Rule 8.4 NON-RESIDENT HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSE & FEE PROGRAM.

A. Non-Resident required to Possess License

- 1. Effective July 1, 1994, fishing and hunting licenses are required of all non-residents fishing in the fresh or marine waters or hunting in the State of Mississippi, except minors who have not reached the age of sixteen (16) years.
- 2. Non-Resident Defined. Any person not entitled to receive a resident fishing license under the provisions of MISS. CODE ANN. §49-7-3, shall be considered a non-resident for purposes of obtaining a fishing license.
- 3. Any person not entitled to receive a resident hunting license under the provisions of MISS. CODE ANN. §49-7-3, shall be considered a non-resident for purposes of obtaining a hunting license.
- 4. A child at least twelve (12) years of age and under sixteen (16) years of age may hunt without having a required certificate of hunter education, if the child is in the presence and under the direction supervision of a licensed or exempt hunter, who is at least twenty-one (21) years of age, when hunting.

B. Agent's Issuance Fee:

The agent's issuing fee for non-resident license shall be:

- 1. \$3.00 fee for each license (except the 3-day fishing license);
- 2. \$2.00 fee for each 3-day fishing license;
- 3. \$1.00 fee for each 1-day freshwater fishing license;
- 4. \$1.00 fee for each state waterfowl stamp;
- 5. \$1.00 fee for each fall turkey permit; and
- 6. \$1.00 fee for each shooting preserve license
- C. Expiration Date: All annual licenses shall be valid for one (1) calendar year from the date of purchase/issuance.
- D. Replacement Policy: Licenses, permits and waterfowl stamps will be replaced at a charge of \$5.00 each when lost or destroyed. The licensee can purchase a duplicate license from any location that sells hunting/fishing licenses.

E. Policy on Shooting Preserves:

- 1. Non-residents hunting on shooting preserves shall be required to possess either a regular non-resident hunting license or special non-resident shooting preserve license as prescribed in this rule. The shooting preserve license is good for the entire shooting preserve season on any such property in the state, for the taking of legal shooting preserve game only.
- 2. In accordance with MISS. CODE ANN. §49-11-21, non-residents hunting wild game found on shooting preserves shall be required to possess a regular non-resident hunting license in addition to the shooting preserve license prescribed in this rule.

F. License Types and prices for Non-Residents:

1. Fishing:

- a. Annual Fishing (Freshwater) Required for fishing in the freshwaters of Mississippi: \$50.00
- b. 3-Day Fishing (Freshwater) Required for fishing in the freshwaters of Mississippi for three (3) consecutive calendar days (not a 72-hour period): \$15.00
- c. 1-Day Fishing (Freshwater) Required for fishing in the freshwaters of Mississippi for one (1) calendar day: \$8.00

2. Hunting:

- a. All Game Hunting Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting during special archery or primitive weapon seasons will be required to purchase an archery/primitive weapon permit in addition to this license. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license: \$300.00
- b. All Game Hunting (Ages 16, 17, and 18) Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting during special archery or primitive weapon seasons will be required to purchase an archery/primitive weapon permit in addition to this license. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license. Available to any non-resident who has not yet reached the age of 19 years: \$110.00
- c. 3-Day All Game Hunting Archery I Primitive Weapon Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. This license includes all game and archery/primitive weapon hunting. Hunter hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring

turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license. This license is valid for three (3) consecutive calendar days (not a 72-hour time period): \$125.00

- d. 7-Day All Game Hunting Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting during special archery or primitive weapon seasons will be required to purchase an archery/primitive weapon permit in addition to this license. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license. This license is valid for seven (7) consecutive calendar days (not a 168 hour time period): \$125.00
- e. 7-Day All Game Hunting (Ages 16, 17, and 18) Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting during special archery or primitive weapon seasons will be required to purchase an archery/primitive weapon permit in addition to this license. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license. This license is valid for seven (7) consecutive calendar days (not a 168-hourtime period). Available to any non-resident who has not yet reached the age of 19 years: \$60.00
- f. Archery / Primitive Weapon Permit Required for hunting deer during special archery/primitive weapon seasons. This license must be purchased in addition to an all-game hunting or 7-day all-game hunting license: \$75.00
- g. Deer Permit Required for hunting deer during all deer seasons. This license must be purchased in addition to an any all game, 7-day all game, or 3-day all game hunting license: \$5.00
- h. Spring Turkey Permit Required for hunting turkey during spring turkey season. This license must be purchased in addition to an any all game, 7-day all game, or 3-day all game hunting license: \$20.00
- i. Fall Turkey Permit Required for hunting turkey during fall either-sex seasons. This license must be purchased in addition to an any all game, 7-day all game, or 3-day all game hunting license: \$20.00
- j. Small Game Hunting Required for hunting all game and fowl, excluding deer and turkey, in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license: \$75.00
- k. 7-Day Small Game Hunting Required for hunting all game and fowl, excluding deer and turkey, in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be

required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. This license is valid for 5 consecutive calendars days (not a 168-hour period): \$30.00

- 1. Special 7-Day Combination Hunting/Fishing Special license valid only for nonresidents who are in the state on official business or attending an official convention sanctioned by the Department, wherein the state would benefit from the issuance of the license. Valid for hunting all game and fowl, including deer and turkey, for fishing in any county in the state, and for hunting using primitive weapons and bow and arrow, as provided by law. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. This license is valid for 7 consecutive calendar days (not a 168 hour time period). This special license is issued only by the Executive Director or his designee. The Executive Director shall keep a permanent record of each license issued including the name and address of the person receiving the license and the reason the license was issued: \$32.00
- m. State Waterfowl Stamp It is unlawful for any person sixteen (16) years of age or older to hunt or take any migratory waterfowl within this state without first procuring a state migratory waterfowl stamp or its electronic equivalent and having the stamp or proof of purchase of the electronic equivalent in his possession while hunting or taking any migratory waterfowl. Each stamp shall be validated by the signature of the licensee written across the face of the stamp or the proof of purchase of the electronic equivalent. \$15.00

3. Miscellaneous:

- a. Commercial Fishing (Freshwater) Required for fishing for commercial purposes and selling or peddling fish at retail or selling or shipping same at wholesale, as to markets, dealers, or canning plants within the State of Mississippi. Each piece of equipment must be tagged. This license is also required of any non-resident who brings fish into the state from the outside of the state for the purpose of resale to a wholesale or retail dealer or to the consumer. This license is also required of any non-resident engaged in the business of selling minnows for resale for bait purpose: \$200.00/License
- b. Trapper Required of all non-resident trappers or their assistants/helpers who are sixteen (16) years or older for trapping in the State of Mississippi. Non-resident trappers are subject to the statutes and regulations applicable to Mississippi resident trappers: \$205.00
- c. Fur Dealer Required of all non-residents regardless of age, who buy furbearing animals from trappers and hunters. Such license shall be valid one (1) year from date of issuance, unless suspended or revoked. Non-resident fur dealers are subject to the statutes and regulations applicable to Mississippi resident fur dealers: \$205.00
- d. Shooting Preserve Required for hunting on shooting preserves in lieu of regular non-resident hunting license. Shooting preserve license is valid for entire shooting preserve season, for the taking of legal shooting preserve game only. NOTE: In accordance with Section 49-11-21, Mississippi Code of 1972, non-residents hunting wild game found on shooting

preserves shall be required to possess a regular non-resident hunting license in addition to the shooting preserve license prescribed in this public notice: \$13.00

History: Revised March 2014.

Source: MISS. CODE ANN., §§ 49-1-29, 49-4-4, and 49-7-8.

Rule 8.4 NON-RESIDENT HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSE & FEE PROGRAM.

A. Non-Resident required to Possess License

- 1. Effective July 1, 1994, <u>fishing and hunting</u> licenses <u>will be are</u> required of all non-residents fishing in the fresh or marine waters or hunting in the State of Mississippi, except minors who have not reached the age of sixteen (16) years.
- 2. Non-Resident Defined. Any person not entitled to receive a resident fishing license under the provisions of Section MISS. CODE ANN. §49-7-3, Mississippi Code of 1972, shall be considered a non-resident for purposes of obtaining a fishing license.
- 3. Any person not entitled to receive a resident hunting license under the provisions of Section MISS. CODE ANN. §49-7-3, Mississippi Code of 1972, shall be considered a non-resident for purposes of obtaining a hunting license.
- 4. No non-resident twelve (12) to fifteen (15) years of age, nor any non-resident born on or after January 1, 1972, may hunt, kill, take, chase or trap any wild animal or bird without having acquired and having in his/her possession, proof of satisfactory completion of an approved hunter education course. A child at least twelve (12) years of age and under sixteen (16) years of age may hunt without having a required certificate of hunter education, if the child is in the presence and under the direction supervision of a licensed or exempt hunter, who is at least twenty-one (21) years of age, when hunting.

B. Agent's Issuance Fee:

The agent's issuing fee for non-resident license shall be:

- 1. \$3.00 fee for each license (except the 3-day fishing license);
- 2. \$2.00 fee for each 3-day fishing license;
- 3. \$1.00 fee for each 1-day freshwater fishing license;
- 4. \$1.00 fee for each state waterfowl stamp;
- 5. \$1.00 fee for each fall turkey permit; and
- 6. No Fee for trapping, fur dealer, and shooting preserve license

\$1.00 fee for each shooting preserve license

- C. Expiration Date: All licenses shall be good from the date of issuance through June 30 following such issuance with the exception of 3 and 7 day license and the non resident fur dealer's license. The non resident fur dealer's license will expire one year from date of issuance. All annual licenses shall be valid for one (1) calendar year from the date of purchase/issuance.
- D. Replacement Policy: License and waterfowl stamps, with the exception of all 3 and 7 day licenses, will be replaced at a charge of \$5.00 each when lost or destroyed. The licensee must submit an application for duplicate license as supplied by the Department, along with a eashier's check or money order in the amount of \$5.00 for each duplicate license and/or stamp. Licenses, permits and waterfowl stamps will be replaced at a charge of \$5.00 each when lost or destroyed. The licensee can purchase a duplicate license from any location that sells hunting/fishing licenses.

E. Policy on Shooting Preserves:

- 1. Non-residents hunting on shooting preserves shall be required to possess either a regular non-resident hunting license or special non-resident shooting preserve license as prescribed in this <u>public notice</u> <u>rule</u>. The shooting preserve license is good for the entire shooting preserve season on any such property in the state, for the taking of legal shooting preserve game only.
- 2. In accordance with <u>Section MISS. CODE ANN. §</u>49-11-21, <u>Mississippi Code of 1972</u>, non-residents hunting wild game found on shooting preserves shall be required to possess a regular non-resident hunting license in addition to the shooting preserve license prescribed in this <u>public notice rule</u>.

F. License Types and prices for Non-Residents:

1. Fishing:

- a. Annual Fishing (Freshwater) Required for fishing in the freshwaters of Mississippi: \$50.00
- b. 3-Day Fishing (Freshwater) Required for fishing in the freshwaters of Mississippi for three (3) consecutive calendar days (not a 72-hour period): \$15.00
- c. 1-Day Fishing (Freshwater) Required for fishing in the freshwaters of Mississippi for one (1) calendar day: \$8.00

2. Hunting:

a. All Game Hunting - Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting during special archery or primitive weapon seasons will be required to purchase an archery/primitive weapon permit in addition to this

license. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license: \$300.00

- b. All Game Hunting (Ages 16, 17, and 18) Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting during special archery or primitive weapon seasons will be required to purchase an archery/primitive weapon permit in addition to this license. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license. Available to any non-resident who has not yet reached the age of 19 years: \$110.00
- c. 3-Day All Game Hunting Archery I Primitive Weapon Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. This license includes all game and archery/primitive weapon hunting. Hunter hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license. This license is valid for three (3) consecutive calendar days (not a 72-hour time period): \$125.00
- d. 7-Day All Game Hunting Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting during special archery or primitive weapon seasons will be required to purchase an archery/primitive weapon permit in addition to this license. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license. This license is valid for seven (7) consecutive calendar days (not a 168 hour time period): \$125.00
- e. 7-Day All Game Hunting (Ages 16, 17, and 18) Required for hunting all game and fowl in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting during special archery or primitive weapon seasons will be required to purchase an archery/primitive weapon permit in addition to this license. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. Hunters hunting deer, fall turkeys, and spring turkeys will be required to purchase a deer permit, fall turkey permit, and/or spring turkey permit, respectively, in addition to this license. This license is valid for seven (7) consecutive calendar days (not a 168-hourtime period). Available to any non-resident who has not yet reached the age of 19 years: \$60.00
- f. Archery / Primitive Weapon Permit Required for hunting deer during special archery/primitive weapon seasons. This license must be purchased in addition to an all-game hunting or 7-day all-game hunting license: \$75.00

- g. General Crossbow Permit Required for hunting deer with a crossbow during primitive weapon and gun deer seasons. This license must be purchased in addition to an all game hunting or 7 day all game hunting license: \$20.00
- h g. Deer Permit Required for hunting deer during all deer seasons. This license must be purchased in addition to an any all game, 7-day all game, or 3-day all game hunting license: \$5.00
- i <u>h.</u> Spring Turkey Permit Required for hunting turkey during spring turkey season. This license must be purchased in addition to an any all game, 7-day all game, or 3-day all game hunting license: \$20.00
- j <u>i.</u> Fall Turkey Permit Required for hunting turkey during fall either-sex seasons. This license must be purchased in addition to an any all game, 7-day all game, or 3-day all game hunting license: \$20.00
- **k** j. Small Game Hunting Required for hunting all game and fowl, excluding deer and turkey, in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license: \$75.00
- $1 \underline{k}$. 7-Day Small Game Hunting Required for hunting all game and fowl, excluding deer and turkey, in Mississippi as provided by law. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. This license is valid for 5 consecutive calendars days (not a 168-hour period): \$30.00
- m l. Special 7-Day Combination Hunting/Fishing Special license valid only for nonresidents who are in the state on official business or attending an official convention sanctioned by the Department, wherein the state would benefit from the issuance of the license. Valid for hunting all game and fowl, including deer and turkey, for fishing in any county in the state, and for hunting using primitive weapons and bow and arrow, as provided by law. Hunters hunting waterfowl will be required to purchase both a state and a federal waterfowl stamp in addition to this license. This license is valid for 7 consecutive calendar days (not a 168 hour time period). This special license is issued only by the Executive Director or his designee. The Executive Director shall keep a permanent record of each license issued including the name and address of the person receiving the license and the reason the license was issued: \$32.00
- ${\bf n}$ <u>m</u>. State Waterfowl Stamp It is unlawful for any person sixteen (16) years of age or older to hunt or take any migratory waterfowl within this state without first procuring a state migratory waterfowl stamp or its electronic equivalent and having the stamp or proof of purchase of the electronic equivalent in his possession while hunting or taking any migratory waterfowl. Each stamp shall be validated by the signature of the licensee written across the face of the stamp or the proof of purchase of the electronic equivalent. \$15.00

3. Miscellaneous:

- a. Commercial Fishing (Freshwater) Required for fishing for commercial purposes and selling or peddling fish at retail or selling or shipping same at wholesale, as to markets, dealers, or canning plants within the State of Mississippi. Each piece of equipment must be tagged. This license is also required of any non-resident who brings fish into the state from the outside of the state for the purpose of resale to a wholesale or retail dealer or to the consumer. This license is also required of any non-resident engaged in the business of selling minnows for resale for bait purpose: \$200.00/License \$3.00/per tag
- b. Trapper Required of all non-resident trappers or their assistants/helpers who are sixteen (16) years or older for trapping in the State of Mississippi. Non-resident trappers are subject to the statutes and regulations applicable to Mississippi resident trappers: \$205.00
- c. Fur Dealer Required of all non-residents regardless of age, who buy furbearing animals from trappers and hunters. Such license shall be valid one (1) year from date of issuance, unless suspended or revoked. Non-resident fur dealers are subject to the statutes and regulations applicable to Mississippi resident fur dealers: \$205.00
- d. Shooting Preserve Required for hunting on shooting preserves in lieu of regular non-resident hunting license. Shooting preserve license is valid for entire shooting preserve season, for the taking of legal shooting preserve game only. NOTE: In accordance with Section 49-11-21, Mississippi Code of 1972, non-residents hunting wild game found on shooting preserves shall be required to possess a regular non-resident hunting license in addition to the shooting preserve license prescribed in this public notice: \$13.00

History: Revised June 2013 March 2014.

Source: Miss. Code Ann., §§ 49-1-29, 49-4-4, and 49-7-8.