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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM POLICY MANUAL

INTRODUCTION

Section 100 -

Section 101 -

Section 102 -

This Policy Manual establishes policies and procedures for the Division of Early
Childhood Care and Development in the administration of the Child Care Payment
Program.

The Division of Early Childhood Care and Development (DECCD) establishes
policy in compliance with the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act, as
amended, the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) regulations, and the
CCDF State Plan.

Parental choice in the selection of a child care provider is the cornerstone of the
Child Care and Development Fund. Services to eligible parents are to be provided
as quickly and efficiently as possible, subject to the availability of funds. DECCD
should make available to all child care providers and parents all policies herein
specifying duties, requirements, and responsibilities required of them. DECCD
must also make available training on the policy herein, for all licensed and
unlicensed child care providers serving certificate children, no less than annually.
The person designated to attend may be the Director, Owner, or an authorized
representative.  Participation in training is required for all providers.



SECTION 100: CHILD CARE SERVICES
100.01 PURPOSE OF FUNDING SOURCE

1) This manual sets forth policies and procedures for the Mississippi Child Care Payment
Program (CCPP), funded by the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) and
administered by the Mississippi Department of Human Services (MDHS), Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development (DECCD).

(2)  The purpose of the Child Care and Development Fund, according to federal regulations, is
to "increase the availability, affordability, and quality of child care services." The goal of
DECCD through the CCPP is to offer a seamless system of high quality child care which
supports both children and their families, and operates within federal guidelines.

(3) CCDF funds will be used to provide child care services for Temporary Assistance for
Needy Families (TANF), Transitional Child Care (TCC) Families, and eligible families at
risk of going on TANF with very low-income and low-income. Very low-income families
are those whose income is at or below 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).
Low-income families whose income falls above 50 percent and at or below 85 percent of the
SMI.

100.02 LEGAL AUTHORITY
(1) Title VI -Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF)

Legislation: Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
(P.L. 104-193).

Regulations: 45CFR Parts 98 and 99 and Final Regulations published in the Federal
Register, July 24, 1998 at 63 FR 39981.

100.03 CHILD CARE RESPONSIBILITIES AND THE RIGHT TO PARENTAL CHOICE

1) Parents are legally and morally responsible for their children and have the right to select the
child care provider of their choice.

2 Child care providers are responsible for providing a safe and secure, high quality
educational, nurturing environment for children in their care.

3) DECCD must assist parent(s) in assessing their child care needs and, upon request, provide
a list of licensed facilities for parent(s) who do not have a ready choice. DECCD will not
influence parent(s) to choose a particular provider and/or facility.



100.04 NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY

(1) Individuals shall not be discriminated against on the basis of race, color, sex, national
origin, religion, age, or handicapping conditions in the provision of child care services.

100.05 SAFEGUARDING INFORMATION

(1) Employees of DECCD and child care providers are prohibited from using or disclosing any
information concerning a parent's use of services for any purpose not in conformity with
federal and state requirements, except with the written consent of the parent or authorized
representative. The public will not be able to request a copy of client information and/or
records. An authorized representative is an individual who has the legal right to speak or act
on the parent's behalf. Documentation of this designation must be contained in the parent's

file. (See Appendix 100).



SECTION 101: CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE PROGRAM

101.01 POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR THE CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE PROGRAM
1) The child care certificate is a document issued directly to eligible parent(s) or authorized

representatives, provided that funds are available. The certificate allows the parent to
select the child care provider of his/her choice. (See Appendix 100.01).

101.02 ELIGIBILITY PRIORITY POPULATIONS
1) If funds are available, children must be served on a first-come, first-served basis in order of
eligibility priority. Applications must be date-stamped as they are received. CCDF child
care services will be available to children of parents according to the following priorities:
1% Child Care for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
2" Child Care for Transitional Child Care (TCC)
3™ Children of very low-income working parent(s) whose income is at or below 50
percent of the State Median Income (SMI) who are at risk of going on TANF, in the
following order:
A Children in Protective Services or Foster Care;

B. Children with Special Needs (up to 85% of the SMI);

C. Children of parent(s) deployed in the Mississippi National Guard, or
Reserve (up to 85% of the SMI);

D.  Children of Teen Parent(s) currently enrolled in high school full-time;

E. Children of all other eligible parent(s) at this income level, including parents
enrolled in an approved educational program, whether working or not.

4" Based upon the availability of funding, children of parent(s) working the required
25 hours per week and/or are enrolled in an approved educational program whose
income falls above 50 percent of the SMI and at or below 85 percent of the SMI.



SECTION 102: CRITERIA FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES

102.01 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS

1)

()

@)

Parents have the right to choose the type of child care they would like for their child. The
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development has categorized the choices available to
parents as follows: a child care center, group home, family day care home, relative provider
(in-home or out-of-home) and a non-relative provider (in-home or out-of-home). Parents
must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care provided
while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider. See Glossary of Terms for
definitions of each.

Child Care Centers and Group Homes —

In order to receive reimbursement for services rendered, a child care center or
group home must be licensed by the Mississippi State Department of Health. A
copy of the license must be filed with DECCD. The child care center or the group
home must have a current license. Additionally, these licensed centers must remain
in compliance at all times with the Mississippi State Department of Health=s
Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities.

If a center's license expires and services are being provided for children on the
CCPP, DECCD may continue to pay the provider under the following conditions:

A. The Health Department has not officially closed the center;

B. The center's director submits a written request, on center letterhead, for
child care payments to continue; and
C. The center provides copies of the licensing renewal fee payment,

documentation of a current inspection, and a copy of correspondence from
the licensing division stating why the license has not been renewed; and

D. A center with an expired license will be reimbursed for children with a
current certificate up to the time frame allowed by the Mississippi State
Department of Health; however, no new certificates will be issued until the
license is renewed.

E. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider.

Family Day Care Homes and Relative/Non-Relative Providers —

In order to receive reimbursement, all unlicensed providers must keep a record of
immunizations for all children in their care and a copy of the Basic Health, Safety
and Nutrition Assurances. A signed copy of the Basic Health, Safety and Nutrition
Assurances certifying that they will follow the guidelines should also be filed with
DECCD. Individual, unlicensed providers must be at least eighteen (18) years of
age and are prohibited by law from keeping more than five (5) children who are not
related to the provider within the third degree computed according to civil law. A
child care provider may not be reimbursed if they reside in the same household as
the child(ren). Proof of separate residence may be required. Proof of residence
will be established with a current driver=s license or state issued 1.D. and another



form of identification that reflects the same address. A current bank statement, cell
phone bill, utility bill or cable bill are acceptable. Addresses must match the address
given as the location of care submitted on the application.

i All individuals over the age of 18 years of age (relative and non-relative) residing
and/or working full or part time in a home where childcare is given must clear the
Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry Check in order for a provider to be
deemed eligible. Upon initial application to become an eligible provider, all
in-home child care providers must complete and return the Child Abuse and Neglect
Central Registry Check Form 107 to DECCD with their application. Additionally,
providers are required to submit Form 107 on an annual basis. Providers will be
deemed ineligible to participate in the certificate program in the event that they have
prior convictions of child abuse and/or neglect. If an individual residing and/or
working with the provider is found to have a prior conviction of child abuse and/or
neglect, eligibility will be suspended/denied until such time as the provider can
provide proof that the offending individual no longer resides in the home. Failure
on the part of the provider to accurately complete Form 107 may result in
suspension/debarment from participation in the CCPP. Additionally, funds may be
recouped.

iii. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to become
an approved provider.

102.02 APPLICATION PROCEDURES

(1)

2)

(3)

(4)

DECCD will accept applications year around. Referrals for TANF or Family & Children’s
Services clients are accepted year round from Case Managers. All families eligible to
receive services will be added to the CCPP, as funding allows. Families will be served by
date of application and eligibility priority level.

Applications can be obtained by calling DECCD’s toll-free number, submitting a request
through email/postal mail, or by visiting DECCD’s website.

After completing the application, parents/guardians can return the application and all
required documentation by postal or electronic mail. Once all required documentation is
received, DECCD will review the information to determine eligibility and send a written
notice of eligibility, or ineligibility, or non-availability of funds within 10 business days. If
the parent falls within an eligibility priority group for which funds are available, a certificate
will be issued and mailed to the parent, who has up to ten business days to return the signed
certificate to DECCD.

Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care

provided while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider. DECCD will provide
parents with a list of approved providers.
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102.03 WAITING LIST

1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

()

(6)

Based upon CCDF federal requirements, the DECCD will maintain a current waiting list of
all families requesting child care services regardless of the availability of funds. DECCD
will not limit the waiting list. Families in Priority 1 or 2 should receive services
automatically and not be placed on the waiting list. A parent(s) in the 4« Priority Population
previously receiving child care services who cannot be rolled-over due to lack of funding
will be placed on the waiting list by priority. Parent(s) will not be placed on a waiting list
when funds are available.

In order to make certain that parents are served on a first-come, first-served basis, parents
will be notified, in writing, to update their child care request for the waiting list prior to
removing their names from the waiting list after a one-year period.

It is possible that some applicants who return information prior to the deadline will have to
go on the waiting list if funding is not available. As funds become available during the year,
certificates may be issued according to priority population and date application was
received.

Applications are processed according to the priority of the applicant. For instance, if an
application is received in December for a child in Protective Services or Foster Care, a child
with special needs, a child of a militarily deployed parent, or a child of a teen parent, will be
given priority over a child of a parent in Priority 3-E whose application was received earlier.
If an application is received in December for a Priority 3 parent, that application will be
given priority over a Priority 4 parent whose application was received earlier.

DECCD will to maintain waiting lists in order of both the priority and date of the
application. When funds become available, applications will be processed first according to
priority; second by date received.

If/When funds become available during the program year; certificates should be issued by
eligibility priority. All existing Priority 3A parents will be served first; second, those who
were enrolled in an educational/training program the semester prior to the beginning of the
waiting list; third, those on waiting list by order of application date; fourth, existing Priority
3B parents; fifth, those who were enrolled in an educational/training program in the
semester prior to the beginning of the waiting list; sixth, add waiting list parents by date of
application and so on.

102.03 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION FOR SERVICES

(1)

Eligibility Guidelines by Priority Group

A. TANF Parent(s) - TANF clients are not required to complete an application form.
Eligibility for CCPP for TANF parent(s) is determined by the MDHS, Division of
Economic Assistance Case Manager. TANF clients will receive funds based on the
referral and termination dates entered by the TANF Case Manager. The TANF
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parent is required to participate in an allowable TANF program activity. Each
participant must comply with all the requirements of the TANF program. See
Appendix 102 for referral forms. As of July 1, 2010, TANF clients are allowed to
work a “compressed schedule”. For those families who select this option,
certificates may be written for full time care. TANF clients not selecting this
option will remain on part time certificates.

TCC Parent(s) — TCC clients are not required to complete an application form.
Eligibility for TCC CCPP should be determined by the MDHS, Division of
Economic Assistance Case Manager. TCC clients will receive funds based on the
referral and termination dates entered by the Case Manager.

Very Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time
child care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled
full-time in high school, enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family=s gross income
must be at 50 percent or below the State Median Income. Children with special
needs and children of deployed parents may be served in this Priority up to 85% of
the SMI. Irregular hours of employment and income should be averaged.

Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time child
care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled full-time
in high school or enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family=s gross income
must be at or above 50 percent of the State Median Income and at or below 85
percent of the State Median Income. Irregular hours of employment and income
should be averaged.

Post-Secondary Students - Certificates should only be written for one
semester/quarter at a time. The beginning date of the certificate should be the first
day of the month of class, for which proof of enroliment was provided, and the
ending date is the last day of the month ending the semester. Students should be
allowed 30 days from the ending date of the previous semester to complete the
application process. Graduating seniors will have up to 60 days to find
employment before their certificate is terminated, unless determined eligible
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otherwise.

Resident -In/Out of State Students - If a parent attends school in/out of state, the
application should be made in the parent=s name using the address where the
child(ren) resides.

The 25 hours per week work requirement is reduced for foreign students who hold a
VISA because they are permitted to work only on campus for 20 hours per week.

In order to remain eligible a copy of the VISA must be submitted annually to make
sure it is current.

Foster Children and children in Protective or Preventive Services are eligible for
child care services without regard to the income of the guardian. Foster children,
and children in Protective or Preventive Services will receive funding based on the
referral and termination by the Case Manager, no application is required. When a
child=s case is closed by the Division of Family and Children=s Services, that
agency will send a Notification of Termination of Child Care Services (See
Appendix 103.03) for children receiving services through Foster Care, Protective
Services or Prevention Services to DECCD.

Parents may apply for a certificate who have been laid off or have lost their job for
other reasons. These certificates will be issued for 60 days from the parent(s) last
date of employment.

(2) Income to Be Considered in Calculating Total Family Income

A

Gross income of applicant and spouse should be considered if the spouse is living in
the home. Do not consider a spouse=s income if they are separated and residing in
a separate residence. All income above or less than 40 hours per week is
considered irregular income. Irregular income and commissions should be averaged.
For commissions and tips, the amount on the paycheck stub or statement from an
employer should be averaged and added to regular work income. Do not consider
bonus monies as income. If a parent is self-employed, individual/family total
income is considered.

Social Security benefits for parents and child(ren) must be counted as income.

If a parent receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI), it should be counted as
income. If a child(ren) receives SSI, the SSI for the child(ren) should not be counted
as income.

Income earned by an adult living in the home, not married to the applicant, but who
is the biological parent of the child for whom services are being requested, income

should be counted. If there is another adult residing in the home with the applicant
to whom the applicant is not married, do not count that person's income or impose a
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work requirement for them or include them in the number in the household unless
they are the biological parents of the child(ren) for whom application for service is
being made.

I Parents must comply with Child Support Enforcement requirements in order
to receive a child care certificate(s). A Verification for Child Support
Services Form should be mailed to parents as part of the Child Care Payment
Program Application packet. (See Appendix 100.06). Parents must
complete the Verification Form and return it to DECCD as part of the
completed application.

ii. All single or separated parents who do not currently have an open child
support case must contact the MDHS County Child Support Office for an
appointment to open a case(s) or to request a statement that the child or
children are exempt and the parent is excused from cooperating. Married
parents are not required to go through the MDHS, Division of Child Support
Enforcement.

iii.  MDHS, Division of Child Support Enforcement may provide exemptions
based upon Claims of Good Cause such as, but not limited to:

a. The noncustodial parent has caused physical and/or emotional harm
to the child.
b. Physical and/or emotional harm caused by the noncustodial parent to

the relative caring for the child limiting the custodial parent=s ability
to care for the child.

C. A child conceived as a result of incest or rape.

d. Pending legal adoption proceedings.

e. A public or private social services agency assisting you, the custodial
parent, to decide whether to keep the child or to release the child for
adoption.

iv. When the completed Verification for Child Support Form is received by
DECCD, the following steps will occur:

a. If the parent has checked 2yes@ in the first column, indicating that
they have a Child Support case through DHS, pull up the Child
Support website,

b. Search by parent=s Social Security Number,

C. Click aselect@ and pull up and print the parent=s information,
including payments,

d. Attach the printout to the application and use the amount when
calculating income and co-payment for the parent,

e. At 6-month re-certification, repeat step Aiii@ above.

14



F. Any parent enrolled full-time in high school or in a GED program may make an
application in his/her own name, as a family unit separate from his/her parent. If
the teen parent is under age and living with his/her parent(s), the parent of the teen
must meet the work requirements; however, the teen=s parents= income should not
be considered. If a teen parent lives in the home with her parent(s) or guardian, then
the parent(s) or guardian of a teen parent under the age of 18 must sign the certificate
and forms along with the teen parent.

G. No adult living in the home with the child may be paid for child care. Extenuating
circumstances will be handled on a case-by-case basis. The biological parent of a
child shall not be reimbursed for providing child care for his/her own child(ren).

(3) Documents Required for Eligibility Determination
A. Income Documents:

I. Two paycheck stubs from within the past 30 days. If paid once a month,
only one check stub is required.

ii. If a new job, the employer=s letter on employer=s company letterhead or
employer=s notarized statement verifying employment, income, rate of pay
and number of hours worked. Actual check stubs must be submitted within
30 days.

iii. Parents paid in cash should obtain a certified letter from the employer on
company letterhead or employer=s notarized statement verifying
employment, income, rate of pay and number of hours worked.

iv. Parents employed by temporary agencies may be certified with an original
letter from an employer on company letterhead verifying employment, rate
of pay, and number of hours worked. The letter of employment must be
followed up with check stubs within 30 days.

V. Copy of Estimated Quarterly Tax Report if self-employed, or some form of
income documentation approved by DECCD. Other acceptable forms of
income include 1040 and Profit or Loss Statement (Schedule C). DECCD
will use the ATotal Sales and Receipts@ amount located on the Profit/Loss
Statement to determine if the work requirement has been met. DECCD wiill
use the amount located on line 22 of the Federal 1040 Tax Form to determine
income eligibility.

Vi. The Work Number, an automated service is an option for income and
employment verification. This service is an acceptable source for
documenting employment and income. THE WORK NUMBER can be
used instead of the employer=s notarized statement or information on the

15



employer=s letterhead. Therefore, copies of check stubs are NO LONGER
required to be submitted for those parents whose employment uses The
Work Number Service. THE WORK NUMBER=S website is
www.theworknumber.com., e-mail address is
govinfo@theworknumber.com or 1-800-660-3399.

Educational Documents:

Parents enrolled in an approved educational program must provide
enrollment documentation in the form of a letter from the institution=s
registrar confirming current full time enrollment. GED classes should be
handled the same as any other approved educational training.

Additional Required Documentation:

Long Form Birth Certificate - A 90-day grace period may be allowed to
receive the birth certificate for a newborn. A 30-day grace period will be
allowed for all other children.

Verification of social security numbers can be obtained from a copy of the
social security card, immunization record, or other official document
showing child=s and/or a parent=s name and social security number.

DECCD must provide a statement that makes it clear to CCPP applicants
that the provision of a Social Security Number is voluntary and that benefits
will not be denied or withheld for the failure to furnish a Social Security
Number. Instructions will be given to parents explaining how the Social
Security Number will be used if provided, in order to encourage applicants
who choose to provide them (e.g. to identify individuals with the same
name).

If it is necessary for parents to supply additional documentation of proof of
residence, the parent must supply a current driver=s license or state issued
I.D. and a current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or cable bill.
The addresses on the driver=s license, I.D. and bank statement/bill must
match and corroborate the address of residence supplied to DECCD.

4 Requirements for a Disabled Parent

A

If a two-parent family applies for assistance and one parent is working and the other
has a disability and unable to care for the child(ren), child care can be provided if a

written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the disability and
that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren).

If a single parent has a disability and has a physician=s statement stating the nature of
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the disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren), the application
should be made in the responsible guardian=s name. The responsible guardian is the
person responsible for the parent=s affairs; the guardian must meet the work
requirement. The disabled parent=s Supplemental Security Income should be used to
calculate the co-payment fee.

C. If a single parent is disabled and there is no guardian, the application should be in the
single parent=s name. Child Care can be provided if a written statement is
submitted by a physician stating the nature of the disability and that the parent is
unable to care for the child(ren).

D. If the guardian with whom the child(ren) reside(s) has a disability, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the guardian is unable to care for the child(ren). Verification of
cooperation with Child Support Enforcement is required if the parents are not
deceased.

(5)  Parents enlisted in the United States Military and Deployed

A. When parents are enlisted in the United States Military and deployed, the eligibility
should remain the same until the parent can provide the Military Income. The parent
should provide the Military Income as soon as he or she has documentation. The
grandparents or the responsible guardian’s income should not be counted but the
grandparents or the responsible guardian must meet the 25 hours per week work
requirement, unless they are 65 years of age or can provide proof that they have
retired from full-time employment.

(6) Pell Grants

A Pell Grants should not be considered as income when determining eligibility. Pell
Grant funds and child care subsidy payments can be used simultaneously for child
care services.

102.04 RE-DETERMINATION

(1) Re-Determination of working parents’ eligibility is to be re-established during the CCPP
year in the months of February, March, April, or May. DECCD will send a letter to
parent(s) requesting check stubs or other verification of employment and request verification
of household/marital status. (See Appendix 104). If the CCPP Application Packet is not
returned by the due date indicated, a second notice should be mailed certified return receipt
requested. If the mail has been returned undeliverable, the child care provider should be
notified. Failure to comply with Re-Determination procedures may result in termination of
certificates.

(2)  Re-Determination of parents’ eligibility for those enrolled in an approved educational

program is determined every semester or quarter. Documentation for redetermination will
include proof of school enrollment (if not currently on file), proof of employment, proof of
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3)

household size, and location, and proof of income. Failure to comply with Re-Determination
procedures may result in termination of certificates.

When income is recalculated and there is a change in a co-payment fee, a notice is sent to the
parent and the provider. If income increases beyond 85 percent of the State Median Income,
child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice. If the parent is no longer working,
child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice to the child care provider. If the
parent has been temporarily laid off or has lost a job for other reasons, child care will not be
terminated until 60 days after the last work day, giving the parent time to be reinstated in
their job or to search for a job, provided the parent notified DECCD of loss of employment
within 10 days of the event.
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SECTION 103: CO-PAYMENT FEES

103.01 DETERMINING CO-PAYMENT FEES

1)

@)

TANF parents are not assessed a co-payment fee. For all other parents, co-payment fees are
determined based upon the parent's family size and income according to the CCDF Child
Care Monthly Co-payment Fee Scale for Parents. (See Appendix 105).

Co-payment fees are redetermined when there is a change in the parent's income or
household size, or during semiannual redetermination of eligibility.

103.02 ASSESSING CO-PAYMENT FEES PER CHILD

(1)

(@)

3)

(4)

If a parent has one child receiving full-time child care services, the total co-payment fee
should be placed on that child's certificate. If a parent has one child receiving part-time
child care services, only half of the total co-payment fee should be placed on the child=s
certificate.

If one child is in full-day care and part-day care during the same month, the fee should be
assessed on the majority of the type of care provided. For example, if a child is served 16
part-time days and five full-time days, the part-time co-payment fee would be assessed for
the month.

If a parent has more than one child receiving full-time service, the total co-payment fee is
divided equally among the number of children receiving care. If two or more children are
receiving part-time services, one half of the divided fee should be placed on each certificate.
If a parent has children receiving before/after child care and holiday/summer child care, a
full co-payment fee and a half co-payment fee are placed on each certificate and the
appropriate fee is deducted during the payment cycle.

Exceptions:

A If a parent has two children, one who is receiving full-year, full-time child care and
one being added for holiday/summer child care only, the co-payment fee for the
full-year, full-time care will remain the same. The parent is assessed an additional
$10.00 fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

B. If a parent has two or more children receiving full-year, full-time child care and one
child receiving holiday/summer care only, the total co-payment fee is divided equally
among the children attending full-time. The parent is not assessed a co-payment fee
for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

C. Parents assessed a minimum co-payment fee are:
I. Foster Children
ii. Children in Protective/Preventive Service

iii. Special Needs Children - Special Needs status must be documented. If there
are other children in the family who are receiving child care services, the fee
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will be $10 or the child's prorated share of the family=s co-payment fee,
whichever is less. Services for children with Special Needs will continue until
the child reaches 18 years of age.

103.03 NON-PAYMENT OF CO-PAYMENT FEES

1)

Co-payment fees are to be paid during the current month directly to the provider according to
payment arrangements established by the provider and parent. Providers must maintain
proof of collection of co-payment fees. If a parent fails to pay the co-payment fee prior to the
end of the month, the provider is required to notify DECCD. Non-payment of co-payment
fees may result in termination from the certificate program. If the parent requests a change in
a provider prior to fees being paid in full to the original provider, the parent must pay all
co-payment fees before a new certificate is issued. It is the responsibility of the provider to
report non-payment of co-payment fees to DECCD. The provider may not charge parents
any cost over the assigned co-payment fee unless the cost for child care to the general public is
higher than the amount paid by the certificate program.

103.04 CO-PAYMENT RECOUPMENT/REPAYMENT

1)

@)

If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate higher than the correct fee, the parent is to be
reimbursed by DECCD for the difference for each month paid. The correct fee is to be
noted on the certificate and a notice of the change forwarded to the provider and the parent.

If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate lower than the correct fee, the parent and the provider
are to be notified that the fee will be adjusted for subsequent months to make up the
difference for each month paid. If the amount in question is less than $50.00, an adjustment
to the fee is made but recoupment is not necessary.

103.05 PRORATING CO-PAYMENT FEES

1)

The assessed co-payment fee reflects a monthly rate regardless of attendance. If a child is
enrolled between the 1st and 15th of the month, the full monthly co-payment fee is assessed
for the first month of service. If the child is enrolled between the 16th and last day of the
month, one-half of the monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the first month of service. If
a parent desires to change a provider during the month, it is the parent=s responsibility to pay
the co-payment fee to any subsequent providers.
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SECTION 104: PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES

104.01 SIGN-IN/OUT SHEETS

(1)  Providers are required to record accurate attendance and absences on sign-in/out sheets and
on daily class rolls for each child in order to complete the payment ledger. The sign-in/out
sheets must show the child=s name, the full name of the parent/guardian or parent=s
authorized representative, the time the child is signed in with the signature of the person
signing the child in, and the time the child is signed out with the signature of the person
signing the child out each day. If sign-in/out sheets are not maintained and made available
upon request and/or for Monitoring processes, or do not follow the policies described above,
funds issued based on missing/erroneous information will be recouped by DECCD.

104.02 PAYMENT LEDGER PROCESSES

(1) Payment ledgers must be submitted electronically through the Child Care Payment System.
Ledgers oEen to providers on the 1% day of the month and remain open until 11:59 p.m. CST
on the 10" day of the month. Providers are required to complete their electronic ledger
within this 10 day window. Ledgers submitted with complete and correct information will
be processed for payment. If ledgers require further documentation in order to process
payment, the provider will be contacted.

104.03 LEDGER PAYMENTS

(1) If it is necessary to adjust the amount of funds issued based on the information submitted in
an e-ledger, the provider will be contacted and an adjustment will be made in the Child Care
Payment System reflecting the change. If an overpayment has occurred, the provider is
allowed the option of re-paying the excess to DECCD or having the overpayment recouped
from subsequent payments.

104.04 RATES AND CENTER POLICIES

(1) Licensed providers must file a copy of the center's published rates with DECCD annually.
Providers are not allowed to charge a higher rate to families in the certificate program than
the rate charged to the general public. (See Appendix 106).

(2) A. If the child care center=s policy states that a program stipend will be provided to
non-certificate children, the provider must document the amount and the source of
funds for each child on a monthly basis. Parent co-payment fees cannot be used as
children=s stipends. This documentation must be in hard copy such as check stubs
receipts, etc., that will show Mississippi Department of Human Services auditors a
clear paper trail of cash infusion from non-tuition sources and
non-child-care-certificate monies sufficient to cover the full amount of tuition
without any stipends.

B. DECCD will not monitor any fiscal or children=s files without the director or an

approved supervisor staff person in attendance. Only necessary documentation
should be requested from the parent and provider.
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Parents (including TANF workers) employed at a licensed center or group home
may be eligible for a child care certificate providing that they do not care for their
own child(ren). Nor can the child(ren) be included in a group assigned to the
biological parent to maintain the adult/child ratio required by the Mississippi State
Department of Health, Division of Child Care Licensure.

Rates of reimbursement are assigned on a certificate based on the provider type
(licensed or unlicensed), age of child, and Tier level (See Appendix 106). A
full-time rate may be charged for non-traditional child care. Non-traditional child
care is appropriate when a parent requires full-time child care in lieu of
before-and-after school care.

School-aged children will be reimbursed at the part-time rate for absentees, during
vacation and holidays except when it is documented that the child(ren) attended the
licensed child care center, full-day, during the school year. The provider must
provide a written explanation on the ledger for the child(ren)=s full-time
attendance in order to receive full-time reimbursement.

Providers will be reimbursed at a part time rate for any day in which a school age
child or child with a full-time/part-time certificate is present for a full day of care
while their regular educational facility is open.

Summer child care for school-aged children will be reimbursed at the full-time rate
for absentees, vacation, and holidays.

If at any time during a CCPP year, a provider changes Tier reimbursement status,
changes will be adjusted in the system to allow for reimbursement at the
appropriate rate.

i If it becomes necessary for the Tier 1-eligible director to be absent
for leave, DECCD must be notified within 10 days. DECCD will
determine on a case-by-case basis if Tier 1 reimbursement will
continue during leave.

Full-time certificate payments for school-age children may not be issued to
students enrolled in grades one through twelve unless full-time care is needed
during non-traditional hours and schools are closed.

Full-time certificate payments may be issued for 3 and 4 year olds enrolled in
public or private pre-kindergarten programs where tuition is assessed. Certificates
will expire on a child’s 5th birthday. Families who continue to meet eligibility
criteria may apply to continue services until the child is 12 years of age, or 18 years
of age if a special needs child. Additionally, 5 year old children whose parent(s)
elect not to enroll their child(ren) in a public kindergarten program may receive
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full-time certificate funds until they reach the age of 6(six), which is the
compulsory age for school in the state of Mississippi.

104.04 OVER-PAYMENTS AND UNDER-PAYMENTS

(1) If a provider discovers an error in the payment issued, the provider is required to notify the
ECCD Designated Agent to request an adjustment within 30 days of the issuance of the

payment. Questioned payments or incorrect payments will be adjusted during the next
monthly payment cycle.

(2) If an overpayment has occurred, the provider is allowed the option of re-paying the excess to

the ECCD Designated Agent or having the overpayment recouped from subsequent
payments.

104.06 ABSENTEES AND NOTICE

1) If a child is absent for more than two weeks for medical reasons, the parent is required to
submit a doctor=s statement. Extenuating circumstances will be handled on a case-by-case
basis.

(2) Licensed providers are to provide a written explanation at the bottom of the ledger for each
child who is absent for three or more consecutive days.

(3)  Inthe case of court-ordered visitation, DECCD must be notified and a copy of the visitation
order of the court must be kept on file by the provider. Any days a child is absent due to
court-ordered visitation will not count towards a child=s vacation days. The provider should

indicate this reason on ledgers. Parents are responsible for paying their determined
co-payment amount in full.

(4)  The Child Care Payment Program will not be responsible for payments for services beyond the
child's last date of attendance, except when the provider=s written policy on file with DECCD
requires a parent to give notice in advance of withdrawal. The time required for withdrawal
notification will be reimbursed by DECCD except under emergency conditions such as abuse
or neglect - or other extenuating circumstances - not to exceed two weeks.

(5) A child care center must remain open on days when children are taken on field trips or for

vacation for any children who cannot attend the field trips or are not on vacation and still need
child care.
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SECTION 105: INTERRUPTION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES

105.01 ALLOWABLE LEAVE TIME FOR PARENTS

1)

@)

(3)

(4)

()

(6)

()

(8)

(9)

Parents who lose or change jobs are allowed a 60 day grace period from the last date of
employment before child care services are terminated in order to give the parent time to be
reinstated in their job. During this 60 day period, the parent is required to submit new
eligibility documentation and be redetermined eligible for services. Failure to submit
acceptable eligibility documentation will result in the termination of services.

Temporary Job Closings - Workers temporarily unemployed due to the nature of their work
may include but are not limited to workers employed in construction, factories, or poultry and
catfish processing plants. Extensions beyond the approved 60 days must gain approval from
DECCD on a case-by-case basis.

Natural Disaster - Child care services should be continued when parents are off work due to
circumstances beyond the parent=s control such as hurricanes, floods, and tornado.

Licensed child care providers should be reimbursed when the center is closed temporarily due
to a natural disaster for up to 10 business days per occurrence unless the parent needs to make
alternate care arrangements. Unlicensed centers are reimbursed for actual attendance only.

A pregnant mother is allowed six weeks of child care assistance during maternity leave.
Documentation from a physician of the maternity leave must be included in the parent's file.
If more leave time is required due to medical reasons, a physician’s statement is required.
The parent must provide new eligibility documentation once she returns to work. Failure to
submit acceptable eligibility documentation will result in the termination of services.

Fathers are allowed six weeks of child care assistance related to the birth of a child, if the
employer/educational institution approves the leave time.

Parent(s) are allowed six weeks of child care assistance in cases of adoption of a new child, if
the employer/educational institution approves the leave time.

Parent(s) are allowed up to thirty days of sick leave from their job if documented by their
employer and physician. Extenuating circumstances will be handled on a case-by-case basis.

A child is allowed 10 vacation/absence days per federal fiscal year (beginning October 1 -
September 30). Absences related to court-ordered visitations are not counted as vacation
days.

DECCD will pay for up to 11 holidays for the period beginning October 1 through September
30. If the Governor allows days in addition to the list below in observance of a holiday,
providers will be allowed these extra days. If the identified holiday falls on a weekend, the
DECCD Director will designate weekdays to observe the holiday.
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January 1 New Year=s Day

The Third Monday of January Robert E. Lee=s Birthday and Dr. Martin
Luther King, Jr.=s Birthday

Spring Good Friday

The Last Monday of May National Memorial Day and

Jefferson Davis= Birthday

July 4 Independence Day

The First Monday of September Labor Day

November Thanksgiving Day & the Friday after

December 24 Christmas Eve

December 25 Christmas Day

December 31 New Year’s Eve
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105.02 REASONS FOR TERMINATION

1)

@)

(3)

(4)

()
(6)

TANF, TCC, Foster Children and Children in Preventive/Protective Services are referred for

services by a MDHS Case Manager. Services will be terminated upon notification by the
Case Manager.

Parents who fail to submit the required information for redetermination are allowed an
additional five (5) days’ notice before services will be terminated.

Non-payment of co-payment fees may result in termination from the Child Care Payment
Program for a one-year period.

A child care certificate may be terminated upon the request of the parent, or by DECCD in
accordance with CCPP policy.

Child care services will be terminated when a child grows older than the age requirements.

If at any time a parent provides fraudulent information, child care services are immediately
terminated and the client is ineligible to reapply for a one-year period. DECCD may elect to
permanently disbar parents from participation in CCPP in accordance with Section 106.01(1)
of this document.

105.03 CHANGE IN PROVIDER

1)

Parents are allowed to change providers no more than two times per federal fiscal year, unless
warranted by certain situations such as relocation, child abuse/neglect, or the provider no
longer provides child care services. Parents must request a change in provider from DECCD
prior to withdrawing the child, unless under emergency circumstances. The parent(s) should
give at least two weeks prior notice to the current provider before withdrawing the child from
the center unless there are extenuating circumstances. Parents must select a CCPP approved
provider. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider.
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Section 106 DISPUTES

106.01 PARENTAL AND PROVIDER DISPUTES

1)

Any unresolved dispute concerning a question of fact under the Application/Agreement
between DECCD and Parent or Provider shall be decided by the Director of the Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development. In the review by the DECCD Director the Parent or
Provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in support of the
questioned decision under review. This decision shall be reduced to writing and a copy
thereof mailed or furnished to the Parent or Provider and shall be final and conclusive, unless,
within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision, the Parent or Provider mails or delivers to
the Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of Human Services a written request for
review. Pending final decision of the Executive Director or his/her designee, DECCD will
proceed in accordance with the decision of the Director of the Division of Early Childhood
Care and Development. In addition, listed below are the procedures to be used in an
Administrative Hearing for a Child Care Dispute:

A. A Parent or Provider may not request a hearing on behalf of another individual or to
discuss decisions regarding another person.

B. If an Administrative Hearing is desired, a written request for the Hearing must be
submitted to the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.
If requested, an Administrative Hearing will be held with the Director of the Division
of Early Childhood Care and Development serving as the Hearing Officer.

C. The Hearing Officer will be a neutral observer who will conduct the Hearing. The
Hearing Officer will listen to both sides and then make a decision based upon the
evidence that is provided.

D. This is an informal proceeding that gives both parties their due process rights and a
forum to provide evidence. This is not an adverse process. Questions are to be
asked only for clarification. If a party has legal representation, the attorney is there
only to give legal advice to his/her client and not for direct or cross examination.

27



SECTION 107: FRAUD AND ABUSE

This section outlines the policies and procedures for handling alleged and/or substantiated
fraud and exploitation in the Child Care Payment Program by a parent and/or provider.

107.01 POLICY STATEMENT

1)

Any person applying for or receiving public assistance by using false statements, and any
person assisting that person to receive such public assistance with knowledge of those false
statements, is subject to criminal prosecution. The offense may be a misdemeanor when the
amount received or requested is below $500 or a felony if the amount received or requested is
above $500. If a child care center knowingly provides false information, a financial penalty
will be imposed. Whether or not a criminal conviction results, at the first offense,
recoupment will be made and the center may be disqualified from participating in the Child
Care Payment Program, contingent upon whether the deception is intentional or
unintentional.

107.02 SUSPECTED FRAUD OR ABUSE OF FUNDS

1)

(@)

DECCD staff will not attempt to resolve any suspicion of parent and/or provider fraud or

misuse of funds. DECCD staff will collect any documentation to support an investigation of
suspected fraud or misuse of funds. This documentation shall be referred directly to MDHS,
Division of Program Integrity (DPI) for investigation. DECCD staff will not alert the parent
and /or provider of any suspicion of fraud or misuse of funds while an investigation is
pending. Funding may continue during the investigation.

Prior to terminating certificates at licensed child care facilities due to documented fraud,
DECCD will assist the parent(s) with locating an alternative child care facility or home
without an interruption in child care services unless the parent(s) chooses to keep their
child(ren) at the center and forfeit the CCPP funding. In this situation, a notarized statement
of fact from the parent(s) must be retained by DECCD. If it is determined that fraud was
committed by a parent, the provider will be allowed two weeks’ notice of termination.

107.03 RECOUPMENT OF FUNDS

1)

The MDHS, DPI shall employ the required steps to recoup or attempt to recoup funds paid for
ineligible services because of suspected parent or provider fraud or misuse of funds when
unable to resolve otherwise. The steps include, but are not limited to:

A. A letter outlining the DECCD policy violated, the total amount of funds to be repaid,
the legal action to be pursued if the parent or facility owner fails to cooperate, and a
response time frame of 15 calendar days; the letter and the report shall be sent to the
alleged offender by certified mail; a copy shall be retained by DPI and the Director of
DECCD;

B. After the MDHS, DPI completes the investigation of alleged fraud and/or misuse of
funds, if applicable, criminal charges shall be filed with the appropriate local law
enforcement agency, when fraud is substantiated.
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C. When fraud is substantiated and criminal charges are filed with the local law
enforcement agency, funds shall be recovered through restitution ordered by the court.
Checks issued by the court for restitution shall be made payable to Treasurer, State of
Mississippi and mailed directly to the MDHS, DPI.

D. The MDHS, DPI staff shall track receipt of checks issued for payment of restitution on
a case-by-case basis until all funds have been recovered.

107.04 FINAL DISPOSITION FOR ACTION

1) A copy of any final judgment issued by the Court shall be forwarded directly to the MDHS,
DPI and a copy of the final judgment will be provided to DECCD by the MDHS, DPI.

SECTION 108: MONITORING
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108.01 MONITORING PROCEDURE

1)

)

DECCD will monitor a selection of licensed and unlicensed providers participating in the
certificate program at least once annually. DECCD will select centers whose records
indicate a need for technical assistance, for example, ledgers marked with perfect
attendance for each child each month. According to MDHS Subgrantee Manual, DECCD
staff may conduct monitoring visits un-announced.

Monitoring visits will include a review of the following records:

A.

Licensed and unlicensed providers must maintain a daily attendance roster (sign
in/out sheets) for each child in accordance with Section 104.01(1) of this document.

The attendance recorded on the center's attendance roster will be compared to the
attendance reported on the center's ledger. All documentation related to child
attendance will be reviewed.

The center's published rates charged to the general public will be compared to the
rates requested and received on each certificate.

Verify the payment of co-payment fees.

A copy of the center's license, if applicable, will be requested if a current copy is
not on file with DECCD.

Records will be reviewed to verify that the center has retained a copy of the
Center=s Statement of Agreement on file.

The center will be monitored to make sure that the hours of operation meet the
needs of the full-time working parents plus travel time. This applies to
non-traditional child care hours. The center must be open at least five (5) days per
week.

The attendance will be checked to ensure that the center is not receiving more
(CCDF and TANF) certificates than its’ licensed or allowed capacity at any given
time (for example, non-traditional shifts, and before and after school). Ifitis
determined during the monitoring visit that the center attendance exceeds the
center=s licensed capacity, then the situation will be reported to the Mississippi
State Department of Health, Child Care Licensure and DECCD.

Unlicensed centers must provide copies of immunization records of all children
enrolled in care.

Per the Center Statement of Agreement, all child care providers are notified that

monitoring may be announced or unannounced. Refusal to cooperate in the
monitoring process will result in a financial penalty.
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(3)

A. If a center is not accurately recording attendance or is charging different rates, the
center will receive a letter concerning the finding(s). Any overpayments that occurred
because of these two situations shall be recouped by DECCD. DECCD may demand
direct repayment by the center to the Child Care Payment Program or may debit
subsequent ledgers submitted by the center and make deductions from reimbursement
checks issued to the center. DECCD may set up an installment repayment plan for the
center.

B. A center with findings may be monitored again, by either announced or unannounced
visits. If the center is still in non-compliance under the original finding(s), a copy of
all correspondence regarding the matter should be forwarded to MDHS.

108.02 SUSPENSION AND DEBARMENT

1)

(@)

If a parent commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, a parent may not apply for or
receive CCPP funding until the date indicated on the Notice of Suspension.

If a provider commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, or upon debarment, a
provider may not hold any administrative position in a facility or home in which CCPP
subsidies are received. This includes any position responsible for the recording or tracking
of enrollment and attendance as well as the completing and reporting of family/child status
and/or enrollment and attendance to CCPP.
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GLOSSARY OF TERMS

This chapter contains the definition of key words or phrases and clarifies the terms as they relate
to this manual.

ADULT - A person who has reached the age of majority (at least 18 years of age).

ATTENDING (EDUCATIONAL/JOB TRAINING) -Full time enrollment in an education and/or
training program resulting in a degree or certificate designed to promote job skills and employability.
Full time is determined by the institution.

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE - An individual who has the legal right to speak or act on the
parent=s behalf. Written authorization must come to the child care center or the DECCD Designated
Agent directly from the parent and be maintained in the appropriate file.

BEFORE-AND AFTER-SCHOOL CARE - Child care services for school-aged children (ages 5-12)
during the hours before and after the regular school day. Under CCDF child care may be provided
for children under the age of 13 and for those children under the age of 18 who meet the SSI definition
of disability by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that caused marked and
severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

CARE GIVER - An individual at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school diploma or
equivalent (GED) who provides direct child care, supervision, and guidance to an eligible child.

MONTHLY CHILD CARE CO-PAYMENT FEES FOR PARENTS - A system of cost-sharing
based upon income and size of the family for families who participate in the Child Care and
Development Fund Program.

CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND (CCDF) - A federally-funded program designed to
provide quality child care services to eligible very low-income families who are actively participating
in an allowable TANF activity, transitioning off TANF, at-risk of going on TANF and are in need of
child care in order to work OR are low-income families, employed or enrolled in an approved
educational or training program.

CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A document issued by the DECCD Designated Agent directly to a

parent(s) who has been determined eligible for CCDF, who may use it as payment for child care
services. A child care certificate is assistance to the parent, not assistance to the provider.
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CHILD CARE FACILITIES:

CENTER-BASED - A non-residential facility in which shelter and personal care is regularly
provided for six or more children who are not related within the third degree computed
according to the civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and receive care for
any part of a 24-hour day.

For all Child Care Centers, as defined above, related children of all staff must be included in
the licensed number. These centers are considered commercial establishments and must
meet all requirements of the Regulation Governing Food Service Sanitation. Additionally,
these licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the Mississippi State
Department of Health=s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal care
is regularly provided for five or fewer children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to the civil law to the provider and who are less than 13 years of age and
are provided care for any part of the 24-hour day. These homes may voluntarily register with
the Mississippi State Department of Health and must be registered with the Division of Early
Childhood Care and Development, Mississippi Department of Human Services. The
provider must be at least 18 years old and cannot be a biological parent of the child receiving
assistance.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal

care are regularly provided for six to 15 children who are not related within the third degree

computed according to civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and receive
care for any part of the 24-hour day. Children related within the third degree are included in
determining space and staff, but are not included in the licensed number.

CHILD CARE PROVIDERS:

CENTER-BASED CHILD CARE PROVIDER - A provider licensed or otherwise authorized
to provide child care services for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a non-residential
setting, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents= work, education,
or training.

FAMILY CHILD CARE PROVIDER - One individual who provides child care services for
fewer than 24-hours per day per child, as the sole CARE GIVER, in a private residence,
unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents= work, education, or
training.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - Two or more individuals who provide child
care services for six to 15 children for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a private
residence other than the child=s residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the
nature of the parents= work, education, or training.

IN-HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - An individual who provides child care services in
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the child=s own home.

CHILD CARE SERVICES - Care provided for a fee by a child care provider to an eligible child or
children in the parent=s absence.

CHILD CARE WEEK - The period of time that child care is provided per week. The child care
week may cover more than the normal five days. This is allowable as long as the DECCD Weekly
Child Care Reimbursement Tier rate is not exceeded.

CREDENTIALED DIRECTOR - A professional credential awarded to child care center directors
operating licensed child care programs in Mississippi and those who aspire to be directors for the
successful completion of a curriculum in Child Care Management Best Practice.

DEGREES OF KINDRED ACCORDING TO THE LAW:

FIRST Parents and Children
SECOND Siblings (brothers and sisters), Grandparents, and Grandchildren
THIRD Uncles, Aunts, Nieces, Nephews, Great-Grandparents, and Great-Grandchildren

DISABLED PARENT - See SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT.

EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM - A preschool program (ages birth to
kindergarten) that provides child care services to low-income working parents and eligible parents
enrolled in an educational or training program.

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM/JOB TRAINING -A program offering educational/job training
content information. Programs must be accredited by the state or a national organization.

ELIGIBLE CHILD - A child whose parent(s) meets the eligibility requirements as set forth by the
grant.

EXTENDED DAY CHILD CARE - Before-and after-school care for Head Start children (ages 3-4 or
up to age 5) and school-age children (ages 5-12) who need such care due to the work schedule of their
parent(s).

FAMILY - A unit where a child(ren) resides with a parent(s) who is related by blood, marriage,
adoption, or legal guardianship.

FAMILY OF ONE - A child receiving child care services based upon his/her income received from
SS|, foster board payment, etc.

FULL-DAY CHILD CARE - Child care provided for six or more hours of a 24-hour day. Full-day
child care should meet the needs and reflect the work, education, or TANF training schedule of the
parent with a maximum of 30 minutes of travel time each way.

GROSS INCOME - The parent=s income before any deductions.
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HALF-DAY - Child care provided for fewer than six hours per day.

INCOME- funds received by all applicable individuals as described in policy which are not
supplemented by any public assistance other than food stamps or medical assistance, and does not
exceed 85 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

INCOME ELIGIBLE (IE) - Income that is not supplemented by any public assistance other than food
stamps or medical assistance, and does not exceed 85 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

INCOME MAINTENANCE (IM) - Income from TANF or Supplemental Security Income and other
public assistance.

INFANTS - Children from birth through 12 months.

IN-HOME CHILD CARE - Child care services for five or fewer eligible children for less than 24
hours a day in the child=s own home. For TANF parents, these services may not be provided in the
child=s own home if the child care provider is included in the TANF assistance unit, such as a
grandparent, aunt, or older sibling.

IN LOCO PARENTIS - in place of parent, for example, a guardian or a relative or friend with whom
the child resides if the child’s parent is unable to act as the parent or has delegated his or her authority
to someone else. The term describes someone who provides care and supervision like a parent but
without going through the formalities of legal adoption or guardianship.

LICENSING OR REGULATORY REQUIREMENTS - Requirements necessary for a provider to
legally provide child care services in a state or locality, including regulations and requirements
established under State Local or Tribal law. The AMississippi Child Care Licensing Law,@ Section
43-20-1, et seq., of the Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, which provides the legal authority under
which the Mississippi State Department of Health prescribes minimum regulations for child care
facilities defined under the law.

LOW-INCOME - Income above the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI) or at or below the
85 percent of the SMI.

MINIMUM FEE - An assessment of $10 per month for full-day child care services and $5.00 per
month for half-day before-and after-school/extended day, etc. child care services.

MDHS TANF CASE MANAGER - An employee of the Mississippi Department of Human Services,
Division of Economic Assistance, that provides case management services, supportive services, and
referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the local/county level supportive
services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the local/county level.

NON-TRADITIONAL CARE - Includes night care and supervision of school-age children for less

than 24 hours per day that occurs within the twelve hours between 6:00 p.m. and 5:59 a.m., or
weekend care and supervision of children that takes place between 6:00 p.m. Friday and 5:59 a.m.
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Monday.

PARENT - A mother or father by blood, marriage, or adoption, a legal guardian, or other person
standing in loco parentis.

PRESCHOOL AGED CHILD - Children from three years of age through kindergarten.

PROTECTIVE SERVICES- Children that are court ordered to receive Protective Services from
MDHS, Division of Family & Children’s Services. These children are living in the home of a parent
or relative/kinship caretaker.

PROVIDER - The entity providing child care services.

REIMBURSEMENT TIERS - The established rates for child care services based upon the age of the
child, type of child care provider, hours of child care, and DECCD approved tier criteria.

RESIDING/LIVING WITH - Living with, including taking meals and sleeping in the same house.

SEASONAL WORKERS - Individuals who are temporarily unemployed due to the nature of their
work.

SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT - A parent who meet s the SSI definition of disability by
having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that cause marked and severe functional
limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration and render the parents incapable of
self-care. The condition(s) must be documented by a physician. In the absence of SSI benefits,
medical documentation should attest to the degree of functional limitation(s) and prescribe the special
care needed. If the parent is unable to manage their personal affairs, the application should be made
in the parent/guardian or responsible adult=s name. If the disabled parent receives SSI, the income
maintenance fee of $10.00 should be applied to the child(ren). Short Term disability medically
documented will be handled on a case-by-case basis with approval by DECCD.

SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD RATE - Special Needs rates may be applied for children through the age
of 18 who meet the SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental
condition(s) that cause marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in
duration and render the child(ren) incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented by a
physician. In the absence of SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree of
functional limitation(s) and prescribe the special care needed.
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STATE MEDIAN INCOME (SMI) - The average income of all Mississippi workers.

SUMMER CARE - Child care for children during the summer months, when school is not in
session.

SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) - A monthly payment to a person for having a
medically proven physical/mental or physical condition that causes marked and severe functional
limitations that are expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) - The block grant that replaced the Aid to
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Program
(JOBS). Benefits are time-limited, mandating that families move quickly into work activities
leading to self-sufficiency.

TERMINATED CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A certificate that has been used as payment for
child care services for a period of time and is no longer valid. Reasons that certificates would be
terminated include, but are not limited to, the following: giving false information, change in a
provider, change in rates, change in funding sources (example: from CCDF to TANF), or there has
not been a request for reimbursement on a Child Care Certificate 60 days after the certificate has
been issued.

TODDLERS - Children the age of 13 months and less than 36 months.

TRANSITIONAL CHILD CARE (TCC) - Up to 24 months of subsidized child care for eligible
parents.

VERY LOW INCOME - Income at or below the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME (WRI) - Income that is irrelevant; therefore, it is not to be
considered. The only children who are to be considered WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME are
in court-ordered Protective Services Cases 340 and Preventive Services. The only documentation
necessary to determine eligibility is the referral form from the Division of Family and Children=s
services and proof of the parent=s work or exemption.

WORKING - Performing duties to earn a wage (for a minimum of 25 hours per week) or complete

educational/job training such as practicums or internships (enrollment for education/training must
be full time).
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

D|V|S|on of Early Childhood Care and Development

CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM POLICY MANUAL

CHAPTERH

INTRODUCTION

Section 100 -

Section 101 -

Section 102 -

This Policy Manual establishes policies and procedures for the Division of Early_

Childhood Care and Development (ECED)-and—the ECED-Destenated-Asents in
the administration of the Child Care Certificate-Payment Program.

The Division of Early Childhood Care and Development (DECCD) establishes
policy in compliance with the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act, as
amended, the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) regulatlons and the

Parental choice in the selection of a child care provider is the cornerstone of the
Child Care and Development Fund. Services to eligible parents are to be provided
as quickly and efficiently as possible, subject to the availability of funds. The
ECCD Destenated-Asents DECCD should make available to all child care providers
and parents all policies herein specifying duties, requirements, and responsibilities
required of them. The ECEDPestenated-Asents- DECCD must also make available
documented training on the policy herein, for all licensed and unlicensed child care
providers serving certificate children, no less than annually. The person
de3|gnated to attend may be the Director, Owner or an authonzed representative.

Partlcmatlon in tralnlnq is requwed for all prowders
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SECTION 100: CHILD CARE SERVICES

100.01 PURPOSE OF FUNDING SOURCE

(1)

()

3)

This manual sets forth policies and procedures for the Mississippi Child Care Certificate-
Payment Program_(CCPP), funded by the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) and
administered by the Mississippi Department of Human Services (MDHS), Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development {ECEBDECCD).

The purpose of the Child Care and Development Fund, according to federal regulations, is
to "increase the availability, afferd-ability-affordability, and quality of child care services."
The goal of EEEDDECCD through the eertificate-prosram-CCPP is to offer a seamless
system of high quality child care which supports both children and their families, and
operates within federal guidelines.

CCDF funds will be used to provide child care services for Temporary Assistance for
Needy Families (TANF), Transitional Child Care (TCC) Families, and eligible families at
risk of going on TANF with very low-income and low-income. Very low-income families
are those whose income is at or below 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).
Low-income families whose income falls above 50 percent and at or below 85 percent of the
SMI.

100.02 LEGAL AUTHORITY

1)

Title VI -Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF)

Legislation: Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
(P.L. 104-193).

Regulations: 45CFR Parts 98 and 99 and Final Regulations published in the Federal
Register, July 24, 1998 at 63 FR 39981.
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100.03 CHILD CARE RESPONSIBILITIES AND THE RIGHT TO PARENTAL CHOICE

1)

)

©)

Parents are legally and morally responsible for their children and have the right to select the
child care provider of their choice.

Child care providers are responsible for providing a safe and secure, high quality
educational, nurturing environment for children in their care.

The ECCD Destenated-Agents-DECCD must assist parent(s) in assessing their child care

needs and, upon request, provide a list of licensed facilities for parent(s) who do not have a

ready choice. TheECCP Destenated-Asents-must DECCD will not influence parent(s) to

choose a particular provider and/or facility.

100.04 NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY

(1)

Individuals shall not be discriminated against on the basis of race, color, sex, national
origin, religion, age, or handicapping conditions in the provision of child care services.

100.05 SAFEGUARDING INFORMATION

(1)

Employees of the ECEDDestenated-Agents DECCD and child care providers are
prohibited from using or disclosing any information concerning a parent's use of services
for any purpose not in conformity with federal and state requirements, except with the
written consent of the parent or authorized representative. The public will not be able to
request a copy of ekents= client information and/or records. An authorized representative is
an individual who has the legal right to speak or act on the parent's behalf. Documentation
of this designation must be contained in the parent's file. (See Appendix 100).
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SECTION 101: CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE PROGRAM

101.01 POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR THE CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE PROGRAM

1) The child care certificate is a document issued directly to eligible parent(s) or authorized
representatives, provided that funds are available. The certificate allows the parent to
select the child care provider of his/her choice. (See Appendix 100.01).

101.02 ELIGIBILITY PRIORITY POPULATIONS

1) If funds are available, children must be served on a first-come, first-served basis in order of
eligibility priority. Applications must be date-stamped as they are received. CCDF child
care services will be available to children of parents usirg according to the following
priorities:

1St
2nd

3I’d

Child Care for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)

Child Care for Transitional Child Care (TCC)

Children of very low-income working parent(s) whose income is at or below 50
percent of the State Median Income (SMI) who are at risk of going on TANF, in the
following order:

A Children in Protective Services or Foster Care;

B. Children with Special Needs (up to 85% of the SMI);

C. Children of parent(s) deployed in the Mississippi National Guard, or
Reserve (up to 85% of the SMI);

D.  Children of Teen Parent(s) currently enrolled in high school full-time;

E. Children of all other eligible parent(s) at this income level, including parents
enrolled in an approved educational program, whether working or not.

Based upon the availability of funding, children of parent(s) working the required
25 hours per week and/or are enrolled in an approved educational program whose
income falls above 50 percent of the SMI and at or below 85 percent of the SMI.
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SECTION 102: CRITERIA FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
102.01 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS

(1) Parents have the right to choose the type of child care they would like for their child. The
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development has categorized the choices available to
parents as follows: a child care center, group home, family day care home, relative provider
(in-home or out-of-home) and a non-relative provider (in-home or out-of-home). Parents
must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care provided
while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider. See Glossary of Terms for
definitions of each.

Child Care Centers and Group Homes —
In order to receive reimbursement for services rendered, a child care center or
group home must be licensed by the Mississippi State Department of Health. A
copy of the license must be filed with the ECEB-Designated-Agent. DECCD. The
child care center or the group home must have a current license era-license-thatis
pending: Additionally, these licensed centers must remain in compliance at all
times with the Mississippi State Department of Health=s Regulations Governing
Licensure of Child Care Facilities.

ii. If a center's license expires and services are being provided for children on the

certificate program,-the ECCD Desighated-Agent CCPP, DECCD may continue

to pay the provider under the following conditions:

A. The Health Department has not officially closed the center;

B. The center's director submits a written request, on center letterhead, for
child care payments to continue; and
C. The center provides copies of the licensing renewal fee payment,

documentation of a current inspection, and a copy of correspondence from
the licensing division stating why the license has not been renewed; and
D. A center with an expired license will be reimbursed for children with a
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current certificate up to the time frame allowed by the Mississippi State
Department of Health; however, no new certificates will be issued until the
license is renewed.

E. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider.

Family Day Care Homes and Relative/Non-Relative Providers —

In order to receive reimbursement, all unregulated unlicensed providers must keep
a record of immunizations for all children in their care and a copy of the Basic
Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances. A signed copy of the Basic Health,
Safety and Nutrition Assurances certifying that they will follow the guidelines
should also be filed with the ECCDB-Designhated-Agent DECCD. Individual,
unregulated unlicensed providers must be at least eighteen (18) years of age and are
prohibited by law from keeping more than five (5) children who are not related to
the provider within the third degree computed according to civil law. A child care
provider may not be reimbursed if they reside in the same household as the
child(ren). Proof of separate residence may be required. Proof of residence will
be established with a current driver=s license or state issued 1.D. and another form
of identification that reflects the same address. A current bank statement, cell
phone bill, utility bill or cable bill are acceptable. Addresses must match the
address given as the location of care submitted on the application.

ii. All individuals over the age of 18 years of age (relative and non-relative)
residing and/or working full or part time in a home where childcare is given must
clear the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry Check in order for a provider to
be deemed eligible. Upon initial application to become an eligible provider, all
in-home child care providers must complete and return the Child Abuse and
Neglect Central Registry Check Form 107 to the ECCB-Designated-Agent DECCD
with their application. Additionally, providers are required to submit Form 107 on
an annual basis. Providers will be deemed ineligible to participate in the
certificate program in the event that they have prior convictions of child abuse
and/or neglect. If an individual residing and/or working with the provider is found
to have a prior conviction of child abuse and/or neglect, eligibility will be
suspended/denied until such time as the provider can provide proof that the
offending individual no longer resides in the home. Failure on the part of the
provider to accurately complete Form 107 may result in suspension/debarment

from participation in the eertificate—program—Funds CCPP. Additionally, funds

may be recouped.

No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to become
an approved provider.

102.02 APPLICATION PROCEDURES

1)

DECCD will accept applications for services in June, July, and Auqust of each year.

Referrals for TANF or Family & Children’s Services clients are accepted year round from
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Case Managers. All families eligible to receive services will be added to the CCPP, as
funding allows, and notified by September 1*. Families will be served by date of
application and eligibility priority level.

(2) Applications can be obtained by calling DECCD’s toll-free number, submitting a request
through email/postal mail, or by visiting DECCD’s website.

schedule@: For those families who select this option, certificates may be
written for full time care. TANF clients not selecting this option will
remain on part time certificates—

received, DECCD will review the mformatlon to determine eI|g|b|I|ty and

send a written notice of eligibility, or ineligibility, or non-availability of
funds_within 10 business days. If the parent falls within a an eligibility
priority group for which funds are available, a certificate will be issued and
given-or mailed to the parent, who has up to ten business days to return the
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signed certificate to the ECCB-Desighated-Agent DECCD.




4) Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care

provided while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider. DECCD will provide
parents with a list of approved providers.

102.03 WAITING LIST

1) DECCD will accept applications for services will be accepted year around. All families
eligible to receive services will be added to the CCPP, as funding allows. Families will be
served according to the date of application and eligibility priority level. All other
applications will be placed on a waiting list, in order of date received, by eligibility priority.

(2) If/When funds become available during the program year; certificates should be issued by
eligibility priority. All existing Priority 3A parents should be served first; second, those
who were enrolled in an educational/training program the semester prior to the beginning of
the waiting list; third, those on waiting list by order of application date; fourth, existing
Priority 3B parents; fifth, those who were enrolled in an educational/training program in the
semester prior to the beginning of the waiting list; sixth, add waiting list parents by date of
application and so on.

102.03 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION FOR SERVICES
(@D Eligibility Guidelines by Priority Group

A. TANF Parent(s) (Prorityb— TANEF clients are not required to complete an
application form. Eligibility for ehtld-eare-serviece CCPP for TANF parent(s) is
determined by the MHS MDHS, Division of Economic Assistance Case Manager.
TANE clients will receive funds based on the referral and termination dates entered
by the TANF Case Manager. The TANF parent is required to participate in an
allowable TANF program activity. Each participant must comply with all the
requirements of the TANF program. See Appendix 102 for referral forms. As of
July 1, 2010, TANF clients are allowed to work a “compressed schedule”. the-

attomated-referral-proeess-
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. oty I

TCC Parent(s) — TCC clients are not required to complete an application form.

Eligibility for TCC CCPP should be determined by the MDHS, Division of
Economic Assistance Case Manager. TCC clients will receive funds based on the
referral and termination dates entered by the Case Manager.

C. Very Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF (Prerity—3) - - In order to
qualify for full-time child care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours
per week, or be enrolled full-time in high school, enrolled in a full-time GED
program, or other approved educational or training program. Unpaid work
hours required to complete course work for the school curriculum and/or
work study may be counted toward the work requirement for the parent.
Documentation must be provided en-a-ease-by-ease-basts Children in Protective
Services are eligible for child care services without regard to the income.
Foster parent(s),  Protective Services, and Preventive Services parents,

custodians or guardians must meet the same work or—scheelreguirement—as

fa fa a I & fa la Ja| fa ho fa fa fa a

duetitond PO FERAHOR-F vided. Inatwo-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family=s gross income
must be at 50 percent or below the State Median Income. Children with special
needs and children of deployed parents may be served in this Priority up to 85% of
the SMI. Irreqular hours of employment and income should be averaged.
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Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time child
care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled full-time
in high school or enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent- Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. Fe-bePriority4-the The

family=s gross income must be at or above 50 percent of the State Median Income
and at or below 85 percent of the State Median Income. Irregular hours of
employment and income should be averaged.

E. Post-Secondary Students - Certificates should only be written for one
semester/quarter at a time. The beginning date of the certificate should be
the first day of the month of class, for which proof of enrollment was
provided, and the ending date is the last day of the month ending the
semester. StAton Tnaten will el

Students should be allowed 30 days from the ending date of the previous semester to
complete the application process. Graduating seniors will have up to 60 days to
find employment before their certificate is terminated, unless determined eligible
otherwise.

Resident -In/Out of State Students - If a parent attends school in/out of state, the
application should be made in the parent=s name using the address where the
child(ren) resides.

The 25 hours per week work requirement is reduced for foreign students who hold a
VISA because they are permitted to work only on campus for 20 hours per week.

In order to remain eligible a copy of the VISA must be submitted annually to make
sure it is current.

Foster Children and children in Protective or Preventive Services are eligible for
child care services without regard to the income of the guardian. Foster children,
and children in Protective or Preventive Services will receive funding based on the
referral and termination by the Case Manager, no application is required. When a
child=s case is closed by the Division of Family and Children=s Services, that
agency will send a Notification of Termination of Child Care Services (See
Appendix 103.03) for children receiving services through Foster Care, Protective
Services or Prevention Services to DECCD.
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Parents may apply for a certificate who have been laid off or have lost their job for
other reasons. These certificates will be issued for 60 days from the parent(s) last
date of employment.

(2) Income to Be Considered in Calculating Total Family Income

A.

Gross income of applicant and spouse should be considered if the spouse is living in
the home. Do not consider a spouse=s income if they are separated and residing in
a separate residence. All income above or less than 40 hours per week is
considered irregular income. Irregular income and commissions should be averaged.
For commissions and tips, the amount on the paycheck stub or statement from an
employer should be averaged and added to regular work income. Do not consider
bonus monies as income. If a parent is self-employed, individual/family total
income is considered.

Social Security benefits for parents and child(ren) must be counted as income.

If a parent receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI), it should be counted as
income. If a child(ren) receives SSI, the SSI for the child(ren) should not be counted
as income.

Income earned by an adult living in the home, not married to the applicant, but who
is the biological parent of the child for whom services are being requested, income
should be counted. If there is another adult residing in the home with the applicant
to whom the applicant is not married, do not count that person’s income or impose a
work requirement for them or include them in the number in the household unless
they are the biological parents of the child(ren) for whom application for service is
being made.

i Parents must comply with Child Support Enforcement requirements in order
to receive a child care certificate(s). A Verification for Child Support
Services Form should be mailed to parents as part of the Child Care
Certificate Payment Program Application packet. (See Appendix 100.06).
Parents must complete the Verification Form and return it to the ECCD

Besignated-Agent DECCD as part of the completed application.

ii. All single or separated parents who do not currently have an open child
support case must contact the-MHS MDHS County Child Support Office for
an appointment to open a case(s) or to request a statement that the child or
children are exempt and the parent is excused from cooperating. Married
parents are not required to go through the MHS MDHS, Division of Child
Support Enforcement.
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F.

MHSiii.

M

DHS, Division of Child Support Enforcement may provide

exemptions based upon Claims of Good Cause such as, but not limited to:

a.

b.

The noncustodial parent has caused physical and/or emotional harm
to the child.

Physical and/or emotional harm caused by the noncustodial parent to
the relative caring for the child limiting the custodial parent=s ability
to care for the child.

A child conceived as a result of incest or rape.

Pending legal adoption proceedings.

A public or private social services agency assisting you, the custodial
parent, to decide whether to keep the child or to release the child for
adoption.

Iv. When the completed Verification for Child Support Form is received by the
ECCD Designated Agent (DA), the DA DECCD, the following steps will
occur:

a.

€.

If the parent has checked 2yes@ in the first column, indicating that
they have a Child Support case through DHS, pull up the Child
Support website,

Search by parent=s Social Security Number,

Click aselect@ and pull up and print the parent=s information,
including payments,

Attach the printout to the application and use the amount when
calculating income and co-payment for the parent,

At 6-month re-certification, repeat step Aiii@ above.

Any parent enrolled full-time in high school or in a GED program may make an
application in his/her own name, as a family unit separate from his/her parent. If
the_teen parent is under age and living with his/her parent(s), the parent of the teen
must meet the work requirements; however, the teen=s parents= income should not
be considered. If a teen parent lives in the home with her parent(s) or guardian, then
the parent(s) or guardian of a teen parent under the age of 18 must sign the certificate
and forms along with the teen parent.

No adult living in the home with the child may be paid for child care. Extenuating
circumstances will be handled on a case-by-case basis. The biological parent of a
child shall not be reimbursed for providing child care for his/her own child(ren).
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3)

Documents Required for Eligibility Determination

A

B.

Income Documents:

Two paycheck stubs from within the past 30 days. If paid once a month,
only one check stub is required.

If a new job, the employer=s letter on employer=s company letterhead or
employer=s notarized statement verifying employment, income, rate of pay
and number of hours worked. Actual check stubs must be submitted within
30 days.

Parents paid in cash should obtain a certified letter from the employer on
company letterhead or employer=s notarized statement verifying
employment, income, rate of pay and number of hours worked.

Parents employed by temporary agencies may be certified with an original
letter from an employer on company letterhead verifying employment, rate
of pay, and number of hours worked. The letter of employment must be
followed up with check stubs within 30 days.

V. Copy of Estimated Quarterly Tax Report if self-employed,
or some form of income documentation approved by the- ECCD
Designated—Agent: DECCD. Other acceptable forms of income
include 1040 and Profit or Loss Statement (Schedule C).
Designated-Agents-sheuld DECCD will use the ATotal Sales and
Receipts@ amount located on the Profit/ Loss Statement to
determine if the work requirement has been met. Besignated-Agents
should DECCD will use the amount located on line 22 of the
Federal 1040 Tax Form to determine income eligibility.

Vi. THE-WORK-NUMBER The Work Number, an automated service is
an option for income and employment verification. This service isan
acceptable source for documenting employment and income. THE
WORK NUMBER can be used instead of the employer=s notarized
statement or information on the employer=s letterhead. Therefore,
copies of check stubs are NO LONGER required to be submitted_for
those parents whose employment uses The Work Number Service.
THE WORK NUMBER=S website is www.theworknumber.com.,

e-mail address IS govinfo@thewerknumber-com
govinfo@theworknumber.com or 1-800-660-3399.

Educational Documents:
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(4)

Providei. Parents enrolled in an approved educational program must provide

enrollment documentation in the form of a letter from the institution=s
registrar confirming current full time enrollment. GED classes should be
handled the same as any other approved educational training.

Additional Beeuments Required Documentation:

Long Form Birth Certificate - A 90-day grace period may be allowed to
receive the birth certificate for a newborn. A 30-day grace period will be

aIIowed for all other chlldren Anyeemmdreepyeﬁhebﬁhﬁmheafe&

Verification of social security numbers can be obtained from a copy of the
social security card, immunization record, or other official document
showing child=s and/or a parent=s name and social security number.

Fhe ECCD-Designated-Agents DECCD must provide a statement that

makes it clear to GSBF CCPP applicants that the provision of a Social
Security Number is voluntary and that benefits will not be denied or
withheld for the failure to furnish a Social Security Number. Instructions
may will be given to parents explaining how the Social Security Number
will be used if provided, in order to encourage applicants who choose to
provide them (e.g. to identify individuals with the same name).

If it is necessary for parents to supply additional documentation of proof of
residence, the parent must supply a current driver=s license or state issued
I.D. and a current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or cable bill.
The addresses on the driver=s license, I.D. and bank statement/bill must
match and corroborate the address of residence supplied to the-Desighated-

Agent=s-office—DECCD.

Requirements for a Disabled Parent

A

If a two-parent family applies for assistance and one parent is working and the other
has a disability and unable to care for the child(ren), child care can be provided if a

written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the disability and

that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren).

If a single parent has a disability and has a physician=s statement stating the nature of
the disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren), the application
should be made in the responsible guardian=s name. The responsible guardian is the
person responsible for the parent=s affairs; the guardian must meet the work
requirement. The disabled parent=s Supplemental Security Income should be used to
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calculate the co-payment fee.

C. If a single parent is disabled and there is no guardian, the application should be in the
single parent=s name. Child Care can be provided if a written statement is
submitted by a physician stating the nature of the disability and that the parent is
unable to care for the child(ren).

D. If the guardian with whom the child(ren) reside(s) has a disability, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the guardian is unable to care for the child(ren). Verification of
cooperation with Child Support Enforcement is required if the parents are not
deceased.

(5)  Parents enlisted in the United States Military and Deployed

A. When parents are enlisted in the United States Military and deployed, the eligibility
should remain the same until the parent can provide the Military Income. The parent
should provide the Military Income as soon as he or she has documentation. The
grandparents or the responsible guardians= guardian’s income should not be counted
but the grandparents or the responsible guardian must meet the 25 hours per week
work requirement, unless they are 65 years of age or can provide proof that they have
retired from full-time employment.

(6) Pell Grants
A Pell Grants should not be considered as income when determining eligibility. Pell

Grant funds and child care subsidy payments can be used simultaneously for child
care services.
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102.04 RE-DETERMINATION

Eaeh—eertrirea%e—weu (1) Re- Determlnatlon of worklnq parents eI|QIb|I|ty is to be reviewed-

(2)

re- establlshed durlnq the CCPP year in the months of February, March, Aprll or May
DECCD will send a Ietter to parent(s) requestlng check stubs or other verification of
employment 3
and request verlflcatlon of household/marltal status eeheuseheld—srze (See Appendlx
104). If the ehild-care-apphication-packet CCPP Application Packet is not returned by the
due date indicated, a second notice should be mailed certified return receipt requested. If
the mail has been returned undeliverable, the child care provider, #knrewn, should be
notified. Failure to comply with Re-Determination procedures may result in termination of
certificates.

Re-Determination of parents’ eligibility for those enrolled in an approved educational

3)

program is determined every semester or quarter. Documentation for redetermination will
include proof of school enrollment (if not currently on file), proof of employment, proof of
household size, and location, and proof of income. Failure to comply with Re-Determination
procedures may result in termination of certificates.

When income is recalculated and there is a change in a co-payment fee, a notice is sent to the
parent and the provider. If income increases beyond 85 percent of the State Median Income,
child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice. If the parent is no longer working,
child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice to the child care provider. If the
parent has been temporarily laid off or has lost a job for other reasons, child care will not be
terminated until 60 days after the last work day, giving the parent time to be reinstated in

their jOb or to search fora job4heehnerearepreweler~mespbenenﬁed4haeehuaearemay

SECTION 103: CO-PAYMENT FEES

103.01 DETERMINING CO-PAYMENT FEES

(1)

@)

TANF parents are not assessed a co-payment fee. For all other parents, co-payment fees are
determined based upon the parent's family size and income according to the CCDF Child
Care Monthly Co-payment Fee Scale for Parents. (See Appendix 105).

Co-payment fees are redetermined when there is a change in the parent's income or
household size, or during semiannual redetermination of eligibility.
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103.02 ASSESSING CO-PAYMENT FEES PER CHILD

1)

(2)

3)

(4)

If a parent has one child receiving full-time child care services, the total co-payment fee
should be placed on that child's certificate. If a parent has one child receiving part-time
child care services, only half of the total co-payment fee should be placed on the child=s
certificate.

If one child is in full-day care and part-day care during the same month, the fee should be

assessed on the majority of the type of care provided. For example, if a child is served 16
part-time days and five full-time days, the part-time co-payment fee would be assessed for
the month.

If a parent has more than one child receiving full-time service, the total co-payment fee is
divided equally among the number of children receiving care. If two or more children are
receiving part-time services, one half of the divided fee should be placed on each certificate.
If a parent has children receiving before/after child care and holiday/summer child care, a
full co-payment fee and a half co-payment fee are placed on each certificate and the
appropriate fee is deducted during the payment cycle.

Exceptions:

A. If a parent has two children, one who is receiving full-year, full-time child care and
one being added for holiday/summer child care only, the co-payment fee for the
full-year, full-time care will remain the same. The parent is assessed an additional
$10.00 fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

B. If a parent has two or more children receiving full-year, full-time child care and one
child receiving holiday/summer care only, the total co-payment fee is divided equally
among the children attending full-time. The parent is not assessed a co-payment fee
for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

C. Parents assessed a minimum co-payment fee are:

I. Foster Children

ii. Children in Protective/Preventive Service

iii. Special Needs Children - Special Needs status must be documented. If there
are other children in the family who are receiving child care services, the fee
will be $10 or the child's prorated share of the family=s co-payment fee,
whichever is less. Services for children with Special Needs will continue until
the child reaches 18 years of age.

103.03 NON-PAYMENT OF CO-PAYMENT FEES

(1)

Co-payment fees are to be paid during the current month directly to the provider according to
payment arrangements established by the provider and parent. Providers must maintain
proof of collection of co-payment fees. If a parent fails to pay the co-payment fee prior to the

end of the month, the provider is required to notify the ECCD-Destenated-Agent. DECCD.
Non-payment of co-payment fees may result in termination from the certificate program. |If
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the parent requests a change in a provider prior to fees being paid in full to the original
provider, the parent must pay all co-payment fees before a new certificate is issued. Itis the
responsibility of the provider to report non-payment of co-payment fees to the ECED-
Destenated-Agent: DECCD. The provider may not charge parents any cost over the assigned
co-payment fee unless the cost for child care to the general public is higher than the amount
paid by the certificate program.

103.04 CO-PAYMENT RECOUPMENT/REPAYMENT

1)

(@)

If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate higher than the correct fee, the parent is to be
reimbursed by the ECCD-Destenated-Aeent DECCD for the difference for each month paid.
The correct fee is to be noted on the certificate and a notice of the change forwarded to the
provider and the parent.

If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate lower than the correct fee, the parent and the provider
are to be notified that the fee will be adjusted for subsequent months to make up the
difference for each month paid. If the amount in question is less than $50.00, an adjustment
to the fee is made but recoupment is not necessary.

103.05 PRORATING CO-PAYMENT FEES

1)

The assessed co-payment fee reflects a monthly rate regardless of attendance. If a child is
enrolled between the 1st and 15th of the month, the full monthly co-payment fee is assessed
for the first month of service. If the child is enrolled between the 16th and last day of the
month, one-half of the monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the first month of service. If
a parent desires to change a provider during the month, it is the parent=s responsibility to pay
the co-payment fee to any subsequent providers.
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SECTI

ON 104: PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES

104.01 SIGN-IN/OUT SHEETS

1)

Providers are required to record accurate attendance and absences on sign-in/out sheets and
on daily class rolls for each child in order to complete the payment ledger. The sign-in/out
sheets must show the child=s name, the full name of the parent/guardian or parent=s
authorized representative, the time the child is signed in with the signature of the person
signing the child in, and the time the child is signed out with the signature of the person
signing the child out each day. If sign-in/out sheets are not maintained and made available
upon request and/or for Monitoring processes, or do not follow the policies described above,
funds issued based on missing/erroneous information will be recouped by DECCD.

104.02 PAYMENT EEDGERS-LEDGER PROCESSES

(1)

104.03

104.63

(1)

Payment ledgers are-maited must be submitted electronically through the Child Care
Payment System. Ledgers open to providers menthty. on the 1% day of the month and
remain open until 11:59 p.m. CST on the 10" day of the month. Providers are required to
stenthe complete their electronic ledger enthe within this 10 day window. Ledgers
submitted with complete and correct information will be processed for payment. If ledgers
require further documentation in order to process payment, the provider signatureine-and-on
the-Tier will be contacted.

LEDGER PAYMENTS

(1-stenature-Hneappheable—H the-eenter=s ECCD-Credentialed Director-If it IS net
the-owner-of-the-center necessary to adjust the staffpersen—-who-isthe ECCD
CredenttaledDirector—must-sien amount of funds issued based on the Tier—+
stenaturetine—and Information submitted in an e-ledger, the provider will be
contacted and an adjustment will be made in the ewner—smust-sien Child Care
Payment System reflecting the fedeeras—welk: change. If an overpayment has

occurred, the provider is allowed the option of re-paying the excess to
DECCD or having the overpayment recouped from subsequent payments.

04 RATES AND CENTER POLICIES

Llcensed providers must file a copy of the center's publlshed rates with the—EGGD

PrOVIders are not allowed to charge a hlgher rate to famllles in the certlflcate program than
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(2)

the rate charged to the general public. (See Appendix 106).

A

If the child care center=s policy states that a program stipend will be provided to

non-certificate children, the provider must document the amount and the source of
funds for each child on a monthly basis. ParentsParent co-payment fees cannot be
used as children=s stipends. This documentation must be in hard copy such as
check stubs receipts, etc., that will show Mississippi Department of Human Services
auditors a clear paper trail of cash infusion from non-tuition sources and
non-child-care-certificate monies sufficient to cover the full amount of tuition
without any stipends.

The ECCD Designated Agents should B. DECCD will not monitor any fiscal or

children=s files Wlthout the d|rect0r oran approved superwsor staff person in
attendance.

wﬁheu%e*pew}gﬂaluheeentersﬂﬂseal—meerd& Only necessary documentatlon
should be requested from the parent and provider.

Parents (including TANF workers) employed at a licensed center or group home
may be eligible for a child care certificate providing theirwork-in-the-centeris-other
than-providing-child-care-to that they do not care for their own child(ren). Nor can
the child(ren) be included in a group assigned to the biological parent to maintain
the adult/child ratio required by the Mississippi State Department of Health,
Division of Child Care Licensure.

Rates of reimbursement are assigned on a certificate based on the provider type
(licensed or unlicensed), age of child, and Tier level (See Appendix 106). A
full-time rate may be charged for non-traditional child care. Non-traditional child
care is appropriate when a parent requires full-time child care in lieu of
before-and-after school care.

School-aged children will be reimbursed at the part-time rate for absentees, during
vacation and holidays except when it is documented that the child(ren) attended the
licensed child care center, full-day, during the school year. The provider must
provide a written explanation on the ledger for the child(ren)=s full-time
attendance in order to receive full-time reimbursement.

Providers will be reimbursed at a part time rate for any day in which a school age
child or child with a full-time/part-time certificate is present for a full day of care
while their reqular educational facility is open.

Summer child care for school-aged children will be reimbursed at the full-time rate
for absentees, vacation, and holidays.

If at any time during a CCPP year, a provider=s changes Tier reimbursement

status, changes after will be adjusted in the Oeteber1-roll-overprocess,current-
certificates-wil-remain-system to allow for reimbursement at the pre-OctoberFier

appropriate rate unt-
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I If it becomes necessary for the eertificate-expires—ARY-Rew-

certificates will-be-issued-at-the-higherHdower-Tier 1-eligible director
to be absent for leave, DECCD must be notified within 10 days.

DECCD will determine on a case-by-case basis if Tier rate.1
reimbursement will continue during leave.

Full-time certificate payments for school-age children may not be issued to
students enrolled in grades one through twelve unless full-time care is needed
during non-traditional hours and schools are closed.

Full-time certificate payments may be issued for 3 and 4 year olds enrolled in
public or private pre-kindergarten programs where tuition is assessed. Certificates
will expire on a child’s 5th birthday. Families who continue to meet eligibility
criteria may apply to continue services until the child is 12 years of age, or 18 years
of age if a special needs child. Additionally, 5 year old children whose parent(s)
elect not to enroll their child(ren) in a public kindergarten program may receive
full-time certificate funds until they reach the age of 6(six), which is the
compulsory age for school in the state of Mississippi.

104.04 OVER-PAYMENTS AND UNDER-PAYMENTS

(1) If a provider discovers an error in the payment issued, the provider is required to notify the
ECCD Designated Agent to request an adjustment within 30 days of the issuance of the

payment.

Questioned payments or incorrect payments will be adjusted during the next

monthly payment cycle.

(2) If an overpayment has occurred, the provider is allowed the option of re-paying the excess to
the ECCD Designated Agent or having the overpayment recouped from subsequent
payments.

104.06 ABSENTEES AND NOTICE

(1) If a child is absent for more than two weeks for medical reasons, the parent is required to
submit a doctor=s statement. Extenuating circumstances will be handled on a case-by-case

basis.

(2) Licensed providers are to provide a written explanation at the bottom of the ledger for each

child who is absent for three or more consecutive days.

(3) Inthe case of court-ordered visitation, DECCD must be notified and a copy of the visitation
order of the court must be kept on file by the provider. Any days a child is absent due to
court-ordered visitation will not count towards a child=s vacation days. The provider should
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indicate this reason on ledgers. Parents are responsible for paying their determined
co-payment amount in full.

3} (4 The Child Care Certificate Payment Program will not be responsible for
payments for services beyond the child's last date of attendance, except when

the provider=s written policy on file with the ECCD-Desighated-Agenrt DECCD

requires a parent to give notice in advance of withdrawal. The time required

for withdrawal notification will be reimbursed by the ECCB-Desighated-Agent

DECCD except under emergency conditions such as abuse or neglect - or other
extenuatlng cwcumstances not to exceed two weeks. Licensedprovidersare

(5) A child care center must remain open on days when children are taken on field trips or for
vacation for any children who cannot attend the field trips or are not on vacation and still need
child care.
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SECTION 105: INTERRUPTION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES

105.01 ALLOWABLE LEAVE TIME FOR PARENTS

1)

)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

Parents who lose or change jobs are allowed a 60 day grace period from the last date of
employment before child care services are terminated in order to give the parent time to be
reinstated in their job. During this 60 day period, the parent is required to submit new
eligibility documentation and be redetermined eligible for services. Failure to submit
acceptable eligibility documentation will result in the termination of services.

Temporary Job Closings - Workers temporarily unemployed due to the nature of their work
may include but are not limited to workers employed in construction, factories, or poultry and
catfish processing plants. Extensions beyond the approved 60 days must gain approval from-
ECCD DECCD on a case-by-case basis.

Natural Disaster - Child care services should be continued when parents are off work due to
circumstances beyond the parent=s control such as hurricanes, floods, and tornado. Licensed
child care providers should be reimbursed when the center is closed temporarily due to a
natural disaster for up to 10 business days per occurrence unless the parent needs to make
alternate care arrangements. Unlicensed centers are reimbursed for actual attendance only.

A pregnant mother is allowed six weeks of child care assistance during maternity leave.
Documentation from a physician of the maternity leave must be included in the parent's file.
If more leave time is required due to medical reasons, a physician’s statement is required. The
parent must provide new eligibility documentation once she returns to work. Failure to
submit acceptable eligibility documentation will result in the termination of services.

Fathers are allowed six weeks of child care assistance related to the birth of a child, if the
employer/educational institution approves the leave time.

Parent(s) are allowed six weeks of child care assistance in cases of adoption of a new child, if
the employer/educational institution approves the leave time.

Parent(s) are allowed up to thirty days of sick leave from their job if documented by their
employer and physician. Extenuating circumstances will be handled on a case-by-case basis.

to-pay-the-monthlyco-payment fee
A child is allowed 10 vacation/absence days per federal fiscal year (beginning October 1 -
September 30). Absences related to court-ordered visitations are not counted as vacation
days.

(8) Providers-may-elect-to-observe (9)  DECCD will pay for up to 11 holidays
for the period beginning October 1 through September 30. If the Governor
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allows mere-than-one-day days in addition to the list below in observance of a
holiday, the providers-must will be allowed these extra days.
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If the identified holiday falls on a weekend, the DECCD Director will designate weekdays to

observe the holiday.
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January 1 New Year=s Day

The Third Monday of January Robert E. Lee=s Birthday and Dr. Martin
Luther King, Jr.=s Birthday

. : Washinstonaa R
o :

Spring Good Friday

The Last Monday of May National Memorial Day and
Jefferson Davis= Birthday

July 4 Independence Day

The First Monday of September Labor Day

FhoSveoteMord o Beehe————————Ceepnb ey

November H- SR e o e e
A-daytixed-by proclamationby Thanksgiving Day & the Gevemer—of
Misstssippi-as-Friday after
et o odHecor o RdHe
the date aroclarmed by the
. : ad S
December 24 Christmas Eve
December 25 Christmas Day
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December 31 New Year’s Eve
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105.02 REASONS FOR TERMINATION

1)

@)

3)

(4)

()
(6)

TANEF, TCC, Foster Children and Children in Preventive/Protective Services are referred for
services by a MDHS Case Manager. Services will be terminated upon notification by the
Case Manager.

Parents who fail to submit the required information for redetermination are allowed an
additional five (5) days’ notice before services will be terminated. A-secend-neticeshould-be
mated certified return receipt requested.

Non-payment of co-payment fees may result in termination from the Child Care Certificate-
Payment Program for a one-year period.

A child care certificate may be terminated upon the request of the parent, or by the ECCB-
Designated-Agentaccordingte DECCD in accordance with CCPP policy.

Child care services will be terminated when a child grows older than the age requirements.

If at any time a parent provides fraudulent information, child care services are immediately
terminated and the client is ineligible to reapply for a one-year period. DECCD may elect to
permanently disbar parents from participation in CCPP in accordance with Section 106.01(1)
of this document.

105.03 CHANGE IN PROVIDER

1)

Parents are allowed to change providers no more than two times per federal fiscal year, unless
warranted by certain situations such as relocation, child abuse/neglect, or the provider no
longer provides child care services. Parents must request a change in provider from the-
ECCDB-Designated-Agent DECCD prior to withdrawing the child, unless under emergency
circumstances. The parent(s) should give at least two weeks prior notice to the current
prowder before W|thdrawmg the child from the center unless there are extenuatlng




[TEEN

an
o
D

Agent-making-the-hitial-eligibHity-determination. Parents must select a CCPP approved

provider. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider.
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Section 106 DISPUTES

106.01 PARENTAL AND PROVIDER DISPUTES

1)

Any unresolved dispute concerning a question of fact under the Application/Agreement
between the ECCD-Designated-Agent DECCD and Parent or Provider shall be decided by the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development. In the review by the
ECCD DECCD Director the Parent_ or Provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard
and offer evidence in support of the questioned decision under review. This decision shall be
reduced to writing and a copy thereof mailed or furnished to the Parent or Provider and shall
be final and conclusive, unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision, the
Parent_or Provider mails or delivers to the Executive Director of the Mississippi Department
of Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the Executive
Director or his/her designee;-the ECED-Destenated-Asent DECCD will proceed in accordance
with the decision of the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.
In addition, listed below are the procedures to be used in an Administrative Hearing for a
Child Care Dispute:

A. A Parent or Provider may not request a hearing on behalf of another individual or to
discuss decisions regarding another person.

B. If an Administrative Hearing is desired, a written request for the Hearing must be
submitted to the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.
If requested, an Administrative Hearing will be held with the Director of the Division
of Early Childhood Care and Development serving as the Hearing Officer.

C. The Hearing Officer will be a neutral observer who will conduct the Hearing. The
Hearing Officer will listen to both sides and then make a decision based upon the
evidence that is provided.

D. This is an informal proceeding that gives both parties their due process rights and a
forum to provide evidence. This is not an adverse process. Questions are to be
asked only for clarification. If a party has legal representation, the attorney is there
only to give legal advice to his/her client and not for direct or cross examination.
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SECTION 107: FRAUD AND ABUSE

This section outlines the policies and procedures for handling alleged and/or substantiated
fraud and exploitation in the Child Care Certificate Payment Program by a parent and/or
provider.

107.01 POLICY STATEMENT

1)

Any person applying for or receiving public assistance by using false statements, and any
person assisting that person to receive such public assistance with knowledge of those false
statements, is subject to criminal prosecution. The offense may be a misdemeanor when the
amount received or requested is below $500 or a felony if the amount received or requested is
above $500. If a child care center knowingly provides false information, a financial penalty
will be imposed. Whether or not a criminal conviction results, at the first offense,
recoupment will be made and the center may be disqualified from participating in the CEBE-
prograrm Child Care Payment Program, contingent upon whether the deception is intentional

or-nadvertent unintentional.

107.02 SUSPECTED FRAUD OR ABUSE OF FUNDS

The ECCD Destenated-Agent(1l) ~ DECCD staff will not attempt to resolve any suspicion of parent

(@)

and/or provider fraud or misuse of funds. The ECEbDestenated-Asent DECCD staff will

collect any documentation to support an investigation of suspected fraud or misuse of funds.
This documentation shall be referred directly to MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI)
for investigation and ECCDnotified—Fhe ECCDDesienated-Agent: DECCD staff will not
alert the parent and /or provider of any suspicion of fraud or misuse of funds while an
investigation is pending. Funding may continue during the investigation.

Prior to terminating certificates at licensed child care facilities due to documented fraud, the-
ECCD Desienaied Acents must DECCD will assist the Child Ceare and Development Fund
(cEDbE parent(s) with locating an alternative child care facility or home without an
interruption in child care services unless the parent(s) chooses to keep their child(ren) at the
center and forfeit the CEDE-Certificate CCPP funding. In this situation, a notarized statement

of fact from the parent(s) must be retained by ﬂee—EGGB—Bes—rg%Eed%ge%Hhe—E@@l}
Desto cant

ﬂﬂs—dtspesrﬁeﬁ—has—beeﬁ—h&ﬁd}ed— DECCD Ifitis determlned that fraud was commltted bv a

parent, the provider will be allowed two weeks’ notice of termination.

107.03 RECOUPMENT OF FUNDS

1)

The MDHS, DPI shall employ the required steps to recoup or attempt to recoup funds paid for
ineligible services because of suspected parent or provider fraud or misuse of funds when
unable to resolve otherwise. The steps include, but are not limited to:
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A letter outlining the EEED DECCD policy violated, the total amount of funds to be
repaid, the legal action to be pursued if the parent or facility owner fails to cooperate,
and a response time frame of 15 calendar days; the letter and the report shall be sent to
the alleged offender by certified mail; a copy shall be retained by DPI and the Director
of DECCD;

After the MDHS, DPI completes the investigation of alleged fraud and/or misuse of
funds, if applicable, criminal charges shall be filed with the appropriate local law
enforcement agency, when fraud is substantiated.

When fraud is substantiated and criminal charges are filed with the local law
enforcement agency, funds shall be recovered through restitution ordered by the court.
Checks issued by the court for restitution shall be made payable to Treasurer, State of
Mississippi and mailed directly to the MDHS, DPI.

The MDHS, DPI staff shall track receipt of checks issued for payment of restitution on
a case-by-case basis until all funds have been recovered.

107.04 FINAL DISPOSITION FOR ACTION

A copy of any final judgment issued by the Court shall be forwarded directly to the MDHS,
DPI and a copy of the final judgment will be provided to-EcED DECCD by the MDHS, DPI.
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SECTION 108: MONITORING

108.01 The ECCD Designated-Agents MONITORING PROCEDURE

1) DECCD will monitor a selection of licensed and unlicensed providers participating in the
certificate program at least once annually. The ECEDDestenated-Asentshoutd DECCD.
will select centers whose records indicate a need for technical assistance, for example,
ledgers marked with perfect attendance for each child each month. Accordingto MDHS
Subgrantee Manual, ECED-Destenated-Asents DECCD staff may conduct monitoring visits
un-announced.

2 Monitoring visits will include a review of the following records:
Each-center-A. Licensed and unlicensed providers must maintain a daily attendance

roster er(sign in/out sheets) for each child in accordance with Section 104.01(1) of
this document.

B. The attendance recorded on the center's attendance roster will be compared to the
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attendance reported on the center's ledger. All documentation related to child
attendance will be reviewed.

The center's published rates charged to the general public will be compared to the
rates requested and received on each certificate.

Verify the payment of co-payment fees.

A copy of the center's license, if applicable, will be requested if a current copy is

not on file with the ECCB-Desighated-Agent DECCD.

Records will be reviewed to verify that the center has retained a copy of the
Center=s Statement of Agreement on file.

The center will be monitored to make sure that the hours of operation meet the
needs of the full-time working parents plus travel time. This applies to
non-traditional child care hours. The center must be open at least five (5) days per
week.

The attendance will be checked to ensure that the center is not receiving more
(CCDF and TANF) certificates than-its its’ licensed or allowed capacity at any
given time (for example, non-traditional shifts, and before and after school). If it
is determined during the monitoring visit that the center attendance exceeds the
center=s licensed capacity eraHewed, then the situation may will be reported to
the Mississippi State Department of Health, Child Care Licensure and/erECCB
DECCD.

Unlicensed centers must provide copies of immunization records of all children
enrolled in care.

3)

1)

A.

J. Per the Center Statement of Agreement, all child care providers are notified
that monitoring may be announced or unannounced. Refusal to cooperate in the
monitoring process will result in a financial penalty.

If a center is not accurately recording attendance or is charging different rates, the

center will receive a letter concerning the finding(s). Any overpayments that occurred

because of these two situations shall be recouped by the ECCB-Desighated-Agent—Fhe

ECCDB Designated-Agent DECCD. DECCD may demand direct repayment by the
center to the Child Care Certificateprogram Payment Program or may debit

subsequent ledgers submitted by the center and make deductions from reimbursement
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checks issued to the center. Fhe- ECCD-Designhated-Agent DECCD may set up an
installment repayment plan for the center.

B. A center with findings may be monitored again, by either announced or unannounced
visits. If the center is still in non-compliance under the original finding(s), a copy of
all correspondence regarding the matter should be forwarded to MHS MDHS.

108.02 SUSPENSION AND DEBARMENT

(1)  If a parent commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, a parent may not apply for or
receive CCPP funding until the date indicated on the Notice of Suspension.

(2) If a provider commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any

financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, or upon debarment, a
provider may not hold any administrative position in a facility or home in which CCPP
subsidies are received. This includes any position responsible for the recording or tracking

of enrollment and attendance as well as the completing and reporting of family/child status
and/or enrollment and attendance to CCPP.
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GLOSSARY OF TERMS

This chapter contains the definition of key words or phrases and clarifies the terms as they relate
to this manual.

ADULT - A person who has reached the age of majority (at least 18 years of age).

ATTENDING (EDUCATIONAL/JOB TRAINING) -Refersto-futk:  Full time enrollment as-
evidenced-by in an education and/or training program administration resulting in a degree or certificate
designed to promote job skills and employability. Full time is determined by the institution.

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE - An individual who has the legal right to speak or act on the
parent=s behalf. Written authorization must come to the child care center or the EEEbB DECCD
Designated Agent directly from the parent and be maintained in the appropriate file.

BEFORE-AND AFTER-SCHOOL CARE - Child care services for school-aged children (ages 5-12)
during the hours before and after the regular school day. Under CCDF child care may be provided
for children under the age of 13 and for those children under the age of 18 who meet the SSI definition
of disability by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that caused marked and
severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

CARE GIVER - An individual at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school diploma or
equivalent (GED) who provides direct child care, supervision, and guidance to an eligible child.

MONTHLY CHILD CARE CO-PAYMENT FEES FOR PARENTS - A system of cost-sharing
based upon income and size of the family for families who participate in the Child Care and
Development Fund Program.

CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND (CCDF) - A federally-funded program designed to
provide quality child care services to eligible very low-income families who are actively participating
in an allowable TANF activity, transitioning off TANF, at-risk of going on TANF and are in need of
child care in order to work OR are low-income families, employed or enrolled in an approved
educational or training program.

CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A document issued by the ECECD DECCD Designated Agent

directly to a parent(s) who has been determined eligible for CCDF, who may use it as payment for
child care services. A child care certificate is assistance to the parent, not assistance to the provider.
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CHILD CARE FACILITIES:

CENTER-BASED - A non-residential facility in which shelter and personal care is regularly
provided for six or more children who are not related within the third degree computed
according to the civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and receive care for
any part of a 24-hour day.

For all Child Care Centers, as defined above, related children of all staff must be included in
the licensed number. These centers are considered commercial establishments and must
meet all requirements of the Regulation Governing Food Service Sanitation. Additionally,
these licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the Mississippi State
Department of Health=s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal care
is regularly provided for five or fewer children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to the civil law to the provider and who are less than 13 years of age and
are provided care for any part of the 24-hour day. These homes may voluntarily register with
the Mississippi State Department of Health and must be registered with the Division of Early
Childhood Care and Development, Mississippi Department of Human Services. The
provider must be at least 18 years old and cannot be a biological parent of the child receiving
assistance.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal

care are regularly provided for six to 15 children who are not related within the third degree

computed according to civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and receive
care for any part of the 24-hour day. Children related within the third degree are included in
determining space and staff, but are not included in the licensed number.

CHILD CARE PROVIDERS:

CENTER-BASED CHILD CARE PROVIDER - A provider licensed or otherwise authorized
to provide child care services for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a non-residential
setting, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents= work, education,
or training.

FAMILY CHILD CARE PROVIDER - One individual who provides child care services for
fewer than 24-hours per day per child, as the sole CARE GIVER, in a private residence,
unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents= work, education, or
training.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - Two or more individuals who provide child
care services for six to 15 children for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a private
residence other than the child=s residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the
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nature of the parents= work, education, or training.

IN-HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - An individual who provides child care services in
the child=s own home.

CHILD CARE SERVICES - Care provided for a fee by a child care provider to an eligible child or
children in the parent=s absence.

CHILD CARE WEEK - The period of time that child care is provided per week. The child care
week may cover more than the normal five days. This is allowable as long as the-EcEb DECCD
Weekly Child Care Reimbursement Tier rate is not exceeded.

CREDENTIALED DIRECTOR - A professional credential awarded to child care center directors
operating licensed child care programs in Mississippi and those who aspire to be directors for the
successful completion of a curriculum in Child Care Management Best Practice.

DEGREES OF KINDRED ACCORDING TO THE LAW:

FIRST Parents and Children
SECOND Siblings (brothers and sisters), Grandparents, and Grandchildren
THIRD Uncles, Aunts, Nieces, Nephews, Great-Grandparents, and Great-Grandchildren

| 1 hsicd o e disabilitn
DISABLED PARENT - See SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT.

EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM - A preschool program (ages birth to
kindergarten) that provides child care services to low-income working parents and eligible parents
enrolled in an educational or training program.

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM/JOB TRAINING -A program offering educational/job training
content information. Programs must be accredited by the state or a national organization.

ELIGIBLE CHILD - A child whose parent(s) meets the eligibility requirements as set forth by the
grant.

EXTENDED DAY CHILD CARE - Before-and after-school care for Head Start children (ages 3-4 or
up to age 5) and school-age children (ages 5-12) who need such care due to the work schedule of their
parent(s).

FAMILY - A unit where a child(ren) resides with a parent(s) who is related by blood, marriage,
adoption, or legal guardianship.

FAMILY OF ONE - A child receiving child care services based upon his/her income received from
SS|, foster board payment, etc.
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FULL-DAY CHILD CARE - Child care provided for six or more hours of a 24-hour day.
Full-day child care should meet the needs and reflect the work, education, or TANF training
schedule of the parent with a maximum of 30 minutes of travel time each way.

GROSS INCOME - The parent=s income before any deductions.

HALF-DAY - Child care provided for fewer than six hours per day.

INCOME- funds received by all applicable individuals as described in policy which are not
supplemented by any public assistance other than food stamps or medical assistance, and does not
exceed 85 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

INCOME ELIGIBLE (IE) - Income that is not supplemented by any public assistance other than
food stamps or medical assistance, and does not exceed 85 percent of the State Median Income
(SMI).

INCOME MAINTENANCE (IM) - Income from TANF or Supplemental Security Income and
other public assistance.

INFANTS - Children from birth through 12 months.

IN-HOME CHILD CARE - Child care services for five or fewer eligible children for less than 24
hours a day in the child=s own home. For TANF parents, these services may not be provided in
the child=s own home if the child care provider is included in the TANF assistance unit, such as a
grandparent, aunt, or older sibling.

IN LOCO PARENTIS - Persenstanding In place of & parent, for example, a fester-parent; guardian
or a relative or friend with whom the child resides if the child’s parent is unable to act as the parent
or has delegated his or her authority to someone else. The term describes someone who provides
care and supervision like a parent but without going through the formalities of legal adoption or
guardianship.

LICENSING OR REGULATORY REQUIREMENTS - Requirements necessary for a provider to
legally provide child care services in a state or locality, including regulations and requirements
established under State Local or Tribal law. The AMississippi Child Care Licensing Law,@
Section 43-20-1, et seq., of the Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, which provides the legal
authority under which the Mississippi State Department of Health prescribes minimum regulations
for child care facilities defined under the law.

LOCALSERVICEPROVADER—See- ECCD-Destenated-Agents.
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LOW-INCOME - Income above the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI) or at or below
the 85 percent of the SMI.

MINIMUM FEE - An assessment of $10 per month for full-day child care services and $5.00 per
month for half-day before-and after-school/extended day, etc. child care services.
MHS
MDHS TANF CASE MANAGER - An employee of the Mississippi Department of Human Services,
Division of Economic Assistance, that provides case management services, supportive services, and
referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the local/county level supportive
services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the local/county level.

NON-TRADITIONAL CARE - Includes night care and supervision of school-age children for less
than 24 hours per day that occurs within the twelve hours between 6:00 p.m. and 5:59 a.m., or
weekend care and supervision of children that takes place between 6:00 p.m. Friday and 5:59 a.m.
Monday.

PARENT - A mother or father by blood, marriage, or adoption, a legal guardian, or other person
standing in loco parentis.

PRESCHOOL AGED CHILD - Children from three years of age through kindergarten.

PROTECTIVE SERVICES- Children that are court ordered to receive Protective Services from
MDHS, Division of Family & Children’s Services. These children are living in the home of a parent
or relative/kinship caretaker.

PROVIDER - The entity providing child care services.

REIMBURSEMENT TIERS - The established rates for child care services based upon the age of the
child, type of child care provider, hours of child care, and EGEB DECCD approved tier criteria.

RESIDING/LIVING WITH - F A
tegether-Living with, including taking meals and sleeplnq in the same dwel#ng—fepnen—weplﬁela%ed
purposes-house.

SEASONAL WORKERS - Individuals who are temporarily unemployed due to the nature of their
work.

SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT - A parent who meet s the SSI definition of disability by

having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that cause marked and severe functional

limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration and render the parents incapable of

self-care. The condition(s) must be documented by a physician. In the absence of SSI benefits,
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medical documentation should attest to the degree of functional limitation(s) and prescribe the special
care needed. If the parent is unable to manage their personal affairs, the application should be made
in the parent/guardian or responsible adult=s name. If the disabled parent receives SSI, the income
maintenance fee of $10.00 should be applied to the child(ren). Short Term disability medically
documented will be handled on a case-by-case basis with approval by EGEB DECCD.

SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD RATE - Special Needs rates may be applied for children through the age
of 18 who meet the SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental
condition(s) that cause marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in
duration and render the child(ren) incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented by a
physician. In the absence of SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree of
functional limitation(s) and prescribe the special care needed.

STATE MEDIAN INCOME (SMI) - The average income of all Mississippi workers.
SUMMER CARE - Child care for children during the summer months, when school is not in session.

SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) - A monthly payment to a person for having a
medically proven physical/mental or physical condition that causes marked and severe functional
limitations that are expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) - The block grant that replaced the Aid to
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Program (JOBS).
Benefits are time-limited, mandating that families move quickly into work activities leading to
self-sufficiency.

TERMINATED CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A certificate that has been used as payment for
child care services for a period of time and is no longer valid. Reasons that certificates would be
terminated include, but are not limited to, the following: giving false information, change in a
provider, change in rates, change in funding sources (example: from CCDF to TANF), or there has
not been a request for reimbursement on a Child Care Certificate 60 days after the certificate has been
issued.

TODDLERS - Children the age of 13 months and less than 36 months.

TRANSITIONAL CHILD CARE (TCC) - Up to 24 months of subsidized child care for eligible
parents.

VERY LOW INCOME - Income at or below the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME (WRI) - Income that is irrelevant; therefore, it is not to be
considered. The only children who are to be considered WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME are in
court-ordered Protective Services Cases 340 and Preventive Services. The only documentation
necessary to determine eligibility is the referral form from the Division of Family and Children=s
services and proof of the parent=s work or exemption.
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WORKING - Performing duties to earn a wage (for a minimum of 25 hours per week) or complete
educational/job training such as practicums or internships (enrollment for education/training must be

full time).
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