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EDUCATOR LICENSURE

Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act Process: To Approve
the Revision to the Licensure Guidelines for Reinstatement of an Expired
License as Recommended by the Commission on Teacher and Administrator
Education, Certification and Licensure

Development

Background Information:

Several Commission members, as well as school district personnel, have expressed
concern over the interpretation of the current guidelines for Reinstatement. This guideline
was originally intended to allow Mississippi educators who have been out of the profession
for a period of time to come back to education and have their license reinstated, however,
the policy as it currently reads, allows someone whose license has been expired for less
than five years to reinstate their standard license with no college coursework or continuing
education units. The guideline was originally approved so that mothers could stay at home
with small children and then come back to teaching when their children went to school; or
military personnel on active duty whose license expired could return to the classroom or
educators that moved out-of-state to return to MS and teach. While the original proposal
was well-intended, many educators that are currently employed by MS school districts are
allowing their licenses to expire and requesting reinstatement without earning the
coursework or CEUs required for renewal of a standard license. If educators choose to let
their license expire and have it reinstated rather than meeting renewal requirements, the
Office of Educator Licensure has no choice but to reinstate the license because the current
Reinstatement policy allows this.

On March 7, 2008, the Certification Commission approved this proposal to revise the
current licensure guidelines for Reinstatement. With the amended policy, educators with
expired licenses can still reinstate for five years if they have a valid out-of-state license, or
six hours of college coursework taken within the last five years, or if they are a retired
educator and show PERS documentation. However, the proposal revision will only allow
educators whose licenses have expired to reinstate for one year if they do not have the
documentation listed above. They would then have one year to earn the approved number
of continuing education units (CEUS) or hours of coursework appropriate for their license
Class level. The Certification Commission approved that when the educator submits the
appropriate CEUs or coursework, the educator license would be reinstated for four
additional years (the remainder of a five-year cycle).
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Current Licensure Guideline for Reinstatement of an Expired License (page 27)

FIVE YEAR LICENSE - REINSTATEMENT

public schools

Mississippi public schools (MS Retirement System
may be contacted by calling 1-800-444-7377)

Years since Requirements Validity
expiration
Less than 5 | Completed application requesting reinstatement 5 years
years
5to 10 years 1. Completed application requesting reinstatement 5 years
2. Three (3) semester hours of course work (with a grade
of “C” or higher) in content or job/skill related area*
OR
Valid out-of-state license
More than 10 | 1. Completed application requesting reinstatement 5 years
years 2. Six (6) semester hours of course work (with a grade of
“C” or higher) in content or job/skill related area*
OR
Valid out-of-state license
Retired educator | 1. Completed application requesting reinstatement 5 years
from Mississippi | 2. Official documentation of retirement from service in

*NOTE: Coursework for reinstatement must have been taken after the latest license issuance date.
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Proposed Change to Licensure Guideline for Reinstatement of an Expired License:

FIVE YEAR LICENSE — REINSTATEMENT

Mississippi educators may reinstate an expired five-year standard license with one of the following

Reinstatement
(issued at Class
level of last five-
year license)

(During the 1-year license, the educator must meet
approved five-year renewal requirements with CEUs or
coursework appropriate for the Class level of the standard
license. CEUs or coursework for renewal must be
completed within the last five-years. When renewal
requirements are met, educators must reapply for the
remaining four years of a standard five-year license)

options:
Requirements Validity
One-year 1. Completed application requesting reinstatement 1 year

(nonrenewable)

Retired educator
from Mississippi
public schools

2. Official documentation of retirement from service in
Mississippi public schools (MS Retirement System
may be contacted by calling 1-800-444-7377)

Reinstatement 1. Completed application requesting reinstatement 5 years
By Reciprocity 2. Valid out-of-state license
) 1. Completed application requesting reinstatement 5 years
Reinstatement 2. Six (6) semester hours of course work (with a grade of
By Coursework “C" or higher) in content or job/skill related area*
completed within the last five years.
Reinstatement of | 1. Completed application requesting reinstatement 5 years

*Licenses that have been revoked, suspended, or surrendered may only be reinstated by order of the Certification
Commission after a disciplinary hearing.

Current requirements for Renewal of a five-year standard license:

Class A:  Ten (10) continuing education units (CEUS) in content or job/skill related area

OR

Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEUS) in

content or job/skill related area

OR

Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area

OR

Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

Class AA, AAA or AAAA:
Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area

OR

Five (5) continuing education units (CEUS) in content or job/skill related area

OR

Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

Standard Career Administrator:
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Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits
Or

Six (6) hours of coursework

or

35 SEMI credits AND 3 hrs coursework

Or

Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership
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