News | Press Releases

CONTACT: Pamela Weaver, (601) 270-4100

Hosemann named Honorary Chairman, MS Heritage Trust

Jackson, Miss.-Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann has been named the Honorary Chair of the Mississippi Heritage Trust, 10 Most Endangered Historic Places in Mississippi program for 2013-2014.

"I am committed to preserving the heritage and culture of all Mississippi," says Secretary Hosemann.  "As State Land Commissioner, our Agency works tirelessly to preserve our State lands and protect our natural resources.  As Honorary Chairman of this initiative, I look forward to protecting Mississippi's cultural resources as well."

The list of the 10 Most Endangered Historic Places in Mississippi for 2013-2014 will be unveiled at an event on Thursday, November 14th at Cedars in Jackson, Miss.

"The Mississippi Heritage Trust is so pleased Secretary of State Hosemann has agreed to serve as honorary chair for the 10 Most Endangered Historic Places in Mississippi program. Secretary Hosemann's demonstrated commitment to historic preservation is an inspiration to people and communities around the state that are working so hard to save the places that matter," adds Lolly Barnes, Executive Director of the Mississippi Heritage Trust.

The Mississippi Heritage Trust (MHT) was established in 1992 as the only statewide non-profit preservation organization in Mississippi to serve as a unified voice for preservation in the state.  MHT is a statewide organization dedicated to the preservation of the prehistoric and historic cultural resources of Mississippi. MHT fulfills its mission through education, advocacy, and active preservation using a range of programs and activities that reach communities throughout the state.  As a non-profit, membership-based organization, MHT is supported mainly by private resources including memberships, gifts, grants, and special events.