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Title 30: Professions and Occupations

Part 2101:  Cosmetology, Board of

Part 2101 Chapter 1: General

Rule 1.1 Authorization and Applicability

A

The following Rules and Regulations are adopted in conformity with Chapter 7 of Title
73 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, pursuant to the authority vested in the
Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology (“Board”).

These Rules and Regulations are applicable to all persons licensed or registered in
accordance with the provisions of Chapter 7 of Title 7 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as
amended, and are effective as of July 1, 2000 and will continue pursuant to law.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 1.2 Definitions

As used in this Chapter, unless the context otherwise requires:

A

“Accelerated Hours” means to reduce the time-frame (not clock hours) required for
course completion by compressing into shorter period.

“Agent” means a member of the Board or any of its authorized representatives.

“Applied effort” means the time devoted to the study of theory, attendance at theory
classes, and the actual performance or all practical skills.

“Average daily attendance” means the average daily attendance over a three-month
period of the students enrolled in a school.

“Board” means the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.

“Cosmetology Law” or “Law” means Chapter 7 of Title 73 of the Mississippi Code of
1972 as amended.

“Current photograph” means a passport photograph of the applicant/licensee taken within
90 days prior to the date of application or renewal of license. The person must be
recognizable in the photograph.

. “Establishment” means cosmetological establishment; school or salon

“Extenuating Circumstances” means special circumstances that account for an irregular
way of doing things.
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“Full Time” means not less than twenty-five (25), nor more than forty (40) hours per
week.

“Full Service Cosmetology Salon” means a cosmetology salon that provides hair
services, esthetics services, and manicuring/pedicuring services.

“Hours” means clock hours.

. “Lavatory” means a basin fixed to a wall, countertop or floor, having a drainpipe and

piped supply of hot and cold water.

“Lead Instructor” means the instructor who is in charge of the teaching program at a
licensed school.

“License” means original or duplicate as issued by the Board.
“Limited Service Cosmetology Salon” means a cosmetology salon that provides hair
services and offers manicuring/pedicuring services and/or esthetics services (face only) as

optional services.

“Make-up Hours” are clock hours acquired in excess of the 40 hours per week maximum,
which may be applied to missed time, only in the month in which they were acquired.

“Part Time” means anything less than full time as defined in this rule.

“Practitioner” means a licensed person who is practicing one of the professions regulated
by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of the
Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.

“Salon” means a licensed establishment operated for the purpose of engaging in the
practice of cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or all.

“School” means a licensed establishment, public or private, operated for the purpose of
teaching cosmetology, or manicuring, or pedicuring, or esthetics, or all.

“School premises” means buildings, grounds, and parking lots of the school.

. “State” means the State of Mississippi.

“Student” means any person attending classes in a school licensed by the Board.

“Student Instructor” means any person licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or
esthetician enrolled in an instructor training program in a school licensed by the Board
under the supervision of an instructor.



Z. “Subject” means instruction and training or study of a theoretical or skill operation.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-2 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 1.3 Communications

All communications with reference to licensure, rules and regulations or general information
should be addressed to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, P. O. Box 55689, Jackson,
Mississippi 39296-5689. Issues related to schools and examinations should be directed to the
Department of School Coordination. Issues related to examination should be directed to the
contracted testing service.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 1.4 Requests for Public Records

A. The only information that is made available to the public via telephone inquiry is whether
or not an individual, salon, or school is licensed by the Board, and whether or not the
license is current. All other requests for information must be submitted in writing to the
Board office and will be released only after a) review and determination as to whether the
information requested is a public record as defined by the Mississippi Public Records Act
of 1983, Miss. Code Ann. Sections 25-61-1 through 25-61-17, and b) the cost to produce
the record has been collected. Public records requests may not be made via Email.”

B. The Board will respond to a public records request within seven (7) days from the date
the request is received.

C. In considering the cost of production of the record, the following will be included: a) cost
of production of copies, b) expendable printer supplies, c) cost of record research by a
member of the Board staff, and d) mailing costs. Any other unforeseen costs will be
disclosed to the individual requesting the record.

D. Licensure application files, including, but not limited to examination results are not
considered public record, and may be released only upon written consent of the
licensee/examinee. A request for public record, including a third party release, will be
considered only after or at the time the record is actually created.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 1.5 Board Meetings

A. The Board holds its meetings on the last Monday of each month, beginning at 9:00 a.m.,

unless extenuating circumstances exist which preclude same. In the event a Board
meeting is scheduled at another time, notice will be posted on the Board’s website.
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B. A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum.

C. All Board meetings are open to the public, and the public is welcome. However,
members of the public may not participate in business discussion unless invited to do so.

D. Members of the public must submit an “Agenda Request Form” to the Board office at
least two (2) weeks in advance of the regularly scheduled meeting to be placed on the
agenda.

E. Any written requests for consideration without personal appearance at the meeting must

be submitted to the “Agenda Request Form” to the Board office no later than two (2)
weeks preceding the regularly scheduled meeting.

F. The Board may, in its discretion, designate a period for public comments at the end of the
meeting.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 1.6 Posting Laws, Rules, Notices and Bulletins

An establishment must post on its premises, in a place conspicuous to the public, copies of laws,
rules, notices or bulletins as the Board may, from time to time, direct.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)



Rule 1.7 Schedule of Fines

The Board shall use the following “Schedule of Fines” for assessing fines for non-compliance
with its laws, rules and regulations:

Schedule of Fines

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount
1st 2nd
Violation & subsequent
violation(s)
73-7-9 Practicing without a license Practitioner $50 $400
73-7-11 Practitioner license not (or improperly) Practitioner 50 100
posted
73-7-11 Salon License not (or improperly) posted | Owner 50 100
73-7-17 Operation of unlicensed salon Practitioner 100 400
73-7-19 Expired salon license Owner 50 400
73-7-19 Expired practitioner license Practitioner
60 days to 1 year 50 400
Over 1 year to 2 years 75 400
Over 2 years to 3 years 100 400
73-7-25 Demonstrator in salon or school without | Owner 50 400
demo permit
73-7- Fraud or dishonest conduct in taking Student 100 400
27(2)(c) examination
73-7- Dishonest conduct Practitioner 100 400
27(2)(e)
73-7- Dishonest conduct Owner/ 100 400
27(2)(e) Manager
73-7-33 Salon not well ventilated or well lit Owner 50 400
73-7-33 Establishment, utensils/equipment not Owner/ 50 400
sanitary Manager
73-7-33 Permitting practitioner with infectious Owner/ 100 400
disease to practice Manager




Schedule of Fines

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount
1st 2nd
Violation & subsequent
violation(s)
73-7-33 7.4(B(1) Practicing in establishment with Practitioner 100 400
infectious/contagious disease
73-7-35(1) Working in unlicensed/expired salon Practitioner 50 200
73-7-35(2) Allowing a practitioner to practice Owner/ 100 400
without a valid license Manager
1.6 Rules & Regulations not posted in salon | Owner/ 50 100
Manager
1.8(A) Failure to allow/interference with Owner 50 100
inspection
2.3(A) Practitioner license not posted at primary | Practitioner 50 100
work area; or photo copy of license
posted
2.3(A) Practitioner license not posted at primary | Owner/ 50 100
work area; or photo copy of license Manager
posted
2.3(B); Specific device certification of Practitioner 50 100
7.8(E) proficiency not posted at primary work
area
2.3(B); Specific device certification of Owner/ 50 100
7.8(E) proficiency not posted at primary work Manager
area
2.3(C) Individual claiming to be licensed would | Practitioner 100 400
not provide ID
2.3(C) Individual claiming to be licensed would | Owner/ 100 400
not provide ID Manager
2.4(B) Individual with duplicate license posted | Practitioner 100 400
would not provide ID
3.2(A)(3) Student working on permit without Student 50 400
supervisor
3.2(A)(3) Student working on permit without Owner/ 50 400
supervisor Manager




Schedule of Fines

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount
1st 2nd
Violation & subsequent
violation(s)

3.3 Applicant for instructor’s license by Applicant 100 400
reciprocity working without one-time
teaching permit

3.3 Applicant for instructor’s license by Owner 100 400
reciprocity working without one-time
teaching permit

4.2(A) (1)) Establishment providing services outside | Owner/ 100 400
scope of license Manager

4.3 Salon has not continued to meet Owner 50 200
minimum equipment requirements

4.3(D)(2) Esthetics treatment area does not provide | Owner 50 200
client privacy

4.3(D)(5) No container for soiled esthetician linens | Owner 50 200

4.3(D)(6) No storage for clean esthetician linens Owner 50 200

4.4(A)(2) Salon owner has not notified Board of Owner 100 400
sale of salon

5.2(E)(2) School does not have full-time lead Owner 100 400
instructor

5.4 School has not maintained minimum Owner 100 400
equipment requirements

5.9(C) Board not notified of changes in Owner 50 200
instruction staff

5.9(D) Student/Instructor ratio exceeds that Owner 100 400
required by rule

5.9(F) School has not reported instructor Owner 50 200
absence

5.9(G) Instructor/student instructor practicing Owner 100 400
on patron

5.9(G) Instructor/student instructor practicing Practitioner 100 400
on patron
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Schedule of Fines

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount
1st 2nd
Violation & subsequent
violation(s)
5.9(H) Student practice work not checked by Owner 100 400
instructor
5.10 Licenses/Rules & Regulations/Student Owner 50 200
work notice not posted
511 School not separated from other business | Owner 100 400
5.17 Required equipment & supplies not Owner 100 400
issued to students
5.18 Failure of school to provide minimum Owner 100 400
theory hours per week
521 Students and/or instructors not wearing Owner 50 200
badges
5.22 Students allowed to work on clinic floor | Owner 100 400
prior to receiving minimum hours
5.23 Students not properly signed/clocked in | Owner 100 400
5.23 Daily report not at work stations Owner 50 200
5.24 Failed to appear before Board and/or Owner 100 400
submit Compliance Plan
7.1(A) Owner/Manager has not maintained Owner/ 100 400
sanitary conditions in establishment Manager
7.1(B) Practitioner workspace not sanitary Practitioner 100 400
7.3(A) Establishment not clean Owner/ 100 400
Manager
7.3(A) Establishment not in good condition Owner/ 50 400
Manager
7.3(B) Floors where services are performed not | Owner 50 200
non-porous
7.3(C) Solid waste/refuse not stored/removed Owner 50 200
properly from common areas
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Schedule of Fines

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount
1st 2nd
Violation & subsequent
violation(s)
7.3(C) Solid waste/refuse not stored/removed Practitioner 50 200
from workspace
7.3(D) Hair/Nail clippings not removed after Practitioner 50 200
each client
7.3(D) Hair/Nail clippings left on floor in Owner/ 50 200
common areas Manager
7.3(E) Animals prohibited in establishment Owner/ 100 400
except for registered service animal Manager
7.3(F)(3) Drinking water not provided or not Owner/ 50 200
convenient Manager
7.3(F)(4) Drinking fountain not sanitary Owner/ 50 200
Manager
7.3(F)(5) Using a common drinking cup or glass Owner/ 100 400
Manager
7.3(G)(3) Restroom facility not clean or in good Owner/ 50 200
condition Manager
7.3(G)(4) Restroom facility not well lit/ventilated Owner/ 50 200
to outside air Manager
7.3(G)(5) Restroom facility not in the confines of | Owner 100 400
the salon business
7.3(G)(7) Restroom facility without hot water, Owner/ 100 400
pressure, soap or towels Manager
7.3(G)(8) Restroom facility solid waste/refuse not | Owner/ 50 200
stored/removed properly Manager
7.4(A) Not washing hands before/after each Practitioner 100 400
client/after use of restroom
7.4(B)(1) Practicing in establishment with Practitioner 100 400
infectious/contagious disease
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Schedule of Fines

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount
1st 2nd
Violation & subsequent
violation(s)
7.4(B)(2) Servicing client with communicable Practitioner 100 400
disease/parasitic infection
7.4(B)(2) Allowing infected practitioner to service | Owner/ 100 400
client Manager
7.5(A) Headrest chair not covered with clean Practitioner 50 200
covering
7.5(B) Shampoo bowls not clean or in good Owner/ 50 200
condition Manager
7.6(B) Soiled towels/linens not deposited in Owner/ 50 200
closed receptacle
Manager
7.6(B) Soiled towels/linens not deposited in Practitioner 50 200
closed receptacle
7.6(D) Closed cabinet not provided/clean towels | Owner 50 200
not stored in closed cabinet
7.7(A) Bottles/containers not labeled/poisons Owner/ 100 400
not stored separately Manager
7.7(A) Bottles/containers not labeled/poisons Practitioner 100 400
not stored separately
7.7(B) More than 2 gallons acetone stored in Owner/ 100 400
salon Manager
7.8(A) Labeled receptacle not provided for Owner/ 50 200
soiled items Manager
7.8(B) Unsanitizable items not immediately Owner/ 50 200
destroyed after use Manager
7.8(B) Unsantizable items not immediately Practitioner 50 200
destroyed after use
7.8(C) Carrying instruments/supplies infon Practitioner 50 200
garments
7.8(D) Brush-type neck duster prohibited Practitioner 50 200
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Schedule of Fines

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount
1st 2nd
Violation & subsequent
violation(s)
7.8(E) Credo blades prohibited in services Practitioner 50 200
7.8 (E) Credo blades prohibited on premises Owner/ 50 200
Manager
7.9(A) Work surfaces not cleaned/sanitized after | Practitioner 50 200
each client
7.9(B)(1) Instruments not properly sanitized prior | Practitioner 100 400
to next use
7.9(B)(2)(a) | Wet disinfectant does not meet Practitioner 50 200
prescribed standard
7.9(B)(2)(a) | Wet disinfectant does not meet Owner/ 50 200
prescribed standard Manager
7.9(B)(2)(c) | Level of wet sanitizer not adequate to Practitioner 50 200
sanitize items
7.9(B)(2)(c) | Level of wet sanitizer not adequate to Owner/ 50 200
sanitize items Manager
7.9(B)(2)(d) | Wet disinfectant not covered or labeled Owner/ 50 200
Manager
7.9(B)(2)(d) | Wet disinfectant not covered or labeled Practitioner 50 200
7.9(B)(2)(9) | Solution in wet sterilizer is contaminated | Practitioner 50 200
7.9(B)(2)(g) | Solution in wet sterilizer is contaminated | Owner/ 50 200
Manager
7.9(B)(3) Clean instruments, brushes not kept in Practitioner 50 200
clean receptacle
7.9(B)(3) Clean instruments, brushes not kept in Owner/ 50 200
clean receptacle Manager
7.9(D) Tools/implements in contact with blood | Practitioner 100 400
not properly disinfected
7.9(D) Tools/implements in contact with blood | Owner/ 100 400
not properly disinfected Manager
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Schedule of Fines

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount
1st 2nd
Violation & subsequent
violation(s)
7.11(A) Instruments not stored in 70% alcohol Practitioner 100 400
during manicure
7.11(B) Used manicure implements not removed | Practitioner 100 400
from station after each client
7.12(B) Whirlpool foot spa not properly Owner/ 100 400
cleaned/disinfected Manager
7.12(B)(4) Whirlpool foot spa records not Owner/ 100 400
maintained Manager
7.14(A) Removal of mole or other blemishes by | Practitioner 100 400
any method is prohibited
7.15(A) Bottles/containers not properly closed Owner/ 50 200
Manager
7.15(A) Bottles/containers not properly closed Practitioner 50 200
7.15(D) Lotion or liquid not poured into sanitized | Practitioner 50 200
glass or container
7.15(F) Health & safety standards for Practitioner 50 200
wax/waxing not followed
7.15(F) Health & safety standards for Owner/ 50 200
wax/waxing not followed Manager
7.15(H) MMA products used in Practitioner 100 400
manicure/pedicure procedure
7.15(H) MMA products used in Owner/ 100 400
manicure/pedicure procedure Manager

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-27 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 1.8 Violations of Law, Rules and Regulations

A. All establishments licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology shall be
inspected at least once per year to insure compliance with the laws, rules and regulations
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of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. Failure to allow or interference with an
inspection will result in the issuance of a citation.

In any instance of non-compliance with the Board’s laws, rules and regulations, a citation
will be issued to the student or practitioner and/or salon owner/manager and/or school
manager/owner. The named individual in the citation will be notified at least twenty (20)
days in writing of a hearing before the Board regarding the violation(s) on the citation
form(s). After a hearing, the Board may revoke, suspend or refuse to issue or renew any
license or certificate, or fine, place on probation or otherwise discipline any student or
licensee or holder of a certificate pursuant to Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code
Annotated of 1972 as amended.

Multiple violations can occur simultaneously when different individuals are involved in
violating any provisions of the Board’s laws, rules, and regulations.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 1.9 Complaints

A

D.

Any person may file a complaint with the Board of Cosmetology in accordance with
Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.

The complaint must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the Board. It must be signed,
notarized, and accompanied by a release form, and a consent form that states the
complainant agrees to testify to the allegations, and that the complainant understands that
the information becomes public record once the investigation is over.

When the investigation has been completed, the complaint case will be presented to the
Board, at which time the Board may:

1. Dismiss the complaint, or
2. Initiate a formal complaint and notice of hearing.

Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the Board’s decision.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 1.10 Standards Related to Competent Practice

A

A practitioner may provide advanced services which are within his or her scope of
practice, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, under
the following conditions:
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7.

The practitioner obtains appropriate education relative to the services to be
provided;

The practitioner demonstrates appropriate knowledge, skills, and abilities to
provide the service;

The practitioner maintains documentation satisfactory to the Board of meeting the
above requirements.

The service does not involve a function or procedure which is prohibited by any
other law or rule.

A practitioner is prohibited in using animals in any procedure or service.

The use of credo blades is prohibited in any procedure or service. In addition,
credo blades are prohibited on the premises of any licensed establishment.

Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment.

Microdermabrasion

A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit the
exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment must be
approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class | device
intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must prominently display a
certificate of training proficiency for each type of equipment used, and must comply with
the manufacturer’s directions in the use of each product. The use of FDA class 2 or class
3 devices is prohibited.

Electric nail file:

1.

Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any manicuring
procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are proficient
in the use of the instrument.

The electric file certification of proficiency must be posted at the practitioner’s
primary work area at all times.

Any instructor or student instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the
electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved
certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.

The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of proficiency must
be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times.

17



5.

Any electric file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be specifically
designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the instrument must
be able to provide that documentation upon demand.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-1, 73-7-14 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 1.11 Oral Proceedings on Proposed Rules

A

This rule applies to all oral proceedings held for the purpose of providing the public with
an opportunity to make oral presentations on proposed new rules and amendments to
rules before the Board pursuant to Section 25-43-104 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as
amended.

1.

The Board will conduct an oral proceeding on a proposed rule or amendment if
requested by a political subdivision, an agency or ten (10) persons in writing
within twenty (20) days after the filing of the notice of the proposed rule.

Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting.
Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper (8 1/2x11
inches). Requests may be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board and signed
by the requestor(s).

The date, time and place of all oral proceedings shall be filed with the Secretary
of State’s office and mailed to each requestor. The oral proceedings will be
scheduled no earlier than twenty (20) days from the filing of this information with
the Secretary of State.

The Board President or his designee, who is familiar with the substance of the
proposed rule, shall preside at the oral proceeding on a proposed rule.

Public Presentations and Participation

1.

At an oral proceeding on a proposed rule, persons may make oral statements and
make documentary and physical submissions, which may include data, views,
comments, or arguments concerning the proposed rule.

Persons wishing to make oral presentations at a proceeding shall notify the Board
at least one (1) business day prior to the proceeding and indicate the general
subject of their presentations. The presiding officer in his or her discretion may
allow individuals to participate that have not previously contacted the Board.

At the proceeding, those who participate shall indicate their name and address,
identify any person(s) or organization(s) they may represent, and provide any
other information relating to their participation deemed appropriate by the
presiding officer.

18



4. The presiding officer may place time limitations on individual oral presentations
when necessary to assure the orderly and expeditious conduct of the oral
proceeding. To encourage joint oral presentations and to avoid repetition,
additional time may be provided for persons whose presentations represent the
views of others as well as their own views.

5. Persons making oral presentations are encouraged to avoid restating matters that
have already been submitted in writing.

6. There shall be no interruption of a participant who has been given the floor by the
presiding officer, except that the presiding officer may in his or her discretion
interrupt or end the participant’s time where the orderly conduct of the proceeding
SO requires.

C. Conduct of Oral Proceeding

1. The presiding officer shall have authority to conduct the proceeding in his or her
discretion for the orderly conduct of the proceeding.

2. The presiding officer shall:
a. Call proceeding to order.

b. Give a brief synopsis of the proposed rule, a statement of the statutory
authority for the proposed rule, and the reasons provided by the Board for
the proposed rule.

C. The presiding officer, where time permits and to facilitate the exchange of
information, may open the floor to questions or general discussion. The
presiding officer may question participants and permit the questioning of
participants by other participants about any matter relating to that rule-
making proceeding, including any prior written submissions made by
those participants in that proceeding; but no participant shall be required
to answer any question.

d. Submissions presented by participants in an oral proceeding shall be
submitted to the presiding officer. Such submissions become the property
of the Board and are subject to the Board’s public records request
procedure.

e. The Board may record oral proceedings by stenographic or electronic
means.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013); 8 25-43-2.105 (Rev. 2006)

Rule 1.12 Declaratory Opinions
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These rules set forth the Board of Cosmetology’s rules governing the form and content
requests for declaratory opinions, and the Board’s procedures regarding the requests, as
required by Section 25-43-103 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. These rules
are intended to supplement and be read in conjunction with the provisions of the
Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, which may contain additional information
regarding the issuance of declaratory opinions. In the event of any conflict between these
rules and the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, the latter shall govern.

1. Any person with a substantial interest in the subject matter may request a
declaratory opinion from the Board by following the specified procedures.
“Substantial interest in the subject matter” means an individual, business, group
or other entity that is directly affected by the Board’s administration of the laws
within its primary jurisdiction. “Primary jurisdiction of the Board” means the
Board has a constitutional or statutory grant of authority in the subject matter at
issue.

2. The Board will issue declaratory opinions regarding the applicability to specified
facts of :

a. A statute administered or enforceable by the Board, or

b. A rule promulgated by the Board.

The Board will not issue a declaratory opinion regarding a statute or rule which is
outside the primary jurisdiction of the Board.

3. The Board may, for good cause, refuse to issue a declaratory opinion. The
circumstances in which declaratory opinions will not be issued include, but are
not necessarily limited to:

a. Lack of clarity concerning the question presented,;
b. There is pending or anticipated litigation, administrative action, or other
adjudication which may either answer the question presented by the request or

otherwise make an answer unnecessary;

c. The statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought is clear and not in
need of interpretation to answer the question presented by the request;

d. The facts presented in the request are sufficient to answer the question
presented;

e. The request fails to contain information required by the rules or the requestor
failed to follow the procedures set forth in these rules;
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f.  The request seeks to resolve issues which have become moot, or are abstract
or hypothetical such that the requestor is not substantially affected by the
statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought;

g. No controversy exists concerning the issue as the requestor is not faced with
existing fact or those certain to arise which raise a question concerning the
application of the statute or rule;

h. The question presented by the request concern the legal validity of a statute or
rule;

i. The request is not based upon facts calculated to aid in the planning of future
conduct but is, instead, based on past conduct in an effort to establish the
effect of that conduct;

j.  No clear answer is determinable;

k. The question presented by the request involved the application of a criminal
statute or a set of facts which may constitute a crime;

I.  The answer to the question presented would require the disclosure of
information which is privileged or otherwise protected by law from
disclosure;

m. The question is currently the subject of an Attorney General’s opinion request
or has been answered by an Attorney General’s opinion;

n. A similar request is pending before this Board or any other agency or a
proceeding is pending on the same subject matter before any agency,
administrative or judicial tribunal, or where such an opinion would constitute
the unauthorized practice of law;

0. Where issuance of a declaratory opinion may adversely affect the interest of
the State, the Board or any of their officers or employees in any litigation
which is pending or may reasonably be expected to arise;

p. The question involves eligibility for a license, permit, certificate or other
approval by the Board or some other agency, and there is a statutory or
regulatory application process by which eligibility for said license, permit,
certificate or other approval would be determined.

Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting.

Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper (8 %2 x 11
inches). Request must be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board.
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All requests must be mailed, delivered or transmitted via facsimile to the Board.
The request shall clearly state that it is a request for a declaratory opinion. No
oral, telephone request or email requests will be accepted for official opinion.

Each request must include the full name, telephone number and mailing address
of the requestor. All requests shall be signed by the person filing the request, who
shall attest that the request complies with the requirements set forth in these rules
including but not limited to a full, complete and accurate statement of relevant
facts and that there are no related proceedings pending before any other
administrative or judicial tribunal.

Each request shall contain the following:

a. A clear and concise statement of all facts on which the opinion is requested;
b. A citation to the statute or rule at issue;

c. The question(s) sought to be answered in the opinion, stated clearly;

d. A suggested proposed opinion from the requestor, state the answers desired by
the petitioner and a summary of the reasons in support of those answers;

e. The identity of all other known persons involved in or impacted by the desired
factual situation, including their relationship to the facts, name, mailing
address and telephone number; and

f. A statement to show that the person seeking the opinion has a substantial
interest in the subject matter.

Within forty-five (45) days after receipt of a request for a declaratory opinion
which complies with the requirements of these rules, the Board shall in writing:

a. Issue a declaratory opinion regarding the specified statute or rule as applied to
the specified circumstances;

b. Decline to issue a declaratory opinion, stating the reasons for its action; or

c. Agree to issue a declaratory opinion by a specified time but not later than
ninety (90) days after receipt of the written request.

The forty-five (45) day period shall begin running on the first State of Mississippi
business day on or after the request is received by the Board, whichever is sooner.

A declaratory opinion shall not become final until the expiration of sixty (60)
days after the issuance of the opinion. Prior to the expiration of sixty (60) says,
the Board may, in its discretion, withdraw or amend the declaratory opinion for
any reason which is not arbitrary or capricious. Reasons for withdrawing or
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amending an opinion include, but are not limited to, a determination that the
request failed to meet the requirements of these rules and that the opinion issued
contains a legal or factual error.

B. The Board may give notice to any person, agency or entity that a declaratory opinion has
been requested and may receive and consider data, facts, arguments and opinions from
other persons, agencies or other entities other than the requestor.

C. Declaratory opinions and requests for declaratory opinions shall be available for public
inspection and copying in accordance with the Public Records Act and the Board’s public
records request procedure. All declaratory opinions and requests shall be indexed by
name and subject. Declaratory opinions and requests which contain information which is
confidential or exempt from disclosure under the Mississippi Public Records Act or other
laws shall be exempt from this requirement shall remain confidential.

D. The Board will not pursue any civil, criminal or administrative action against a person
who is issued a declaratory opinion from the Board and who, in good faith, follows the
direction of the opinion and acts in accordance therewith unless a court of competent
jurisdiction holds that the opinion is manifestly wrong. Any declaratory opinion rendered
by the Board shall be binding only on the Board and the person to whom the opinion is
issued. No declaratory opinion will be used as precedent for any other transaction or
occurrence beyond that set forth by the requesting person.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013), § 25-43-2.105 (Rev. 2006)
Rule 1.13 Fees

The following fees shall apply for the following purposes:

A. Initial license/renewal for cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, or wig specialist.............. 50.00
B. Instructor initial HCeNSE/FENEWAL.............ooi i s 80.00
C. Master cosmetologist liCeNSe /FTENEWAL .............ccveiieiiiiiiciicce e 70.00
D. Delinquent renewal penalty -- cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, wig specialist and
1151 X o PRSP 50.00

There shall be no renewal fee for any licensee seventy (70) years of age or older.

E Salon application and initial INSPECLION ........cccuieiiiiiiii i 85.00
F. SaAlON FRINSPECLION ...ttt et e et e et e e sae e e be e s raeeteesreaenees 35.00
G. Salon change of ownership or location, or both ..., 85.00
H. SAION TENEWAL ... 60.00
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l. Salon delinquent renewal PENAILY ..........cocoiiiiiie e 50.00

J. Application and initial inspection for a NewW SChOOL..............ccooiiiiiiiiic e, 300.00
K. NEW SCNOOI FEINSPECTION ...t 100.00
L. School change of OWNEISRIP ..o 300.00
M. SCROOI TEIOCALION ...t 150.00
N. SCROOI TEBNEWAL ...t 75.00
0. School delinquent renewal PENAILY ...........coiiiiiiieii e 100.00
P. DUPHCALE TICENSE ...ttt bbbt 10.00
Q. Penalty for insufficient fund ChECKS ... 20.00
R. ATFIHAVIT PIOCESSING ...ttt bbbttt nb b bt 15.00

S. The Board may charge additional fees for services, which the board deems appropriate to
carry out its intent and purpose. These additional fees shall not exceed the cost of
rendering the service.

T. Refunds will automatically be made on overpayment of fees. Refunds will be made on

under payments by written requests from applicants. If no request for refund is made
within sixty (60) days, the fees will be forfeited.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-29 (Rev. 2013)

Part 2101 Chapter 2:  Licensure
Rule 2.1 Licenses Issued by the Board

The Board shall issue the following licenses:

1. Practitioner’s license
a. Cosmetologist
b. Esthetician
C. Manicurist
d. Master Cosmetologist
e. Master Manicurist
f. Master Esthetician
2. Instructor’s license
a. Cosmetologist
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b. Esthetician

C. Manicurist
3. Salon license
4, School license

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-14, 73-7-15, 73-7-18, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 2.2 Photograph Required on All Licenses

A. Each licensee shall be required to submit two (2) passport photographs taken within 90
days prior to application or renewal. All licenses shall include a passport photograph of
the license holder.

B. Where a salon or school is owned by two (2) or more individuals, the multiple owners
shall designate one of the owners or another individual as the “license holder.” A passport
photograph of the individual designated as license holder shall be printed on the
establishment license.

C. Where a salon is owned by a corporation, the passport photograph of the salon manager
shall be printed on the salon license.

D. Where a school is owned by a corporation, the passport photograph of the lead instructor
shall be printed on the school license.

E. Where the school is a high school or community college, the passport photograph of the
campus or branch lead instructor shall be printed on the school license.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 8§88 73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 2.3 Display of License and Certificate(s) of Proficiency; Photo Identification

A. Every licensee must display his or her license in a conspicuous place within reading
distance of the public. A practitioner’s place of business is his or her primary working
area within the establishment. The posting of a photocopy of a license is prohibited.

B. Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a specific device in any practice area of
discipline must post the required certificate of proficiency at his/her primary working
area in the establishment.

C. A licensee shall make his or her government photo identification available upon request.
Failure to provide government photo identification when requested by an agent of the
Board will result in issuance of a citation for violation to the practitioner, owner and/or
manger of the establishment.
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §873-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 2.4 Duplicate License

A. A request for duplicate license shall be submitted in writing, on a form provided by the
Board, to the Board office. Applicants for a duplicate license shall submit two (2) forms
of identification. Acceptable forms of identification may be driver’s license, government
issued ID card, Social Security card, school ID card with photograph, voter registration
card, U.S. military card, Native American tribal document, birth certificate, passport,
certificate of U.S. citizenship, certificate of naturalization, valid (unexpired) temporary
resident card or employment authorization card. All applications and supporting
documents must be submitted two (2) weeks prior to a Board meeting. Application will
be reviewed for consideration by the Board. Upon review, the applicant will be notified
of the Board’s decision. Only one duplicate license shall be issued during a licensing
period, unless extenuating circumstances are presented for which an appearance, may be
requested.

B. A licensee who has a duplicate license posted, shall make his or her government photo
identification available upon request. Failure to provide government identification, when
requested by an agent of the Board shall result in the issuance of a citation for violation to
the practitioner, owner and/or manager of the establishment.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 2.5. Outdated License:

A. Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has expired for
a period of three (3) to six (6) years, must make application for approval for examination.
A one-time 90-day work permit may be granted. The fee for the one-time 90-day work

permit shall be $20.00. After this time passes, no permit to work will be issued.

B. The application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the
Board and must be accompanied by:

1. Two recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days
prior to application.

2. Record of last renewal, including registration number, and date of
expiration.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 2.6 Fees

A. Renewal Fees:
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School License Renewal: A school owner who fails to renew his school license
within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for
licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2.

Salon License Renewal: A salon owner who fails to renew his salon license
within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for
licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-17, and Rule 4.2.

All Licensees:

The postmark date on the transmittal envelope of the renewal application
and fee is determinative in ascertaining whether receipt was prior to the
expiration of the grace period.

Application for renewal of licenses which are not accompanied by the
provided renewal form are assessed a fee for lost renewal form.

When an applicant for new or renewed license has not submitted required
documentation or proper fee, applicant will be notified of same by mail,
and license processing is placed on “hold” for a maximum of ninety (90)
days, during which time no additional fees or charges will be assessed. If
however, a period of sixty (60) days has passed without submittal of
required information or balance due, credited fees are forfeited; refunds
cannot be granted.

The renewal fee for any licensee aged seventy (70) or older at time of
renewal shall be waived when such licensee submits a copy of a
government issued document demonstrating proof of age.

B. Refunds of fees.

1.

Application for a new license. An applicant may make a written request to
withdraw the application, under the following conditions:

a.

b.

The application cannot, or has not been approved, for any reason
The applicant has not been scheduled for examination

In the case of an application for reciprocity, the license issuance process
has not begun.

In the case of an application for a new salon, an inspection has not
occurred.

Balance due on application fees. An applicant may submit a written request for a
refund of application fees, either new or renewal, where there is a balance due, and

27



the applicant does not wish to submit the additional fee.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-19 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 2.7 General provisions regarding licensure by examination

A

Licensure examinations are provided for in-state and out-of-state applicants for
practitioner and instructor licenses.

An examination for any practitioner or instructor license is both practical and written.

1. The applicant must demonstrate by practical examination, minimal skills and
knowledge necessary for the license sought.

2. The applicant must demonstrate by written examination, knowledge of
professional, health and safety methods and procedures, Mississippi Statutes,
rules and regulations pertinent to the practice necessary for the license.

Grades necessary to pass the examination:

1. Basic Examinations (Practitioner): A person taking the Board of Cosmetology
examination will be granted a license to practice if such person makes an
examination grade of not less than 70 scaled score on each portion of the practical
examination, and not less than 70 scaled score on the written examination.

Instructor Examination: A person taking the Board of Cosmetology Instructor examination
will be granted an instructor’s license if such person makes an examination grade of not
less than 75 scaled score on each portion of the practical examination, and not less than 75
scaled score on the written examination.

Any applicant failing to pass the required examination after three attempts is not eligible
for re-examination until he or she has returned to a school for additional training of no
more than 10 percent of the prescribed course hours for the course of training for which
application for licensure is being made.

A candidate for licensure who has been unsuccessful in passing the examination is
required to retake only the portion of the examination which was failed, up to a period of
three years. After three years, the grades are no longer valid and the candidate is required
to take the entire examination, both written and practical.

The Board will maintain an accurate record of each examination as provided by the
testing administrator.

Each first time applicant for licensure shall show by way of affidavit that they are of

“good moral character”, which shall be established by an absence of felony convictions or
misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude.
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-13 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 2.8 Examination Eligibility for In-State Applicants

A. Eligibility Requirements for Practitioner

1. Cosmetologists, manicurists, and estheticians must:

a.

b.

Be at least 17 years of age.

Be able to read, write and speak English.

Have at least a twelfth (12th) grade education or its equivalent.

1)

)

(3)

(4)

Proof of completion of high school education shall be submitted in
the form of a diploma, or certified transcript which reflects
graduation data. If the education was acquired by GED, original
GED transcript must be submitted to the Board.

Where the secondary education was obtained outside of the
United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of
completion, along with an original translation which has been
prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and
which certifies that the document is considered to be proof of the
equivalent of a 12" grade education.

A high school education received from a distance learning entity
will only be accepted if that entity is accredited by an accrediting
agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education

Any other document and/or affidavit which constitutes reliable
proof of completion of high school education shall be required by
the Board.

2. An application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the
Board and accompanied by the following:

a. Two recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days
prior to application.
b. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change.
3. Reasonable accommodations for candidates having a physical or mental
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impairment that limits one or more major life activities, as defined by the
Americans with Disabilities Act. An applicant’s request for accommodation
should be completed on the application for approval for examination.

B. Eligibility Requirements for Instructor
1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination:

a.

b.

Must be at least 21 years of age.

Must be able to read, write and speak English.

Must possess a high school education or its equivalency.
Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license.

Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses
approved by the Board.

Must have successfully completed a course of training for which
application for licensure is being made.

Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon,

or as an alternative to such experience, the following hours of instructor

training shall apply:

1) Cosmetologist — 2,000 hours of instructor training in an
accredited school of cosmetology.

2) Esthetician — 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school in which the practice of esthetics is taught.

3) Manicurist — 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school in which the practice of manicuring is taught.

Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s

training:

1) Cosmetologist — 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school of cosmetology

(2 Esthetician — 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school in which the practice of esthetics is taught

3) Manicurist — 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school
in which the practice of manicuring is taught

Must have attended at least one mandatory Board approved “Methods of
Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education
hours.

2. Application for approval for examination must be accompanied by:
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0.

Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to
application.

Proof of completion of high school education or its equivalency.

Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which
application for approval for examination is being made.

An affidavit certifying at least two (2) years of work experiences, if
applicable.

Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve
(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.

In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change, and

Copy of current practitioner’s license.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-18, 73-7-15, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 2.9

Examination Eligibility for Out-of-State Applicants

A Eligibility Requirements for Examination — Practitioner [Moved from former Rule 4.1]
Any person who is licensed by a state in which Mississippi does not have
provision for reciprocity licensure, or any student who is at least seventeen years
of age, can read, write, and speak English, and has successfully completed a
course of training in another state which meets Mississippi’s minimum
requirements, but is not licensed in that state, may be eligible for licensure by
examination.

1.

The State’s minimum requirements are:

Cosmetologist 1500 hours
Manicurist 350 hours
Esthetician 600 hours

The required documentation includes notifications of intent, affidavit/certification
of training, and affidavit/certification of current licensure.

a.

Notification of Intent. The form must
be completed in its entirety and submitted to the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology.

The affidavit/certification of training. An affidavit or certification of the

applicant’s course of training must be submitted to the Board office by the
board in the state in which the training was acquired. The
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affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum:
(1)  Applicant’s name and address

2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number
(if applicable)

3) The course in which applicant was enrolled
4) Total clock hours earned

(5) Date of completion or last attendance (Non licensed individuals
only)

(6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), including
expiration date and whether the licensee is in good standing.

The affidavit/certification of licensure. The applicant must cause an
affidavit/certification of licensure to be issued by the board in which the
license is held.

If the state in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in
which the training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required.
Otherwise, the applicant must obtain two affidavits.

The affidavits/certifications must be mailed directly to the Mississippi
State Board by the licensing authority, bear the seal-impress of the
licensing authority, and bear at least one signature of an official of the
licensing authority.

In the event the information cannot be provided by the licensing authority,
it may be obtained from the attendant school. In this case, the attendant
school must submit the information directly to the Board. The information
must: (1) be submitted in an envelope bearing the attendant school’s
letterhead, (2) bear the seal impress of the school, and (3) be certified by
an agent of the attendant school. The Board reserves the right to deny
Certification of Training submitted by a school if it is determined that the
information can be provided by the appropriate licensing authority.

Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview

a.

Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent and
Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the examination
requirements for Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an interview,
and notified of the date and time.
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b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the
interview:

1) Photographic identification.

@) Applicant must present two (2) current passport
photographs to be attached to his or her application for approval for
examination. The person who is making application for approval
for examination must be recognizable in the photograph.

(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic
identification card which contains the applicant’s signature and date
of birth. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the change
must be presented.

2 Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the
applicant. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the change
must be presented.

3) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any
practice area of discipline must present the required certification of
proficiency from Mississippi or another state attesting to proper
training in the use of the instrument.

C. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to
apply for approval for examination. The following determinations will be
made:

1) The applicant is at least 17 years of age.
(2)  The applicant is able to read, write and speak English.

3) The applicant has a 12th grade education or its equivalent. The
applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable
documentation evidencing completion of the 12th grade, or its
equivalent. Where the secondary education was obtained outside of
the United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of
completion, along with an original translation which has been
prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and
which certifies that the document is considered to be the equivalent
of a 12th grade education.

Additional information may be required if it has been determined,
or there is reason to believe that a candidate for examination has
completed high school under one or more of the following
circumstances:
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@) The institution is not accredited by the Department of
Education in the relevant state.

(b) The institution is not accredited by a recognized
proprietary school accrediting association.

(©) The candidate may have completed a self-study course.

4) The candidate will not be considered to have a 12" grade education
or its equivalent if it is determined that one or more of the
following circumstances exist:
€)) The institution from which the diploma or transcript was

acquired is not sanctioned or accredited by a state supported
educational credentialing entity, or
(b) The candidate completed a self study program in which

progress examinations and final examinations were not
physically supervised by one or more staff members of the
institution or a recognized examination
administration/proctor service.

4. If an applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory to prove that all requirements

for approval for examination have been met, he or she will be advised that the
application of intent will be rejected, and the reason for the same. The applicant
will be advised, in writing, of the right to a show causehearing before the Board.

5. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, he or
she will be required to submit an out-of-state Application for Approval for
Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.

B. Eligibility Requirements for Examination -Instructor (First — Time Licensure)
1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination:
a. Must be at least 21 years of age.
b. Must be able to read, write and speak English.
C. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency.
d. Must possess a current practitioner’s license.
e. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses

approved by the Board.
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Must have successfully completed a course of training for which
application for licensure is being made.

Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon,
or as an alternative to such experience, the following shall apply:

(1) Cosmetologist — 2,000 of instructor training in an accredited school
of cosmetology.

(2)  Esthetician — 1,000 of instructor training in an accredited school in
which the practice of esthetics is taught.

(3) Manicurist — 1,000 of instructor training in an accredited school in
which the practice of manicuring is taught.

Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s
training:

1) Cosmetologist — 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school of cosmetology.

2 Esthetician — 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school in which the practice of esthetics is taught.

3) Manicurist — 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school
in which the practice of manicuring is taught.

Must have attended one mandatory Board “methods of teaching” seminar
earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education hours.

2. The application packet must be accompanied by:

a.

Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to
application.

Proof of eligibility requirements.

An affidavit completed and signed by the board official in the state from
which the current license is held, attesting to licensure status and any
disciplinary action within the past five (5) years.

Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which
application for approval for examination being made or an affidavit
attesting to education.

Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve
(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.

In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change.
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g. Copy of current practitioner’s license.

Any applicant who uses or propose to teach a specific device in any practice area
of discipline must present the required certification of teaching proficiency for
Mississippi or another state attesting to proper training in the use and/or teaching
of the device.

If an applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory to prove that all requirements
for approval for examination have been met, he or she will be advised that the
application of intent will be rejected and the reason for the same. The applicant
will be advised, in writing, of the right to a show cause hearing before the Board.

If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements he or
she will be required to submit an out-of-state application for approval for
examination, which must be completed in its entirety.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-18, 73-7-15, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 2.10

Examination Eligibility for Out-of-Country Applicants.

A Eligibility Requirements for Examination — Practitioner

1.

Any person who is licensed or registered to practice by a country other than the
United States, or any person who has successfully completed a course of training
in a country other than the United States, which meets this state’s minimum
requirements, may submit an application for approval for examination.

The state’s minimum requirements are:

Cosmetologist | 1500 hours
Manicurist 350 hours
Esthetician 600 hours

The required documentation includes notification of intent, affidavit/certification
of training, and affidavit/certification of current licensure.

a. Notification of Intent. The form must be completed in its entirety and
submitted to the Board.

b. The affidavit/certificate of training. An affidavit or certification of the
applicant’s course of training must be submitted to the Board office by the
board in the state in which the training was acquired. The
affidavit/certification of training should, at a minimum contain:

1) Applicant’s name and address
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2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number
(if applicable)

3) The course in which applicant was enrolled
4) Total clock hours earned

(5) Date of completion or last attendance (Non licensed individuals
only)

(6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), including
expiration date and whether the licensee is in good standing.

C. The affidavit/certification of licensure. The applicant must cause an
affidavit/certification of licensure to be issued by the board in which the
license is held.

d. The affidavits/certifications must be mailed directly to the Board by the
licensing authority, bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority, and
bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority.

e. In the event the information cannot be provided by the licensing authority,
it may be obtained from the attendant school. In this case, the attendant
school must submit the information directly to the Board. The information
must: (1) be submitted in an envelope bearing the attendant school’s
letterhead, (2) bear the seal-impress of the school, and (3) be certified by an
agent of the attendant school. The Board reserves the right to deny
Certification of Training submitted by a school if it is determined that the
information can be provided by the appropriate licensing authority.

Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview

a. Upon receipt of a completed Applicant of Intent and Affidavit/Certification
of Training, which meets the examination requirements for Mississippi, the
applicant is scheduled for an interview, and notified of the date and time.

b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the
interview:

Q) Photographic identification.

@) Applicant must present two (2) current passport
photographs to be attached to his or her application for
approval for examination. The person who is making
application for examination must be recognizable in the
photograph.
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(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic
identification card which contains the applicants signature
and date of birth. In the event of a name change, legal proof
of the change must be presented.

2) Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the
applicant. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name
change must be presented.

3) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any
practice area of discipline, must present the required certification of
proficiency attesting to proper training in the use of the instrument.

C. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to
apply for approval for examination. The following determinations will be
made:

(1)  The applicant is at least 17 years of age.
(2)  The applicant is able to read, write and speak English.

3) The applicant has a 12" grade education or its equivalent. The
applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable
documentation evidencing completion of the 12" grade, or its
equivalent. Where the secondary education was obtained outside of
the Untied States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of
completion, along with an original translation which as been
prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and
which certifies that the document is considered to be the equivalent
of a 12" grade education.

d. If an applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements,
he or she will be required to submit an out-of-country Application for
Approval for Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.

5. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, he or
she will be required to submit an out-of-country Applicant for Approval for
Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.

B. Eligibility Requirements for Examination — Instructor (First-Time Licensure)
1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination:
a. Must be at least 21 years of age
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Must be able to read, write and speak English.

Must possess a high school education or its equivalency.

Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license.

Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses
approved by the Board.

Must have successfully completed a course of training for which
application for licensure is being made.

Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon,
or as an alternative to such experience, the following hours of instructor
training shall apply:

1)
)
(3)

Cosmetologist — 2,000 hours of instructor training in an
accredited school of cosmetology.

Esthetician — 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school in which the practice of esthetics is taught.

Manicurist — 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school in which the practice of manicuring is taught.

Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s
training:

(1)
()
(3)

Cosmetologist — 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school of cosmetology

Esthetician — 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited
school in which the practice of esthetics is taught

Manicurist — 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school
in which the practice of manicuring is taught

Must have attended at least one mandatory Board approved “Methods of
Teaching” seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education

hours.

2. The application packet must be accompanied by:

a.

Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to
application.

Proof of eligibility requirements.

An affidavit completed and signed by the board official in the state from
which the current license is held, attesting to licensure status and any
disciplinary action within the past five (5) years.
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d. Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which
application for approval for examination being made or an affidavit
attesting to education.

e. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve
(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.

f. An affidavit certifying at least two (2) years of work experience, if
applicable.

g. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change.

h. Copy of current practitioner’s license.

I. Any applicant who uses or proposes to teach a specific device in any
practice area of discipline must present the required certification of
teaching proficiency from Mississippi or another state attesting to proper
training in the use and/or teaching of the device.

The application must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and must
be accompanied by:

1.

2.

Two passport photographs taken within 90 days prior to application.
A copy of current out-of-country license or certificates.

Proof of completion of high school education or GED by way of certified high
school transcript, certified GED transcript or other means as the Board may deem
acceptable. All transcripts must be submitted by the applicant in sealed envelopes
from the school in which the degree was obtained. .

Certification from the registering agency or the school in which the training was
acquired, reflecting the number of training hours earned, and the curriculum
subjects.

Rule 2.11 Licensure by Reciprocity - Practitioner

A

An individual who holds a current license from another state with whom Mississippi has a
reciprocal agreement may be eligible for a practitioner license in accordance with Miss.
Code Ann. Section 73-7-23. The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology maintains a list
of states with whom Mississippi is reciprocal.

Application Process:

1.

Complete an Application for Reciprocity, which must be completed in its entirety
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and submitted to the Board.

The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be issued by the
board in which the training was acquired or the license is held. If the state
in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in which the
training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required. Where the
current license is held in one state and original license or education was
obtained in a different state, and the state of current licensure will not attest
to the applicant’s training, an affidavit is also required from the state of
origin.

The affidavit/certification of training must:

1) Be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the licensing
authority.

2 Bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority.

3) Bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority.
The affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum:

1) Applicant’s name and address,

2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number,
3) The course in which applicant was enrolled,

4) Total clock hours earned,

(5) Information regarding current license, including expiration date and
whether the licensee is in good standing.

Each applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall show by way of affidavit
that they are of “good moral character”, which shall be established by an
absence of felony convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving
moral turpitude.

2. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview

a.

Upon receipt of a completed Application of Reciprocity and
Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the reciprocity
requirements of the state of Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an
interview, and notified of the date and time.

The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the
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interview:
Q) Photographic identification.

@) Applicant must present two (2) current passport
photographs to be attached to his or her application for
reciprocity. The photograph must be recognizable as the
person who is making application for reciprocity.

(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic
identification card which contains the applicant’s signature
and date of birth. In the event of a name change, legal
proof of the change must be presented.

2 Two additional forms of government-issued identification must be
presented by the applicant. In the event of a name change, legal
proof of the change must be presented.

3) A current, valid out of state practitioner license. The license will
be reviewed to determine that all information contained in it
including name, registration number, and expiration date of license,
matches the information which was provide in the affidavit.

4) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any
practice area of discipline must present certificate of proficiency
obtained in Mississippi or another state attesting to proper training
in the use of the device.

C. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to be
licensed by reciprocity. The interview will be recorded. The following
determinations will be made:

1) the applicant is at least 17 years of age.

(2)  theapplicant is able to read, write and speak English.
If the applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory, of meeting all requirements for
reciprocity, he or she will be advised that the application cannot be accepted, and the
reason for same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of the right to an
Administrative Hearing before the Board.

If the applicant is deemed to meet all reciprocity eligibility requirements, he or she is
required to:

1. Complete an Application for Reciprocity. The Board approved form, “Application
for Licensure by Reciprocity,” must be completed in its entirety.
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2.

Pay the required fee. The prevailing fee is that which has been established by
Law, Section 73-7-29, of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended and may be
submitted by personal check, cashier’s check, money order, or cash.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 2.12

A.

License by Reciprocity - Instructor

Eligibility Requirements for Instructor Licensure by Reciprocity

An instructor from any other state may be qualified for a Mississippi instructor’s license
by satisfying the following requirements:

1.

2.

Must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age.

Must be able to read, write and speak English.

Must possess a high school education or its equivalency.
Must possess a valid instructor’s license.

Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by
the Board.

Must have completed training equivalent to Mississippi’s training as provided in
Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-7-15, or have three (3) years or more of experience as
a licensed instructor prior to application.

Must have completed a minimum of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours in
Mississippi Board laws, rules and regulations. The fee for five (5)-hour CE
seminar shall be $75.00. The dates and times for the CE seminar shall be posted on
the Board’s website.

Each applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall show by way of affidavit that they
are of “good moral character”, which shall be established by an absence of felony
convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude.

When College Courses Requirement Not Completed at the Time of Application

An applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has not completed
the college courses requirement at the time of application may apply for a one-time
temporary teaching permit, which shall be valid for six (6) months and shall be
nonrenewable. See Rule 3.3. The request for the one-time temporary teaching permit must
be made on the application for instructor’s license by reciprocity. Such application must
be accompanied by proof of enroliment in college course(s), required permit fee of
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$25.00, two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant and other documentation as
required for application for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity. Upon proof of
completion of college courses and payment of the required license fee, a Mississippi
instructor’s license shall be issued.

C. The application packet, which must be completed in its entirety, must be accompanied by
the following:

1. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant.
2. Proof of eligibility requirements as established in this Rule.

3. The required license fee. (Exception: If the applicant has not completed the college
courses requirement at the time of application, the license fee shall be paid at the
time when proof of completion of college courses has been submitted to the Board
office.)

D. The application packet may be accompanied by a one-time temporary teaching permit fee
of $25.00 if the applicant has not completed the college courses requirement at the time of
application and desires to apply for the one-time temporary teaching permit. See Rule 3.3.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-15, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 2.13 Reciprocity for Military Personnel and Military Spouses

In accordance with the requirements of Miss. Code Ann. § 73-50-1, a military trained or military
spouse applicant may gain licensure to practice in the State of Mississippi under the following
circumstances:

A. For a military-member applicant:

1. Must show proof of licensure by a state Cosmetology regulatory board that is in
good standing and be actively practicing. Proof of licensure shall include
presentation of a current valid out-of-state license and submission of an affidavit
mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing
authority that contains the following: 1) the seal-impress of the licensing authority;
2) at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority; 3) the applicant’s
name and address; 4) the applicantlls registration number or license identification
number; and 5) the courses in which the applicant was enrolled, total clock hours
earned, and information regarding current license.

Or, as an unlicensed cosmetologist graduating within the last 2 years, applicant

must show proof by way of affidavit of completion of a course of Cosmetology
study from a board approved Cosmetology school.
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Must make a passing score on the Mississippi licensure exam.

Must appear for an application eligibility interview and show the following: 1)
present two (2) current passport photos attached to the application for reciprocity;
2) present two (2) forms of government-issued identification; 3) proof that the
applicant is at least seventeen (17) years of age; 4) demonstrate the ability to read
write and speak English; and 5) any applicant that proposes to use a specific device
in any are of cosmetology must present a certificate of sufficiency obtained in a
state in good standing attesting to proper training in the use of the device.

An applicant for an instructor’s license must have completed a minimum of five
(5) continuing education hours in Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules
and regulations at the time of application.

For a military spouse:

1.

Must show evidence that the applicant is a legal spouse of an active member of the
military.

Must show proof of licensure by a state Cosmetology regulatory board that is in
good standing and be actively practicing. Proof of licensure shall include
presentation of a current valid out-of-state license and submission of an affidavit
mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing
authority that contains the following: 1) the seal-impress of the licensing authority;
2) at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority; 3) the Applicant’s
name and address; 4) the applicantlls registration number or license identification
number; and 5) the courses in which the applicant was enrolled, total clock hours
earned, and information regarding current license.

Or, as an unlicensed cosmetologist graduating within the last 2 years, applicant
must show proof by way of affidavit of completion of a course of Cosmetology
study from a board approved Cosmetology school.

Must show competency by make a passing score on the Mississippi licensure
exam.

Must appear for an application eligibility interview and show the following: 1)
present two (2) current passport photos attached to the application for reciprocity;
2) present two (2) forms of government-issued identification; 3) proof that the
applicant is at least seventeen (17) years of age; 4) demonstrate the ability to read
write and speak English; and 5) any applicant that proposes to use a specific device
in any are of cosmetology must present a certificate of sufficiency obtained in a
state in good standing attesting to proper training in the use of the device.

An applicant for an instructor’s license must have completed a minimum of five
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(5) continuing education hours in Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules
and regulations at the time of application.

Source: Miss Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-15, and 73-50-1 (Rev. 2013).

Part 2101 Chapter 3: Permits

Rule 3.1 Demonstrator’s Permit

An establishment must not allow a product demonstrator to demonstrate any product without a
permit which has been issued in accordance with Section 73-7-25 of the Mississippi Code of

1972 as amended.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 8873-7-7, 73-7-25 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 3.2 Permit to Work
A Student, or Student Instructor:
1. Any student or student instructor who has completed the total number of

prescribed hours in a course of training may be issued a permit to work valid for
90 days in that capacity, upon request, provided the following requirements have

been met:

a. An application for approval for examination has been made, and approved
by the board.

b. An application for a permit to work has been submitted on a form

approved by the Board, which includes the following information:

1) Name and address of the establishment in which applicant is to be
employed.

2) Establishment registration number, current license number and
expiration date of license.

3) Name of supervising licensee. (Supervisor)

4 Supervisor registration number, current license number, and
expiration date of license.

2. A permit to work is not processed unless a) all information is complete, b) if

either the establishment or supervisor licenses is expired, or ¢) if false information
is reflected on the application.

a. The supervising licensee must be employed on a full-time basis by the

46



3.

4.

work.

establishment in which the student/student instructor has made application
for a permit. If it is necessary for the supervisor to be out of the
establishment on occasion, another supervising licensee must be
designated to oversee the work of the student/student instructor.

A student instructor who has been issued a permit to work is required to be
under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor.

An approved permit to work will be sent, in the applicant’s name, directly to the
employing establishment.

a.

Any student/student instructor found by a Board agent working in any
establishment before receipt of his or her permit or without a licensed
supervisor will be issued a citation.

Any establishment owner employing a student without a temporary work
permit shall be issued a citation for employing non-licensed personnel, and
such case shall be cause for suspension of the establishment license.

If any student/student instructor has received a temporary permit to work and fails
any portion of the practical or written examination, that student is no longer eligible to

The student/student instructor and the employing establishment will be
notified of the student’s ineligibility to work.

The employing establishment will be notified to return the permit
immediately. Failure to do so, or for the student/student instructor to
continue working, will result in a issuance of a notice of an administrative
hearing to the establishment owner(s) and student instructor..

No student under the authority of the Board shall work for compensation as a
practitioner in an establishment while in the process of acquiring his or her
training.

Outdated License — See Rule 2.5.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-13 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 3.3

One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit for Applicant for Instructor’s License by
Reciprocity

Any applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has not
completed the college course(s) requirement at the time of application may be
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issued a one-time temporary teaching permit valid for six months and shall be non-
renewable. All other requirements must be met at the time of application for
instructor’s license by reciprocity.

The request for a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be made on the
application for instructor’s license by reciprocity. See Rule 2.12.

1) Name and address of the school in which the applicant is to be
employed.

2) School registration number, current license number and expiration
date of license.

3) Name of supervising instructor(s).

4) Supervisor registration number, current license number, and
expiration date of license.

The request for a one-time temporary teaching permit must be accompanied by
the following:

1) Proof of enroliment in college course(s)

(2)  Required permit fee of $25.00

3) Two (2) passport photographs taken within ninety (90) days prior
to the application or renewal

4) Other documentation as required for application for a Mississippi
instructor’s license by reciprocity.

Procedures for Use of the One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit

1. An approved one-time temporary teaching permit shall be issued in the
applicant’s name and mailed to the employing school.

2. The applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who has been
issued a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be required to be under
the direct supervision of a licensed instructor.

3. The supervising instructor shall be employed on a full-time basis by the
school where the applicant for instructor’s license by reciprocity will be
employed.

4. When it is necessary for the supervising instructor to be away from the

school on occasion, another licensed instructor shall be designated to
supervise the work of the applicant for an instructor’s license by
reciprocity who is working pursuant to a one-time temporary teaching
permit.
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5. Any applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who is found
working in any school before receipt of the one-time temporary teaching
permit will be issued a citation by the Board agent.

6. Any school owner employing an applicant for an instructor’s license by
reciprocity without a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be issued a
citation by the Board agent, and such case may be cause for suspension of
the school license.

7. The one-time temporary permit shall be returned immediately to the Board
office in the event the applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity
who holds the said permit ceases employment with the employing school
of record or withdraws his or her application for an instructor’s license by
reciprocity.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-13 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 3.4 One-Time 90 Day Permit for Practitioner Who's License Has Expired for A
Period of Three or More Years

Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has expired for a period of
three (3) or more years, must make application for approval for examination. A one-time 90-day
work permit may be granted. The fee for the one-time 90-day work permit shall be $ 20.00.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013)

Part 2101 Chapter 4:  Salons
Rule 4.1 Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice

Receptionists, janitorial and other unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing
cosmetology, manicuring, or esthetics, in any manner.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 8873-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2013)

Rule 4.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New Salon

A. A proposed salon owner must submit an application for licensure to operate a salon. An
incomplete application will not be processed.

1. The following information is required on the application:
a. The name of the proposed salon.
b. The address, location and the phone number of the proposed salon.
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C. The name(s) and address(es) of the proposed owner(s). If a partnership or
corporation, the name and addressed of all principals must be provided.

d. Owners’ Social Security Number(s)

e. If the proposed owner/manager is not a licensed practitioner, the name and
registration number of an individual working full-time in the establishment
and licensed by this Board must be provided.

f. Any applicant for a salon license desiring to limit the practice to
manicuring or esthetics only, must so state on the application, and any
licensed issued to the establishment, authorizes only the practice, as
applied for.

2. In addition to the above, the following information must be submitted with the
application:

a. Required fee.
b. Two (2) passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to application.
C. A list of the equipment the salon proposes to have on hand.

3. After receipt of the application and verification of the data, a Board inspector will
contact the proposed owner to schedule an inspection appointment.

4. The salon application will be cancelled and the fee will be forfeited under the
following circumstances:

a. An inspection appointment is postponed by the proposed salon owner
beyond 90 days after receipt.
b. The proposed salon owner(s) is a no-show for the inspection appointment

and fails to send a representative.
B. Inspection and Approval for Licensure:
During the inspection appointment, the Board will conduct an inspection of the premises
to determine if all requirements, as indicated in the law, including minimum equipment
requirements, have been strictly adhered to by the owner(s) of the proposed salon. If the
requirements are not met, and the inspector cannot approve the salon, there will be an
additional fee for each inspection made before licensing the salon.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-17 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 4.3 Required Equipment for Salons
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Full Service Cosmetology Salon: A cosmetology salon providing full service (hair,
manicuring/pedicuring and esthetics) must have and keep maintained in proper working
order and condition the following minimum equipment in order to be approved and pass
annual inspection for a full service cosmetology salon license:

1. Signs
a. Outside — Business
b. Hours of Operation.
2. One (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each cosmetologist.
3. One (1) shampoo bowl and chair
4. One (1) dryer. (For purposes of this rule, a dryer is defined as “a chair or standing

hair dryer with a hood, either stationary or portable.”)

5. Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per cosmetologist.

6. Adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean towels.

7. Adequate number of covered towel container(s) of solid construction for soiled
towels.

8. One (1) wet sterilizer per cosmetologist.

9. One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)

10.  Adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction.
11.  One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist.
12. One (1) patron chair and manicurist stool per manicurist.

13.  One (1) wet sanitizer for clean manicuring implement(s). (Any clean, closed
container is considered adequate).

14.  One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist.
15. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist.

16. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean manicuring implement(s). (Any clean closed
container is considered adequate).

17.  Treatment area(s) located so as to ensure the privacy of the esthetics client.
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18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24,

25.

217.

28.

29.

30.

One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per esthetician.
One (1) lavatory for each esthetics treatment area.
One (1) covered container for soiled linens in each esthetics treatment area.

One (1) closed cabinet of solid construction for clean linens in each esthetics
treatment area.

One (1) closed cabinet for esthetics supplies.

One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) estheticians.

One (1) woods lamp per two (2) estheticians.

One (1) wet sterilizer per esthetician.

One (1) dry sterilizer per esthetician.

Covered trash can of solid construction for each esthetics treatment area.

An adequate supply of client drapes and linens (towels, sheets, and pillow covers.

Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving full salon services.

Limited Service Cosmetology Salon: A cosmetology salon must have and keep
maintained in proper working order and condition the following minimum equipment in
order to be approved and pass annual inspection and may provide limited service, which
must include hair services. Optional services for a cosmetology salon offering limited
service include manicuring/pedicuring and/or esthetics (face only).

1.

Hair Services (Required). The following equipment is required for a limited
service cosmetology salon:

a. Signs
1) Outside — Business
2) Hours of Operation.

b. One (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each cosmetologist.

C. One (1) shampoo bowl and chair.

d. One (1) dryer per two work stations. (For purposes of this rule, a dryer is
defined as a chair or standing hair dryer with a hood, either stationary or
portable.)
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J-

K.

Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per cosmetologist.

An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean
towels.

An adequate number of covered towel container(s) for soiled towels.

One (1) wet sterilizer per cosmetologist.

One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)
An adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction.

Sufficient equipment and supplies for providing complete hair services.

Manicuring/Pedicuring Services (Optional Service) — The following equipment is
required when manicuring/pedicuring services are offered in a limited service
cosmetology salon:

a.

b.

One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist.

One (1) patron chair and practitioner stool per manicurist.
One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist.
One (1) finger bowl per manicurist.

One (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements. (Any clean, closed container is
considered adequate).

An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for
manicuring/pedicuring supplies.

An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean
towels.

An adequate number of covered towels container(s) for soiled towels.

Sufficient equipment and supplies for providing manicuring/pedicuring
services.

Esthetics Services — Face Only (Optional Service) — The following equipment is
required when esthetics services (face only) are offered in a limited service
cosmetology salon:

a.

One (1) closed cabinet for supplies.
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b. One (1) portable or stationary magnifying light.
C. One (1) wet sterilizer.
d. One (1) dry sterilizer.

e. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving limited esthetics services to
the face only.

f. Optional — If a private room is used for service, it must be equipped with a
lavatory. See Rule 1.2, definition of lavatory.

Manicuring Salon: A salon in which manicuring only is practiced must have and keep
maintained in proper working order and condition to the following minimum equipment
in order to be approved and pass annual inspection:

1. Signs
a. Outside — Business
b. Hours of Operation
2. One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist.
3. One (1) patron chair and manicure stool per manicurist.
4. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist.
5. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist
6. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements. (Any clean, closed container is

considered adequate)

7. Closed cabinet of solid construction for clean towels.
8. Closed cabinet of solid construction for manicuring/pedicuring supplies.
9. An adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction.

10.  An adequate number of covered towel container(s) for soiled towels.

11.  Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving complete manicuring/pedicuring
services.

Esthetics Salon: A salon in which esthetics only is practiced must have and keep

maintained in proper working order and condition the following minimum equipment in
order to be approved and pass annual inspection:
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1. Signs
a. Outside — Business
b. Hours of Operation
2. Treatment area(s) located so as to insure the privacy of the patron.
3. One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per esthetician.
4. One (1) lavatory for each treatment area.
5. One (1) covered container of solid construction for soiled linens.
6. One (1) closed cabinet for clean lines.
7. One (1) closed cabinet for supplies
8. One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) treatment areas.
9. One (1) Wood’s lamp per two (2) estheticians.
10.  One (1) wet sterilizer per esthetician.
11.  One (1) dry sterilizer.
12.  Adequate supply of client drapes and linens (towels, sheets, and pillow covers.
13.  Covered trash can of solid construction.
14.  Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving complete esthetics services.
E. All cosmetological establishments must have an outside entrance except salons in

department stores or buildings with a main entrance.

F. In addition to the above rules, a home establishment must meet the following criteria:
1. The wall between the salon and home must be of ceiling height.
2. If a door exists between the beauty salon and the remainder of the house, said door
must be kept closed during business hours.
3. Salon restroom facilities must be located in the confines of the salon buisness.
G. A licensed establishment must not be used for living purposes or other residential use.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
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Rule 4.4 Salon Change of Ownership; Addition of Partners; Change of Location; Change of
Trade Name

No license is transferable from one owner to another or own location to another.

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the salon have been paid in
full.

A. Change of Ownership

1. Salon owners who contemplate selling or transferring the ownership of a salon
must notify the board in writing prior to the sale or transfer.

2. Where a sale or transfer of ownership occurs, the prospective owners must make
application for a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 4.1 and 4.4, and must
pay the required fee.

3. A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued.

B. Addition or Change of partners

1. Where a partnership is added, or changed, and at least one partner or original
owner remains, then a new salon application is not required.

2. Written notification of the change in partnership should be made to the board
within (30) days of such change.

3. When the original applicant(s) is no longer a partner in the salon, an Application of
Approval of a New Salon must be made in accordance with Board Rules 4.2-4.4,
and the required fee must be paid.

C. Change of Location
1. A salon owner who contemplates relocation of the salon must make application for
a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 4.2-4.4, and must pay the required
fee.
2. A change of location includes moving an existing establishment:

a. From one address to another

b. From one building, or area within a building, to another, even when a
“change of address” does not occur.

3. An application for a new salon not required when:
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a. A portable building is moved from one specific site on a lot to another site
on the same lot, and there is no change in equipment or address.

b. Where an establishment has been destroyed by fire, man made disaster, or
act of God, and is rebuilt in the same location.

C. Notice must be given to the board office within seven (7) days.
D. Change of Business Name
A salon will not change its business name without first filing a change of business name
form and paying the processing fee. (The Board may charge an appropriate process fee in
the event of a business name change. The amount shall be on the form for business name
change).
Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 4.5 Nursing Home Salons
Section 73-7-35 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended provides that cosmetological
services may be provided outside the physical confines of a licensed salon, to “...any person who

may be confined to his or her home, a hospital, or other place as a result of illness.”

A. Nursing home salons are considered patient care facilities and do not require a salon
license under the following conditions:

1. Services are restricted to patients only and are not provided for employees of the
nursing home, nor family or friends of the patients.

2. A retirement home or community where the residents are not confined due to
illness is not considered a nursing home. Any salon operated as a part of a
retirement home or community must be licensed by the Board.

B. If a nursing home facility requests to be licensed as a salon and meets all requirements of
the Board, then it will be granted.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-35 (Rev. 2013)
Part 2101 Chapter 5: Schools
Rule 5.1 Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice

Receptionists, janitorial and other unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing
cosmetology, manicuring, or esthetics, in any manner.
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. 8873-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New School

A

Procedure for filing an application for preliminary school approval.

1. Any person proposing to own or operate a school must make an appointment with
the Board to discuss in detail the proposed operation of the school.

2. Interested persons must completed a Personal Survey Form and return to the State
Board of Cosmetology prior to the initial meeting with the Board.

An application for a license to operate a school must be submitted for approval on an
application form provided by the Board. The application accompanied by evidence,
statements or documents are filed with the Board office .

1. Prospective owners for proprietary schools provide a completed submitted form
provided by the Board office. The following information must be provided with
the application:

a. Application fee.

b. Floor plan of the proposed school, indicating measurements for each area,
and equipment layout.

C. The name, address and telephone number of the manager/supervisor, and
the name, address, and registration number of the instructor(s) of the
proposed school.

d. A copy of the contract form to be used between the school and the student.

e. A copy of proposed brochures, catalogs and advertisements.

f. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days
prior to application.

g. Optional request for a preliminary on-site by two (2) agents of the Board,
at least one must be a Board member. A fee of one hundred dollars ($100)
will apply.

2. An incomplete application will not be processed and the applicant will be notified

by the Board office with the cause for non-processing.

Optional Preliminary On-Site Visit

Upon request of an optional preliminary on-site visit, with receipt of required fee, the
following will apply.
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1. The on-site visit will be performed by two (2) agents of the Board, one of which
must be a Board member for the purpose of determining:
a. Suitability:

1) Proposed location.

2 Proposed floor space.

3) Proposed equipment and material.
D. Initial Inspection and Approval of Proposed School

1. An inspection shall be performed by two (2) agents of the Board, one of which

must be a board member, for the purpose of determining:
a. Suitability of:
1) Proposed Location.
2 Proposed Rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,
ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan.
3) Proposed items of equipment and materials.
b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors and
properly qualified manager/supervisor.

2. The findings of the initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its approval
at its next regular or any special called meeting. The applicant will be notified in
writing of the decision of the Board within 30 days.

E. Final Inspection and Approval of Proposed Schools

1. If the inspection is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection
approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least
one of which will be a Board Member.

2. The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that:

a. Suitability of:
Q) Location

2 Roomes, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,
ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan.
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3) Equipment and material set up and operational.

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors and
properly qualified manager/supervisor.

C. All requirements, as indicated in the application have been strictly adhered
to by owners of the proposed school.

d. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by copy of
inspection report(s) by local authorities.

e. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding
requirements for licensure and operation of School of Cosmetology,
Manicuring or Esthetics, m the Board may waive the initial inspection and
proceed to the final inspection.

No School will be approved until the Board has had ample opportunity to verify
sworn statements as to the actual ownership, and all other claims and
representations set forth in the “Personal Survey Form”, the “Application for
Approval”, the “Initial Inspection Report”, and the Final Inspection Report.

If all requirements and qualification are met, the Board will cause written approval
to be issued. No school will be considered approved, nor will classes be allowed
to begin, until said approval has been executed.

The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who fails to
meet the requirements for operating a school and/or who fails to present
satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional integrity and experience.
In the event the Board denies approval, the fees associated with the application will be
forfeited.

F. Miscellaneous

1.

Enrollments. Students may be registered, but not admitted to class until such time
as the school has received its final approval.

Instructor. Each school must have on its staff at least one full-time instructor who
is charged with the responsibility of the teaching program, and who is considered
the lead instructor. This person must hold an active Mississippi license or permit at
the time of application for school approval.

The Board may revoke or suspend the approval of any school for any violation of
any of the conditions set forth for licensing, or if further investigation reveals
misrepresentation on the part of the applicant.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)
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Rule 5.3 Required Space for Schools

A. Schools must have minimum square feet of floor space, according to the courses which
they propose to teach which includes, at a minimum, skill and theory classrooms,
reception area, office, two (2) restrooms, reference library, dispensary/stock room, facial
area, and locker area. This floor space is to accommodate a maximum number of students
and for every student thereafter, 25 square feet of floor space per student must be added:

1.

2.

Cosmetology Schools- 2500 square feet, up to 40 students

Manicuring Schools- 1800 square feet, up to 28 students

Esthetics Schools- 1800 square feet, up to 28 students

All walls, partitions or other obstructions between classrooms other than the

lecture room in schools of cosmetology, esthetics and manicuring must be so
constructed as to provide for continuous and uninterrupted supervision.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.4 Required Equipment

A. All Schools

1.

Each school must have an adequate supply of disinfectant and safety equipment to
insure that the school complies with Board sanitation rules, including: wet
disinfectant containers, dry sanitizers, closed cabinets or containers for clean
towels, covered soiled towel receptacles of solid construction, large covered trash
can of solid construction, and first aid Kit.

Each school must have adequate resource materials to aid in the teaching of both
skill and theory subjects, including charts and visual aids, chalk board, bulletin
board, reference library, and time clock or time sheets.

The minimum equipment requirement must remain in full force and effect so long
as the school remains in operation.

All equipment must be maintained in a sanitary and safe operating order at all
times.
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B.

Cosmetology Schools

1. The minimum equipment for a school of cosmetology is as follows:

Mannequin

(In addition to this number of practice mannequins, the school must furnish,
upon enrollment, to every student, a mannequin in good condition for his use
throughout the period of training.)

Time Clock or Time Sheet (See Rule 5.23 C and D)

Shampoo Bowls and Chairs

(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 students, additional shampoo
bowls must be added at the ratio of one for each five students in average daily
attendance in excess of 20.)

Dryers

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional dryers must
be added at the ratio of 1 for each 5 students in average daily attendance in
excess of 20.)

12

Facial Chairs, complete with footrest, headrest, magnifying lamp, and
practitioner stool

Manicure Tables

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional manicure
tables must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 10 students in average daily
attendance in excess of 20.)

Cold Wave Equipment: Sets of four dozen assorted rods

=la

Thinning Shears (pair)

Thermal Hair Straighteners
Combs
Stove (not required if comb electric)
Curling iron (no larger than size “G”)

e +

Containers for antiseptic solution, per manicure table

Work station with chair and mirror

Station chairs must be so constructed that they may be elevated and lowered
either mechanically [hydraulic pump] or manually [swivel].

(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 senior students, one additional
station per student must be added).

N |00 00

Work table(s) for junior students

Adequate

Classroom chairs with desk rest

20

>

Cabinet for client records

1

2. The minimum equipment requirement for a school of cosmetology desiring to
include a department of esthetics and or/manicuring in its training program must
contain at least one (1) of each item specified for a school of esthetics and school
of manicuring/pedicuring. When the average daily attendance exceeds two (2), the
minimum equipment must be increased at the rate of one (1) per every two (2)

students.
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Esthetics Schools

The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in which esthetics
only is taught is as follows:

a. | Facial treatment chair, treatment table, or hydraulic treatment chair 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
facial chairs must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 3)

b. | Esthetician’s stool 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
esthetician’s stools must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

c. | Facial VVaporizer (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 3
students, additional vaporizers must be added at the ratio of one per
every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

d. | Pulverizer Spray (mister) 3

e. | Galvanic Current Apparatus or Faradic & Sinusoidal Apparatus 1

f. High Frequency Apparatus 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional high
frequency apparatus must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

g. | Heating Mask or hot towels 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
heating masks must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 3)

h. | Heating Mitts or paraffin wax with mitts 3 pairs

i Infrared lamp 3

J- Ultraviolet lamp (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 3
students, additional Ultraviolet lamps must be added at the ratio of one
per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

k. | Woods lamp 1

I Magnifying lamp (Loupe) 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
Magnifying lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

m. | Electric wax heater for removal of hair 1

n. | Utilities Tables 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
utility tables must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 3)

0. | Table for Machines 1 per

machine

p. | Cabinet for client records 1

g. | Lavatory with hot and cold running water in the treatment area 1
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D.

Schools of Manicuring

1.

The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in
manicuring/pedicuring is taught is as follows:

Manicure table fitted with adjustable lamp, client chair and operators
stool or chair.

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
manicure tables, lamps and stools must be added at the ratio of one per
every 1 student in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

10

Covered containers for waste material

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
covered waste containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1
students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

10

Cushion (87x12”) covered with a washable slip or sanitized towel on
which clients rest arm

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
armrests must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students in average
daily attendance in excess of 10)

10

Supply tray for holding implements/products

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
cosmetic trays must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 student in
average daily attendance in excess of 10)

10

Finger bowl (plastic, china or glass with removal paper cups) for holding
warm water and cleanser

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional finger
bowls must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 student in average
daily attendance in excess of 10)

10

Cotton containers

10

Electric heaters — for heating oil/lotion when a heat manicure

10

Disinfection containers for immersion of manicuring implements during
procedure

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
disinfection containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1
student in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

10

Basins for Pedicure Cleansing(When the average daily attendance
exceeds 10 students, additional cleanser basins must be added at the ratio
of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Basins for pedicure rinse water

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional rinse
water basins must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Electric nail files

(When average daily attendance exceeds six (6) students, additional nail
files must be added at the ratio of one (1) per every two (2) students in
average daily attendance in excess of six (6))
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l. Hand form with stand; demonstrational purposes 5
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional hand
forms must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average
daily attendance in excess of 10).

2. The clinic floor in a manicure school must be ventilated to the outside air.
Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 5.5 Name of School

All schools licensed by the Board must be designated as such by an outside sign large enough to
be visible.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 5.6 School Advertising
A Advertising of a proposed school is to be limited to the procurance of students.

B. A licensed school is allowed to advertise the prices of clinical services outside the
premises as long as the following conditions are met:

1. The advertisement will clearly state, in bold print that “all work is performed by
students under the supervision of a licensed instructor.”

2. No comparison of prices is made to any other school or to licensed salons.
3. Hours of operation for the clinic floor must be posted.
Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.7 School Change of Ownership; Addition of Partners; Change of Location; Change of
Trade Name; Renovation of Existing School

No license is transferable from one owner to another or from one location to another.

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the salon have been paid in
full.

A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued.
A. Change of Ownership

1. Prior to selling or transferring the ownership of a school, the owner(s) must notify
the Board, in writing, at least thirty (30) days in advance of the sale or transfer.
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An application for Initial School Approval must be submitted to the Board by the
prospective owner(s), in accordance with Board Rules 5.2 through 5.6.

B. Addition of Partners

1.

Prior to the addition of a partner(s), owner(s) must notify the Board, in writing, at
least thirty (30) days in advance.

At any time the original applicant is no longer a partner in the school, an
Application for Initial School Approval will be required, in accordance with Board
Rules 5.2 through 5.6.

C. Change of Location

1.

School owners who contemplate a relocation of a school must submit an
application for relocation on a form prescribed and provided by the Board. The
approved application requires the submission of at least the following:

a. A floor plan of the proposed school, indicating room measurements,
placing of equipment, partitions, entrances and exits, and plumbing.

b. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or any advertising materials in use or
proposed to be used.

C. Certificate or letter indicating that the facility has met building or fire code
requirements of local authorities.

d. Schedule of teachers, indicating full time/part time.

e. Required fee.

Relocation of a School of Cosmetology, Esthetics, or Manicuring within a radius
of 15 miles from the existing school may not require submission of:

a. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or advertising materials, unless there have
been substantial changes made.

b. Schedule of Instructors, unless there has been a change in those schedules
from that which is on file at the Board.

Upon receipt and approval of Application for School Approval, the Board shall

conduct an Initial Inspection. The inspection will be performed by two or more
agents of the Board of Cosmetology for purposes of determining:
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Suitability of:
Q) Proposed location;

2) Proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,
lighting, and ventilation in accordance with the floor plan; and

3) Proposed list of equipment.

Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors and
Manager/Supervisor.

The findings of this initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its
approval at its next regular or special called meeting, and the applicant will
be notified in writing, of the decision of the Board, within 30 days.

If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding
requirements for licensure and operating of a School of Cosmetology,
Esthetics or Manicuring, the Board may waive the initial inspection if it so
desires.

If application is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection is
approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least
one of which will be a Board member.

The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that all
requirements as indicated in the application have been strictly adhered to
by the owners.

School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by
inspection report of local authorities.

If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be
issued within thirty (30) days. No School will be considered approved for
licensure until same has been executed.

The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who fails to
meet the requirements for conducting a school and/or who fails to present
satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional integrity and experience.

Change of Business Name

A school must not change its business name without having first having filed a change of
business name form and paid the processing fee. If a change of business name is made at
the time of renewal, the processing fee will be waived. The processing fee is $50.00. If a
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new owner is requesting a change in a business name, the owner must provide the buy/sell
agreement.

Renovation

Before any major alteration or renovation of school is made, the plan of such alteration or
renovation must first be submitted to the Board in writing and written approval must be
received. The School must undergo initial and final inspection and approval in accordance
Rule 5.2.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.8 Satellite Classroom

A

Definition: A satellite classroom is a supplemental training space located near the main
school for the purpose of training an overflow of students who cannot be accommodated
at the main school.

1. A satellite classroom must be close enough to the main school to assure immediate
supervision by the main school. The satellite classroom may be no further than
five miles from the main school.

2. A clinic may not be operated at a satellite classroom location.

3. During operation hours, an instructor must be in the classroom.

4. A school is responsible and accountable to the Board for its satellite classroom
location.
a. If ownership of the separate facility changes from that of the main school,

board approval does not continue for the satellite facility.

b. The separate classroom must bear the same name as the main school, and
must be identified as such by an outside sign.

Application Procedure

1. An application fora Separate Classroom Location must be submitted on an
application form prescribed and provided by the Board, accompanied by such
evidence, statements, or documents as therein required and filed with the Board at
its office in Jackson, Mississippi.

2. The following is to be submitted with the application:

a. A fee of $50.00, which covers the cost of the inspection of the facility, and
$10.00 for a duplicate of the main school license.
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C.

d.

An area map noting the location of the satellite school in respect to the
main school. The map must include an appropriate scale.

A Floor plan, indicating total square feet in the satellite classroom, and
square feet of each section of the classroom, if it should consist of more
than one section.

A description of the outside sign.

Approval Procedure

1. Upon receipt and approval of an Application for Satellite Classroom approval, the
Board will conduct an inspection to determine:

a.

The suitability of:
1) Proposed location

2 Proposed classroom, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,
ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with floor plan.

3) Proposed items of equipment and material.

Satisfactory evidence of proper provision for duly licensed instructor(s).

If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be
issued. No satellite classroom will be considered approved, nor will classes

be allowed to begin in the satellite classroom until this approval has been
executed.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.9 Instruction Staff

A.

There must be on the staff at least one full time instructor at all times, who holds a
current, active license as an instructor in this state.

Immediately upon employment, the school must submit on a form approved by the Board,
a Certification of Instructor employment which indicates full or part-time employment.

The Board must be notified in writing, within ten (10) days of any changes in instructor
staff of a school of cosmetology.

When the enrollment exceeds 20 students there must be added to the staff an additional

full-time instructor for every 20 students thereafter. Each student, including student
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instructor, cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, and part time, is counted as full time
enrollment.

For each full-time instructor there can be no more than three student instructors.

Absence from the classroom of the instructor must be reported to the Board of
Cosmetology, Department of School Coordination. Arrangement must be made for an
instructor replacement during vacations, prolonged illness, etc. When the instructor is
absent for one day or less, a student instructor may be left in charge.

An instructor/student instructor is strictly prohibited from practicing on patrons except in
a classroom situation where such practice is for demonstration only.

All practice work by student is to be supervised and checked by an instructor licensed by
the Board.

All student instructors must at all times, be under the direct supervision of an instructor
who holds a current, active license issued by the Board, except as provided by Rule
5.9(F).

Any instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of a specific device in any practice
area of discipline must first present the required certificate of proficiency for the device.
All individuals seeking licensure after January 1, 1998, must present this certification
prior to seeking licensure.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.10 Required Display

All schools must display the following in a location conspicuous to the public:

A.

Main School Facilities:

1. The current school license

2. The current license of any instructors teaching in the school

3. The current cosmetology license of any student instructors.

4. The Sanitation Rules and Regulations of the Board.

5. A notice, in letters large enough to be read across the length of the room, that
states:

“All services in this school are performed by students who are in training; all
work must be inspected by an instructor.”
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6. A certification of proficiency for a specific device used in any practice discipline
of cosmetology for any instructor or student instructor teaching the use of the

same.
B. Satellite Classroom Facilities
1. Instructor/Student Instructor License.
2. Duplicate school instructor license.

3. A sign, which states,

“Satellite classroom only. No clinic work performed in this facility”

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-16, 73-7-9; 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.11 Separation of Schools from Other Businesses

A. A school cannot be conducted with any other business, including a salon. A school and
another business must be separated by walls of permanent construction, and must not
have doors or openings between them.

B. Schools may offer cosmetology products and related articles for retail sale.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.12 Services for the Public; Restrictions

A. Students may render services to the public only under the direct supervision of a licensed
instructor.
B. A student/student instructor in a school cannot receive a salary or commission from the

school for any cosmetology, manicuring, pedicuring, or esthetic services while enrolled.
Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 5.13 Student School Contracts
A school is required to execute in duplicate, a contract between itself and a student. A contract
between a school and a student must bear the signature of a school official and the student or
parent or guardian, if the student is under eighteen years of age. A fully executed copy of the
contract must be given to the student; and one copy must remain at all times in the school’s
student file.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)
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Rule 5.14 School Inspections

A.

The Board, or its authorized agents, may inspect schools on a regular basis as it deems
necessary. The intent and purpose of the inspection is to be determination of compliance
with the laws, rules, and regulations of the Board.

In order to insure that operators of a newly licensed school understands and fully
complies with records keeping requirements the Board Rules, a special on-site audit may
be performed.

1. The audit may take place at the conclusion of the first 90 days of a new school’s
operations.

2. The audit includes, at a minimum:
a. A review of the student academic files to insure that enrollment forms are

properly prepared and on hand, and that proof of secondary education
requirements are on hand.

b. A review of all documentation supporting and substantiating student clock
hours, including sign in sheets or time cards, and daily reports.

C. An audit of student clock hours which shall encompass at least 10% of the
school’s reported and verified enrollment at that time.

d. A review of the school’s procedures and records which deal with students
who are no longer in attendance at the school.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.15 School Closure

A.

Immediately after a school ceases operations, it must notify the board of the closure by
certified mail.

Within ten (10) days after a school ceases operation, it must forward student records to
the Board. These records must consist of, but not be limited to: enrollment information
which has not been previously submitted to the Board, records of academic progress, a
Final Report which accurately reflects clock hours earned, through the last date of
attendance, proof of secondary education which has not previously been submitted to the
Board. Files and documentation relating to federal tuition assistance funding should not
be forwarded to the Board of Cosmetology.

In the event a school ceases operations for a period of more than thirty (30) days, that
School is considered by the Board to be officially closed, and new license is required in
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accordance with the Laws of the State of MS, Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2, prior to
operations resuming, either under original ownership or new ownership, except by notice
for vacation or break, man-made disasters, or acts of God.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.16 Requirements for Student Enrollment

A.

B.

Cosmetologist, Manicurist, and Esthetician must:

1.

3.

Have at least a tenth (10th) grade education or its equivalent.

a.

Applicants who do not have a high school diploma may submit transcript
or report card as proof of their educational qualifications. Proof of
educational qualification must be submitted to the board not later than 30
days after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be
granted until the proof of educational qualification has been received in the
board office.

At least 7 credits are required in order to be considered as completion of a
tenth (10™) grade education.

Any student who enrolls with a tenth (10" )grade education must sign a
statement indicating that they understand that they are not eligible to sit for
the licensing examination until they have completed the twelfth (12™)
grade or its equivalent.

When a student does not meet the educational requirement, such student
may take a GED. An official GED transcript must be filed no later than 90
days after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be
granted until the proof of educational qualification has been received in the
Board office.

Be no less than 16 years of age. An enrollee who is less than the minimum

licensing age of 17 must submit a copy of his/her birth certificate along with other

enrollment documents.

Be able to read, write and speak English.

Student Instructor must:

1.

Have a current Mississippi license to practice in the field in which he/she is
enrolling as a student instructor.
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a. The registration number must be on file with the enrolling school and the
Board at the time of enrollment.

b. The practitioner’s license of the student instructor must be posted at the
school, in a location conspicuous to the public, and must be available for
inspection by the Board or its authorized agent(s) during regular business
hours.

C. If a Student Instructor is actively practicing in a Salon, a duplicate license
must be posted at the school.

2. Be no less than 20 years of age.

3. Have a high school education or its equivalent.

4. Be a graduate of a licensed beauty school in this or any other state.

5. Be required to have proof of two (2) years active practical experience as a licensed

cosmetologist, manicurist, or esthetician, as the case may be, when enrolling in the
750 hour course for cosmetology instructor training or the 600 hour course for
esthetics or manicuring instructor training.

6. If the student instructor lacks the required experience, then the course of training
must be:

a. Cosmetology — 2,000 hours
b. Esthetics — 1,000 hours
C. Manicuring — 1,000 hours
7. Be able to read, write and speak English.
Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 5.17 Student Equipment and Supplies

A. The following equipment and supplies must be issued by the school, to each student, upon
enrollment, according to their course of training:

1. Cosmetologist:
a. Approved textbook

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and
Regulations

C. Mannequin
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d. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:

Rollers, Assorted 4 dozen
Brushes 6
Combs 6
Afro Rake 1
Large, heavy comb, for comb out/color 1
Scissors, straight 1 pair
Razor & blades (box) 1
Curling Iron (size no larger than a quarter) 1
Clippies, Box 1
Shampoo cape, all purpose, styling 2
Tweezers 1
Tint brush, applicator bottle and bowl 1

Manicuring Equipment
Pusher
Orangewood stick
File or emery board
Cuticle nippers
Nail brush
Applicator sponges
Make-up brush
Mask brush
Tweezers
Pencil sharpener

PRRPRRPRERPRRERRER

Manicuring:
a. Approved textbook

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Law, Rules and
Regulations

C. Hand form and holder

d. Wet Sanitizer

e. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:
Finger Bowl 1
Nail Brush 1
Nail tips, various sizes 1 package

Student sculpture Kkit, with powder, odorless liquid, | 1
brush, forms and dauber

Emery board, regular 1
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Emery board, wide 1
Buffer disks, fine & medium 3 each
Cuticle nipper (or scissors) 1 pair
Metal pusher 1
Orangewood stick 1
Tweezers 1
Nail base coat/top coat 1 each
Ridge filler 1
Cuticle oil 1
Nail glue 1

(Note: nail polish, quick dry and remover [both acetone and non-acetone] should be
dispensary items)

3. Esthetics:
a. Approved textbook

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and

Regulations
C. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:
Skin Cleanser 12 oz.
Skin Freshener/toner/astringent 12 oz.
Moisturizer/sunscreen 12 oz.
Foundation: light, medium and dark 1 ea.
Concealer: light, medium and dark 1 ea.
Blusher: light, medium and dark 1 ea.
Eye liner pencil 1 ea.
Liquid or cream mascara 1 ea.
Wedge sponges 1 pk.
Powder brush 1
Blush brush 1
Applicators lip shade, mascara 1 pkg.
Plastic spatulas 1 doz.
Lip color 1
Exfoliating mask and mask brush 1 (6 0z.)
Tweezers 1
Pencil sharpeners 1
B. A student is not required to pay for supplies used in assigned practice work or in clinic

floor patron services.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)
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Rule 5.18 Curriculum

A.

Cosmetologist: The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 1500 hours of training
extended over a period of not less than nine months is as follows:

1.

Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations
Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct
General Sciences
Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions
Anatomy and Physiology
Basic Chemistry and Electricity
Business Skills
Personal/Individual
Resume
Interviewing
Sales and Marketing
Money Management
Salon
Planning and Design
Management
Marking
Hair Science
Hair Treatments/Services
Principals of Design
Shampooing and Conditioning
Haircutting
Hairstyling
Chemical Texture Services
Coloring and Lightening
Braiding, Extensions, Additions and Wigs
Skin Science
Skin Care/Treatments/Services
Nail Science
Nail Care/Treatments/Services
Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects

Theory requirement: 230 clock hours

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed
instructor on the basis of 4 hours minimum per week throughout the entire
course instruction.

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice
skill.

Skill/Practical Requirement: 1200 clock hours
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Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a
licensed instructor.

4. Unassigned/Open: 70 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at
instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates.

@) Board approved event with instructor/student instructor in attendance.

(b) Career Days — with vendor signature of attendance (4 hours maximum
allowed).

(© Job Interviews — 1 hour granted per interview (maximum allowed 4
hours).

(d) Filed Trips — nursing homes, salons, funeral homes.

(e Community service — providing cosmetology related services.
()] In school competitions and fundraisers.

(9) Any other activity must be Board approved.

Manicurist: The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 350 hours of instruction
and training extended over a period of not less than nine weeks is as follows:

1. Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations
Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct
General Sciences
Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions
Anatomy and Physiology
Basic Chemistry and Electricity
Business Skills
Personal/Individual
Resume
Interviewing
Sales and Marketing
Money Management

Salon
Planning and Design
Management
Marking
Nail Science
Nail Treatments/Services
Manicure
Basic
Specialty
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Pedicure
Basic
Specialty
Nail Enhancements
Nail Tips
Nail Wraps
Monomer Liquid
Polymer Powder
UV Gels
Electric Nail File
Nail Polish/Art/Airbrushing/Embellishments
Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects

2. Theory requirement: 85 clock hours

a.

Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed
instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout the entire
period of instruction.

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice
skill.
3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 265 clock hours

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a
licensed instructor.

4. Unassigned/Open: 70 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at
instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates.

@ Board approved event with instructor/student instructor in attendance.

(b) Career Days — with vendor signature of attendance (4 hours maximum
allowed).

(©) Job Interviews — 1 hour granted per interview (maximum allowed 4
hours).

(d) Filed Trips — nursing homes, salons, funeral homes.

(e) Community service — providing cosmetology related services.

() In school competitions and fundraisers.

(9) Any other activity must be Board approved.

C. Esthetician: The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 600 hours of instruction

and training extended over a period of not less than fifteen weeks is as follows:
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1. Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations
Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct
General Sciences
Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions
Anatomy and Physiology
Basic Chemistry and Electricity
Business Skills
Personal/Individual
Resume
Interviewing
Sales and Marketing
Money Management
Salon
Planning and Design
Management
Marking
Skin Science
Skin Treatments/Services
Facial Treatments
Facial Massage
Facial Machines
Hair Removal
Makeup
Advanced Topics and Treatments
Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects
2. Theory requirement: 100 clock hours
a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed
instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire
period of instruction.
b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice
skill.
3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 500 clock hours
Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a
licensed instructor.
D. Student Instructor:
1. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for a cosmetology instructor

training course consists of:

a. 750 hours for those applicants with two or more years active experience.

b. 2,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active experience.
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C. The subject matter and hours for each are:

750 hours 2,000 hours

12 hours Theory Observation 32 hours
68 hours Skill Observation 181 hours
(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching)
164 hours The Professional Teacher 437 hours
including:

Teacher Personality
Technical Knowledge
Teacher Characteristics
Teachers as Professionals
Preparation for Teaching
Planning the Course (Lesson Plans Steps of
Teaching)
99 hours Student Motivation and Learning 264 hours
including:

Laws Governing Learning Process
Student Motivation
Student Participation
Student Personalities
Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner
332 hours Methods, Management & Materials 885 hours
including:

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching
Classroom Management
Teaching Materials

65 hours Testing and Evaluation 174 hours
10 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations 27 hours
d. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up

to 10% as student needs may require.

2. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for an esthetician instructor
training course and a manicurist instructor training course consists of:

a. 600 hours for those applicants with two or more years active experience.
b. 1,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active experience.
C. The subject matter and hours for each are:
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600 hours 1,000 hours

10 hours Theory Observation 16 hours
54 hours Skill Observation 90 hours
(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching)
131 hours The Professional Teacher 223 hours
including:

Teacher Personality
Technical Knowledge
Teacher Characteristics
Teachers as Professionals
Preparation for Teaching:
(Planning the Course, Lesson Plans, Steps of
Teaching)

79 hours Student Motivation and Learning 132 hours
including:

Laws Governing Learning Process
Student Motivation
Student Participation
Student Personalities
Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner
264 hours Methods, Management & Materials 436 hours
including:

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching
Classroom Management
Teaching Materials

54 hours Testing and Evaluation 90 hours
8 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations 13 hours
d. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up

to 10% as student needs may require.

3. Prior to application for approval for examination, a student instructor is required
to have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by the
Board. It is strongly recommended that the student seek approval of subject matter
from the Board prior to actual enrollment in the courses.

a. At least one (1) three-hour course must be acquired within a classroom
setting; all others may be acquired through web-based or onlinee courses.

b. Twelve (12) hours must be acquired in one of the following subjects:

1) Communication
2 Business Law
3) English

4 Psychology
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(5) Sociology

(6) Mathematics

@) Computer

(8) Safety and First Aid

9 Any other Methodology course, with Board approval

d. Proof of the acquisition of the course must be submitted to the Board in the
form of an original transcript from the college or university from which the
courses are acquired. The transcript must bear the seal of the school and
the signature of the Registrar. Copies are not acceptable.

4. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor must attend one Board
“Methods of Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing
education hours.

F. Cross Over Barbers: The curriculum for a licensed barber enrolled in a 500 hour course,
as provided for in §73-7-13, extended over a period of not less than 12%2 weeks is as
follows:

1. Theory Requirements: 65 hours
a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed
instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire

period of instruction.

b. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons.

2. Skill Requirements: 435 hours:

Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed
instructor.

G. Clock hours may be granted to a student in any course of training for demonstrations and
for product knowledge being taught by suppliers, provided:

1. A licensed instructor is in attendance at all times.
2. The demonstrator holds a current permit issued by the Board for this purpose.
3. If the demonstration/product knowledge is acquired off-campus, a sign-in sheet

must be maintained by the school authority, and a copy sent to the Board with the
next regular monthly report.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
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Rule 5.19 Student Attendance

A

Full-time students shall not be credited with more than 40 hours weekly. Hours acquired
in excess of 40 hours per week maximum may be applied as Make-up Hours, provided
they are used for that purpose within the month in which they were acquired. Accelerated
hours shall not be accepted.

Student Instructor:

1.

Cosmetology instructor training extends over a period of not less than nineteen
(19) weeks, provided however, that not more than 40 hours weekly are credited.

Esthetics and manicuring instructor training extends over a period of not less than
fifteen (15) week, provided however, that not more than 40 hours weekly are
credited.

When the required number of hours has been acquired, the individual can no
longer function as a “student instructor”. In order to function in an instructional
capacity in any school, the student must make application for examination, as
stipulated in §73-7-15(4) of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.

Break in Attendance/Failure to Apply for Examination

1.

Where there is a break in attendance of at least three (3) years, but no more than
five (5) years, students will be credited with two-thirds of the original hours
acquired. Where such break in attendance exceed five (5) years, but less than ten
(10), students are credited with one-half of the original hours acquired. After a
break in attendance of ten (10) or more years, no hours are credited.

Where a portion of the hours for the completion of a course of training was
acquired out-of-state, but the student did not complete the course in that state, the
break in attendance rule applies to the student who enrolls in a school in
Mississippi for the completion of his/her training.

Where an individual has completed a course of training in this state, or any other
state, and licensure is not obtained within 365 days after completion of said
course, “brush up” hours of training are required before the individual is eligible
for examination. The following rates of credit apply:

a. 366 days to three years:

10% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was
completed.

b. Over three years to seven years:
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25% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was
completed.

C. Over seven years:

50% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was
completed.

If there is reason to believe that the individual cannot be licensed prior to the end
of the first year after graduation, the Board cannot accept an application for
approval for examination. There must be an adequate span of time in which the
application can be approved and examination grades received and recorded.

4. This provision does not apply to a person whose break in attendance, or failure to
acquire licensure is due to a military deployment.

D. Any hours acquired toward a cosmetology course may be applied toward either a
manicuring, or esthetics course, provided the hours acquired during the cosmetology
training are applicable to the course of training to which the hours are to be applied.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 8873-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.20 Transfer Students

Hours acquired may be transferable from one licensed school to another.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 873-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 5.21 Insignia or Badges

Each student and instructor engaged in a course of training must wear a badge signifying his/her
status:

Freshman Insignia worn by cosmetology students who have less than 240
hours

Junior Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 240 to 749 hours

Senior Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 750 to 1500 hours

Instructor Insignia worn by all licensed instructors

Student Insignia worn by all students engaged in instructor training

Instructor

Manicurist Insignia worn by all students engaged in a manicurist course

Esthetician Insignia worn by all students engaged in a special esthetics
course

Special Trainee insignia worn by all students engaged in advanced and brush up
training
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 5.22 Work Upon Patron

A. A student enrolled in a school for a course of training can be assigned work upon a patron
for services only after completion of the following hours of training and instruction:

OCrcoaaotalacuct 290 baotive
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Manicurist 40 hours
Esthetician 96 hours

B. Students are not permitted to accept pay or remungration of any kind during the course of
trainingexcept-cosmetic-sate-commissions-or-tips:

C. An instructor or student instructor cannot work upon a patron paying for services unless
he/she is doing so in a teaching situation.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 5.23 Records, Forms and Applications

A. All records must be made available to the Board or any of its agents at any time during
business hours.

B. Each student must make application for enroliment on forms approved by the Board.
1. The original of the enrollment form must be filed with the Board office no later

than 30 days after the date of enrollment. After this time, no hours are granted
until the enrollment form has been received in the Board office.

2. The following must be submitted with the enroliment form:
a. Proof of at least a tenth (10th) grade education, or its equivalent (See Rule
5.16(A)(1)(a))
b. A statement certifying that the student has received the following:

1) Copy of student/school contract
(2) Copy of school rules and regulations

3) Copy of the Mississippi Cosmetology Laws, Rules and
Regulations.

4 Approved textbook
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(5) Mannequin or hand form, as the case may be
(6) Student kit adherent to the rules and regulations of the Board.

Each student must record on the time clock, or time sheet, as approved by the Board,
when starting or completing daily instruction or training, when leaving and returning to
school premises, and the commencement and termination of lunch period.

Credit for attendance is granted to a student only on time registered and hours of applied
effort. No credit attendance is allowed unless a time card or time sheet verifying
attendance is on file.

1. Unless the school utilizes a time clock, the Board approved “Student Daily Sign-in
and Out Sheet” must be used.

2. All student clock hours must be derived from either a time card or the approved
form; no other is accepted by the board to substantiate the students’ acquired
hours.

3. If a student fails to sign/clock in or out, or if another person signs/clocks in or out

for a student, hours are not granted for that time period.

4. Should an error occur, changes may be made only by the supervising instructor
and must bear the signature of the instructor and the student at the point of
change. Failure to do so results in non-credit of hours for that time period.

A daily report, approved by the Board, must be utilized by each student, which lists all
subjects taught in the course of training and provided in the curriculum.

1. The daily report must recapitulate the student’s work for the day, and must
support the timecard/sign-in sheet for that day.

2. The daily report must be maintained at the student’s work station and must be
initialed by both the instructor and the student daily.

On or before the 10™ of each month following enrollment, a monthly summary report of
hours acquired by each student must be submitted to the office of the Board, and one copy
must be posted on the bulletin board in the school.

In the event a student withdraws from classes before completing the course, a final
transcript of his/her hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with the
Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the student by
the school at no cost to the student.

Any student who wishes to re-enroll after an absence of 30 days, and is approved by the
school for re-enrollment, must complete a re-enrollment form as approved by the Board.
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l. Upon completion of training, a final transcript of student hours and grades, certified by
the school, must be filed with the Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript
must be transmitted to the student by the school at no cost to the student.

J. All records must be retained by the school for a period of five years and until such time as
the student has been licensed.

K. The Board reserves the right to verify student records of hours acquired, at any time it
deems necessary during business hours.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 5.24 Licensing Examination Pass/Fail Ratio

A. The Board of Cosmetology maintains records of the results of each student’s licensing
examination, by school. If, at any time, it is determined that the graduates of a school,
fall below 70 (passing) on either the written examination or any segment of the practical
examination for a minimum period of six months, the Board will take the following
action:

1. The owner and instructional staff of the school will be invited to meet with the
Board to discuss the problem.

2. Within 30 days from the date of the meeting with the Board, the school will
submit a course of action or “compliance plan” which will indicate their
awareness of the problem and which will set forth in sufficient detail what steps
they plan to take in an attempt to improve the pass/fail ratio.

3. The school will be allowed a minimum period of six months in which to improve
to a passing average. If the school can demonstrate that an insufficient number of
students have graduated or qualified for examination to allow a fair review of the
examination average, the Board may, at its discretion, allow a compliance plan to
be in effect for longer than six months.

B. At the conclusion of the agreed upon compliance plan period, if the average examination
grades of the school have not improved, the Board may take the necessary action to
suspend or revoke the school license.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Part 2101 Chapter 6:  Continuing Education

Rule 6.1 Definitions

As used in this rule section, unless the context otherwise requires:
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A. “Biennial” means every two years (24 months)

B. “Category” means any one of seven areas in which continuing education hours may be
acquired.

C. “CEIT” means Continuing Education in Instructor Training.

D. “MC” means Master Cosmetologist

E. “MM” means Master Manicurist.

F. “ME” means Master Esthetician.

G. “MCSA” means Mississippi Cosmetology School Association.

H. “MIBA” means Mississippi Independent Beautician’s Association.
l. “MSBC” means Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.

J. “MCA” means Mississippi Cosmetology Association.

K. “Provider” means an individual, association or a company which makes a request to
present a continuing education event.

L. "SOTA” means School Owner’s and Teacher’s Association.

M. “T & T means Mississippi State Department of Education, VVocational-Technical Bureau,
Trade and Technical Division.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 6.2 Continuing Education Requirements

All licensees must present Board issued wallet ID upon sign-in of Board monitored educational
events.

A. Instructor

1. In order to renew an instructor’s license in an active status, proof of twenty-four
(24) CEIT hours must be on record with the board.

2. The biennial period is twenty-four month intervals from the date of qualification
for licensure as an instructor, and each twenty-four month period thereafter.

3. Licensed instructors must attend at least one mandatory Board sanctioned methods
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of teaching seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education hours per
biennial period in order to renew the instructor’s license in an active status.

At the time of renewal of an instructor’s license, his/her record is reviewed for
compliance at the end of the most recent biennial period.

An instructor who fails to acquire 24 hours CEIT during their biennial period will
be issued an inactive license upon renewal, and must obtain an additional 24 hours
CEIT before the license can be made active, i.e., hours may not be carried
forward for the purpose of making an inactive license active.

A Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist or Master Esthetician license may be issued
to any individual who makes application for the same, on a form prescribed by the Board,

provided:

1. He/she has been licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician in this state
for at least twelve (12) months.

2. Proof of having acquired eight (8) hours of continuing education approved by the
Board prior to the date of application, is on record with the Board.

3. In order to renew a Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist, or Master

Esthetician license, proof of acquisition of eight (8) hours biennially of continuing
education must be on record with the Board.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 6.3 Credit for CEIT/MC/MM/ME Hours

Credit is given for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in the following CATEGORIES, providing all

A

requirements set forth by the Board have been met and pre-approved:

Category One: Organized course work or activities in cosmetology or cosmetology
related subject matter. Included are seminars, short courses, workshops, and on-line
continuing education, as well as technical sessions of MSBC meetings or conferences.

1.

Credit accrues at the rate of one hour for each hour of contact, rounded off to the
nearest quarter hours.

a. An individual must actually be in attendance for each contact hour
claimed. No credit is given for missed sessions, social hours, breaks and
related activities, or business meetings.

In order for an activity to be approved for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in this
category, the following criteria must be met:
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The activity must have significant intellectual or practical content and its
primary objective must be to increase the participant’s professional
competency as an instructor, master cosmetologist, master manicurist, or
master esthetician.

The activity must be offered by a provider having substantial, recent
experience in offering CEIT/MC/MM/ME courses. Demonstrated ability
arising partly from the extent to which individuals with training or
educational experience are involved in the planning, instruction, and
supervision of the activity.

1) The following providers are recognized by the board as having met
the criteria set forth above:

@) Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology

(b) Mississippi Cosmetology School Association
(©) School Owners and Teachers Association

(d) Mississippi Cosmetology Association

(e) Mississippi Independent Beauticians Association

()] Mississippi State Department of Education, T & T Division

(9) Out of State Continuing education certified by that state’s
board, commission, or department of registration &
licensure.

2) Other providers may be approved as their identities and programs
are confirmed by the Board.

3) The Board may, at any time, re-evaluate a program and revoke
approval of the provider.

The activity itself must be conducted by an individual or group qualified
by practical or academic experience. The program, including the named
advertised participant, must be conducted

substantially, as planned, subject to emergency withdrawals and
alterations.

Thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared written materials
must be made available to all participants at or before the time the course is
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presented, unless the absence of such materials is recognized as reasonable
and approved by the board; mere outline without citations or explanatory
notations are not sufficient.

The activity must be conducted in a physical setting conducive to learning.

At a minimum, the activity must consist of not less than four (4) hours of
actual instruction.

Activities that cross academic lines, such as a financial aid seminar, may
be considered for approval.

The activity must deal primarily with matters related to the enhancement of the
participants knowledge (MC/MM/ME) or to the teaching of cosmetology,
manicuring, esthetics, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of master
cosmetologists, master manicurists, master estheticians or instructors, or any
related field of expertise.

Any provider or licensee desiring approval of a course, program, or other activity,
must apply to the board on a form approved by the board by submitting all
supporting documentation no less than sixty (60) days prior to the date for which
the course or program is scheduled.

a.

The board will advise the applicant in writing within thirty (30) days of the
receipt of the completed application whether the activity is approved or
disapproved. Applicants denied approval of a program or activity may
appeal such decision by submitting a letter of appeal to the board within
fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the notice of the approval or disapproval.

The provider of an approved CEIT/MC/MM/ME activity may advertise in
informational brochures and programs provided by the provider, as
follows:

“This course has been approved by the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology for a maximum of hours credit in
continuing education for instructor or master cosmetologist.”

The Board approves only those activities in which the board or its
employees can verify that the subjects being presented conform to the
board’s policies. The board has the right to freely enter and observe all or
appropriate portions of such activities.

The board may at any time re-evaluate and revoke approval of a particular
activity.
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Category Two: Successful completion of organized course work or activities which
bestow college credit not specifically cosmetology or cosmetology related, but which are
professionally enriching or directly benefitting the individual in his/her present position.

Credit accrues at the rate of twelve (12) CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours for each three
(3) semester hours.

Category Three: Holding an elected or appointed office or active committee assignment
in the MSBC or allied professional organizations.

1. Credit accrues at the rate of:
a. Five (5) hours per year for holding office or chairing an assignment.
b. Two (2) hours per year for active committee membership.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 6.4 Documentation of Continuing Education Hours

A

Instructors: On or before the renewal of a license after the close of the most current
biennial period, an instructor should submit documentation of any CEIT hours earned in
any category other than categories One or Two. The documentation must be applicable
proof of participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed. The
documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, must verify
completion of the required twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education, in order to
renew a license in an active status.

Master Cosmetologist/Master Manicurist/Master Esthetician:

1. In order to have the designation of a master cosmetologist/master
manicurist/master esthetician printed on the license, an applicant must submit
documentation of any continuing education hours earned in any category other
than categories One and Two. The documentation must be applicable proof of
participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed. The
documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, must
verify completion of the required eight (8) hours of continuing education.

2. In order to renew a license as a master cosmetologist, mater manicurist or master
esthetician an applicant must submit documentation of any continuing education
hours earned in any category other than categories One or Two. The
documentation must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any
category in which credit is claimed. The documentation, combined with hours
earned in Categories One and Two, must verify completion of the required eight
(8) hours of continuing education.
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C. The Board reserves the right to require additional documentation and proof for reported
activities. When asked for additional documentation, the burden of furnishing proof of
compliance rests with the licensee.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Part 2101 Chapter 7:  Sanitation

Rule 7.1 Enforcement

A. The holder or holders of an establishment license, or the person in charge of any such
establishment is liable for the implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions
of the establishment.

B. Any student, licensed practitioner, or licensed instructor is held individually liable for the
implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions of his/her station and
equipment.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.2 Posting Sanitation Rules

A copy of the Rules and Regulations governing sanitation must be posted in a place conspicuous
to the public.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.3 Interior

A. Each establishment must be kept clean and in good condition.

B. Floors in any area where services are performed must be covered with a non- porous
material.

C. All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid construction with lids, so

constructed that it may be thoroughly cleaned and must be maintained in a clean
condition. Waste and refuse must be removed from the premises as frequently as
necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness.

D. Hair and nail clippings must be removed from the floor and surface areas following each
client.
E. Animals are not permitted in an establishment. Exception is a registered service animal.

F. Water Supply
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Each establishment must be provided with an adequate supply of potable running
water, under pressure, from an approved source. The potable water system must
be installed to preclude the possibility of backflow, with no cross connections
through which the portable water might become contaminated.

Adequate hot and cold water under pressure must be provided in all work booths
or work rooms.

Adequate drinking facilities must be conveniently provided in each establishment.

All drinking fountains must be maintained in a sanitary manner and the stream of
water from the fountain head must be properly regulated.

The use of a common cup, glass or other receptacle for drinking purposes is
expressly prohibited.

Restroom Facilities

1.

Every establishment must be provided with adequate and conveniently located
restroom facilities.

At least two restroom facilities must be provided in each school for the students,
faculty, staff, and patrons. At least one restroom facility should be provided for
employees and patrons in other establishments.

All restrooms must be kept clean and in good condition.
All restrooms must be well lighted and ventilated to the outside air.

Home salons shall only have restroom facilities within the confines of the salon
business.

All establishments located on a street or alley where a system of sanitary sewers is
available must have a properly constructed sewer connection to the sewer system
into which human excreta and other liquid waste is disposed. Where no sanitary
sewer system is available, all human excreta and other liquid waste must be
disposed of in a sewage disposal system meeting all the requirements of the
Mississippi State Department of Health and/or the Mississippi Department of
Natural Resources.

Adequate and convenient hand-washing facilities, including lavatory, hot and cold
running water under pressure, an adequately supplied soap dispenser, and
disposable towels must be provided in or adjacent to every restroom.

Waste and Refuse: All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid
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construction with lids and must be removed from the premises as frequently as
necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.4 Personal Sanitation

A.

Hand Washing Practices: Every practitioner and student in an establishment must
thoroughly wash and scrub his or her hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser before
starting work, before each client, or after using the toilet.

1.

In the service of manicuring, both the client and the licensed individual must wash
their hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser or wipe with alcohol/antibacterial
hand sanitizer prior to the service.

Prior to a pedicure, the client’s feet must be cleansed with an antibacterial skin
cleanser.

Infectious Disease

1.

Persons with a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is medically
recognized to be transmittable by the type of contact that practitioners have with
clients are not to be permitted to practice in an establishment until their condition
is no longer communicable under those circumstances.

Likewise, clients who have a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is
transmittable to other clients or to a practitioner through the type of contact the
client would have with the practitioner, or other clients, should not be
accommodated in an establishment.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.5 Chairs, Shampoo Boards and Bowls

A

B.

The head-rest chair must be provided with a clean towel or paper sheet for each patron.

Shampoo bowls must be cleaned with soap and water or other detergent after each
shampoo, kept in good condition and in a sanitary condition at all times.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.6 Linens and Towels

A

B.

Only freshly laundered or new disposable linens or towels can be used on each client.

After linens and towels have been used, they must be deposited in a closed receptacle,
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and cannot be used again until properly laundered and sanitized.

Used linens and towels must be laundered either by regular commercial laundering or by a
non-commercial laundering process which includes the following treatment: Immersion in
water at 160° F. for not less than five minutes at some time during the wash or rinsing
operation. All linens are to be disinfected during the wash cycle using detergent.

All clean linens and towels are to be stored in a closed cabinet of solid construction.

A sanitary neck strip or towel must be used to keep all protective covering from coming in
direct contact with a patron.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.7 Bottles and Containers

A

All bottles and containers must be distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose their
contents. When not in use all bottles and containers must remain closed. All bottles
containing poisonous substances must be so designated and stored in a separate cabinet
away from cosmetics and other substances.

There shall be no more than two (2) gallons of acetone stored or in use in a salon or
school at any one time. Acetone shall be properly labeled and stored in a separate cabinet
from cosmetics, in accordance with manufacturer’s directions.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.8 Instruments and Supplies

A.

All instruments and supplies which have been used in direct contact upon a patron, or
which have become soiled in any manner whatever, must be removed from primary work
area, placed in a properly labeled receptacle provided for the purpose, and cannot be used
on another patron until they have been properly clean and sanitized.

All supplies such as cotton, ear pads, neck strips and protectors which cannot be sanitized
by one of the procedures covered by Rule 7.9 must be discarded immediately after use.

Carrying instruments in or on garments or uniforms is prohibited. No practitioner in an
establishment may carry any instruments or supplies in or on a garment or uniform.

Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment.

The use of credo blades is prohibited in any procedure or service. In addition, credo
blades are prohibited on the premises of any licensed establishment.

Electric nail file:
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1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any manicuring
procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are proficient
in the use of the instrument.

2. The electric file certification of proficiency must be posted at the practitioner’s
primary work area at all times.

3. Any instructor or student instructor’s teaching or planning to teach the use of the
electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved
certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of proficiency
must be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times.

5. Any electric file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be specifically
designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the instrument must
be able to provide that documentation upon demand.

Microdermabrasion

A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit the
exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment must be
approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class | device
intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must prominently display the
manufacturer’s a certificate of training proficiency for each type of equipment used, and
must comply with the manufacturer’s directions in the use of each product. The use of
FDA class 2 or class 3 devices is prohibited.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-21, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.9 Disinfecting Work Surfaces, Instruments, Materials and Supplies

A

B.

Work surfaces must be cleaned with a detergent and disinfected after each client.

All instruments, materials and supplies used in direct contact upon a patron, except those
which come in contact with blood or body fluids, require the following treatment:

1. Thorough cleansing of the instruments, materials and supplies with soap and water
or other detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to
remove all foreign material which might harbor bacteria.

2. Each establishment will have and use for disinfection at all times during business

hours, a Wet Disinfectant Container made of glass, stainless steel, or the type
recommended by the manufacturer of the product it contains.
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a. The disinfectant used must be an EPA registered, hospital grade,
bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant.

b. The solution will be mixed and used according to manufacturer’s
instructions for dilution and immersion time.

C. The container will be large enough for total immersion of the open
implement and will contain the appropriate amount of solution for the
number of items to be disinfected.

d. The container will have a cover in place at all times, labeled as to its
contents, and be easily accessible to all practitioners.

e. Implements are to be removed from the disinfectant in such a manner as
not to contaminate the disinfectant solution (using tongs, baskets, and
such), rinsed, and placed on a clean dry towel for air drying.

f. Ultraviolet ray cabinets may be used, but are not acceptable as approved
disinfecting devises. Glass bead sterilizers are not an acceptable
disinfectant.

g. The wet disinfectant must be discarded when it becomes contaminated.
3. Storage of Disinfected Implements:

Disinfected combs, brushes, instruments and accessories will be kept in a clean,
sanitized, closed receptacle or cabinet when not in use.

C. Body treatment, pedicure and manicure equipment that holds water shall be cleaned after
each client by scrubbing with surfactant soap and water to remove all visible residue, then
disinfected with an EPA registered bactericide, fungicide, and virucidal disinfectant with
surface contact according to manufacturer’s directions.

D. All tools and implements which have come in contact with blood or body fluids must be
disinfected in the manner stipulated in Rule 7.9.B., except that the
disinfectant must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, tuberculocidal that is mixed and
used according to the manufacturer’s direction. Disposable items must be discarded
immediately, following the Blood Spill Procedures as stipulated in Rule 7.13.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.10 Disinfecting Electric Clippers and Metal Instruments

Instruments which cannot be sanitized by the procedures set forth in Rule 7.9 will be disinfected
by:
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A Thorough cleansing of the working parts of the instruments with soap and water or other
detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to remove all
foreign material which might harbor bacteria.

B. Immersion of the working parts of the instruments in a solution of 70% alcohol for not
less than five minutes. Contact points of non-immersible equipment will be wiped or
sprayed with an EPA registered, hospital grade, bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal
disinfectant.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.11 Disinfecting Manicure Instruments While In Use on a Patron

A. A solution of 70% alcohol will be readily available during the manicure. The instruments
used on an individual patron will be placed in the alcohol solution when not actually being
employed during the process of giving a manicure.

B. After use on a patron, the entire set of instruments will be removed from the work station
and cannot be used again until disinfected in accordance with the procedures set forth in
Rule 7.10 or Rule 7.9 if instruments come in contact with blood or body fluids.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.12 Cleaning and Disinfecting Whirlpool Foot spas

A As used in this section, “whirlpool foot spa” or “spa” is defined as any basin using
circulating water.

B. Each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the following manner:
1. Before use upon each patron,
a. All water shall be drained and all debris shall be removed from the spa
basin.
b. The spa basin must be cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and water.

C. The spa basin must be disinfected with an EPA-registered disinfectant with
demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal activity which must be
used according to manufacturer’s instructions.

d. The spa basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.

2. At the end of each day,

a. The screen shall be removed, all debris trapped behind the screen shall be

100



removed, and the screen and the inlet shall be cleaned with a brush and
surfactant soap and water.

b. Before replacing the screen, one of the following procedures shall be
performed:

1) The screen shall be washed with a chlorine bleach solution of 1
teaspoon of 5% chlorine bleach to 1 gallon of water, or

2 The screen shall be totally immersed in an EPA-registered
disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and
virucidal activity which must be used according to the
manufacturer’s instructions.

C. The spa system shall be flushed with low sudsy soap and warm water for at
least 10 minutes, after which the spa shall be rinsed and drained.

3. Every other week (bi-weekly), after cleaning and disinfecting as provided in Rule
7.12(B)(2), each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the
following manner:

a. The spa basin shall be filled completely with water and 1 teaspoon of 5%
bleach for each 1 gallon of water.

b. The spa system shall be flushed with the bleach and water solution for 5 to
10 minutes and allowed to sit for 6 to 10 hours.

C. The spa system shall be drained and flushed with water before use upon a
patron.
4. A record shall be made of the date and time of each cleaning and disinfecting as

required by Rule 7.12, and will indicate whether the cleaning was a daily or bi-
weekly cleaning. This record shall be made at or near the time of cleaning and
disinfecting. Cleaning and disinfecting records shall be made available upon
request by either a patron or a Board representative.

5. A violation of this section may result in an administrative fine and/or disciplinary
action. Each foot spa not in compliance with this section may result in a separate
violation.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)
Rule 7.13 Blood Spill Procedures

A. Practitioner injury. While risk expected with these practices is minimal, practitioners are
cautioned to always use disposable plastic gloves prior to contacting blood or bodily fluids.
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If a practitioner sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must be
immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed:

1. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic and/or liquid styptic or
spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers,
brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the
wound. An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used.

2. Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.

3. Put on properly sized disposable plastic gloves.

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed of in a
sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double
bagged) and discarded.

5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated

implements as provided in Rule 7.9.

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water. Follow with
an antibacterial scrub on hands. Replace adhesive dressing or band aid as needed.
If the wound is on a hand, put on properly sized, disposable plastic glove on the
injured hand.

7. If necessary, clean client with soap and water.
8. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with a private physician.

Client injury: If a client sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must
be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed:

1. Put on properly sized, disposable plastic gloves.

2. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic and/or liquid styptic or
spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers,
brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the
wound. An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used.

3. If necessary, Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed of in a
sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double
bagged) and discarded.

5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated

implements as provided in Rule 7.9.
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6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water. Follow with
an antibacterial scrub on hands.

7. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with private physician.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.14 Health and Safety Issues

A

B.

Removal of moles or other blemishes is prohibited.

No practitioner or instructor will massage any person upon a surface of the skin or scalp
where such skin is inflamed or where a skin infection or eruption is present.

Hair removal by means of epilation and/or depilation shall not be performed on the legs
or feet before any pedicure service.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)

Rule 7.15 Creams, Lotions, Powder and Other Cosmetics

A

All creams, lotions, and other cosmetics used on patrons must be kept in clean and closed
containers, which must be labeled.

All powder used on patrons must be kept in a clean shaker or may be applied by means of
cotton or other sanitized applicator. Applicators must be sanitized after each patron.
Disposable applicators must be discarded immediately after use.

Creams and other semi-solid substances must be removed from the container with a
sanitized spatula or other article. The use of fingers for removing creams, etc., is
prohibited.

Lotions or liquids must be poured into a sanitized glass or other container and must be
applied to the patron by means of cotton or sanitized applicator. Any excess remaining
after application can neither be returned to the original container nor applied to another
patron, but must be discarded immediately.

Creams, lotions, powder and other cosmetics must be removed by means of cotton, gauze,
pledgets, soft absorbent paper, or other sanitized material.

Wax:

1. Wax can be used only once and discarded. It cannot be returned to the wax heater.
Applicators cannot be re-dipped.
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2. Paraffin wax used for services requires the following:

a. The skin must be thoroughly cleansed with an antibacterial skin cleanser.
b. The skin must be completely dried with a clean towel prior to immersion.
C. Wax must be discarded when cloudy or when it contains debris.
d. The product removed from the body must be discarded.

G. Cosmetic pencils must be sharpened after being used on a patron.

H. No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in any
manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly labeled, and
manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for review by
any agent of the Board of Cosmetology.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013)
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