
TITLE 30: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIO NS PART 3001: MISSISSIPPI PHARMACY 
PRACTICE REGULATIONS 

 
ARTICLE IV   LICENSE RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
Each pharmacist shall renew his/her license annually.   
 
1. To renew his/her license, a pharmacist shall: 

A. Submit an application for renewal on the form prescribed by the Board or through the  
 online process found at the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy webpage; 
B. On the application, indicate and certify the number of continuing education hours earned for   
 Licensure:   

i. One (1) continuing education units (10 hours) is required for each licensure 
period. 

ii. Each newly licensed pharmacist, effective May 1, 2013,  in the State of 
Mississippi be required to attend a Mississippi Association of Recovering 
Pharmacists(MARP) sponsored seminar consisting of a minimum of six (6) 
continuing education contact hours once during his/her first five (5) years of 
licensure.  This requirement will only apply to Mississippi licensed 
Pharmacists who actively engage in the practice of pharmacy in the State of 
Mississippi. 

iii. A pharmacist licensed by the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy must be a 
registered user of the Prescription Monitoring Program.  

C. Pay renewal fees as follows: 
One-hundred dollars ($100.00) for the annual licensure period January 1, 2011 
through December 31, 2011, and each annual licensure period thereafter, plus a 
surcharge of five dollars ($5.00) to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and 
pharmacy students for a total fee of one-hundred and five dollars ($105.00) . 

 D. Any pharmacist license renewal application postmarked after December   
  31 of the renewal period or submitted online after 11:59 P.M. CST shall be returned   
  or rejected and a fifty dollar ($50.00) late renewal fee shall be assessed prior to renewal. 

E. Any license not renewed by January 15th may be considered invalid and may be 
subject to disciplinary action by the Board. 

 
2. Any person who has not renewed or possessed a valid license to practice pharmacy in 

Mississippi for a current period of time exceeding two years must: 
A. Petition the Board for license reinstatement; 
B. Appear before the Board in support of said petition; 
C. Work as an intern for a Board approved pharmacist and site for twenty (20) clock 

hours for each year that the person was without a valid license; 
D. Provide a record from the supervising pharmacist showing the satisfactory completion 

of the intern hours; 
E. Provide proof of ten (10) hours of continuing education for the current licensing 

period; 
F. Pay all license renewal fees in arrears; and 
G. Satisfactorily pass an examination on Pharmacy Law and Board regulations approved 



by the board. 
 
 
3. Those persons who have been actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy pursuant to a 

license issued by another state, but who have not renewed the Mississippi Pharmacist 
License for a period of time exceeding two years must: 
A. Petition the Board for reinstatement; 
B. May appear before the Board in support of said petition, or furnish proof of a 

continuing valid pharmacy license in another state during the period of license lapse 
in Mississippi; 

C. Provide proof of ten (10) hours of continuing education for the current licensing 
period; and 

D. Pay all license renewal fees in arrears; and 
E. Satisfactorily pass an examination on Pharmacy Law and Board regulations approved 

by the Board. 
 

4. For purposes of these regulations, one (1) continuing education unit shall consist of ten (10) 
clock hours of study or other activity and shall include either of the following: 
A. Programs, which have been approved by the American Council on Pharmaceutical 

Education (A.C.P.E.); 
B. Programs, which have been approved by the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy prior to 

presentation. 
 
5. The continuing education required for license renewal shall be obtained in the licensure 

period preceding the renewal date.  Evidence of continuing education shall be submitted to 
the Board of Pharmacy on request by audit or at any time on request by any agent of the 
Board of Pharmacy.  Documentation of evidence of continuing education should indicate 
the name and address of the participant, date of the continuing education, the program title, 
the amount of continuing education credit received and the signature of the person 
authorized to issue certification of continuing education credit.  Documentation of 
continuing education credit must be received within five (5) working days of a request.  
Failure to submit evidence of continuing education credit will result in disciplinary action 
by the Board.  

 
6. Continuing education obtained in another state may be accepted by the Mississippi Board 

of Pharmacy provided that it is acceptable to the Board of Pharmacy in the state where it 
was obtained. 

 
7. A request for Pharmacy Board approval of a program as continuing education shall be 

made on a form prescribed by the Board. 
 
8. The subject matter of the program, the objectives of the program and the qualifying 

credentials of the person or persons presenting the program must be sufficiently detailed in 
the request for Board approval so as to give the Board a sound basis for evaluating the 
merits of the program.   

 



9. In approving programs for continuing education the policy of the Board shall be that no 
program will be approved: 
A. After the program has been presented; 
B. If program attendance is expected or required as part of a person's employment (an 

example would be an inservice or training seminar); 
C. That is not made available to all pharmacists who wish to attend (an exception may 

be a program that is specifically directed to a particular group such as hospital 
pharmacists, retail pharmacists or consultant pharmacists). 

 
10. Continuing education obtained by a pharmacist who is also licensed by another approved 

health care regulatory agency shall be acceptable to the Board provided the continuing 
education is approved by that respective regulatory agency.  A pharmacist enrolled full 
time in any recognized school of the healing arts may receive credit for the continuing 
education requirements of this ARTICLE upon submitting proof of full time enrollment. 

 
11.    The Board, at its discretion, may grant extension periods and waivers for the completion of 

license renewal and continuing education requirements for ACTIVE Military Service 
members.  
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ARTICLE V   ACTION AGAINST PHARMACIST LICENSE 
 
1. The Board of Pharmacy may refuse to issue or renew, or may suspend, summarily suspend, 

place on probation, revoke, reprimand or restrict the license of any pharmacist and/or 
impose a monetary penalty upon one or more of the following grounds: 
A. Violation of the rules and regulations of the Board of Pharmacy; 
B. Violation of any of the provisions of the Mississippi Pharmacy Practice Act or the 

Mississippi Uniform Controlled Substances Law; 
C. Violation of pharmacy or drug laws of any other state or the federal government or 

rules or regulations pertaining thereto; 
D. Fraud or intentional misrepresentation by a licensee in securing the issuance or 

renewal of a license or failing to report to the Board any adverse action taken by 
another licensing jurisdiction, government agency, law enforcement agency, or court 
that would constitute grounds for action; 

E. Aiding and abetting an individual to engage in the practice of pharmacy without a 
license; 

F. Addiction to or dependence on alcohol, controlled substances or other habit forming 
legend drugs or the unauthorized use, possession, or theft of controlled substances or 
other habit forming legend drugs; 

G. Unprofessional conduct.   Unprofessional conduct shall include, but is not limited to: 
(1)   Condoning or assisting in the dispensing, promotion or distribution of drugs: 

(a)Which do not meet the standards required by law; 
(b)Which the pharmacist knows, or should know, are not obtained for a 

legitimate medical need. 
(2)   Committing any fraudulent act including, but not limited to: 

(a)Destruction or alteration of any records such as prescriptions, profiles, 
purchase invoices, third-party vouchers and receipts required to be 
kept; 

(b)The placement of any advertisement which is false or misleading; 
(c)Filing a claim or assisting in the filing of a claim for reimbursement for 

drugs or professional services which were not provided or which were 
not authorized to be provided. 

(3) Dispensing, selling, bartering, receiving, or maintaining drugs which the 
pharmacist knows, or should know, have been stolen or diverted from the 
purpose for which they were distributed by a legitimate source; 

(4) Practicing in a location which is not properly permitted or registered by the 
Mississippi Board of Pharmacy; 

(5) Selling or bartering a prescription drug sample; 
(6) Receiving, dispensing, or maintaining a prescription drug sample unless the 

pharmacy is owned by a charitable organization and is not operated for profit 
and has prior approval in writing by the Board.  Institutional pharmacies may 
receive, dispense and maintain prescription drug samples that are provided 



by a practitioner and intended solely for administration to his/her patients 
confined to the institution provided no charge is made to the patient by the 
institution for the sample; 

(7) No pharmacist shall have possession of a prescription drug sample unless 
such sample is for treatment of a diagnosed personal medical condition; 

(8) Denying a patient freedom of choice in selecting who will fill their 
prescription needs; 

(9) Willfully and knowingly failing to maintain complete and accurate records of 
all prescription drugs received, disposed of or dispensed at a permitted 
facility. 

(10) Failure to report fraudulent prescription activity to the appropriate 
authorities.  

 
H. Physical or mental incapacity that prevents a pharmacist from practicing pharmacy 

with reasonable skill and safety to the public. 
I. Failure to comply with any lawful order of the Board. 
J. Being found guilty by the licensing agency in another state or violating the statutes, 

rules or regulations of that jurisdiction. 
K. Divulging or revealing patient confidential or protected health information to any 

person other than as authorized by Board regulations. 
L. Termination of employees suspected of theft of pharmaceuticals or merchandise 

without contacting the Board prior to termination. 
M. Failure to report directly to the Board, losses or suspected losses of controlled 

substances or prescription drugs. 
N. Theft from a permitted facility. 
O. Theft or embezzlement of prescription drugs, controlled substances or medical 

devices from a permitted facility. 
P. Jeopardizing, compromising, interfering or failing to cooperate with any lawful 

investigation conducted by the Board or any state or federal regulatory or law 
enforcement agency.   

 Q. Destruction, removal or tampering with any prescription drug, controlled substance,  
  or medical device placed under seal, embargoed, or quarantined by the Board or any  
  representative of the Board. 
 R. Knowing or suspecting that a Pharmacist or Pharmacy Intern is incapable of engaging 

in the Practice of Pharmacy or that a Pharmacy Technician is incapable of assisting in 
the Practice of Pharmacy, with safety to the public, is diverting or abusing controlled 
substances or prescription drugs and failing to report any relevant information to the 
Board of Pharmacy. 

 S. Failure to furnish to the Board, its investigators, or representatives any information  
  legally requested by the Board. 
 T. Failing to pay costs assessed in a disciplinary hearing.      
 U.     Failure of a pharmacist licensed by the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy to register as a 
  user of the Prescription Monitoring Program.  
 V. Failing to submit prescription monitoring information to the Prescription Monitoring 

Program within the time interval prescribed. 
 W. The unlawful disclosure of information from the Prescription Monitoring Program or 



using information obtained from the Prescription Monitoring Program for unlawful or 
unethical purposes.    

 X. Failure to produce continuing educations credits within required time period set forth 
in these regulations.  

 Y. The Board may issue a cease and desist order to prevent a person from engaging in   
  the practice of pharmacy which endangers the public. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


