OFFICE OF QUALITY PROFESSIONALS
Summary of State Board of Education Items
April 15-16, 2010

EDUCATOR LICENSURE

~ Yo Amend the Licensure Guideline for Child Development PreK-K as
Recommended by the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education,
Certification and Licensure (cleared APA with no comments)

Specifications:

On January 8, 2010, the Certification Commission approved an addition to the current
guideline that will allow a teacher that is already fully certified in Elementary Education K-3,
K-4 or K-6 to add on the PreK-K certification by completing an approved program of
coursework that would include a minimum of 9-12 hours in Early Childhood. Before any
programs can be approved, the board must amend the guideline to certify not just a degree
in Child Development but a supplemental endorsement in this area for those already
licensed in Elementary Education. .

Background Information:

In 2008, the state Legislature approved new statute and funding to implement pre-school
programs in the public and parochial schools in our state. Many school districts have
already implemented programs for 3's and 4 year olds. The MDE offices of Curriculum and
Early Childhood Education have been working with a task force to develop new curriculums
for pre-school education as a result of this legislation. This new law has increased the need
for a change to the licensure guidelines for the Child Development PreK-K license.
Currently, our approved licensure guideline for the 153 license in Child Development for
PreK-K only allows certification for those that have completed a degree in Early Childhood
Education or Child Development from one of the five approved programs in Mississippi.
These approved programs are Alcorn University, Delta State University, Jackson State
University, Mississippi State University and the University of Southern Mississippi. In current
guidelines, the only way someone could teach preschool children in our schools is to
complete a degree from one of these schools. An Elementary certified teacher could not
become licensed for PreK-K without completing another degree.

In the spring of 2009, IHL convened a forum to discuss how our colleges and universities
can amend current programs or develop new programs to certify teachers for these
preschool areas. The consensus of the meeting was that colleges could develop programs
and submit proposals for an “add-on” or supplemental program in PreK-Kindergarten for
teachers already licensed in K-3 or K-4 or K-6 Elementary Education. Many of our current
Child Development programs have proposals ready to submit that will train Elementary



certified teachers to teach preschoolers and add the 153 PreK-K to their license.
The board is being asked to approve the recommendation from the Certification

Commission to amend the guideline for Child Development to include a supplemental
endorsement clause.

Attachments:

1. Page 16 of the Licensure guidelines



SPECIAL LICENSES

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE - CHILD DEVELOPMENT (PreK - K) (153)

Doctor of Education Degree

License Requirements Validity Renewal#
1. Bachelor's degree or higher with child 5 years | Ten (10) continuing education
development emphasis from a units (CEUs) in content or
Class A regionally/nationally accredited job/skill related area
institution of higher learning OR
2. Official verification of program Three (3) semester hours in
accreditation by the American content or job/skill related area
Association of Family and and
Consumer Sciences or National Five (5) continuing education
Association for Education of Young units (CEUs) in content or
Children ( see Form ) jobiskill related area
3. Praxis | (Pre-Professional Skills OR
Test-PPST) Six (8) semester hours in
4. Praxis Il (Specialty Area Test) content or job/skill related area
OR
1. Hold a valid five-year license in
Elementary Ed. K-3, K-4 or K-6.
3. Complete an approved
supplemental endorsement
program in PreK-K
1. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Three (3) semester hours in
Class A License in Child Development 5 years | content or job/skill related area
2. Master's degree in the endorsement OR
Class AA area in which license is requested Five (5) continuing education
OR units (CEUs) in content or
Master of Education Degree job/skill related area
1. Meet the requirements for a
Five Year Class A License in Child 5 years
Development Same as for AA
Class AAA 2. Specialist degree in the endorsement
area in which license is requested
OR
Specialist of Education Degree
1. Meet the requirements for a Five Year
Class A License in Child Development
2. Doctoral degree in the endorsement Same as for AA
Class AAAA area in which license is requested 5 years
OR

NOTE: 1) Individuals who have completed an approved teacher education program in Elementary Education and ho Id or
qualify for a license in Elementary Education K-3 (116), Kindergarten-Grade 4 (152), or Elementary Education 1-9 (115)
may obtain a supplemental endorsement in Nursery-Grade 1 (150) by completing an approved program. Mississippi
institutions offering a program in Nursery-Grade 1 (150) are Alcorn State University, Mississippi Valley State University,
Belhaven College, and Mississippi State University.

2) Nursery-Grade 1 (150) and Child Development (153) may not be added to Elementary Ed 4-8.




