
SUBPART 2-ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
CHAPTER 09-Livestock Sales Regulation 

 
Movement Of Cattle Through Livestock Markets, Commission Markets, Stockyards, Or 
Public Auctions Or Other Places Of Livestock Trading Or Slaughter Establishments 
 
100.01 By virtue of authority granted the Mississippi Board of Animal Health under the 

provisions of the State Laws governing the Mississippi Board of Animal Health, 
and particularly 69-15-9, 69-15-107, 69-15-115, Mississippi code 1972, the 
following regulation is adopted governing the movement of cattle through 
livestock markets, commission markets, stockyards, public auctions, or other 
places of livestock trading located and operated within the State of Mississippi.  
For purposes of this regulation, a livestock trading place is defined as any place, 
public or private, where cattle are assembled for the purpose of sale or resale 
based upon the purchase price of such cattle an approved livestock market on the 
sale-day listed in the livestock market facility agreement.

(Amended  2007.) 
 
100.02 All heifers, cows, and bulls of either beef or dairy breeds over eighteen (18) 

months of age shall be properly identified and tested for brucellosis before being 
offered for sale at any public or private sale or market premises.  Cows and bulls 
that are determined to be 9 years of age or older are not required to be tested and 
will not be paid for by the Board of Animal Health.  Any cattle determined to be “ 
slaughter” or “cull” animals by age or by body condition, are not required to be 
tested, unless returning to a farm.

(Amended  2007.)
 
100.03 A certificate of test will be issued, if requested, on the cattle which pass an 

official test for brucellosis and are not known to be exposed.   The certificate shall 
be signed by the approved veterinarian, and the cattle listed thereon may be 
offered for resale anywhere in the state within 30 days of date of issue without 
being re-tested, provided the certificate is presented with each animal.  Cattle 
subject to resale at another livestock market must be re-tested unless positive 
proof of valid test certificate to match identification on cattle is presented to the 
market veterinarian.  Buyers requiring an official health certificate for interstate 
shipment of cattle can obtain the certificate from the market veterinarian. 

 
100.04 BACK TAGGING REQUIREMENTS  - all cattle of age and class, designated by 

the Mississippi Board of Animal Health, that are consigned to slaughter must be 
back tagged by market personnel with tags furnished by the Mississippi Board of 
Animal Health and the United States Department of Agriculture.  Back tags shall 
be applied in accordance with instructions issued by the Mississippi Board of 
animal health.  The proper location for slaughter cattle shall be in the small 
hollow behind and near the top of the shoulder.  Back tags shall be removed only 
by persons authorized by the Board.  The livestock auction market shall provide 
necessary facilities for carrying out this requirement and shall make available the 
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complete name and address of the person selling such animals.  When cattle that 
are back tagged are slaughtered at slaughtering establishments, blood samples 
shall be collected and forwarded to the State-Federal Brucellosis laboratory for 
tests. 

 
100.05 Animals received directly at slaughtering establishments shall also be back tagged 

in accordance with the provisions of this section or otherwise identified.  Blood 
samples shall be obtained from cattle that are back tagged or otherwise identified 
and forwarded to the State-Federal Brucellosis Laboratory, along with the name 
and address of the seller of such animals. 

 
100.06 When brucellosis responders reactors are found in market test cattle, herds of 

origin shall be placed under quarantine and tested for brucellosis until clean of 
infection or depopulated.  The animal shall be returned to farm or held at 
stockyard for further testing to determine classification of test.  Market test cattle 
are defined as animals moving in trade through auction markets, stockyards, or to 
slaughtering establishments and also those animals assembled at farms or ranches 
that are being readied for immediate slaughter to markets, stockyards, or 
slaughtering establishments or other sales.

(Amended 2007.) 
 
100.07 Any cattle which are showing any signs of sickness or symptoms of contagious 

and infectious diseases will not be allowed to be offered for sale and shall be 
quarantined to the original shipper’s premises or original owner’s premises. 

 
100.08 This regulation shall apply to all animals so classified, which are brought to or 

taken from all livestock sales wheresoever located, whether said animals are sold, 
traded, or offered from sale or not, and whether said animals are sold by the 
pound, head, or otherwise. 

 
100.09 The operator or manager of each livestock barn, commission barn, or auction sale 

or place of livestock trading shall select and have employed during sales an 
accredited veterinarian who shall be specially approved by the Mississippi Board 
of Animal Health to render professional veterinary services and advice necessary 
to comply with this regulation.  The veterinarian employed shall have the 
authority to represent the Mississippi Board of Animal Health in supervising the 
full compliance with this regulation.  He shall keep any and all records required 
by the Mississippi Board of Animal Health to properly identify the movement of 
cattle going through each place of business. 

 
100.10 The operator or manager of each sale shall furnish adequate facilities and 

assistance and shall be responsible for moving all test-eligible cattle to test pens 
and must notify the veterinarian and/or inspector and owner.  The market 
veterinarian or health inspector is totally responsible for release of test pen cattle. 
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100.11 Any operator or manager of a livestock barn, commission barn, auction sale, or 
other place livestock trading shall be guilty of a violation of this regulation upon 
failure to select and employ an accredited veterinarian or who shall, in any way, 
interfere with, obstruct, or fail to fully cooperate with such veterinarian or 
representative of the Mississippi Board of Animal Health in the performance of 
duties under this regulation and shall be the performance of duties under this 
regulation and shall be subject to prosecution as provided by law for any such 
failure. 

 
100.12 The above regulation supplements all previous livestock sales regulations 

pertaining to cattle. 
 
(Chapter 01 adopted by the Mississippi Board of animal Health on October 4, 1978, to 
become effective on and after January 1, 1979. Adopted by the Mississippi Board of 
Animal Health on November 14, 1986, to be effective on and after January 2, 1987. 
Revisions occurred due to the regulation passage by the Mississippi Board of Animal 
Health on September 8, 1998, concerning age or status of brucellosis test eligibility.  
Amended 3/01 to change definition of test eligible animals.) 
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