REGULATION SETTING FORTH PROCEDURES AND FEES FOR THE PRODUCTION OF

AGENCY RECORDS PUSUANT TO THE STATE PUBLIC RECORDS ACT AGENCY

SERVICES AND PUBLICATIONS*

L.

REQUEST OF AGENCY RECORDS PURSUANT TO THE STATE PUBLIC
RECORDS ACT

A. POLICY

It is the declared public policy of the Office of the Secretary of State (“Agency™)
to provide service and information to the people of the State of Mississippi and to all
others who request such service and information, consistent with the provisions of the
Mississippi Public Records Act of 1983, Miss Code Ann. § 26-61-1, et.seq (Supp. 1983)
(“Public Records Act™).

B. DEFINITIONS

Identifiable Record: A requested record is identifiable if a reasonably specific
description of the record has been given, such as the date of the record, the subject
matter, division or staff person involved, or other identifier which will permit location or
retrieval of the record.

Working Day: A working day is any day other than a weekend, state holiday,
federal holiday, or other day on which by executive order the Agency is authorized to be
closed.

C. PROCEDURE

Records Available: All public records of the Agency not otherwise exempt
pursuant to § 25-61-9 and § 25-61-11 of the Public Records Act shall be made available
for inspection or copying, or both pursuant to the procedures outline below.

Request in Writing: All requests shall be in writing, if possible, and shall request
the disclosure of identifiable records and shall be signed by the person or persons
requesting the records, giving the requester’s address and telephone number. This
requirement may be waived at the discretion of the Assistant Secretary of State in order
to facilitate the timely release of the information.

Agency Response: Within three (3) days computed from the date of the receipt of
the request, the Agency shall notify the requesting party as to whether the record(s)




requested will be disclosed. If the record is to be disclosed, the Agency shall give and
estimate of the total cost, if any, of compliance with the request. Upon payment of the
cost estimate, the Agency shall produce the record(s) requested no later than six (6)
working days from the date of payment of the cost estimate.

Denials: Any denial of a request shall be made by the Assistant Secretary of State
for the subject matter work area.

D. TRADE SECRET NOTICE

Notice of Request: For the purpose of providing notice of a request for
inspection, examination, copying or reproduction to a third party which has submitted
trade secrets, confidential commercial or financial information, pursuant to § 25-61-9 of
the Public Records Act, twenty-five (25) days from the third party receipt of written
notice shall be deemed a reasonable period of time after which the requested record(s)
shall be released.

E. FEES
Costs: A fee covering the direct cost of search, review, and reproduction to
comply with a request shall be charged, unless the fee is waived pursuant to this

regulation, as follows:

1. Reproduction charge per page shall be $0.25 per page. Self-service shall
be $0.10 per page.

2 Certification of Authenticity shall be $1.00 for each certificate.

Records delivered via FAX shall be an additional charge of $5.00 per
transmission.

LS

4. Records may be delivered by overnight delivery at an additional charge of
$10.00 per delivery.

5. There will be a charge of $2.00 per item for documents retrieved from off-
site storage.

6. On-line access to corporate and uniform commercial code information,
through the SUCCESS program, may be obtained through the State
Computer Center. An initial charge of $250.00for new accounts shall be
charged. Transactions will be billed at $0.10 each on a monthly basis.

7. Special database printout requests such as listing of all nonprofit
corporations; list of all new corporations; list of corporations with
identical designed agents for service of process; list of corporations with a
particular person listed as officer or director; list of all notary publics, etc.



will be calculated on a per-request basis, depending on the volume of
information requested.

8. All requests for electronic information will be provided via electronic
transmission, diskette, CD-ROM, or magnetic tape. Costs will be
calculated on a per-request basis, depending on the volume of information
requested and the method of transmission. A fee of $200.00 per copy will
be charged for copies of the Agency’s corporate database which copy will
be supplied in EBCDIC format on customer supplied medium. A fee of
$150.00 per copy will be charged for copies of the Agency’s notary public
commission database which copy will be supplied in DBASE format on
agency medium.

i 5 For extensive searches and duplication of records, the person making the
request may be allowed to perform the searches and duplication in lieu of
it being performed by staff of the Agency, provided it is done in a non-
disruptive manner and the fee for the use of the Agency’s equipment is
paid in advance.

Free Services: There shall be no charge if the record requested is not found, or if
it is determined to be exempt from public disclosure. No charge shall be made for staff
hours spent in resolving any legal or policy questions concerning the request.

Public Interest Waiver: Fees established by this regulation may be waived or
reduced upon a determination that such waiver or reduction is in the public interest.
Persons seeking such waiver or reduction of fees may be required to submit a statement
setting forth the intended purpose for which the records are requested or to otherwise
indicated how disclosure will primarily benefit the public, and, in appropriate cases, to
explain why the volume of records requested is necessary. Determinations pursuant to
this section are solely within the discretion of the Agency.

I1.

MISCELLANEOUS

A. METHOD OF PAYMENT

Fees and charges shall be paid by check or money order made payable to the
Office of the Secretary of State, or by Visa, MasterCard or cash (exact change). A charge
of $5.00 per item will be assessed for checks returned for insufficient funds.
I1I.

FEES FOR PUBLICATIONS



Charges for bound documents, publications, etc. of the Office of Secretary of State shall
be as follows:

A. Mississippi Code Annotated and Supplements — Price set by the publisher,
Lawyer’s Cooperative Publishing Company. State government entities may acquire a
discounted set through the publisher.

B. Legislative Session Laws — Price set by the Office of Secretary of State in
accordance with applicable statutes. The current cost is $300.00 for hard copies,
including extraordinary sessions, and $200.00 for electronic transmission of the same
information.

i General Laws — Price set by the Office of Secretary of State in accordance with
applicable statutes. The current cost is $65.00, which includes shipping and handling.

34 House and Senate Journals — Price set by the Office of Secretary of State in
accordance with applicable statutes. The current cost for the House Journal is $65.00 per
set. The current cost for the Senate Journal is $100.00 per set.

E. Advance Sheets — Price set by the Office of Secretary of State in accordance with
applicable statutes. The current cost is $12.00 per set.

F. Mississippi Official & Statistical Register (Blue Book) — Publications provided
free of charge in accordance with applicable statutes. Limited production restricts
distribution to one copy per individual. Public school teachers and school children are
provided access to copies by the State Department of Education, which purchases 5,000
additional volumes for educational purposes.

G. Mississippi Souvenir Booklet — Publication is provided free of charge to
individuals and school children. Limited production restricts distribution to one copy per
individual. Teachers are provided up to 30 copies for their classroom. A charge of $1.00
per copy is assessed for commercial distribution.

H. Elected Official Directory — Publication is provided free of charge to individuals.
Limited production restricts distribution to one copy per individual.

i Mississippi State Constitution - Publication is provided free of charge to
individuals. Limited production restricts distribution to one copy per individual.

J. Judicial Directory & Court Calendar — Publication is provided free of charge to
members of the Mississippi State Bar and the state judiciary. Additional volumes are
provided for a nominal charge of $1-56-$5.00 per volume.

K. Pre-Advance Sheet Index — Service is provided for a charge of $25.00 per
legislative session. Information includes bills signed into law, long title, effective date,
and number of pages.




L Flags — Mississippi state flags are available to Legislators free of charge upon
request. Individuals may purchase 3 by 5 foot cotton or nylon flags from the Office of
Secretary of State for $17.50. Flags will be mailed for an additional handling charge of
$2.50.

IV.

REPEAL OF PREVIOUS RULES AND REGULATIONS

All previously promulgated rules or regulations which are inconsistent with any
provisions set forth above are hereby repealed.

*Conflicts between this regulation and existing statutes relating to access to Agency
records and fees charged by individual work areas of the Agency shall be resolved in
favor of the existing statute.



