BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

2008-AD-57

MISSISSIPPI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

IN RE: PROPOSAL OF THE MISSISSIPPI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
TO AMEND THEIR RULES IMPLEMENTING THE MISSISSIPPI
TELEPHONE SOLICITATION ACT

NOTICE ESTABLISHING RULE-MAKING

TAKE NOTICE that on the 6" day of May, 2008, at 10:00 am the Mississippi Public Service
Commission will hold a hearing on the First Floor of the Woolfolk State Office Building,
Suite 112, 501 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201 regarding its Order Establishing Rule-
Making Docket, 2008-AD-57, pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. §77-3-45 (Revised 2000) and the
Mississippi Administrative Procedures Act as found in Miss. Code Ann. §§25-43-1.101 er
seq. (Revised 2006). The Order requires all persons and parties desiring to participate in the
hearing to file written comments or testimony on or before April 1, 2008, at the above
address.

A copy of the existing and proposed changes and this Notice has been mailed to all affected
utilities by way of U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, along with the aforementioned Order. The
Notice of Proposed Rule-Making will be published and a copy will be served on the
Secretary of State as provided in Miss. Code Ann. §77-3-45. The adopted rule will follow
the uniform numbering system prescribed by the Secretary of State. In compliance with
Miss. Code Ann. §25-43-3.103 and §77-3-45, the Commission sets forth the following terms
and substance of the rule changes with reference to the paragraphs being amended:

(1) The Commission seeks to increase the annual fee for the “no call” database from
its current amount of eight hundred dollars ($800.00) per year to one thousand
dollars ($1,000.00) per year as delineated in Paragraph A-4 of the proposed
rules.

(2) Paragraph A-9 currently states that consumer registration of telephone
number(s) on the “no call” list is effective for five (5) years. The list database
will expire in August 2008. The proposed rule will remove the time period
expiration, thereby maintaining the currently registered telephone numbers on
the “no call” list without the necessity of re-registration by the consumer.

(3) The current Paragraph A-12 requires the “no calls™ database to be compared
against the U.S. Post Office National Change of Address, or similar database, to
purge the telephone numbers of those who have moved out of state. Under the
proposed amendments, Paragraph A-12 will be removed as the U.S. Post Office
does not track telephone numbers, and therefore, a comparison with the U.S.
Post Office has never occurred nor will occur.
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PROPOSED
RULES IMPLEMENTING THE MISSISSIPPI TELEPHONE
SOLICITATION ACT

A. GENERAL RULES

1.

The Commission shall establish and operate a "no-calls" database composed of a list of
residential telephone numbers of consumers who have given notice of their objection to
receiving telephone solicitations. This database will be updated quarterly.

. Information contained in the database may be used and accessed only for the purpose of

compliance with the MTSA and shall not be otherwise subject to public inspection or
disclosure.

The Commission shall make the "no-calls" database available to telephone solicitors on
CD-Rom or via an Internet download.

Except as otherwise provided for by law or regulation, a telephone solicitor may not make
or cause to be made any telephone solicitation to any consumer in this state unless the
telephone solicitor has purchased the "no-calls" database from the Commission. The
annual fee for the database shall be one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) per year if obtained
via an Internet download or on CD-ROM. The fees for access to the "no-calls" database
may be revised by the Commission upon proper notice of such change. The fee shall be
paid at the time of registration.

All telephone solicitors, not exempt from the MTSA, must register annually with the
Commission before conducting any telephone solicitations in the State of Mississippi.
Solicitors must register via United States mail. Registration information can be found at
the Commission's website.

Telephone solicitors registering with the Commission shall provide:

a. Name, address, telephone number(s), facsimile number(s), e-mail address and
federal tax ID number of the company, partnership, or individual planning to operate
in the state;

b. Name and address of the registrant's designated agent for service located in this
state;

c. A surety bond, to be approved by the Commission, shall be filed with the
Commission and executed for the registrant by a surety authorized to do business in
this state for the sum of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) to be maintained in full
force and effect, in favor of the Commission to guarantee payment of any
administrative penalties assessed pursuant to a violation of the MTSA, these rules,
or any other applicable law or regulation. A local exchange carrier or competitive
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10.

local exchange carrier holding a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity
from the Commission may petition the Commission for an exemption from this
paragraph; and,

d. Registration shall be done in the form and structure as provided by the Commission.

Except as otherwise provided by law or regulation, a telephone solicitor may not make or
cause to be made any telephone solicitation to any consumer in this state who has given
notice to the Commission of his or her objection to receiving telephone solicitations.

With the exception of directory assistance and telephone directories sold or distributed by
local exchange companies or their affiliates, or independent telecommunications directory
publishers, no person or entity that sells, leases, or rents telephonic solicitation listings shall
include in such listings any residential telephone number, if the number appears on the
Commission's then current "no-calls" database.

Consumers may give notice to the Commission of their objection to receiving telephone
solicitations by calling a toll free number, United States mail, via the Commission's web
site, or facsimile. Consumers may give notice to the Commission of their revocation of the
notice by writing the Commission. Consumer registration is effective as long as the MTSA
is re-enacted.

A notice of objection becomes effective according to the following schedule:

List effective

Registration
received by:

List provided
to solicitors:

and enforceable on:

November 307

December 10"

January 1%

February 28"

March 10"

April 1™

May 31*

June 10™

July 1%

August 31°

September 10™

October 1%

11.

12.

Consumers whose telephone number is included in the "no-calls" database who move, but
maintain their current telephone number will not need to take action to remain in the data
base but they need to submit a change of address to the Commission. Consumers who are
required to obtain a different telephone number must give notice to the Commission that
they wish to have their new number included in the database.

Any person or entity who makes an authorized telephone solicitation to a consumer in
this state shall comply with the following:

a. Announce clearly, at the beginning of each call, his or her name, the company he or she
represents, the company's Commission assigned solicitor registration number, and the
purpose of the call.

b. Calls may only be made between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. Central Standard
Time.



c. No telephone calls can be made on a Sunday.

d. A person or entity who makes a telephone solicitation to a consumer in this state may not
knowingly utilize any method that blocks or otherwise circumvents the consumer's use
of a caller identification service, nor may the person or entity use an automated dialing
system or any like system that uses a recorded voice message to communicate with the
consumer unless the person or entity has an established business relationship with the
consumer and uses the recorded message to inform the consumer about a new product or
service.

13. A telephonic call log, with a minimum of six months data, shall be maintained by the
telephone solicitor. The telephonic call log shall include:

a. Number called
b. Time called
¢. Date called

15. Al ILECs and CLEC:s shall retain verbatim data for a period of ninety days.

16. The definitions contained in MTSA, Section 3, are hereby incorporated by reference.

B. SEMIANNUAL NOTIFICATION TO CONSUMERS

Each local exchange company and each competing local exchange company shall provide
written notification on at least a semiannual basis to each of its consumers of the opportunity to
provide notification to the Commission that the consumer objects to receiving telephone
solicitations. The notification may be disseminated in a manner chosen by the carrier. However,
television, radio or newspaper advertisements, written correspondence, publication in the
consumer information pages of the local telephone directory, bill message or any other method
of consumer notice not expressly prohibited by the Commission is allowed.

C. COMPLAINT PROCEDURE

1. A complaint may be initiated by a consumer or by the Commission. All complaints shall
be in writing and filed on a form which is accessible at the Commission's website or by
contacting the Commission.

2. The Commission will evaluate the complaint and determine if it alleges a prima facie
violation of the MTSA or the rules implemented pursuant thereto or any other applicable
law or regulation. A copy of the complaint shall be served on the alleged telephone
solicitor by the Executive Secretary of the Commission. The alleged telephone solicitor
shall fully answer the complaint in detail and under oath within thirty (30) days of receipt
of notice. An extension of the time in which to answer a complaint may be granted by the
Commission for good cause shown. The answer shall raise every defense the alleged
telephone solicitor relies on, including an MTSA, Section 6 exemption. The answer may
be filed electronically with the Commission, but it must be signed under oath. Otherwise,



the answer may be filed with the Executive Secretary of the Commission. If multiple
complaints are received, the Commission may notice the complaints in multiples. If the
alleged telephone solicitor does not answer the complaint fully and in specific detail and
under oath within the thirty (30) day period or within the period of such extension as the
Commission may grant, the Commission may find the alleged telephone solicitor liable
by default. In such event, or if the answer admits a violation of the MTSA, the
Commission may assess an appropriate penalty pursuant to Section 13 of the MTSA or
other applicable law or regulation. The penalty assessed shall be satisfied within 20 days
from service of the Commission's Order finding the alleged telephone solicitor liable by
default or by admission, unless a stay has been entered as provided by law.

The Commission may make a preliminary determination based on the complaint and the
answer and assess a penalty pursuant to Section 13 of the MTSA or other applicable law
or regulation. The alleged telephone solicitor shall accept or reject the preliminary
determination within twenty (20) days from the service by the Commission. If accepted,
the penalty imposed by the preliminary determination must be satisfied within twenty
(20) days from the service of said preliminary determination. If rejected, the Commission
will afford the alleged telephone solicitor an opportunity for a full hearing on the merits
of the complaint. In any hearing, the complaint and the answer will be part of the record,
along with all other complaints filed against the alleged telephone solicitor. At any point
in the complaint resolution process, the Commission may agree to informally negotiate
with the alleged telephone solicitor.

D. VIOLATIONS

1.

Any telephone solicitor found to have violated the MTSA or other applicable law or
regulation pursuant to a Commission finding, or by default, may be subject to a civil
penalty not to exceed Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) for each violation to be assessed
and collected by the Commission. Each telephonic solicitation shall constitute a separate
violation.

Failure of any telephone solicitor on which a complaint is filed to provide any
information requested by the Commission, or failure to answer a complaint in specific
detail and under oath, or failure to appear before the Commission at the time prescribed,
may result in the Commission finding the alleged violator liable by default.

The Commission may proceed against the surety bond for any penalty assessed by the
Commission, either by Order of the Commission finding the alleged telephone solicitor
liable by default, admission of violation by the alleged telephone solicitor, acceptance by
the alleged telephone solicitor of the Commission's preliminary determination, or by an
Order of the Commission rendered after a hearing on the merits of the notarized
Complaint, or otherwise, which penalty is not fully satisfied within 30 days after service
of the Commission's action.



RULES IMPLEMENTING THE MISSISSIPP] TELEPHONE
SOLICITATION ACT

A. GENERAL RULES

1. The Commission shall establish and operate a "no-calls” database composed of a list of
residential telephone numbers of consumers who have given notice of their objection to
receiving telephone solicitations. This database will be updated quarterly.

2. Information contained in the database may be used and accessed only for the purpose of
compliance with the MTSA and shall not be otherwise subject to public inspection or
disclosure.

3. The Commission shall make the "no-calls" database available to telephone solicitors on CD-
Rom or via an Internet download, e e

4. Except as otherwise provided for by law or regulation, a telephone solicitor may not make or
cause to be made any telephone solicitation to any consumer in this state unless the telephone
solicitor has purchased the "no-calls" database from the Commission. The annual fee for the
database shall be one thousand dollars ($1.000,00) per year if obtained via an_Internet
download or on CD-ROM. The fees for access to the "no-calls” database may be revised by °

the Commission upon proper notice of such change. The fee shall be paid at the time of WO

registration.

5._All telephone solicitors, not exempt from the MTSA, must register annually with the
Commission before conducting any telephone solicitations in the State of Mississippi.
Solicitors must register via United States mail. Registration information can be found at the
Commission's website.

6. Telephone solicitors registering with the Commission shall provide:

2. Name, address, telephone number(s), facsimile pumbes(s), e-mail address and federal |
tax ID number of the company, partnership, or individual planming to operate in the
state;

b. Name and address of the registrant's designated agent for service located in this state;

c. A surety bond, 1o be approved by the Commission, shall be filed with the Cormmission
and executed for the registrant by a surety authorized to do business in this state for the
sum of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) to be maintained in full force and effect, in favor
of the Commission to guarantee payment of any administrative penalties assessed
pursuant to a violation of the MTSA, these rules, or any other applicable law or
regulation. A local exchange carrier or competitive local exchange carrier holding a
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity from the Commission may petition the
Commission for an exemption from this paragraph; and,

d. Registration shall be done in the farm and structure as provided by the Commission.
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7. Except as otherwise provided by law or regulation, a telephone solicitor may not make or cause
to be made any telephone solicitation to any consumer in this state who has given notice to the
Commission of his or her abjection to receiving telephone solicitations.

l 8. With the exception of directory assistance and telephone directories sold or distributed by local
exchange companies or their affiliates, or independent telecommunications directory publishers,
no person or entity that sells, leases, or rents telephonic solicitation listings shall include in such
listings any residential telephone number, if the number appears on the Commission's then
current "no-calls" database.

| 8. Consumers may give notice to the Commission of their objection to receiving telephone
solicitations by calling 2 toll free number, United States mail, via the Commission's web site, or
facsimile. Consumers may give notice to the Commission of their revocation of the notice by
writing the Commission. _ Consumer registration is effective as long as the MISA is re-enacted, _ . - { Deleted: fora period of five (5) yeas. )

10. A notice of objection becomes effective according to the following schedule:

Registration List provided List effective
received by: to solicitors: and enforceable on:
November 30° December 107 January 1>
February 28" March 100 April 1¥

May 31% June 10® July 1¥

August 31" September 10™ October 1#

11.  Consumers whose telephone number is included in the "no-calls” database who move, but
maintain their current telephone number will not need to take action to remain in the data
l base_but they seed W submit a change of address to the Commission. Consumers who are _ . - { Deleted: do )
required to obtain a different telephone number must give notice to the Commission that they

wish to have their new number included in the database.
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13, A telephonic call log, with a minimum of six months data, shall be maintained by the

15.

16.

telephone solicitor. The telephonic call log shall include:
3. Number called

b. Tiime called
¢. Date called

All ILECs and CLECs shall retain verbatim data for a period of ninety days.

The definitions contained in MTSA, Section 3, are hereby incorporated by reference.

B. SEMIANNUAL NOTIFICATION TO CONSUMERS

Each local exchange company and each competing local exchange company shall provide written
notification on at least a semiannual basis to each of its consumers of the opportunity to provide
notification to the Commission that the consumer dbjects to recewmg telephone solicitations. The
notification may be disseminated in a manner chosen by the carrier. However, television, radio or
newspaper advertisements, written correspondence, publication in the consumer information pages of
the local telephone directory, bill message or any other_method of consumer notice not expressly
prohibited by the Commission is allowed.

C. COMPLAINT PROCEDURE

Lo

2.__The Commission may make a preliminary determination based on the complaint and the

in writing and filed on a form which is accessible at the Commission's website or by
contacting the Commission.,

The Commission will evaluate the complaint and determine if it afleges a prima facie
violation of the MTSA or the rules implemented pursuant thereto or any other applicable law
or regulation. A copy of the complaint shall be served on the alleged telephone solicitor by
the Executive Secretary of the Commission. The alleged telephone solicitor shall fully
answer the complaint in detail and under oath within thirty (30) days of receipt of notice. An
extension of the time in which to answer a complaint may be granted by the Commission for
good cause shown. The answer shall raise every defense the alleged telephone solicitor relies
on, including an MTSA, Section 6 exemption. The answer may be filed electronically with
the Commission, but it must be signed under oath. Otherwise, the answer may be filed with
the Executive Secretary of the Commission. If multiple complaints are received, the
Commission may notice the complaints in multiples. If the alleged telephone solicitor does
not answer the complaint fully and in specific detail and under oath within the thirty (30) day
period or within the period of such extension as the Commission may grant, the Commission
may find the alleged telephone solicitor liable by default. In such event, or if the answer
admits a violation of the MTSA, the Commission may assess an appropriate penalty pursuant
to Section 13 of the MTSA or other applicable law or regulation. The penalty assessed shall

be satisfied within 20 days from service_of the Commission's Order finding the alleged _

telephone solicitor liable by default or by admission, unless a stay has been entered as
provided by law.

answer and assess a penalty pursuant to Section 13 of the MTSA or other applicable law or

A complaint may be initiated by a consumer or by the Commission. All complaints shall be
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regulation. The alleged telephone solicitor shall accept or reject the prefiminary determination

within twenty (20) days from the service by the Commission, If accented, the penalty __.- {Deleted: Executive Secrstary of e C )

imposed by the preliminary determination must be satisfied within twenty (20) days from the .~ [Ddlbld of suid prefiminary
dewermination
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service of said preliminary determination. If rejected, the Commission will afford the alleged
telephone solicitor an opportunity for a full hearing on the merits of the complaint. In any
hearing, the complaint and the answer will be part of the record, along with all other
complaints filed against the alleged telephone solicitor. At any point in the complaint
resolution process, the Commission may agree to informally negotiate with the alleged
telephone solicitor.

D. VIOLATIONS

L.

Any telephone solicitor found to have violated the MTSA or other applicable law or
regulation pursuant to a Commussion finding, or by default, may be subject to a civil penalty
not to exceed Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) for each viclation to be assessed and collected
by the Commission. Bach telephonic solicitation shall constitute a separate violation.

‘ 2._Failure of any telephone solicitor on which a complaint is filed to provide any information

requested by the Commission, or failure to answer a complaint in specific detail and under
oath, or failure to appear before the Commission at the time prescribed, may result in the
Commissicn finding the alleged vielator liable by default.

| 3. The Commission may proceed against the surety bond for any penalty assessed by the

Commission, either by Order of the Commission finding the alleged telephone solicitor liable
by ‘default, admission of violation by the alleged telephone solicitor, acceptance by the
alleged telephone solicitor of the Commission's preliminary determination, or by an Order of
the Commission rendered after a hearing on the merits of the notarized Complaint, or
otherwise, which penalty is not fully satisfied within 30 days after service of the
Commission’s action.
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RULES IMPLEMENTING THE MISSISSIPPI TELEPHONE
SOLICITATION ACT

A. GENERAL RULES

1,

The Commission shall establish and operate a “no-calls” database composed of a
list of residential telephone numbers of consumers who have given notice of their
objection to receiving telephone solicitations. This database will be updated

Information contained in the database may be used and accessed only for the
purpose of compliance with the MTSA and shall not be otherwise subject to
public inspection or disclosure.

The Commission shall make the “no-calls” database available to telephone
solicitors on CD-Rom, via an Internet download, or as a paper copy.

Except as otherwise provided for by law or regulation, a telephone solicitor may
not make or cause to be made any telephone solicitation to any consumer in this
state unless the telephone solicitor has purchased the “no-calls” database from the
Commission, The annual fee for the database shall be eight hundred dollars
($800.00) per year if obtained via an Internet download or on CD-ROM. The
annual fee for a paper copy of the database shall be one thousand dollars
($1,000.00) per year. The fees for access to the “no-calls” database may be
revised by the Commission upon proper notice of such change. The fee shall be
paid at the time of registration.

All telephone solicitors, not exempt from the MTSA, must register annually with
the Commission before conducting any telephone solicitations in the State of
Mississippi.  Solicitors must register via United States mail. Registration
information can be found at the Commission’s website.

Telephone solicitors registering with the Commission shall provide:
a. Name, address, telephone number(s), facsimile number(s), e-mail
address and federal tax ID number of the company, partnership,
or individual planning to operate in the state;

b. Name and address of the registrant’s designated agent for service
located in this state;

¢. A surety bond, to be approved by the Commission, shall be filed
with the Commission and executed for the registrant by a surety



