardians or primary caretakers.
Frequent visitation has a direct and positive effect in aiding the return of the
child to his/her family. In order to maintain this connection, contact between the
child and his/her family shall occur within the first week after placement of the
child into foster care. If this contact cannot be face-to-face, the Worker shall
arrange a telephone call between the child and his parents, legal guardian or
primary caretaker.

Il. Contact by the Case Worker

Contacts with Child

The DFCS direct service Worker shall maintain monthly face-to-face contact with every
child in custody. Monthly contact means at least once every calendar month and includes

the documentation = in MACWIS as soon after the visit as possible.

In the cases where special circumstances exist, including, but not limited to, children
with ICPC placements or children who are on runaway status, an explanation must
be documented in the narratives as to why contact was not possible. Children in
custody, who are placed out of state in facilities or with relatives, and are not being
seen by the receiving state staff, should be seen once a quarter by Mississippi DFCS
staff.

More frequent contact may be required at the discretion of the supervisor.

A plan shall be developed specifying the time and location of visits. The Worker,
parents/guardian/primary caretakers, Resource Parents and the child, if age appropriate,
shall be involved in the development of this schedule.



The Worker shall document visits in MACWIS on the Visitation Screen using the
Visitation log to record each visit or contact between parent/primary caretakers and child.
Evaluation of the visit shall be documented in narratives.

A. Contact with Placement Resource
A foster child who has been placed in a licensed resource family home, relative
home, licensed or not, shall be seen once a quarter, face-to-face, by the direct

service Worker, in the resource home.




