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Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act Process: To Amend the
Licensure Guideline for Child Development PreK-K as Recommended by the
Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure

Specifications:

On January 8, 2010, the Certification Commission approved an addition to the
current guideline that will allow a teacher that is already fully certified in Elementary
Education K-3, K-4 or K-6 to add on the PreK-K certification by completing an
approved program of coursework that would include a minimum of 9-12 hours in
Early Childhood. Before any programs can be approved, the board must amend the
guideline to certify not just a degree in Child Development but a supplemental
endorsement in this area for those already licensed in Elementary Education.

Background Information:

Currently, our approved licensure guideline for the 153 license in Child Development
for PreK-K only allows certification for those that have completed a degree in Early
Childhood Education or Child Development from one of the five approved programs
in Mississippi. These approved programs are Alcorn State University, Delta State
University, Jackson State University, Mississippi State University and the University
of Southern Mississippi. In current guidelines, the only way someone could teach
preschool children in our schools is to complete a degree from one of these schools.
An Elementary certified teacher could not become licensed for PreK-K without
completing another degree.

The board is being asked to approve the recommendation from the Certification

Commission to amend the guideline for Child Development to include a supplemental
endorsement clause.

Attachments: Page 16 of the Licensure guidelines

Back-up Material: Attached

Recommendation: Approval



SPECIAL LICENSES

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE - CHILD DEVELOPMENT (PreK - K) (153)

License Requirements Validity Renewal#
Bachelor's degree or higher with child 5 years | Ten (10) continuing education
development emphasis from a units (CEUSs) in content or

Class A regionally/nationally accredited job/skill related area
institution of higher learning OR
Official verification of program Three (3) semester hours in
accreditation by the American content or job/skill related area
Association of Family and and
Consumer Sciences or National Five (5) continuing education
Association for Education of Young units (CEUSs) in content or
Children ( see Form ) job/skill related area
Praxis | (Pre-Professional Skills OR
Test-PPST) Six (6) semester hours in
Praxis Il (Specialty Area Test) content or job/skill related area
Hold a valid five-year license in
Elementary Ed. K-3, K-4 or K-6.
Complete an approved
supplemental endorsement
program in PreK-K
Meet the requirements for a Five Year Three (3) semester hours in
Class A License in Child Development 5 years | content or job/skill related area
Master’'s degree in the endorsement OR
Class AA area in which license is requested Five (5) continuing education
units (CEUS) in content or
Master of Education Degree job/skill related area
Meet the requirements for a
Five Year Class A License in Child 5 years
Development Same as for AA
Class AAA Specialist degree in the endorsement
area in which license is requested
Specialist of Education Degree
Meet the requirements for a Five Year
Class A License in Child Development
Doctoral degree in the endorsement Same as for AA
Class AAAA area in which license is requested 5 years
Doctor of Education Degree
NOTE: 1) Individuals who have completed an approved teacher education program in Elementary

Education and hold or qualify for a license in Elementary Education K-3 (116), Kindergarten—Grade 4 (152),
or Elementary Education 1-9 (115) may obtain a supplemental endorsement in Nursery-Grade 1 (150) by
completing an approved program. Mississippi institutions offering a program in Nursery-Grade 1 (150) are
Alcorn State University, Mississippi Valley State University, Belhaven College, and Mississippi State

University.

2) Nursery-Grade 1 (150) and Child Development (153) may not be added to Elementary Ed 4-8.




