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RULE 7.1  GENERAL REGULATION FOR THE TAKING OF NUISANCE ANIMALS.   

 

 A.  MISS. CODE ANN. §49-7-1, as amended, classifies nutria, beaver, fox, skunks, coyotes 

and wild hogs, as “nuisance” animals.  Pursuant to the authority stated therein, the Commission 

issues this regulation for the taking of nuisance animals: 

 

 B.  Nuisance animals may be hunted, trapped, taken, killed, chased, or pursued on private 

lands.    

 

1. Landowners and any leaseholders may hunt nuisance animals year-round at any 

time of day or night with no weapon/caliber restrictions on property titled in their name or 

otherwise owned, or leased by them. 

 

 2. Designated agents of the landowners / leaseholders may hunt nuisance animals 

year-round at any time of day or night with no weapon / caliber restrictions, provided they have 

written permission from the landowner or leaseholder in his or her possession, when hunting 

nuisance animals.  Permission letters must be signed and dated by the landowner or leaseholder, 

shall include: 

 

  a. the contact information of the landowner or leaseholder; 

 

  b. the contact information of the permitted person; and  

 

  c. a specific a date of expiration.   

 

3. Persons hunting nuisance animals during any open gun season on deer will be 

required to wear, in full view, 500 square inches of solid unbroken hunter orange, unless they are 

hunting from a fully enclosed stand. 

 

  4. Nuisance animals may be hunted with the aid of electronic calls. 

 

C. On public lands, the governmental entity charged with the management of said lands 

may allow the taking of nuisance animals subject to applicable laws, rules, or regulations.  

 

E. Nuisance animals may not be hunted or pursued with dogs during the open spring 

turkey season. 

 

F. Live nuisance animals may not be possessed except: 

 

 1. Coyotes in permitted coyote enclosures; 

 

 2. Fox in permitted fox enclosures, or  

 

 3. Hogs for the purpose of slaughter in an enclosure no larger than 500 square feet 

in size and constructed in a manner that prevents the escape of any wild hog.   
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G. For the purpose of this rule, “wild hogs” are hereby defined as any feral hog, wild 

swine, Russian boar, or any pig that is not a domesticated pet or livestock, or has a wild-looking 

appearance or behavior. 

 

 1. Anyone transporting a live wild hog within the State of Mississippi must first 

obtain a Live Wild Hog Transportation Permit for each wild hog being transported.  

 

  a. Permits may be obtained by contacting the MDWFP’s 24 hour 

Communications Dispatcher at (601) 432-2170.   

 

  b. A violation of this section is a Class III violation, punishable as 

provided in MISS. CODE ANN. §49-7-101 with a fine of not less than Twenty-five Dollars ($ 

25.00) nor more than One Hundred Dollars ($ 100.00). 

 

  c. Required information for a Live Wild Hog Transportation Permit: 

  

   i. Date and time of transportation 

 

   ii. Name and physical address of permitee 

 

   iii. Hunting License Number 

 

   iv. County 

 

   v. Point of origin (Road or Highway No.) 

 

   vi. Number of live wild hogs being transported 

 

   vii. Final destination 

 

   viii. Description of the transporting vehicle and license plate 

number 

 

2. Wild hogs may not be transported within the State of Mississippi between the 

hours of sunset and sunrise and may not be released or removed alive from any mobile device or 

vehicle, except that wild hogs may be released alive for the purpose of slaughter into an 

enclosure no larger than 500 square feet in size and constructed in a manner that prevents the 

escape of any wild hog.   

 

3. MISS. CODE ANN §49-7-140(2) states, no person may transport or relocate 

within the state any live feral hog, wild swine or Russian Boar and release the hog into the wild. 

Wild hogs may not be caught or trapped and released into the wild at a location different from 

the location where the wild hog was caught or trapped.  A violation of this section, upon 

conviction, is punishable as a Class I violation. MISS. CODE ANN. §49-7-141 states, any person 

who has been convicted of a Class I violation shall be fined not less than Two Thousand Dollars 

($ 2,000.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($ 5,000.00) and shall be imprisoned in the 



 

3 

 

county jail for five (5) days. The person shall also forfeit all hunting, trapping and fishing 

privileges for a period of not less than twelve (12) consecutive months from the date of 

conviction. 

 

 4. Wild hogs may be hunted with the aid of feed/bait with the following 

exceptions: 

 

  a. Any food or food products may be placed upon the ground, above the 

ground, in any type container year round for the purpose of hunting wild hogs, except whole, 

chopped, or ground-up grains may not be used. 

 

  b. Grain or grain products may be used, if placed inside any legally 

designed live capture-type trapping device for the sole purpose of trapping wild hogs. 

 

 5. Any live cage-type trap used to trap wild hogs must be tagged or labeled in 

plain view (written in waterproof ink or stamped) with the owner or users name, address, phone 

number and/or trapper license ID#.   

 

 6. All live cage-type traps must be checked every 36 hours.  All non-targeted wild 

or domestic animals caught must be released immediately upon detection.   

 

 7. A wild hog live-cage-type trap is described as a permanent or mobile 

containment system made of any type material capable of confining the mobility of a wild hog 

until otherwise removed.  The trap must consist of a trap door, slide gate, or similar mechanism.  

These traps must have at least 50% of the roof open to allow non-targeted deer, turkey, or bear 

the ability to escape. 

 

H. Licenses needed: 

 

 1. Persons trapping nuisance animals, other than wild hogs, must have a valid 

Mississippi trapping license, unless otherwise exempt. 

 

 2.  Persons trapping wild hogs must possess a valid Lifetime, All Game, 

Sportsman, or Trapping License, unless otherwise exempt.  

 

 3. Persons hunting nuisance animals must possess a valid Lifetime, All Game, or 

Sportsman’s License, unless otherwise exempt.   

 

 4. Persons hunting nuisance animals with archery equipment and/or with 

primitive weapons during archery or primitive weapons season must possess either a valid 

Lifetime, Sportsman License, or an All Game Hunting License and the Archery/Primitive 

Weapon Permit, unless otherwise exempt. 

 

 5. The holder of a Lifetime, All Game, Sportsman or Trapping License may sell 

any part of any nuisance animal year-round.  The only nuisance animals that may be sold alive 
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are coyotes and fox per 40 Miss. Admin. Code Pt. 2, Rule 8.1 (General Rules for Fox, Coyote 

and Rabbit Pens). 

 

I. Exceptions to nuisance animal regulations may be allowed by making application to the 

MDWFP for an Animal Control Permit. 

 

History:  Revised July 2013. 

 

Source:  MISS. CODE ANN. §§49-1-29, 49-4-4, 49-7-31.5, and 49-7-140. 

 


