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MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF CONTRACTORS

Amendment to Miss. Admin. Code 30-9-2:

Rule 2.  Rules and Regulations – Commercial

Pursuant to the powers and responsibilities of the State Board of Contractors conferred by Miss. 
Code Ann. §§ 31-3-13(f) (1972), as amended, and in accordance with Sections Miss. Code Ann. 
§§ 25-43-3.101 – 25-43-3.115 (1972), known as the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, 
the Board hereby adopts, establishes and promulgates the following rules and regulations and 
directs that same be entered upon its minutes and made available to all applicants for initial or 
renewed Certificates of Responsibility issued  by the Board and all other persons.

Rule 2(1)(a) Certificates or any renewals thereof may be issued at any time during the course 
of a calendar year by the Executive Director after his determination that the 
applicant has satisfied all statutory and other requirements prerequisite to the 
issuance of a certificate or a renewal thereof.

Rule 2(1)(i) An applicant for a new certificate shall furnish the Board with at a minimum a 
reviewed financial statement completed within the prior twelve (12) months on a 
form prescribed by the Board, prepared and signed by a certified public 
accountant, stating the assets, liabilities and net worth of the person, firm, 
partnership, co-partnership, or corporation.  Such statement will be used by the 
Board to determine the financial responsibility of the applicant to perform work in 
the amount of Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00) or more with respect to public 
and private projects.  Assets of applicants for major classifications must include a 
net worth of at least Fifty Thousand Dollars (50,000.00).  Assets of all other 
applicants must include a net worth of at least Twenty Thousand Dollars 
($20,000.00).  The financial statement and any information contained therein, as 
well as any other financial information required to be submitted by an applicant, 
shall be confidential.  All applicants for renewal certificates shall meet the same 
requirements set forth above except the following applies regarding financial 
statements:  Certificate holders performing work that is equal to or in excess of 
Two Million Dollars ($2,000,000.00) per year shall furnish a reviewed financial 
statement.  Certificate holders performing work that is less than Two Million 
Dollars ($2,000,000.00) per year shall furnish a balance sheet prepared in 
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.
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Rule 2(1)(m) An applicant for renewal of a certificate that has been expired for at least one 
hundred eighty (180) days shall submit all information required for a new 
certificate.

Rule 2(12) It shall be unlawful and illegal for a Primary Contractor, Contractor, Owner, 
Awarding Authority, Sub-contractor, or any other person to contract, or 
subcontract, all of any portion of a public or private construction project regulated 
by Chapter 527, General Laws of Mississippi – 1988 (Sections 31-3-1 – 31-3-23, 
Miss. Code Ann. (1972, as amended)), exceeding Fifty Thousand Dollars 
($50,000.00) with respect to public and private projects to any other Contractor, 
or Sub-Contractor, unless the Contractor, or Subcontractor was duly licensed by 
this Board as of the date of submission of bids on the work.  It is further provided 
that the Prime Contractor, on or before the date of being awarded the prime 
contract, shall submit to the awarding agency a list of all subcontracts, exceeding 
Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00) with respect to public and private projects.

Rule 2(29) The passing score for the examination requirement provided in Miss. Code Ann. 
§ 31-3-13(a) (1972, as amended) is a grade of at least 70%.  Any applicant for a 
Certificate of Responsibility must furnish proof of having taken an objective, 
standardized examination.  The Board may administer an oral examination to an
applicant, upon request, if such applicant is unable to take a written exam.
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MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF CONTRACTORS

Amendments to Rules and Regulations – Residential Builders and Remodelers – Miss. Admin. 
Code 30-9-3:1

Rule 3(1)(a) Licenses or any renewals thereof may be issued at any time during the course of a 
calendar year by the Executive Director after his determination that the applicant 
has satisfied all statutory and other requirements prerequisite to the issuance of a 
license or a renewal thereof.




