Education and Publications | Home


Our Most Frequently Asked Questions: 
 

  1. Is there a cost for your publications?
  2. Can an organization get free items to give out at an upcoming event from your office?
  3. Can I receive a Mississippi flag from your office?
  4. Where do I send payment for publications, flags, or other requests?



Answers to our most Frequently Asked Questions:

1. Is there a cost for your publications?

Answer:
That depends upon the publication requested. For certified copies of Mississippi Code, there is a charge per page and per certification; one Judiciary Directory is sent to each member of the Mississippi Bar Association free of charge, and each single copy is $5; House and Senate Journals, copies of General and Local and Private Laws, and Southern Reporters are chargeable for the amount it costs to publish such documents when they are available for printing; all other publications including the Blue Book, the State and Local Officials Directory, and Magnolia Booklet are available free of charge unless they are ordered in mass quantity, when shipping costs may be applied.

Back to top

2. Can an organization get free items to give out at an upcoming event from your office?

Answer:
No, the Secretary of State’s Office has free promotional material to hand out at government functions and events that directly relate to the duties of the Secretary of State. We are not able to donate mass materials for family reunions, job fairs, or benefits.

Back to top

3. Can I receive a Mississippi flag from your office?

Answer:
Each flag is $20 and comes with the option to have it flown over the Capitol in honor or in memory of a person, organization, group, etc. The fee includes a certificate of authentication with the date of its flight and in whose honor or memory it was flown. These requests take time to process and require ample notification, particularly when requesting that flags be flown on a specific date. Payment for the flag must be received by the Secretary of State’s Office prior to processing and filling the request.

Back to top

4. Where do I send payment for publications, flags, or other requests?

Answer:
A check or money order must be sent to and received by the Division of Finance within the Secretary of State’s Office for the total amount for the request. After it has been received, Education and Publications is notified and the request is filled and made available for pickup or to be mailed to the intended recipient. To make a payment, please address as follows and describe the item being purchased. Attn: Finance Division, P.O. Box 136, Jackson, MS 39205-0136.

Back to top


column