Memorandum

To:  All interested parties

From: James Anderson, Jr., Assistant Secretary of State
Date: December 18, 2007

Re: Reasons for proposed change to Filing Fee Rule 111

Section 79-9-525 sets various filing fees which are restated in Rule 111 of the “Mississippi
Administrative Rules -UCC-9 and Central Filing System Secured Transactions”. The 2006
amendment to Section 79-9-525 of the Mississippi Code Annotated deleted the former
second version of the section, which was to be effective from and after December 31, 2007.
Accordingly, the former second version of Section 79-9-525, as it appears in Rule 111, must

also be deleted.

The Secretary of State’s Office has filed the attached amendment to Rule 111 pursuant the
Administrative Procedures Act to effectuate the necessary changes. The amendment shall
take immediate effect.



Proposed amendments to Rule 111 are as follows:

111 Filing Fees-Not Including Farm Commodity Filings Covered in Section 604

111.1 Filing fees are assessed pursuant to Mississippi Code § 75-9-525.

111.2 Unti-December31,20087filing Filing fees are as follows:

111.2.1 The fee for filing and indexing a record, other than an initial
financing statement of the kind described in 111.2.2 is the
amount specified in subsection 111.2.3, if applicable, plus:

111.2.1.1 Ten Dollars ($10.00) if the record is communicated in
writing and is in the standard form prescribed by
Mississippi Code §75-9-521 or by the Secretary of
State;

111.2.1.2 Thirteen Dollars ($13.00) if the record is
communicated in writing and is not in the standard
form prescribed by Mississippi Code § 75-9-521 or by
the Secretary of State; and

111.2.1.3 Eight Dollars ($8.00) if the record is communicated by
another medium authorized by filing-office rule.

111.2.2 The fee for filing and indexing an initial financing statement of
the following kind is the amount specified in subsection111.2.3,
if applicable, plus:

111.2.2.1 Thirteen Dollars ($13.00) if the financing statement
indicates that it is filed in connection with a public-
finance transaction;

111.2.2.2 Ten Dollars ($10.00) if the financing statement
indicates that it is filed in connection with a
manufactured-home transaction.

111.2.2.3 If a record is communicated in writing, the fee for each
additional debtor name more than one (1) required to
be indexed is Four Dollars ($4.00).

111.2.3 The fee for responding to a request for information from the
filing office, including for issuing a certificate showing whether
there is on file any financing statement naming a particular
debtor, is:

111.2.3.1 Five Dollars ($5.00) if the request is communicated in
writing on the standard form prescribed by the
Secretary of State;

111.2.3.2 Ten Dollars ($10.00) if the request is communicated in
writing and is not in the standard form prescribed by



the Secretary of State;

111.2.3.3 Three Dollars ($3.00) if the request is communicated
by another medium authorized by filing-office rule;
and

111.2.3.4 An additional fee of Two Dollars ($2.00) shall be paid
by the requesting party for each financing statement
listed on the filing officer's certificate, the aggregate of
which shall be billed to the requesting party at the
time the filing officer's certificate is issued.

114.3-Frormand-after December 31,200+ Ffiling feesare-asfollows:
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Rule 111, with the aforementioned amendment would read as follows:

111 Filing Fees-Not Including Farm Commodity Filings Covered in Section 604

111.1 Filing fees are assessed pursuant to Mississippi Code § 75-9-525.
141.2 Filing fees are as follows:

111.2.1 The fee for filing and indexing a record, other than an initial
financing statement of the kind described in 111.2.2 is the
amount specified in subsection 111.2.3, if applicable, plus:

111.2.1.1 Ten Dollars ($10.00) if the record is communicated in
writing and is in the standard form prescribed by
Mississippi Code §75-9-521 or by the Secretary of
State;

111.2.1.2 Thirteen Dollars ($13.00) if the record is
communicated in writing and is not in the standard
form prescribed by Mississippi Code § 75-9-521 or by
the Secretary of State; and

111.2.1.3 Eight Dollars ($8.00) if the record is communicated by
another medium authorized by filing-office rule.

111.2.2 The fee for filing and indexing an initial financing statement of
the following kind is the amount specified in subsection111.2.3,
if applicable, plus:

111.2.2.1 Thirteen Dollars ($13.00) if the financing statement
indicates that it is filed in connection with a public-
finance transaction;

111.2.2.2 Ten Dollars ($10.00) if the financing statement
indicates that it is filed in connection with a
manufactured-home transaction.

111.2.2.3 If a record is communicated in writing, the fee for each
additional debtor name more than one (1) required to
be indexed is Four Dollars ($4.00).

111.2.3 The fee for responding to a request for information from the
filing office, including for issuing a certificate showing whether
there is on file any financing statement naming a particular
debtor, is:

111.2.3.1 Five Dollars ($5.00) if the request is communicated in
writing on the standard form prescribed by the
Secretary of State;

111.2.3.2 Ten Dollars ($10.00) if the request is communicated in
writing and is not in the standard form prescribed by



the Secretary of State;

111.2.3.3 Three Dollars ($3.00) if the request is communicated
by another medium authorized by filing-office rule;
and

111.2.3.4 An additional fee of Two Dollars ($2.00) shall be paid
by the requesting party for each financing statement
listed on the filing officer's certificate, the aggregate of
which shall be billed to the requesting party at the
time the filing officer's certificate is issued.





