MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF CONTRACTORS

Proposed Amendment to Miss. Admin. Code 30-9-2:

Rule 2. Rules and Regulations — Commercial

Pursuant to the powers and respons1brlltles of the State Board of Contractors conferred by

accordance with Sections

Gede—of—l—9—7—2—as—ameﬂded-)- M1ss Code Ann. §§ 31 3- 13(0 (1972) as amended, and in
253 1threush—25-43-49Mussissippt Code of 1972 - as amended.

Miss. Code Ann. §§ 25-43-3.101 — 25-43-3.115 (1972), known as the Mississippi Administrative
Procedures Law, the Board hereby adopts, establishes and promulgates the following rules and
regulations and directs that same be entered upon its minutes and made available to all applicants
for initial or renewed Certificates of Responsibility issued by the Board and all other persons.

Rule 2(1)(a) No—eemﬁeate Certrtlcates or any feﬂewal renewals thereof shall may be issued

Rule 2(1)(i)

any tlme durmg the course of a calendar year by the Executrve Dlrector after his
determination that the applicant has satisfied all statutory and other requirements
prerequisite to the issuance of a certificate or a renewal thereof.

An applicant for a new certificate shall furnish the Board with at a minimum a
reviewed financial statement completed within the prior twelve (12) months on a
form prescribed by the Board, prepared and signed by a certified public
accountant, stating the assets, liabilities and net worth of the person, firm,
partnership, co-partnership, or corporation. Such statement will be used by the
Board to determine the financial responsibility of the applicant to perform work in
the amount of Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50 000 00) or more with respect to pub11c
and private projects € - 2 5
wrt:h—respeet—te—pmmte—pfojeets Assets of appllcants for major clas51ﬁcatrons
must include a net worth of at least Fifty Thousand Dollars (50,000.00). Assets of
all other applicants must include a net worth of at least Twenty Thousand Dollars
($20,000.00). The financial statement and any information contained therein, as
well as any other financial information required to be submitted by an applicant,
shall be confidential. All applicants for renewal certificates shall meet the same
requirements set forth above except the following applies regarding financial
statements: Certificate holders performing work that is equal to or in excess of
Two Million Dollars ($2,000,000.00) per year shall furnish a reviewed financial
statement. Certificate holders performing work that is less than Two Million
Dollars ($2,000,000.00) per year shall furnish a balance sheet prepared in
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.
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Rule 2(1)(m) An applicant for renewal of a certificate that has been expired for at least one

Rule 2(12)

Rule 2(29)

hundred eighty (180) days shall submit all information required for a new
certificate.

It shall be unlawful and illegal for a Primary Contractor, Contractor, Owner,
Awarding Authority, Sub-contractor, or any other person to contract, or
subcontract, all of any portion of a public or private construction project regulated
by Chapter 527, General Laws of Mississippi — 1988 (Sections 31-3-1 — 31-3-23,
Miss. Code Ann. (1972, as amended)), exceeding Fifty Thousand Dollars
($50 000 00) with respect to public and pnvate prcgects aﬂd—e*eeedmg—eﬂe
Hhdred SEsand 3 100, 00000 i eets; to any
other Contractor or Sub-Contractor, unless the Contractor or Subcontractor was
duly licensed by this Board as of the date of submission of bids on the work. It is
further provided that the Prime Contractor, on or before the date of being awarded
the prime contract, shall submit to the awarding agency a list of all subcontracts,
exceeding Flfty Thousand Dollars ($SO 000. OO) with respect to publ1c and prlvate
projects and OUSar 00,00 . 6 a

prejeets.

The passing score for the examination requirement provided in Miss. Code Ann.
§ 31-3-13(a) (1972, as amended) is a grade of at least 70%. Any applicant for a
Certificate of Responsibility must furnish proof of having taken an objective,
standardized examination. The Board may administer an oral examination to an
applicant, upon request, if such applicant is unable to take a written exam.



MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF CONTRACTORS

Proposed Amendments to Rules and Regulations — Residential Builders and Remodelers — Miss.
Admin. Code 30-9-3:1

Rule3gl!ja[ icense-or-an ehewit-Bereo hall be-issueduntil-an-application-has-been-on
the—wi i - Licenses or any renewals thereof
shall may be issued at any time during the course of a calendar year by the
Executive Director after his determination that the applicant has satisfied all
statutory and other requirements prerequisite to the issuance of a license or a
renewal thereof.

Rule 3(1)(1)
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MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF CONTRACTORS

Proposed Amendment to Miss. Admin. Code 30-9-2:

Rule 2. Rules and Regulations — Commercial

Pursuant to the powers and responsibilities of the State Board of Contractors conferred by Miss.
Code Ann. §§ 31-3-13(f) (1972), as amended, and in accordance with Sections Miss. Code Ann.
§§ 25-43-3.101 — 25-43-3.115 (1972), known as the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law,
the Board hereby adopts, establishes and promulgates the following rules and regulations and
directs that same be entered upon its minutes and made available to all applicants for initial or
renewed Certificates of Responsibility issued by the Board and all other persons.

Rule 2(1)(a) Certificates or any renewals thereof may be issued at any time during the course

Rule 2(1)(i)

of a calendar year by the Executive Director after his determination that the
applicant has satisfied all statutory and other requirements prerequisite to the
issuance of a certificate or a renewal thereof.

An applicant for a new certificate shall furnish the Board with at a minimum a
reviewed financial statement completed within the prior twelve (12) months on a
form prescribed by the Board, prepared and signed by a certified public
accountant, stating the assets, liabilities and net worth of the person, firm,
partnership, co-partnership, or corporation. Such statement will be used by the
Board to determine the financial responsibility of the applicant to perform work in
the amount of Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00) or more with respect to public
and private projects. Assets of applicants for major classifications must include a
net worth of at least Fifty Thousand Dollars (50,000.00). Assets of all other
applicants must include a net worth of at least Twenty Thousand Dollars
($20,000.00). The financial statement and any information contained therein, as
well as any other financial information required to be submitted by an applicant,
shall be confidential. All applicants for renewal certificates shall meet the same
requirements set forth above except the following applies regarding financial
statements: Certificate holders performing work that is equal to or in excess of
Two Million Dollars ($2,000,000.00) per year shall furnish a reviewed financial
statement. Certificate holders performing work that is less than Two Million
Dollars ($2,000,000.00) per year shall furnish a balance sheet prepared in
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.
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Rule 2(1)(m) An applicant for renewal of a certificate that has been expired for at least one

Rule 2(12)

Rule 2(29)

hundred eighty (180) days shall submit all information required for a new
certificate.

It shall be unlawful and illegal for a Primary Contractor, Contractor, Owner,
Awarding Authority, Sub-contractor, or any other person to contract, or
subcontract, all of any portion of a public or private construction project regulated
by Chapter 527, General Laws of Mississippi — 1988 (Sections 31-3-1 — 31-3-23,
Miss. Code Ann. (1972, as amended)), exceeding Fifty Thousand Dollars
(850,000.00) with respect to public and private projects to any other Contractor,
or Sub-Contractor, unless the Contractor, or Subcontractor was duly licensed by
this Board as of the date of submission of bids on the work. It is further provided
that the Prime Contractor, on or before the date of being awarded the prime
contract, shall submit to the awarding agency a list of all subcontracts, exceeding
Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00) with respect to public and private projects.

The passing score for the examination requirement provided in Miss. Code Ann.
§ 31-3-13(a) (1972, as amended) is a grade of at least 70%. Any applicant for a
Certificate of Responsibility must furnish proof of having taken an objective,
standardized examination. The Board may administer an oral examination to an
applicant, upon request, if such applicant is unable to take a written exam.



MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF CONTRACTORS

Proposed Amendments to Rules and Regulations — Residential Builders and Remodelers — Miss.
Admin. Code 30-9-3:1

Rule 3(1)(a) Licenses or any renewals thereof may be issued at any time during the course of a
calendar year by the Executive Director after his determination that the applicant

has satisfied all statutory and other requirements prerequisite to the issuance of a
license or a renewal thereof.



