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MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL LICENSURE

TE): Mississippi Secretary of State

From:  Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure

Date: July 11, 2008

Subject: Notice of Proposed Rule Adoption - Final Rule

Mississippi Code §73-43-11 gives the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure the power to
promulgate and publish reasonable rules and regulations necessary to enable it to discharge its
functions and to enforce the provisions of law regulating the practice of medicine.

This rule as adopted is without variance from the proposed rule.

This 1s an amendment to Board regulation, Chapter 12, Section 1101, The Practice of Radiologist

Assistants. It amends the current regulation to allow the Board to mail notices of renewals to
radiologist assistants instead of applications of renewal.
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Chapter 12 The Practice of Radiologist Assistants

Renewal Schedule
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The license of every person licensed to practice as a radiologist assistant in the state of
Mississippi shall be renewed annually.

On or before May 1 of each year, the State Board of Medical Licensure shall mail a notice
of renewal of license to every radiologist assistant to whom a license was issued or
renewed during the current licensing year. The notice shall provide instructions for
obtaining and submitting applications for renewal. The applicant shall obtain and
complete the application and submit it to the Board in the manner prescribed by the Board
in the notice before June 30 with the renewal fee of an amount established by the Board.
The payment of the annual license renewal fee shall be optional with all radiologist
assistants over the age of seventy (70) years. Upon receipt of the application and fee, the
Board shall verify the accuracy of the application and issue to applicant a certificate of
renewal for the ensuing year, beginning July 1 and expiring June 30 of the succeeding
calendar year. Such renewal shall render the holder thereof a licensed radiologist
assistant as stated on the renewal form.

A radiologist assistant practicing in Mississippi who allows his or her license to lapse by
failing to renew the license as provided in Section 901 may be reinstated by the Board on
satisfactory explanation for such failure to renew, by completion of a reinstatement form,
and upon payment of the renewal fee for the current year, and shall be assessed a fine of
Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) plus an additional fine of Five Dollars ($5.00) for each
month thereafter that the license renewal remains delinquent.

Any radiologist assistant not practicing in Mississippi who allows his or her license to
lapse by failing to renew the license as provided in Section 901 may be reinstated by the
Board on satisfactory explanation for such failure to renew, by completion of a
reinstatement form, and upon payment of the arrearage for the previous five (5) years and
the renewal fee for the current year.

Any radiologist assistant who allows his or her license to lapse shall be notified by the
Board within thirty (30) days of such lapse.

Any person practicing as a radiologist assistant during the time his or her license has
lapsed shall be considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the same penalties
as provided at Mississippi Code, Section 73-25-14.

Amended July 10, 2008.



