Part 100 Chapter 30 Minimum Monthly Retirement Allowance
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Purpose

The purpose of this-regulation is to establish a minimum retirement allowance for all
Public Employees’ Retirement System of Mississippi (PERS) retirees eligible for a
monthly retirement allowance.

Minimum retirement allowance for any person who became a member before July
1, 2011

1.  Minimum retirement allowance from May 6, 1958 to June 30, 1971
Members of PERS who were eligible for any amount of monthly service retirement
benefits prior to passage of H.B. 904, Laws of 1958, on May 6, 1958, and who had
not retired prior to that date, may retire after that date with the $10 per month
minimum provided that they were 65 or over at the time of termination of their
employment. Members who were not eligible for any monthly service retirement
benefits whatsoever on or before May 6, 1958, and who withdrew from service
prior to that date are not eligible for the $10 per month minimum benefits unless
their termination of employment had been made at the close of the 1958 school
year which might have occurred prior to May 6, 1958.

2.  Minimum retirement allowance from July 1, 1971, to June 30, 1973
Effective July 1, 1971, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option was two dollars ($2) per year of service.

3.  Minimum retirement allowance from July 1, 1973, to June 30, 1980
Effective July 1, 1973, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option was three dollars ($3) per year of service.

4.  Minimum retirement allowance from July 1, 1980, to June 30, 1985
Effective July 1, 1980, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option was five dollars ($5) per year of service.

5.  Minimum retirement allowance from July 1, 1985, to June 30, 1987
Effective July 1, 1985, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option was seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50) per year of service.

6. Minimum retirement allowance from and after July 1, 1987
Effective July 1, 1987, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option is ten dollars ($10) per year of service or as otherwise provided in
Miss. Code Ann. §25-11-111(d)(3) (1972, as amended-).

Minimum retirement allowance for any person who becomes 2 member on or after
July 1, 2011

Miss. Code Ann. §25-11-111(¢) (1972, as amended) does not provide for a minimum
monthly retirement allowance for any person who becomes a member of PERS on or
after July 1, 2011.

(History: Adopted January 28, 1959, page 402; amended June 21, 2005, to be
effective August 1, 2005; reformatted August 1, 2007; amended effective August 1,
2011)
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Public Employees” Retirement System of Mississippi (PERS) retirees eligible for a
monthly retirement allowance.
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101, Minimum retirement allowance from May 6, 1958 to June 30, 1971
Members of the-Retirement-SystemPERS who were eligible for any amount of
monthly service retirement benefits prior to passage of H.B. 904, Laws of 1958, on
May 6, 1958, and who had not retired prior to that date, may retire after that date
with the $10 per month minimum provided that they were 65 or over at the time of
termination of their employment. Members who were not eligible for any monthly
service retirement benefits whatsoever on or before May 6, 1958, and who
withdrew from service prior to that date are not eligible for the $10 per month
minimum benefits unless their termination of employment had been made at the
close of the 1958 school year which might have occurred prior to May 6, 1958.

102. Minimum retirement allowance from July 1, 1971, to June 30, 1973
Effective July 1, 1971, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option was two dollars ($2) per year of service.

103, Minimum retirement allowance from July 1, 1973, to June 30, 1980
Effective July 1, 1973, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option was three dollars ($3) per year of service.

104. Minimum retirement allowance from July 1, 1980, to June 30, 1985
Effective July 1, 1980, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option was five dollars ($5) per year of service.

105, Minimum retirement allowance from July 1, 1985, to June 30, 1987
Effective July 1, 1985, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option was seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50) per year of service.

106, Minimum retirement allowance from and after July 1, 1987
Effective July 1, 1987, the minimum monthly retirement allowance under the
maximum option is ten dollars ($10) per year of service or as otherwise provided in
Miss. Code Ann. §25-11-111(d)(43) (1972, as amended-).

102 Minimum retirement allowance for any person who becomes a member on or after
July 1, 2011

Miss. Code Ann. §25-11-111(e) (1972, as amended) does not provide for 2 minimum
monthly retirement allowance for any person who becomes a member of PERS on or
after July 1, 2011.

(History: Adopted January 28, 1959, page 402; amended June 21, 2005, to be
effective August 1, 2005; reformatted August 1, 2007; amended effective August 1
2011



