Licensure Guidelines K-12



Office of Educator Licensure Mississippi Department of Education 359 North West Street Jackson, Mississippi 39201

Dr. Carey Wright, Ed.D., State Superintendent of Education

October 2015

INTRODUCTION

The Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development was created under the Mississippi Education Reform Act of 1982 and is charged with the responsibility of making recommendations to the State Board of Education regarding standards for the preparation, licensure, and continuing professional development of those who teach or perform tasks of an educational nature in the public schools of the State of Mississippi Laws 1997, Ch. 545, the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development and the State Board of Education have approved guidelines for licensure.

This manual contains information necessary to understand the licensure processes, levels of licensure, and routes to licensure. Proper use of this manual should provide answers to most, if not all, general and specific questions relating to licensure in the State of Mississippi.

NOTE: The full document may be accessed and downloaded through the Internet at the following address: http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure

Office of Educator Licensure

Driving Instructions: Take the High St. exit off I-55. Go to Lamar St. (eighth red light). Turn left onto Lamar St. and go to Griffith St. (second red light). Central High School is located on the corner. The office is on second floor in Suite 201.

Office Hours: 8:00 to 5:00 Monday through Friday.

Phone: 601-359-3483 **Fax:** 601-359-2778

Web:www.mde.k12.ms.usEmail:teachersupport@mde.k12.ms.usMail:Office of Educator LicensureP. O. Box 771Jackson, MS 39205-0771

TABLE OF CONTENTS

General Guidelines for Licensure	5
Application Process / Mississippi Licenses	9
One Year Teacher Intern License	11
Traditional Teacher Education Route Licenses	12
Administrator Licenses	
Non-Practicing	16
Entry Level	17
Career Level	18
Alternate Route	19
Athletic Administrator	23
Alternate Route Licenses	
MS Alternate Path to Quality Teachers	24
Teach MS Institute	25
Master of Arts in Teaching	
American Board Certification	27
Five Year Alternate Route	28
Reciprocity Licenses	
Two Year License	28
Five Year License	29
Licenses by District Request Only	
JROTC	33
One Year Certification for Veteran Teachers Teaching Out-of-Field	34
Specific Five Year Educator License	
Audiologist	51
Child Development	33
Guidance and Counseling	
Library Media	36
Performing Arts	
Psychometrist	39
School Psychologist	40
Speech/Language Clinician	41
Speech/Language Therapist	
Business Administrator	43
Special Education Licenses	
Birth-Kindergarten	45
Mild-Moderate K-12	47
Emotional Disability	49
Dyslexia Therapy	50
Early Oral Intervention	52
Vocational Career Technical Educator Licenses	
Vocational Non-Education Degree (Associate Degree) (3 year)	53
Vocational Non-Education Degree (Bachelor Degree) (3 year)	54
Vocational Educator License Non-Degree or Non-Education Degree (5year	56
Reinstatement of Expired Licenses	58

Supple	Supplemental Endorsements to Licenses		
Appen	dices		
A:	Supplemental Endorsement Codes	61	
B:	Praxis Examination Scores	66	
C:	Praxis CORE Scores and Praxis II PLT Scores	67	
D:	Educational Testing Service (ETS) Information	68	
E.	Mississippi Endorsement Codes	70	
F:	Mississippi Colleges and Universities	72	
G:	Guidelines for "Highly Qualified Status"	74	
H:	Alternate Route Programs	76	
I:	Glossary	82	

GENERAL GUIDELINES MISSISSIPPI EDUCATOR LICENSURE

Validity Periods

Licenses will be valid from the day the completed application packet is received and validated by the Office of Educator Licensure. All licenses expire on June 30th of the year of expiration. A five year license issued at any time during the school year shall be valid for five (5) school years including the school year in which it is granted. A school year is from July 1 to June 30.

• For example, a standard license issued January, 2014, (2013-2014 school year), would be valid from the date the completed packet is received until June 30, 2018. The remainder of the 2013-2014 school year is considered a full year.

Renewal of License

Only a five year, standard license is eligible for renewal. Current requirements for renewal of a five-year standard license for each class are as follows:

Class A:

Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

OR

Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

OR

Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area

OR

Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

Class AA, AAA or AAAA:

Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area

OR

Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

OR

Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

Standard Career Administrator:

Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits

OR

Six (6) hours of coursework

OR

35 SEMI credits AND 3 hours coursework

OR

Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership. When <u>all</u> requirements are completed, college transcripts and/or continuing education unit (CEU) certificates may be submitted for license renewal. The college credit courses may be completed on the undergraduate or graduate level with a grade of "C" or higher at regionally/nationally accredited senior colleges, universities, or community colleges. Official transcripts must be submitted in sealed envelope(s) or e-Scrip bearing the seal or signature of the registrar. <u>The license may be renewed for one five-year period beyond the present</u> <u>expiration date. Only credits earned from one expiration date to the next may be used for</u> <u>renewal</u>. Renewal requirements referencing content area courses refer to the area of endorsement (e.g., mathematics, science, special education, etc.). References to job/skill related area include pedagogy and skills for effective teaching and leadership (e.g., computer technology, cooperative learning, learning styles, methodology, etc.). <u>Only one renewal</u> <u>method may be utilized during a five-year period</u>. For a list of CEU providers, go to: <u>http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure/continuing-education-units-(ceus)</u>

The Mississippi Department of Education no longer approves programs for CEU credit. School districts, organizations, or individuals wishing to prepare and offer a program for CEU credit must submit an application to an accredited CEU granting agency. Any Continuing Education Office at a college, university, or community/junior college is an accredited CEU granting agency. Once programs are approved, they may be offered and certificates will be issued to successful participants by the approving agency. Ten contact hours of professional development is equal to one CEU credit. The Office of Educator Licensure does not accept CEU certificates for less than .5 CEU's or five contact hours. Official verification of CEU credit(s) must be submitted to document completion of CEU credit(s).

Through the Educator Licensure Management System (ELMS), educators currently employed by a Mississippi public school district can renew electronically online. CEU's, coursework or National Board used for renewal can be verified by the district administrator. For instructions on this process, go to: <u>http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure</u>

SPECIAL NOTE

A grade of "C" or higher must be obtained on <u>all</u> coursework taken for renewal of license, reinstatement of license or the adding of supplemental endorsements. This includes all coursework outlined on planned programs required to convert a special license to a standard license.

Acceptable Degrees or Coursework for Licensure

The Office of Educator Licensure accepts degrees or coursework from any nationally or regionally accredited institution. Accreditation can be checked from the United States Department of Education website (http://www.ope.ed.gov/accreditation/) or the Council on Higher Education Accreditation website (http://www.chea.org/search/default.asp). Section 37-3-2 of the Mississippi Code authorizes the Certification Commission and State Board of Education to approve all teacher preparation programs for any license in MS. The Commission does not approve programs completed in other states. If a Mississippi educator completes a degree program in another state with the intention of becoming certified, he/she must provide to the Office of Educator Licensure documentation that the out of state program is approved for licensure in that state. An "Institutional Program Verification" form can be accepted as documentation and can be found in the "Paper License Application" packet at (http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure/licensure-application-k12).

Name or Address Change

It is the responsibility of the educator to make name or address changes with the Office of Educator Licensure. To do so, the educator can log into the Educator Licensure Management System (ELMS) at: <u>https://sso.mde.ms.gov/Login/Login.aspx</u> and edit personal information as needed. Name or address changes can also be submitted in writing and mailed to the **Mississippi Department of Education; Office of Educator Licensure**; P.O. Box 771; Jackson, MS 39205. If a copy of the license with the new updated information is desired, the applicant must apply for a duplicate license following the process outlined below.

Duplicate License

An individual may request a duplicate copy of a license by applying online and paying with a debit or credit card or by submitting a completed Licensure Application and a \$5 money order (**Personal checks not accepted**) to the **Mississippi Department of Education; Office of Educator Licensure**; P.O. Box 771; Jackson, MS 39205. Download the <u>Licensure Application Packet</u> at: <u>http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure/licensure-application-k12</u> or file an online application through the Educator Licensure Management System (ELMS) at: <u>https://sso.mde.ms.gov/Login/Login.aspx</u>.

Use of Non-licensed Personnel – "The Expert Citizen License"

MS Code 37-3-2 (6)(e) allows for the utilization of local business or other professional personnel, a non-licensed person, to teach a maximum of three (3) periods per teaching day. The use of non-licensed personnel may be requested ONLY by the superintendent of a local school district. The applicant shall submit to the superintendent a transcript and/or other documents of education and related experience, which substantiate preparation for the subject to be taught. The superintendent shall submit a letter of justification with the supporting documents to the Office of Educator Licensure for consideration. (*Note: In no case, shall any local school board hire non-licensed personnel in excess of five percent of the total number of licensed personnel in any single school.*)

Denial, Revocation, or Suspension

According to MS Code 37-3-2 (11) an application for licensure may be **denied** for one or more of the following reasons:

• Lack of qualifications which are prescribed by law or regulations adopted by the State Board of Education;

• The applicant has a physical, emotional or mental disability that renders the applicant unfit to perform the duties authorized by the license, as certified by a licensed psychologist or psychiatrist;

• The applicant is actively addicted to or actively dependent on alcohol or other habitforming drugs or is a habitual user of narcotics, barbiturates, amphetamines, hallucinogens, or other drugs having similar effect, at the time of application for a license;

• Revocation of an applicant's certificate or license by another state;

• Fraud or deceit committed by the applicant in securing or attempting to secure such certification and license; Failing or refusing to furnish reasonable evidence of identification; The applicant has been convicted, has pled guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a felony, as defined by federal or state law;

• or The applicant has been convicted, has pled guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a sex offense as defined by federal or state law.

•

According to MS Code 37-3-2 (12), teachers' or administrators' licenses may be **suspended** or **revoked** for a specified period of time for one or more of the following reasons:

- Breach of contract or abandonment of employment may result in the suspension of the license for one (1) school year as provided in Section <u>37-9-57</u>;
- Obtaining a license by fraudulent means shall result in immediate suspension and continued suspension for one (1) year after correction is made;
- Suspension or revocation of a certificate or license by another state shall result in immediate suspension or revocation and shall continue until records in the prior state have been cleared;
- The license holder has been convicted, has pled guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a felony, as defined by federal or state law;
- The license holder has been convicted, has pled guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a sex offense, as defined by federal or state law; or
- The license holder knowingly and willfully committing any of the acts affecting validity of mandatory uniform test results as provided in Section <u>37-16-4</u> (1).
- The license holder has engaged in unethical conduct relating to an educator/student relationship as identified by the State Board of Education in its rules;
- The license holder has fondled a student as described in Section 97-5-23, had any type of sexual involvement with a student as described in Section 97-3-95;
- The license holder has failed to report sexual involvement of a school employee with a student as required by Section 97-5-24.

• Dismissal of a licensed employee by a local school board may result in suspension or revocation of a license for a length of time, which shall be determined by the Commission and based upon the severity of the offense. Any offense committed or attempted in any other state shall result in the same penalty as if committed or attempted in this state.

A person may voluntarily surrender a license. The surrender of such license may result in the Commission's recommendation of any of the above penalties without the necessity of a hearing. However, any such license, which has voluntarily been surrendered by a licensed employee may be reinstated by a unanimous vote of all members of the Commission.

Any person, whose license has been suspended on any grounds, may apply for reinstatement of the license after one (1) year from the date of suspension, or after one half (1/2) of the suspension time has lapsed, whichever is greater. A license revoked on criminal grounds may be reinstated upon petition to the Commission filed after expiration of the sentence, parole, or

probationary period imposed upon conviction, whichever is shorter. The Commission may require an applicant for reinstatement to furnish evidence satisfactory to the Commission of good character; good mental, emotional, and physical health; and such other evidence as the commission may deem necessary to establish the applicant's fitness to perform the duties authorized by the license.

Class Levels of Mississippi Licenses

Class A = Bachelor's level license Class AA = Master's degree level license Class AAA = Specialist degree level license Class AAAA = Doctorate degree level license

Note: To upgrade a standard license to a higher class level, the degree earned must be from a regionally or nationally accredited college or university. To verify an institution's accreditation, an educator can search the database found on the website for the Council of Higher Education Accreditation at: <u>http://www.chea.org/search/default.asp</u>.

APPLICATION PROCESS

- 1. Read <u>Licensure Instructions</u> and <u>Checklist</u> (located with the paper application) to locate the license for which you are applying.
- 2. Download a <u>Licensure Application Packet</u> or apply online at: <u>http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/OEL/LA</u>. (The Office of Educator Licensure cannot, by law, take action against any license without a license application request by the educator.)
- 3. All supporting documents are required in your license category to the Mississippi Department of Education, Office of Educator Licensure, P.O. Box 771, Jackson, MS 39205-0771 for a paper or an online application.

MISSISSIPPI LICENSES

Candidates for Mississippi educator or administrator license(s) may request one of the following Licenses (*see table of contents for page numbers*).

Teacher Education Route Licenses

One Year Teacher Intern License Five Year Educator License

Alternate Route Licenses

MS Alternate Path to Quality Educators/ *Three Year Alternate Route License* Teach MS Institute/*Three Year License* Masters of Arts in Teaching/*Three Year License* American Board Certification Five Year Alternate Route License

Special Subject Five Year Educator Licenses

Audiologist Business Administrator Child Development Dyslexia Therapy Early Oral Intervention Hearing Impaired B-K Emotional Disability Guidance and Counseling Library Media Performing Arts Psychometrist School Psychologist Speech/Language Clinician Speech/Language Therapist Special Education Birth-Kindergarten Special Education Mild/Moderate Disability K-12

Career Technical Educator Licenses

Career Technical Non-Education Degree (Associate's Degree)/*Three Year License* Career Technical Non-Education Degree (Bachelor's Degree)/*Three Year License* Career Technical Educator License Non-Degree or Non-Education Degree/*Five Year License*

Licenses by District Request Only

JROTC One-Year License for Veteran Teachers Expert Citizen

Reciprocity

Two Year License Five Year License

Administrator License

Non-practicing Entry Level Career Level Alternate Route Athletic Administrator

ONE YEAR TEACHER INTERN LICENSE

The non-renewable teacher intern license (101) is issued to a student of a nationally accredited teacher preparation program in MS and is NOT currently employed in a teaching position. This license is specific to those working to complete a teacher preparation degree program in MS.

License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Educator License
Class A	 Current enrollment in a traditional education degree program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning in MS Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent OR Passing Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination. No less than 2.75 GPA on pre- major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 	1 year	 An online recommendation from the teacher preparation program should be made upo completion of the degree and certification requirements. Bachelor's degree of higher in Teacher Education from a state approved or NCATE/CAEP approved program from a regionally/ nationally accredite institution of higher learning Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) in Degree program

*This license requires an online recommendation from the teacher preparation program. Once the online recommendation is made, the educator must apply for the license online.

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – TRADITIONAL TEACHER EDUCATION ROUTE

A five year educator license is granted to applicants meeting all licensing requirements and completing a state approved or National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) or Council for the Accreditation for Educator Preparation (CAEP) approved teacher education program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A	 Bachelor's degree or higher in Teacher Education from a state approved or NCATE/CAEP approved program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the 	5 years Ten (10) of education in content related are Three (3) in content related are Five (5) c education in content related are	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in
	 pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 3. Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0. 4. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) 		content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – TRADITIONAL TEACHER EDUCATION ROUTE (CONTINUED)				
Class AA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Master's degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's)	
			in content or job/skill related area OR	
			Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process	
Class AAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Specialist degree in the endorsement area in which the license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA	
Class AAAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Doctoral degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA	

FIVE YEAR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPROVED PROGRAM ROUTE

The <u>Non-Practicing Administrator License</u> is issued to an educator NOT currently employed in an administrative position. The <u>Entry Level Administrator License</u> is issued upon request to an educator employed as a beginning administrator. The <u>Standard Career Level</u> <u>Administrator License</u> is issued to a practicing administrator who has completed all requirements for conversion to Career Level.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
License Non-practicing Administrator License Class AA, AAA, or AAAA	Requirements1. Holds Five-year standard educator license2. Verification of three years education experience3. Completion of an approved master's, specialist, or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership from a state-approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning4. Successful completion of School Leaders	Validity 5 years OR Based upon validity period of standard license currently held	Renewal Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

FIVE YEAR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPROVED PROGRAM ROUTE (CONTINUNED)				
Entry Level Administrator License Class AA, AAA, or AAAA	 Holds Five-year standard educator license Verification of three years education experience Completion of an approved master's, specialist, or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership from a state approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Successful completion of School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA) by Educational Testing Service (ETS) Institutional recommendation documenting completion of an approved planned program in educational leadership/supervision through a state-approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Application for Entry Level license upon obtaining first job as administrator Letter from District stating the administrative position and date of administrative employment 	5 years	NON-RENEWABLE Five (5) years to complete requirements to convert to Career Level Standard License which include the following: 1. Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry level requirements For current requirements, visit: http://www.mde.k12.ms .us/docs/educator- licensure/k-12- administrator-licensure- renewal.pdf?sfvrsn=0.	

FIVE YEAR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPROVED PROGRAM ROUTE (CONTINUNED)				
Standard Career Level Administrator	Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry level	5 years	Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits	
License	requirements (Orientation to School Leadership, OSL)	UK	OR	
Class AA, AAA, or AAAA	to School Leadership- OSL)	Based upon validity period of standard license currently held	Six (6) hours of coursework OR 35 SEMI credits plus 3 hours coursework OR Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/ leadership (Completion of these renewal requirements will also renew all existing standard educator licenses for the applicant)	

FIVE YEAR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE – ALTERNATE ROUTE Business Track

<u>Alternate Route Entry Level Administrator License</u> is issued to an applicant who has not completed an educational administration/leadership program and is limited to entry-level administrative positions, such as assistant principals or assistant coordinators.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class AA Alternate Route Entry Level Administrator License	 Completion of one of the following: Master of Business Administration (MBA) Master of Public Administration (MPA) Master of Public Planning and Policy (MPP) Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) and Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Five (5) years administrative/supervisory experience* Successful completion of School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)-Educational Testing Service Priority will be given to Superintendent/Board recommendation for admittance into an alternate route program Successful completion of alternate route training *NOTE: Administrative/supervisory experience is defined as direct supervision of individuals and/or programs within a business, industry, and/or organization. 	5 years	NON-RENEWABLE Five (5) years to complete requirements to convert to Career Level Standard License which include the following: Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry level requirements Completion of Six (6) hours of Educational Leadership coursework from an approved educational leadership/administrator program (Coursework should be selected from the following areas: Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Improvement or Leadership, School Law or School Finance.)

ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE – ALTERNATE ROUTE

Education Track

<u>Alternate Route Administrator License</u> is issued to an applicant who has not completed an educational administration/leadership program and is limited to entry-level administrative positions, such as assistant principals, coordinators or assistant coordinators.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
One year Alternate Route Administrator License Class AA	 Completion of Masters of Education (MED) or higher education degree Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) and Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Three (3) years teaching experience for MED Priority will be given to Superintendent/Board recommendation for admittance into an alternate route program Successful completion of alternate route training 	1 year	To convert to Five (5) year Entry Level Alternate Route Administrator License – Must: 1. Complete Alternate Route program 2. School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA) - Educational Testing Service

ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE – ALTERNATE ROUTE						
EDUCATION TRACK (CONTINUED)						
Five year Entry Level Alternate Route Administrator License Class AA	 Completion of Masters of Education (MED) or higher education degree Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) and Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Successful completion of School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)- Educational Testing Service Three (3) years teaching experience for MED Successful completion of alternate route training Priority will be given to Superintendent/Board recommendation for admittance into an alternate route program 	5 years	NON-RENEWABLE Five (5) years to complete requirements to convert to Career Level Standard License which include the following: Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry level requirements Completion of Six (6) hours of Educational Leadership coursework from an approved educational leadership/administrator program (Coursework should be selected from the following areas: Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Improvement or Leadership, School Law or School Finance)			

ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE – ALTERNATE ROUTE EDUCATION TRACK (CONTINUED)				
Standard Career Level Alternate Route Administrator License Class AA, AAA, AAAA	 Completion of Masters of Education (MED) or higher education degree Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) and Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Successful completion of School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)-Educational Testing Service Three (3) years teaching experience for MED Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry-level requirements. 	5 years	Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits OR Six (6) hours of coursework OR 35 SEMI credits plus 3 hours coursework OR Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership (Completion of these renewal requirements will also renew all existing standard educator licenses for the applicant.)	

FIVE YEAR ATHLETIC ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPROVED PROGRAM ROUTE (495)

This license is only issued for athletic administration. It cannot be used for any other administrative positions.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Non-practicing Athletic Administrator License Class AA	 Holds five-year standard Mississippi educator license Completion of an approved master's degree in Interscholastic Athletic Administration 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
Standard Athletic Administrator License Class AA	 Holds five-year standard Mississippi educator license Completion of an approved master's degree in Interscholastic Athletic Administration 	5 years	70 SEMI credits OR 6 semester hours of college/university courses* OR 35 SEMI credits and 3 semester hours college/university courses* (Completion of these renewal requirements will also renew all existing standard educator licenses for the applicant)

* Graduate hours in curriculum, instruction, or educational leadership, as well as preapproved courses in technology and other job skill areas are acceptable.

THREE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE MISSISSIPPI ALTERNATE PATH TO QUALITY TEACHERS (MAPQT)

<u>Areas available</u>: Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Chinese, Economics, English, French, German, Health, Home Economics, Latin, Library Media, Music, Marketing, Math, Physics, Physical Education, Social Studies, Spanish, Speech Communications, Special Education

License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Alternate Route Educator License
Class A	 Hold a bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) Acquire admission to the MAPQT Program. (See Appendix H) Complete 90 clock hours of training. (Times and dates determined by offering colleges.) *Apply for the Three Years Educator License-Alternate route 	3 years	 Complete New Teacher Practicum (Saturdays during first year of teaching) Pass evaluation by local school district after first year of teaching Complete a local school district mentoring program during first year of teaching Apply for a Five Year Alternate Route License

THREE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE <u>TEACH MISSISSIPPI INSTITUTE</u>

<u>Areas available</u>: Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Chinese, Economics, English, French, German, Health, Home Economics, Latin, Library Media, Marketing, Math, Music, Physical Education, Physics, Social Studies, Spanish, Speech Communications, Special Education

License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Alternate Route Educator License
Class A	 Hold a bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) Acquire admission to the Teach MS Institute Program (<i>See Appendix H or http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator- licensure/alternate-route-programs</i>) Complete an eight week training session (<i>see Note</i>) or 8-week online program. (<i>Times and dates determined by offering colleges/universities</i>) *Apply for the Three Years Educator License – Alternate Route 	3 years	 Completion of one year internship period with mentoring and induction program in local school district. Secure recommendation by school district for continued licensure Apply for a Five Year Alternate Route License

Note: This program requires 12 hours of coursework which may be applied toward completing a master's degree.

*This license requires an online recommendation from the alternate route program. Once the online recommendation is made, the educator should apply for the license online.

THREE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE MASTER OF ARTS IN TEACHING

<u>Areas available</u>: Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Chinese, Economics, English, French, German, Health, Home Economics, Latin, Library Media, Music, Marketing, Math, Physics, Physical Education, Social Studies, Spanish, Speech Communications, Elementary Education (4-6 grades)

License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Alternate Route Educator License
Class A	 Hold a bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) Apply for entrance into MAT Program (<i>See</i> <i>Appendix H for information</i>) Complete 6 hours of pre-teaching courses in an approved MAT Program * Secure Verification of Program Completion Apply for a Three Year Educator License – Alternate Route 	3 years	 Secure a teaching position. Complete 6 additional hours of coursework to include supervised internship Secure Verificatio of Program Completion Apply for a Five Year Alternate Route License

ONE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE <u>AMERICAN BOARD CERTIFICATION</u> <u>Areas available</u> : Biology, Chemistry, English, Math, Physics					
License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Alternate Route License		
Class A	 Hold a bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) Enroll in ABCTE program Pretesting assessment, assign advisor ABCTE Passport to Teaching exam Apply for 1-year license 	1 year	License 1. Secure a teaching position, complete 1- year internship with mentor 2. Complete one of the following: * 6 hours of MAT coursework * 3-week MAPQT summer program * MDE online professional development		

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE - ALTERNATE ROUTE

A five year educator license is granted to applicants who hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning and who have met all requirements in one of the Mississippi Alternate Route Programs.

License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A	1.	Bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND	5 years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEUs) in content or job/skill related area
		No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
	3. 4.	Praxis II Specialty Area Test		OR Five (5) continuing education units
	5. 6.			(CEUs) in content or job/skill related area
	8.	concentration in secondary education). Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE ALTERNATE ROUTE (CONTINUED)							
Class AA Class AAA Class AAAA	 Meet the requirements for a Class A License Master's, Specialist, or Doctoral degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process					

RECIPROCITY TWO YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – RECIPROCITY Any applicant with a valid, standard license (excluding provisional, emergency, and nonrenewable licenses) from another state who has not met minimum certification requirements for MS certification may apply for a two year educator license through reciprocity. License Validity Renewal **Requirements** Class A 1. Original valid out-of-state Current teaching **Non-Renewable** license (Due to falsifications, we year plus one (1) can no longer accept additional school Applicant must photocopies. Your out-of-state year to expire on complete the license will be returned to you.) requirements for a June 30 Five Year Mississippi 2. Sealed copy of all college License transcripts

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE RECIPROCITY

A five year license is granted to applicants who hold a valid standard out of state license (K-12) in an area in which Mississippi issues an endorsement if it meets Mississippi's minimum license requirements or equivalent.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A	 Original valid out-of-state license (Due to falsifications, we can no longer accept photocopies. Your out-of-state license will be returned to you.) Sealed copy of all college transcripts Documentation must be provided to show a passing score on a core subject test required for certification by the issuing state, or documentation that verifies the out-of-state license was obtained in a manner equivalent with current Mississippi license guidelines for that license. 	5 years	RenewalTen (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORThree (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaANDFive (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORSix (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaORCompletion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE RECIPROCITY (CONTINUED)						
Class AAA or Class AAAA Class AAAA	1.	Meet the requirements for a Class A License Original valid out-of-state Standard Class AA (master's degree); Class AAA (specialist degree); or Class AAAA (doctoral degree) License in a Mississippi endorsement area	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process		

DISTRICT REQUESTED LICENSES

THREE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE JROTC INSTRUCTOR

The <u>JROTC Instructor License</u> must be approved by the appropriate branch of the military and may be used to teach JROTC/Military Science only. No other endorsements may be added to this license and districts may not use instructors with this license to teach other courses as "out of field" teachers.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A Class AA Class AAA Class AAAA	 REQUESTED BY LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT 1. Letter of request from the local school district 2. Completed licensure application 3. Verification of approval from military 4. Transcript(s) 	3 years	May be renewed only through written request from the local school district which must include letter from military and submission of completed licensure application.

ONE-YEAR CERTIFICATION FOR VETERAN TEACHERS TEACHING OUT-OF-FIELD (obtained by district request only)

This license is for a teacher who has documented teaching experience. Evidence of progress in completing the necessary requirements for adding the designated endorsement to become Highly Qualified must be documented in order to renew this license. Obtained by district request only.

License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal		
2.		Requested by local district superintendent using "Local District Request Packet" <u>www.mde.k12.ms.us</u> Completed application for One-Year	1 Year	Renewable up to 3 years (District must show progress toward licensure as specified in Plan of		
	3.	Certification Plan of action from school district showing process by which the needed endorsement will be permanently added to current license		Action for license to be renewed.)		
	4.	Transcripts, test scores and/or other specified documents necessary for endorsement				
	5.	Documentation of utilization of MS Teacher Center's recruitment services				
Note: Tl	his l	icense is referred to as the 1 year Emerg	ency Certi	ficate (EC).		

SPECIAL LICENSES

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE CHILD DEVELOPMENT (PRE K – K) (153)						
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal				
License Class A	 Bachelor's degree or higher with child development emphasis from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 	5 years	RenewalTen (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORThree (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaANDFive (5) continuing education units				
	 Official verification of program accreditation by the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences or National Association for Education of Young Children (Form #OEL 02- 04 E) 		(CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR				
	4. Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) for Early Childhood		Six (6) semester hours in content or				
	5. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test)		job/skill related area				
	OR						
	 Hold a valid five-year license in Elementary Ed. K-3, K-4 or K-6 						
	2. Complete an approved supplemental endorsement program in Pre K-K						
	OR						
	 Hold a valid five-year license in Elementary Ed. K-3, K-4 or K-6 						
	2. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test)						

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE CHILD DEVELOPMENT (PRE K – K) (153) (CONTINUED)							
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal				
Class AA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License in Child Development Master's degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area				
Class AAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License in Child Development Specialist degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA				
Class AAAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License in Child Development Doctoral degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA				

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE GUIDANCE AND COUNSELING (436)					
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal		
Class AA	 Either Hold a five year educator license Complete a master's degree program in guidance and counseling Praxis II (Specialty Area Test for Guidance Counselor) OR Complete an approved master's degree program for guidance and counseling which includes a full year internship Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test for Guidance Counselor) OR Hold National Certified School Counselor (NCSC) credential issued by National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) process for National Certified School Counselor (NCSC)		
Class AAA	 Meet the requirements for a Class AA License Hold a specialist degree in guidance and counseling 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR		
Class AAAA	 Meet the requirements for a Class AA License Doctoral degree in guidance and counseling 	5 years	Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area		

FIVE YEAR LICENSE LIBRARY/MEDIA (440)							
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal				
License Class A	RequirementsEITHER1. Complete a bachelor's degree program or higher in Library/Media2. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; andNo less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's 	Validity 5 years	RenewalTen (10) continuing education units(CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORThree (3) semester hours in 				
	 Praxis II (Specialty Area for Library/Media) 						
Class AA, AAA, or AAAA	 Meet requirements for a Five Year Class A license Completion of an approved master's, specialist, or doctorate in library/media from a state approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process				

(1	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE- PER DANCE 121, DRAMA 123, MUSIC 125, OR		
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
		-	
	 * At least two (2) years of full-time teaching experience in a specific art form at an elementary school, secondary school, performing arts school, school of fine arts conservatory, or college or university 		
	4. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test)		

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE- PERFORMING ARTS

(FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE- PERFORMING ARTS (DANCE 121, DRAMA 123, MUSIC 125, OR VISUAL ARTS 127)					
Class AA For dance, drama, music, or visual art(s)	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Master's degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area			
Class AAA For dance, drama, music, or visual art(s)	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Specialist degree or Doctoral degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA			

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – PSYCHOMETRIST (213)				
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal	
Class AA	 EITHER 1. Hold a five year teaching license 2. Complete a master's degree program in psychometry OR Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for psychometry OR 1. Complete an approved master's degree program in psychometry 2. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achiev the nationally recommended passing score of the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework 	on r	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area	

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGIST (451)					
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal			
Class AAA	 Complete an approved specialist degree or equivalent program in school psychology approved by the National Association of School Psychologist – NASP 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR			
	2. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related			
	No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		area			
	3. Praxis II (Specialty Area for School Psychology)					
Class AAAA	1. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AAA License	5 years	Same as for AAAA			
	2. Doctoral degree in psychology					

FIVE	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – SPEECH/LANGUAGE CLINICIAN (215)				
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal		
Class AA	 Complete an approved master's degree program for speech pathology (American Speech Language Hearing Association- ASHA) 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR		
	2. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related		
	No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		area		
	3. Praxis II (Specialty Area for Speech Pathologist)				
	OR				
	4. Complete an approved master's degree program for speech pathology (American Speech Language Hearing Association ASHA)				
	5. Original ASHA Membership Card				
Class AAA	1. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA		
	2. Specialist degree in speech pathology				
Class AAAA	1. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA		
	2. Doctoral degree in speech pathology				

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE –SPEECH/LANGUAGE THERAPIST (216)

This is a five-year license issued on the bachelor's level for Speech Pathology. The bachelor's level Speech Associate would be limited to the type of services that they could provide to students. A bachelor's level Speech Associate could provide Articulation functional articulation therapy, articulation testing, write IEP's and provide speech therapy. They could not provide language therapy, language assessments, voice or fluency or their corresponding assessments and they could not chair any type of eligibility determination committee. The bachelor's level Speech Associate must be supervised by a master's level fully certified Speech/Language Clinician.

License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A	1. 2.	Licensure application Complete an approved bachelor's degree program from an accredited institution in Speech Pathology, Communication Disorders, or Speech and Hearing Sciences	5 years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR
	3.	Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major		Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units
		coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		(CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR
		coursework.		Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
				OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – BUSINESS ADMINISTRATOR

Each school district is required by Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards to employ one individual whose qualifications meet the criteria established by the Mississippi Department of Education and whose primary job responsibilities are conducting, supervising, and/or directing the financial affairs and operations of the school district. <u>No other</u> <u>endorsements may be added to this license</u>. If an applicant desires to be licensed to teach academic subjects, they must meet standard approved testing and licensure requirements. This license cannot be used as a substitute for the School Administrator license. If an applicant desires to be licensed as a School Administrator, they must meet all requirements for that license.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A Provisional	 Completed licensure application Transcript(s) verifying at least a bachelor's degree in either Business Administration, Accounting, Finance or business related field with a minimum of 15 hours of Accounting coursework as specified in SBE Policy 	3 years	Non-renewable
Class A Standard	 Completed licensure application Transcript(s) verifying at least a bachelor's degree in either Business Administration, Accounting, Finance or business related field with a minimum of 15 hours of Accounting coursework as specified in SBE Policy Holds the required certificate of training from the Office of School Financial Services, or provides documentation in the form of a letter from the individual's superintendent that the individual has been satisfactorily performing as a school district business manager for a minimum of four (4) calendar years in a Mississippi Public School District. Individuals with less than four (4) calendar years of service as a school business manager at the time a provisional license is issued are required to obtain the required certificate of training from the Office of School Financial Services. 	5 years	100 hours continuing education units (CEU's). One hour of credit will be given for each hour of training. Hours may be obtained by participating in local, state, regional or national school business related conferences, courses or workshops.

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE SPECIAL EDUCATION/BIRTH TO KINDERGARTEN (211) (EARLY INTERVENTION)					
License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal		
Class A	1.	Bachelor's degree in Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten from a state approved or NCATE approved program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning	5 years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area		
	2.	Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area		
		No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related		
	3.	Praxis II Principles of Learning & Teaching test 5622		area OR		
				Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area		
				OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process		

$\overline{}$

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE SPECIAL EDUCATION/BIRTH TO KINDERGARTEN (211) (EARLY INTERVENTION) (CONTINUED)					
Class		EITHER	5 years	Three (3) semester	
AA	1.	Hold a five year educator license		hours in content or job/skill related area	
	2.	Complete a master's degree program in Special Education/ Birth to Kindergarten		OR	
		OR		Five (5) continuing education units	
	1.	Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten		(CEU's) in content or job/skill related area	
		OR		Completion of the	
	1.	Complete an approved master's program for a degree in Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten		National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process	
	2.	Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and			
		No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.			
	3.	Praxis II Principles of Learning & Teaching test 5622			
Class AAA	1.	Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA	
	2.	Specialist degree in Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten			
Class AAAA	1.	Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA	
	2.	Doctoral degree in Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten			

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A 1 2 3	 Bachelor's degree in Special Education - Mild/Moderate Disability from a state approved or NCATE/CAEP approved program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Praxis II (Specialty Area Test for Special Education) OR Hold a valid five-year license 	5 Years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

	SF	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICE PECIAL EDUCATION - MILD/MODERATE D (CONTINUED)		Y K-12 (221)
Class AA	 2. 1. 2. 3. 	EITHER Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Master's degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested OR Complete an approved master's program for a degree in Special Education - Mild/Moderate Disability that includes a minimum of 18 semester hours in Special Education course work from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning	5 Years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

SPE	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE SPECIAL EDUCATION - MILD/MODERATE DISABILITY K-12 (221) (CONTINUED)					
Class AAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year A or AA License Specialist Degree in Special Education 	5 Years	Same as for AA			
Class AAAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A or AA license Doctoral degree in Special Education 	5 Years	Same as for AA			

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LIC	ENSE			
	EMOTIONAL DISABILITY (206)				
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal		
Class	 EITHER 1. Hold a five year educator license 2. Complete a master's degree program in special education - emotional disability OR Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for special education - emotional disability OR 1. Complete an approved master's program for a degree in special education - emotional disability 2. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 3. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching) 4. Praxis II (Specialty Area for Emotional Disability) 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area		
Class AAA	1. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA		
	2. Specialist degree in emotional disability				
Class AAAA	1. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA		
	2. Doctoral degree in emotional disability				

License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class AA	1. 2.	<u>EITHER</u> Hold a five year teaching license Complete a master's degree program in dyslexia therapy	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR
		OR		Five (5) continuing
	1.	Hold a five year teaching license		education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill
		Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program in dyslexia therapy		related area

		FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – AUD	DIOLOGIST	(202)
License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class AA	1.	EITHER Hold a five year advestor license	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in
	1. 2.	Hold a five year educator license Complete a master's degree program in audiology		content or job/skill related area
		OR		OR
	3.	Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for audiology.		Five (5) continuing
	4.	Praxis II (Specialty Area for Audiologist)		education units (CEU's) in
		OR		content or
	1.	Complete an approved master's degree program for audiology		job/skill related area
	2.	Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		
		No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		
	3.	Praxis II (Specialty Area for Audiology)		
Class	1.	Meet the requirements for a Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA
AAA	2.	Specialist degree in audiology		
Class	1.	Meet the requirements for a Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA
AAAA	2.	Doctoral degree in audiology		

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – EARLY ORAL INTERVENTION (209) (Birth to Kindergarten Hearing Impaired)			
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class	 EITHER Hold a five year teaching license Complete a master's degree program in Early Oral Intervention for Hearing Impaired Children Birth to Kindergarten OR Complete an approved master's degree program in Early Oral Intervention for Hearing Impaired Children Birth to Kindergarten Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) for Early Childhood 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

FOR NON-EDUCATION DEGREE APPLICANTS (Applicants with an associate degree but less than a bachelor's degree)		
rements	Validity	Renewal
rifiable occupational e past ten years. be appropriate to to be taught (Verify Statement of Form OEL V1-03.) nrollment in the l Instructor P) program through Technical d approved by	3 years	Complete the following requirements to convert to a Five Year Class A License: Complete 1 st available Best Practices workshop during 1 st year of employment Validate Occupational Competency during the 3- year validation period of license by attaining the established minimum score or higher on an occupational assessment approved by MDE.
		Validate Technology Competency during the first year of 3-year validation period of license by attaining the established minimum score of higher on a technology competency assessment approved by MDE. Complete all requirements of the Career Technical Instructor Preparation

THREE YEAR CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATOR LICENSE FOR NON-EDUCATION DEGREE APPLICANTS

*The related work experience requirements must be approved by the Superintendent, Principal or Career Technical Director to ensure the work experiences are relative to the teaching area. The administrator and the employer must provide verification of successful completion of these activities to be submitted in the application packet when renewal is requested.

* Academic endorsements may not be added to the initial 3-year Career Technical Education license

	THREE YEAR CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATOR LICENSE FOR NON-EDUCATION DEGREE APPLICANTS				
	(Applicants with a bachelor's degree)				
License	Requirements	Validity	Non-Renewable		
Class A Career	1. Bachelor's degree or higher degree * <i>See note</i>	3 years	Complete the following requirements to convert to a Five Year Class A License:		
Technical License	2. One year of verifiable appropriate occupational		Complete 1 st available Best Practices workshop during 1 st year of employment		
	 experience in past ten years. Experience must be appropriate to the subject area to be taught (Verify by submitting "Statement of Qualifications," Form OEL V1-03). 3. Verification of enrollment in the Career Technical Instructor Preparation (VIP) Program through the local Career Technical administrator and approved by MDE/OVEWD. 		Validate Occupational Competency during the during the 3-year validation period of the license by		
			EITHER		
			Holding a bachelor's degree in the specific area to be taught		
			OR		
			Attaining the established minimum score or higher on an occupational assessment approved by MDE.		
			Validate Technology Competency during the first year of 3-year validation period of license by attaining the established minimum score of higher on a technology competency assessment approved by MDE.		
			Complete all requirements of the Career Technical Instructor Preparation Program during the three year validity period.		

*Note: The following areas of endorsement require a bachelor's degree <u>specific</u> to the license requested:

- Career Technical Agriculture-Related Program (7-12)
- Career Technical Agriculture Occupations (7-12)
- Lodging and Hospitality (7-12)
- Career Technical Family and Consumer Science (7-12)

*The related work experience requirements must be approved by the Superintendent, Principal or Career Technical Director to ensure the work experiences are relative to the teaching area. The administrator and the employer must provide verification of successful completion of these activities to be submitted in the application packet when renewal is requested.

* Academic endorsements may not be added to the initial 3-year Career Technical Education license.

	FIVE YEAR CAREER TECHNICAL LICENSE FOR NON-EDUCATION DEGREE APPLICANTS		
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Five Year Class A Career Technical License	 Satisfy all requirements to convert the Three Year Career Technical License to a Five Year Class A Career Technical License 	5 years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Two hundred forty (240) hours of related work experience* OR Three (3) semester hours in related area and one hundred twenty (120) hours of related work experience* OR Five (5) CEU's and one-hundred- twenty (120) hours of related work experience

	FIVE YEAR CAREER T FOR NON-EDUCATION (CONT)	DEGREE	
Five Year Class AA Career Technical License	Hold a Five Year Class A Career Technical License Master's degree in the area of endorsement or Career Technical education	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR One hundred twenty (120) hours of related work experience)*
Five Year Class AAA Career Technical License	Hold a Five Year Class A Career Technical License Specialist degree in the area of endorsement or Career Technical education	5 years	Same as for Class AA
Five Year Class AAAA Career Technical License	Hold a Five Year Class A Career Technical License Doctoral degree in the area of endorsement or Career Technical education	5 years	Same as Class for AA

*The related work experience requirements must be approved by the Superintendent

Principal or Career Technical Director to ensure the work experiences are relative to the teaching area. The administrator and the employer must provide verification of successful completion of these activities to be submitted in the application packet when renewal is requested.

FIVE YEAR LICENSE – REINSTATEMENT			
Mississippi	educators may reinstate an expired five-year standard licen with one of the following options:	se	
License	Requirements	Validity	
One-year Reinstatement (Issued at Class level of last five-year license)	1. Completed application requesting reinstatement (During the 1-year license, the educator must meet approved five-year <u>renewal</u> requirements with CEU's or coursework appropriate for the Class level of the standard license. CEU's or coursework for renewal must be completed within the last five-years. When renewal requirements are met, educators must reapply for the remaining four years of a standard five-year license).	1 year (non- renewable)	
Reinstatement By Reciprocity	 Completed application requesting reinstatement Valid out-of-state license 	5 years	
Reinstatement By Coursework	 Completed application requesting reinstatement Six (6) semester hours of course work (with a grade of "C" or higher) in content or job/skill related area* completed within the last five years. 	5 years	
Reinstatement of Retired educator from Mississippi public schools	 Completed application requesting reinstatement Official documentation of retirement from service in Mississippi public schools (<i>MS Retirement System</i> <i>may be contacted by calling 1-800-444-7377</i>) 	5 years	

Current requirements for Renewal of a five-year standard license:

Class A:
Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
OR
Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
OR
Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
OR
Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process
Class AA, AAA or AAAA:
Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
OR
Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
OR
Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process
Standard Career Administrator:
Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits
OR
Six (6) hours of coursework
OR
35 SEMI credits AND 3 hours coursework
OR
Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership

*Licenses that have been revoked, suspended, or surrendered may only be reinstated by order of the Certification Commission after a disciplinary hearing.

SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENTS (See Appendix A for Supplemental Endorsement Areas that may be added.)				
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal	
SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENT AREAS ADDED TO A STANDARD OR THREE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE Note: Supplemental endorsements may not be added to a one year educator license, two year reciprocity license, JROTC License, or an expert citizen license. Note: Academic endorsements may not be added to the initial 3-year Career Technical Education license.	 Hold a bachelor's degree and a valid standard or three year Mississippi license. A minimum of 21 semester hours in a content area (with a grade of "C" or higher) OR Institutional Program Verification documenting completion of a program in an additional content area through a state- approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning OR Meet the minimum score on the Praxis II Specialty Area Test OR Complete MDE approved coursework at Mississippi State University *See Appendix A for specific information. 	Based upon validity period of standard license currently held	Five Year Class A License Renewal: Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area Five Year Class AA or Higher License Renewal: Three (3) hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) or equivalent in content or job/skill related area (Completion of these renewal requirements will also renew all existing five year educator licenses)	

APPENDIX A: SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENTS ADDED TO A VALID MISSISSIPPI LICENSE (CONTINUED)

Supplemental Endorsements Added By Praxis II Specialty Area Test

CODE	AREA
102	Art Education
181	Biology Education
105	Business
185	Chemistry
153	Child Development*
193	Economics
119	English
130	French
132	Chinese
134	German
143	Health Education
208	Hearing Disability K-12
322	Home Economics
135	Latin
440	Library/Media
318	Marketing
154	Mathematics
901	Math 7-8
902	Language Arts 7-8
903	Social Studies 7-8
904	Science 7-8
166	Music Education
144	Physical Education
189	Physics
192	Social Studies
140	Spanish
221	Special Ed (Mild/Mod K-12)
910	Special Education Fundamental Subjects
196	Speech Communications
218	Visually Impaired K-12

*Can only be added if the educator already has an elementary certification that includes Kindergarten.

APPENDIX A: SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENTS ADDED TO A VALID MISSISSIPPI LICENSE (CONTINUED)

Supplemental Endorsements Added by Completion of Approved Program (Institutional Program Verification required)

CODE	AREA
111	Computer Applications
114	Driver Education
143	Health Education
150	Nursery-Grade 1 (N-1)
154	Mathematics
174	Reading
177	English as a Second Language
182	Physical Science
193	Economics
207	Gifted
208	Hearing Impaired (K-12)
218	Visually Impaired (K-12)
221	Mild/Moderate Disability (K-12)
222	Severe Disability (K-12) added to 221 only
223	Mild/Moderate Disability (K-8) added to elem. only
224	Mild/Moderate Disability (7-12) added to secondary or special subject license only
314	Career Technical Guidance (added only to 436)
317	Cooperative Education (added to Career Technical license only)
328	Child Care (only added to 322 or 321—Home Economics)
329	Aging Services (only added to 322 or 321-Home Economics)
330	Clothing (only added to 322 or 321—Home Economics)
331	Food Production, Management, and Services
	(only added to 322 or 321-Home Economics)
440	Library/Media

APPENDIX A: SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENTS ADDED TO A VALID MISSISSIPPI ENSE (CONTINUED)

Supplemental Endorsements Added with 21 Hours of Coursework in Subject (Course work must have a grade of "C" or higher)

CODE	AREA
102	Art Education
104	Bible
105	Business Education
119	English
123	Drama (Performing Arts)
130	French
132	Chinese
134	German
135	Latin
136	Italian
139	Russian
140	Spanish
144	Physical Education
149	Journalism
165	Music Education Instrumental
166	Music Education Vocal
171	Psychology
181	Biology
185	Chemistry
188	General Science
189	Physics
192	Social Studies
193	Economics
196	Speech Communications
302	Agriculture
318	Marketing
322	Home Economics

Added by Completion of MDE Approved Math & Science Partnerships

Added to Elementary or Special Education licenses only:

901 or 905	Math 7-8
904 or 908	Science 7-8

Advanced Placement endorsements are added by completion of College Board Approved AP Training (see Appendix E for list)

405 and 411 are academic endorsements that are added by completion of the requiremens listed on pages 64 & 65

405 Business Management

This is an "add on" endorsement that may be earned only by persons who hold a currently valid 5-year standard Mississippi Educator License with endorsement 105 Business Education, 318 Marketing, or 193 Economics.

A 405 Business Management endorsement allows a person to teach:

Business Law	Personal Finance
Entrepreneurship	Business Finance
Accounting Fundamentals	Business Fundamentals I
Management Fundamentals	Management Essentials
International Business	Marketing Essentials
Sales and Distribution	

This endorsement requires the following:

- 1. Applicant must hold a current 5-year standard teaching license in one of the following subject areas: 105 Business Education, 318 Marketing, or 193 Economics.
- 2. Applicant must validate competency in the field of instructional technology by attaining the established minimum score or higher on an assessment approved by the Mississippi Department of Education (MOE). The assessment must be directly related to technology competency required by the grade level and subject matter being taught. Approved assessments for this license are IC3, Propulse, or other specific assessment created by third-party vendors, authorized by the Local Education Agency (LEA) and approved by the MOE.
- 3. Applicant must successfully complete a Certification for an online learning workshop, module, or course that is approved by the MOE.
- 4. Applicant must successfully complete a teacher preparation training based on the curricula to be taught (refer to the above list of courses). This training may be either a workshop, module, or course approved by the MOE for this purpose.

Note: If the applicant meets all requirements listed above, the applicant will be issued a 405 Business Management endorsement five-year license. If the applicant does not meet <u>all</u> requirements, the applicant may be issued a three-year endorsement (license), and all requirements stated above must be satisfied prior to the ending date of that license.

411 Business Technology

This is an "add on" endorsement that may be earned only by persons who hold a currently valid 5-year standard Mississippi Educator License with endorsement: 111 Computer Applications, 113 Computer Education, or 118 Instructional Technology.

A 411 Business Technology endorsement allows a person to teach:

Information & Communication Technology IWed Design and Media Rich ContentInformation & Communication Technology IIIntroduction to Information TechnologyGraphic Design ITechnology FoundationsGraphic Design IIFoundations

This endorsement requires the following:

- 1. Application must hold a current 5-year standard teaching license in one of the following subject areas: 111 Computer Applications, 113 Computer Education, or 118 Instructional Technology.
- 2. Applicant must validate competency in the field of instructional technology by attaining the established minimum score or higher on an assessment approved by the Mississippi Department of Education (MOE). The assessment must be directly related to technology competency required by the grade level and subject matter being taught. Approved assessments for this license are IC3, Propulse, or other specific assessment created by third-party vendors, authorized by the Local Education Agency (LEA) and approved by the MOE.
- 3. Applicant must successfully complete a Certification for an online learning workshop, module, or course that is approved by the MOE.
- 4. Applicant must successfully complete a teacher preparation training based on the curricula to be taught (refer to the above list of courses). This training may be either a workshop, module, or course approved by the MOE for this purpose.

Note: If the applicant meets all requirements listed above, that applicant will be issued a 411 Business Technology endorsement a five-year license. If the applicant does not meet all requirements, the application may be issued a three-year endorsement (license), and all requirements stated above must be satisfied prior to the ending date of that license.

APPENDIX B: PRAXIS II EXAMINATION SCORES REQUIRED BY MISSISSIPPI

SPECIALTY AREA TEST CODE SCALED SCORE

Art Education (5134)	158
Audiology (5342)	170
Biology (5235)	150
Braille Proficiency (0631) – Visually Impaired (5282) is also required.	158
Business Education (5101)	153
Chemistry (5245)	151
Chinese Mandarin (5665)	164
Economics (0911)	150
Education of Young Children (5024)	160
Elementary Education (K-6) (5017)	153
Elementary Education (4-6) (5018) Alternate Route Only	163
Emotionally Disturbed/Behavior Disorders (5372)	154
English Language and Literature (5038)	167
French (5174)	153
German (5183)	154
Professional School Counselor (5421)	156
Health Education (5551)	149
Hearing Disability (5272)	160
Home Economics/Family & Consumer Science (5122)	153
Latin (5601)	152
Library Media Specialist (5311)	143
Marketing (5561)	151
Mathematics (5161)	160
Middle Grade Math (5169) supplemental <i>only</i>	165
Middle Grade Language Arts (5047) supplemental only	164
Middle Grade Social Studies (5089) supplemental <i>only</i>	149
Middle Grade Science (5440) supplemental <i>only</i>	150
Music Education (5113)	161
Physical Education (5091)	145
Physics (5265)	139
School Leaders Licensure Assessment (6011)	169
School Psychologist (5402)	147
Social Studies (5081)	150
Spanish (5195)	160
Special Education (5354)	152
Special Education Fundamental Subjects HQ (5511)	142
Speech Communication (5221)	143
Speech-Language Pathology (5331)	162
Technology Education (5051)	159
Visually Impaired (5282) – Braille Proficiency (0631) is also required.	163
	-00

N APPENDIX C: PRAXIS CORE & PRAXIS II PLT SCORES

CORE ACADEMIC SKILLS FOR EDUCATORS (CORE)	PASSING SCORE
Reading (5712)	156
Writing (5722)	162
Mathematics (5732)	150

PRAXIS II REQUIREMENTS FOR EDUCATOR LICENSURE (For Approved Teacher Education Program Candidates)

PRINCIPLES OF LEARNING AND TEACHING (PLT)	PASSING SCORE
Grade Level Pre-K – K (5621)	157
Grade Level K-6 (5622)	160
Grade Level 4-6 (5623)	160
Grade Level 7-12 (5624)	157

APPENDIX D: <u>PRAXIS INFORMATION</u> Schedules, Registration, Locations, Preparations From Educational Testing Service (ETS)

See **PRAXIS SERIES REGISTRATION BULLETIN** for information about test dates, test center locations, fees, test codes, registration, study materials, and procedures, The Bulletin is available from ETS, colleges of education offices, university test centers, and district offices of education, **OR** access it at **PRAXIS SERIES** WEBSITE - www.ets.org/praxis.

TELEPHONE

Recorded information is available 24 hours a day by touch-tone phone. 1-609-771-7395

Customer service representatives are available Monday-Friday. 1-800-772-9476

Test takers who are deaf or hard-of-hearing can call TTY 1-609-771-7714.

FAX 609-530-0581 or 609-771-7906

MAIL

OVERNIGHT MAIL/FEDERAL EXPRESS

ETS-The Praxis Series P. O. Box 6051 Princeton, NJ 08541-051 Ewing, NJ 08628-7435 ETS – The Praxis Series Distribution and Receiving Center 225 Phillips Boulevard

COMPUTERIZED PRAXIS TESTS

In addition to the paper/pencil versions of the tests, Praxis CORE (and a limited selection of Praxis II tests) may be taken by appointment on the computer. The following centers offer computerized testing:

<u>Prometric Testing Center</u> 1-800-967-1100 (Testing Hot Line)	<u>Flowood</u>	<u>601-664-9960</u>
Meridian Community College	Meridian	601-484-8724
Mississippi State University	Starkville	662-325-6610
University of Southern Mississippi	Hattiesburg	601-266-6123
Prometric Testing Center 1-800-967-1100 (Testing Hot Line)	Tupelo	662-844-2998
University of MS	Oxford	662-915-6501

APPENDIX E:

Mississippi State Board Approved License Endorsement Codes

AP Courses and Licensure Endorsement Codes

Advanced Placement endorsements can only be added as a supplemental endorsement to a standard 5-year license. This endorsement cannot be renewed with CEU's or coursework. It must be renewed every 5 years with additional AP training.

Mathematics

- 609 Calculus AB, Advanced Placement
- 610 Calculus BC, Advanced Placement
- 611 Statistics, Advanced Placement

Computer Science

- 612 Computer Science A, Advanced Placement
- 613 Computer Science AB, Advanced Placement

English

- 614 English Language and Composition, Advanced Placement
- 615 English Literature and Composition, Advanced Placement

Foreign Language

- 616 Chinese Language and Culture, Advanced Placement
- 617 French Language, Advanced Placement
- 618 French Literature, Advanced Placement
- 619 German Language, Advanced Placement
- 620 Italian Language and Culture, Advanced Placement
- 621 Japanese Language and Culture, Advanced Placement
- 622 Latin Literature, Advanced Placement
- 623 Latin: Vergil, Advanced Placement
- 624 Spanish Language, Advanced Placement
- 625 Spanish Literature, Advanced Placement

Science

- 626 Biology, Advanced Placement
- 627 Chemistry, Advanced Placement
- 628 Environmental Science, Advanced Placement
- 629 Physics B, Advanced Placement
- 630 Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Advanced Placement
- 631 Physics C: Mechanics, Advanced Placement

Social Studies

- 632 European History, Advanced Placement
- 633 Government and Politics: Comparative, Advanced Placement
- 634 Government and Politics: United States, Advanced Placement
- 635 Human Geography, Advanced Placement
- 636 Macroeconomics, Advanced Placement
- 637 Microeconomics, Advanced Placement
- 638 United States History, Advanced Placement

• 639 - World History, Advanced Placement

Visual and Performing Art

- 640 Art History, Advanced Placement
- 641 Music Theory, Advanced Placement
- 642 Studio Art: 2-D Design, Advanced Placement
- 643 Studio Art: 3-D Design, Advanced Placement
- 644 Studio Art: Drawing, Advanced Placement Psychology
- 645 Psychology, Advanced Placement

APPENDIX F DEPARTMENTS OF EDUCATION MISSISSIPPI COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES

STATE SUPPORTED FOUR YEAR INSTITUTIONS

Dr. Robert Carr, Dean Alcorn State University School of Education and Psychology 1000 ASU Drive, #409 Lorman, MS 39096 Phone: (601) 877-6141 rcarr@lorman.alcorn.edu

Dr. Leslie Griffin, Dean

Delta State University College of Education P. O. Box 3121 Cleveland, MS 38733 Phone: (662) 846-4400 lgriffin@deltastate.edu

Dr. Daniel Watkins, Dean

Jackson State University School of Education 1440 J. R. Lynch Street Jackson, MS 39217 Phone: (601) 979-2433 daniel.watkins@jsums.edu **Dr. Richard Blackbourn, Dean** Mississippi State University College of Education P.O. Box 9710 Mississippi State, MS 39762-9710 Phone: (662) 325-3717 rlb277@msstate.edu

Dr. Marty Hatton, Interim Dean Mississippi University for Women College of Education & Human Sci. P.O. Box W-1637 Columbus, MS 39701 Phone: (662) 329-7175 sjolly@edhs.muw.edu

Dr. David Rock, Dean

University of Mississippi School of Education 223 Guyton Hall University University, MS 38677 Phone: (662) 915-7063 rock@olemiss.edu

Dr. Ann Blackwell, Dean

University of Southern Mississippi College of Education and Psychology P.O. Box 5023 Hattiesburg, MS 39406 Phone: (601) 266-4568 ann.blackwell@usm.edu

Dr. Mary Alice Jennings, Chair Mississippi Valley State University College of Professional Studies and Education 1400 Hwy 82 W #5111 Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400 Phone: (662) 254-3619 <u>majennings@mvsu.edu</u>

APPENDIX F DEPARTMENTS OF EDUCATION MISSISSIPPI COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES (CONTINUED)

INDEPENDENT FOUR YEAR INSTITUTIONS

	1	1
Dr. Jenetta Waddell, Chair Blue Mountain College Department of Education P.O. Box 158 Blue Mountain, MS 38610 Phone: (662) 685-4771 jwaddell@bmc.edu	Dr. Marylys Vaughn, Chair Millsaps College Department of Education 1701 North State Street Jackson, MS 39210 Phone: (601) 974-1351 vaughmt@millsaps.edu	Dr. Don Locke, Dean Mississippi College School of Education P.O. Box 4009 Clinton, MS 39058 Phone: (601) 925-3250 or 3226 locke@mc.edu
 Dr. Pamela Russ, Dean Tougaloo College Tougaloo, MS 39174 Phone: (601) 977-7757 pruss@tougaloo.edu Dr. David Hand, Dean Belhaven University School of Education 1500 Peachtree Street Jackson, MS 39202 Phone: (601) 965-7020 dhand@belhaven.edu 	Dr. Leon Howard, Chair Rust College College of Education 150 Rust Avenue Holly Springs, MS 38635 Phone: (662) 252-8000 Ext. 4053 Ihoward@rustcollege.edu	Dr. Benjamin Burnett, Dean William Carey University School of Education P. O. Box 3 Hattiesburg, MS 39401 Phone: (601) 318-6144 Coast Office: (228) 702-1842 bburnett@wmcarey.edu

APPENDIX G

Guidelines for "Highly Qualified" status

NEW TEACHERS

The "No Child Left Behind Act" of 2001 (NCLB Act) mandates that teachers *new* to the profession (employed for the first time in a Mississippi public school after the first day of school 2002-2003) meet the following "highly qualified" status:

New Elementary K-6

- Hold a baccalaureate degree
- Complete one of the following:
 - 1. an approved pre-service teacher preparation program for elementary education from a regionally/nationally-accredited Institution of Higher Learning **OR**
 - 2. an approved alternate route to certification program (4-6 only)
- Pass designated Praxis tests

New Secondary 7-12

- Hold a baccalaureate degree
- Complete one of the following:
 - 1. an approved pre-service teacher preparation program for middle/secondary education from a regionally/nationally-accredited Institution of Higher Learning **OR**
 - 2. an approved alternate route certification program for middle/secondary education
- Pass designated Praxis tests
- Hold an endorsement for every core academic subject taught (*English, reading, language arts, mathematics, science, foreign language, civics, government, economics, arts, history, geography*)

VETERAN TEACHERS

The "No Child Left Behind Act" of 2001 (NCLB Act) mandates that teachers *not new* to the profession (employed in a Mississippi public school before or on the first day of school, 2002-2003) have until the end of the 2005-2006 school year to meet the following "highly qualified" status:

Veteran Elementary K-6

- Hold at least a bachelor's degree
- Pass the Praxis II (specialty-area assessment)
- Hold at least a valid Class A Educator License
- Teach in a grade covered by that license

Veteran Secondary School 7-12

- Hold at least a bachelor's degree
- Hold at least a Class A Educator License with an endorsement for every core academic subject taught (*English, reading, language arts, mathematics, science, foreign language, civics, government, economics, arts, history, geography*)

Options for "Highly Qualified" Status for Secondary School 7-12:

- Pass the Praxis II (specialty-area assessment), **OR**
- Pass Praxis II (specialty-area assessment for middle school available 9/04), **OR**
- Hold a master's degree in each core academic subject taught, **OR**
- Obtain an endorsement with a minimum of 21 hours of coursework with a grade of "C" or higher for each core academic subject taught (*English, reading, language arts, mathematics, science, foreign language, civics, government, economics, arts, history, geography*)

	APPENDIX H			
	ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSES			
Master Of Arts In Teaching				
Subject Areas of	Art-5134, Biology-5235, Business-5101, Chemistry-5245,			
Licensure & Praxis II	Chinese- 5665, Economics-0911, English-5038, French-5174,			
Specialty Area Test	German-5183, Health- 5551, Home Economics-5122, Latin-5601,			
Codes	Library Media-5311, Music-5113, Marketing-5561, Math5161,			
Coues	Physics-5265, Physical Education-5091, Social Studies-5081,			
	Spanish-5195, **Special Education-5354, Speech			
	Communications-5221, Elementary Education (4-6)-5018			
Program Entrance	1. Bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited			
Requirements	institution of higher learning			
Requirements	2. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally			
	recommended passing score on the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators examination; and			
	,			
	No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the			
	requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or			
	above the national recommended score provided that the			
	accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher			
	education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major			
	coursework.			
	3. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test)			
Requirements for Three	1. Complete six (6) hours pre-teaching course requirements from			
Year Alternate Route	an approved Master of Arts in Teaching program			
License	2. Program Completion Verification			
	MAT Program offers a three year alternate route license.			
Location and Contact	Alcorn State University			
Information	Belhaven College			
	Delta State University			
	Jackson State University			
	Mississippi College			
	Mississippi Valley State University			
	University of Mississippi (Grades 4-6 not offered)			
	William Carey University			
	Mississippi State University			
	University of Southern Mississippi (Grades 4-6 not offered)			
	Mississippi University for Women (Grades 4-6 not offered)			
	Tougaloo College			
	**William Carey University and Mississippi State University are the only			
	locations approved for Special Education. More information can be obtained			
	at the following link:			
	For contact information see Appendix F			
Requirements for Five	Complete six semester hours including the internship prescribed			
Year Alternate Route License	by the participating institution			
Fees	Colleges charge normal fees for 12 semester hours			
NOTE: Contact the institu	tion offering the program for enrollment information, application			
deadlines, fees, starting de				
,,,	,			

APPENDIX H				
ALTERNATE ROUTE TEACHING LICENSES (CONTINUED)				
MS Alternate Path to Quality Teachers				
Subject Areas ofArt-5134, Biology-5235, Business-5101, Chemistry-5245, Chinese-				
Licensure &				
Praxis II Specialty	5665, Economics-5911, English-5038, French-5174, German-5183, Health 5551, Home Economics, 5122, Latin 5601, Library Media, 5311			
Area Test Codes	Health-5551, Home Economics-5122, Latin-5601, Library Media-5311, Music-5113 Marketing-5561 Math-5161 Physics-5265 Physical			
Area rest Coues	Music- 5113, Marketing-5561, Math- 5161, Physics-5265, Physical Education-5091, Social Studies-5081, Spanish-5195, Speech			
	Communications-5221, Special Education (7-12)-5354			
Program Entrance	1. Bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution			
	of higher learning			
Requirements	6 6			
	2. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally			
	recommended passing score on the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators examination; and			
	No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area			
	of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national			
	recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates			
	of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0			
	GPA on pre-major coursework.			
	3. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test)			
Requirements for	Training Program consisting of 90 clock hours. (Time and dates			
Three Year	determined by offering colleges.)			
Alternate Route				
License	MAPQT offers a three year alternate route license			
Location and	Mississippi Community College Foundation			
Contact	601-321-3902			
Information	E-mail: <u>mapqt@mccfms.org</u>			
	Site Locations:			
	Itawamba Community College – Tupelo			
	Hinds Community College – Raymond			
	MS Delta Community College – Indianola			
	Pearl River Community College – Hattiesburg			
	Northwest Community College – Senatobia			
	East Central Community College – Philadelphia			
	MS Gulf Coast Community College - Gautier			
Requirements for	1. Verification of Completion of Practicum (9 Saturdays), with an			
Five Year	Online Recommendation by MAPQT			
Alternate Route	2. Documentation of District Evaluation/Mentoring Program			
License	2. 2 of enterior of 2 istrict 2 through the interioring 1 regium			
Fees	Fee to be determined each year depending on funding			
	institution offering the program for enrollment information,			
application deadlines, fees, starting dates, etc.				

APPENDIX H ALTERNATE ROUTE TEACHING LICENSES (CONTINUED) Teach Mississippi Institute			
Subject Areas of Licensure & Praxis II Specialty Area Test Codes	Art-5134, Biology-5235, Business-5101, Chemistry-5245, Chinese- 5665, Economics-5911, English-5038, French-5174, German-5183, Health-5551, Home Economics-5122, Latin-5601, Library Media- 5311, Music- 5113, Marketing-5561, Math- 5161, Physics-5265, Physical Education-5091, Social Studies-5081, Spanish-5195, Speech Communications-5221, Special Education (7-12)-5354		
Program Entrance Requirements	 Bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) 		
Requirements for Three Year Alternate Route License	Eight Week Training Session in the summer - (Times and dates determined by offering colleges/universities) OR TMI Online program through University of Mississippi Continuing Education		
Location and Contact Information	TMI offers a three year alternate route license Delta State University - summer graduate program University of Southern Mississippi - summer graduate program University of Mississippi - online program only - 1-877-915-7313 Dr. Susan Lee 601-432-6522 Institutions of Higher Learning E-mail: slee@ihl.state.ms.us		
Requirements for Five Year Alternate Route License Fees	 Completion of one year internship period with mentoring and induction program in local school district Recommendation by local school district Fee to be determined by the offering university 		
NOTE: Contact the institution offering the program for enrollment information, application deadlines, fees, starting dates, etc.			

APPENDIX H ALTERNATE ROUTE FOR TEACHERS (CONTINUED)

American Board Certification for Teacher Excellence Passport to Teaching		
Subject Areas of Licensure	Biology, Chemistry, English, Math, Physics (7-12)	
Program Entrance Requirements	 Bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Enroll in ABCTE program Assessments in subject area and pedagogy Assignment of advisor and prescribed individual study profile ABCTE Passport to Teaching exam Apply for 1-year license 	
Requirements for Initial One Year Alternate Route License Location and Contact Information	 ABCTE Passport to Teaching Certificate Letter from school district stating commitment to employ ABCTE offers a one year alternate route license American Board Certification for Teacher Excellence 1225 19th St. NW, Suite 400 Washington, D.C. 20036 Website: www.abcte.org E-mail: contact@abcte.org Phone: 1-877-669-2228 	
Requirements for Five Year Alternate Route License	 One-year teaching internship with mentoring (mentoring must be by National Board Certified teacher or MDE trained mentor certified in same subject area or mentor can complete the ABCTE approved mentor training) Must complete training in one of the following: MAPQT 3-week summer training MS Public Broadcasting (MPB) E-Learning online professional development course MAT 6 hours of initial graduate university courses earned by an approved Mississippi alternate route program (can be applied to master's degree) 	
Fees	Fee to ABCTE for initial assessment and fee for exam Fee for mentor Fee for training varies per selection	

APPENDIX H ALTERNATE ROUTE FOR ADMINISTRATORS MS ALTERNATE PATH TO QUALITY SCHOOL LEADERSHIP

	ALTERNATE FAIL TO QUALITY SCHOOL LEADERSHI			
Program	2 tracks:			
Entrance	Education track:			
Requirements	• Master's degree in any endorsable field of Education			
	• Five-year educator license			
	• 3 years of teaching experience			
	• Priority for admittance given to applicants with			
	Superintendent/School District Recommendation			
	Business track:			
	• Masters of Business Administration (MBA),			
	Masters of Public Administration (MPA),			
	Masters of Public Policy (MPP)			
	• 5 years of documented supervisory experience			
	• Passing scores on Praxis CORE,			
	Praxis II: Principles of Learning and Teaching,			
	and SLLA (School Leadership Licensure Assessment) exam			
	• Priority for admittance given to applicants with			
	Superintendent/School District recommendation			
Requirements	1. Certificate of completion from Summer Training Program consisting of			
for One-Year	90 clock hours			
Alternate	2. Letter of commitment from school district of an administrative position			
Route				
Assistant				
Administrator				
License				
Location and	Mississippi Community College Foundation			
Contact	601-321-3903			
Information	Email: <u>mapqsl@mccfms.org</u>			
	Site Locations:			
	Itawamba Community College – Fulton			
	Hinds Community College – Raymond			
	Pearl River Community College – Hattiesburg			
Requirements	1. Verification of Completion of Practicum (9 Saturdays), with an Online			
for Five Year	Recommendation by MAPQSL			
Entry Level	2. Documentation of District Evaluation/Mentoring Program			
Alternate	3. Passing score on SLLA exam			
Route				
Administrator				
License	Fac to be determined each secon			
Fees	Fee to be determined each year			
NOTE: Conta application dead	act the MS Community College Foundation for enrollment information dlines and fees.			

APPENDIX I GLOSSARY

Administrative/Supervisory Experience - Direct supervision of individuals and/or programs within a business, industry, and/or organization.

Approved Teacher Education Institution - In the state of Mississippi is an institution of higher education which includes teacher preparation in its curriculum and whose curriculum, program of study, training of personnel, and directed teaching procedures have been reviewed and officially approved by the State Board of Education.

Approved Teacher Education Program - A program within a teacher education institution which prepares students to enter a specific area of education and includes student teaching. (e.g., math education, special education, science education, etc.).

Approved Program - Courses of study approved by the Mississippi Department of Education leading to a five year license or a supplemental endorsement. (Requires Verification of Approved Program [side 2] of Licensure Application.)

Content Area Courses - Refers to course work in the area of endorsement (e.g., mathematics, science, special education, etc.).

Continuing Education Unit (CEU) - Unit of educational credit offered through an approved CEU granting agency. One CEU is earned through ten (10) contact hours of instruction/training.

Endorsements - Areas in which educators are licensed.

Job/Skill Related Areas - Include pedagogy and skills for effective teaching and leadership (e.g., computer technology, cooperative learning, learning styles, methodology, etc.).

Supplemental Teaching Endorsement - Areas of endorsement added to a valid five year or three year license by (1) completing 21 hours in an endorsement area with all course work having a grade of "C" of higher, **OR** (2) by completing an approved program in an additional content area through a state-approved or an approved degree program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning, **OR** (3) by meeting the minimum score on the Praxis II Specialty Area Test in the endorsement area, **OR** (4) by completing a Mississippi Department of Education Competency Based Training course at Mississippi State University.

Subject Area - A division or field of organized knowledge for which state curriculum guidelines have been prepared.

Teaching Experience - Experience accrued by a properly licensed staff member in a grade or subject under legal contract to an accredited public, private, elementary, or secondary (N-12) school; or teaching/administrative experience accrued at a state approved or regionally/nationally accredited Community/Junior College or Institution of Higher Learning.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 37-3-2, 37-1-3

Licensure Guidelines K-12



Office of Educator Licensure Mississippi Department of Education 359 North West Street Jackson, Mississippi 39201

Dr. Carey Wright, Ed.D., State Superintendent of Education

April 2016

INTRODUCTION

The Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development was created under the Mississippi Education Reform Act of 1982 and is charged with the responsibility of making recommendations to the State Board of Education regarding standards for the preparation, licensure, and continuing professional development of those who teach or perform tasks of an educational nature in the public schools of the State of Mississippi Laws 1997, Ch. 545, the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development and the State Board of Education have approved guidelines for licensure.

This manual contains information necessary to understand the licensure processes, levels of licensure, and routes to licensure. Proper use of this manual should provide answers to most, if not all, general and specific questions relating to licensure in the State of Mississippi.

NOTE: The full document may be accessed and downloaded through the Internet at the following address: http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure

Office of Educator Licensure

Driving Instructions: Take the High St. exit off I-55. Go to Lamar St. (eighth red light). Turn left onto Lamar St. and go to Griffith St. (second red light). Central High School is located on the corner. The office is on second floor in Suite 201.

Office Hours: 8:00 to 5:00 Monday through Friday.

Phone: 601-359-3483 **Fax:** 601-359-2778

Web:www.mde.k12.ms.usEmail:teachersupport@mde.k12.ms.usMail:Office of Educator Licensure
P. O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205-0771

TABLE OF CONTENTS

General Guidelines for Licensure	5
Application Process / Mississippi Licenses	9
One Year Teacher Intern License	11
Traditional Teacher Education Route Licenses	12
Administrator Licenses	
Non-Practicing	16
Entry Level	17
Career Level	18
Alternate Route	19
Athletic Administrator	23
Alternate Route Licenses	
MS Alternate Path to Quality Teachers	24
Teach MS Institute	25
Master of Arts in Teaching	26
American Board Certification	27
Five Year Alternate Route	28
Reciprocity Licenses	
Two Year License	28
Five Year License	29
Licenses by District Request Only	
JROTC	33
One Year Certification for Veteran Teachers Teaching Out-of-Field	34
Specific Five Year Educator License	
Audiologist	
Child Development	
Guidance and Counseling	
Library Media	
Performing Arts	
Psychometrist	39
School Psychologist	40
Speech/Language Clinician	
Speech/Language Therapist	
Business Administrator	43
Special Education Licenses	
Birth-Kindergarten	45
Mild-Moderate K-12	47
Emotional Disability	49
Dyslexia Therapy	50
Early Oral Intervention	52
Vocational Career Technical Educator Licenses	
Vocational Non-Education Degree (Associate Degree) (3 year)	53
Vocational Non-Education Degree (Bachelor Degree) (3 year)	54
Vocational Educator License Non-Degree or Non-Education Degree (5year	56
Reinstatement of Expired Licenses	58

Supple	mental Endorsements to Licenses	60
Appen	dices	
A:	Supplemental Endorsement Codes	61
B:	Praxis Examination Scores	66
C:	Praxis CORE Scores and Praxis II PLT Scores	67
D:	Educational Testing Service (ETS) Information	68
E.	Mississippi Endorsement Codes	70
F:	Mississippi Colleges and Universities	72
G:	Guidelines for "Highly Qualified Status"	74
H:	Alternate Route Programs	76
I:	Glossary	82

GENERAL GUIDELINES MISSISSIPPI EDUCATOR LICENSURE

Validity Periods

Licenses will be valid from the day the completed application packet is received and validated by the Office of Educator Licensure. All licenses expire on June 30th of the year of expiration. A five year license issued at any time during the school year shall be valid for five (5) school years including the school year in which it is granted. A school year is from July 1 to June 30.

• For example, a standard license issued January, 2014, (2013-2014 school year), would be valid from the date the completed packet is received until June 30, 2018. The remainder of the 2013-2014 school year is considered a full year.

Renewal of License

Only a five year, standard license is eligible for renewal. Current requirements for renewal of a five-year standard license for each class are as follows:

Class A:

Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

OR

Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

OR

Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area

OR

Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

Class AA, AAA or AAAA:

Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area

OR

Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

OR

Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

Standard Career Administrator:

Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits

OR

Six (6) hours of coursework

OR

35 SEMI credits AND 3 hours coursework

OR

Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership. When <u>all</u> requirements are completed, college transcripts and/or continuing education unit (CEU) certificates may be submitted for license renewal. The college credit courses may be completed on the undergraduate or graduate level with a grade of "C" or higher at regionally/nationally accredited senior colleges, universities, or community colleges. Official transcripts must be submitted in sealed envelope(s) or e-Scrip bearing the seal or signature of the registrar. <u>The license may be renewed for one five-year period beyond the present</u> <u>expiration date. Only credits earned from one expiration date to the next may be used for</u> <u>renewal</u>. Renewal requirements referencing content area courses refer to the area of endorsement (e.g., mathematics, science, special education, etc.). References to job/skill related area include pedagogy and skills for effective teaching and leadership (e.g., computer technology, cooperative learning, learning styles, methodology, etc.). <u>Only one renewal</u> <u>method may be utilized during a five-year period</u>. For a list of CEU providers, go to: <u>http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure/continuing-education-units-(ceus)</u>

The Mississippi Department of Education no longer approves programs for CEU credit. School districts, organizations, or individuals wishing to prepare and offer a program for CEU credit must submit an application to an accredited CEU granting agency. Any Continuing Education Office at a college, university, or community/junior college is an accredited CEU granting agency. Once programs are approved, they may be offered and certificates will be issued to successful participants by the approving agency. Ten contact hours of professional development is equal to one CEU credit. The Office of Educator Licensure does not accept CEU certificates for less than .5 CEU's or five contact hours. Official verification of CEU credit(s) must be submitted to document completion of CEU credit(s).

Through the Educator Licensure Management System (ELMS), educators currently employed by a Mississippi public school district can renew electronically online. CEU's, coursework or National Board used for renewal can be verified by the district administrator. For instructions on this process, go to: <u>http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure</u>

SPECIAL NOTE

A grade of "C" or higher must be obtained on <u>all</u> coursework taken for renewal of license, reinstatement of license or the adding of supplemental endorsements. This includes all coursework outlined on planned programs required to convert a special license to a standard license.

Acceptable Degrees or Coursework for Licensure

The Office of Educator Licensure accepts degrees or coursework from any nationally or regionally accredited institution. Accreditation can be checked from the United States Department of Education website (http://www.ope.ed.gov/accreditation/) or the Council on Higher Education Accreditation website (http://www.chea.org/search/default.asp). Section 37-3-2 of the Mississippi Code authorizes the Certification Commission and State Board of Education to approve all teacher preparation programs for any license in MS. The Commission does not approve programs completed in other states. If a Mississippi educator completes a degree program in another state with the intention of becoming certified, he/she must provide to the Office of Educator Licensure documentation that the out of state program is approved for licensure in that state. An "Institutional Program Verification" form can be accepted as documentation and can be found in the "Paper License Application" packet at (http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure/licensure-application-k12).

Name or Address Change

It is the responsibility of the educator to make name or address changes with the Office of Educator Licensure. To do so, the educator can log into the Educator Licensure Management

System (ELMS) at: <u>https://sso.mde.ms.gov/Login/Login.aspx</u> and edit personal information as needed. Name or address changes can also be submitted in writing and mailed to the **Mississippi Department of Education; Office of Educator Licensure**; P.O. Box 771; Jackson, MS 39205. If a copy of the license with the new updated information is desired, the applicant must apply for a duplicate license following the process outlined below.

Duplicate License

An individual may request a duplicate copy of a license by applying online and paying with a debit or credit card or by submitting a completed Licensure Application and a \$5 money order (**Personal checks not accepted**) to the **Mississippi Department of Education; Office of Educator Licensure**; P.O. Box 771; Jackson, MS 39205. Download the <u>Licensure Application Packet</u> at: <u>http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator-licensure/licensure-application-k12</u> or file an online application through the Educator Licensure Management System (ELMS) at: <u>https://sso.mde.ms.gov/Login/Login.aspx</u>.

<u>Use of Non-licensed Personnel – "The Expert Citizen License"</u>

MS Code 37-3-2 (6)(e) allows for the utilization of local business or other professional personnel, a non-licensed person, to teach a maximum of three (3) periods per teaching day. The use of non-licensed personnel may be requested ONLY by the superintendent of a local school district. The applicant shall submit to the superintendent a transcript and/or other documents of education and related experience, which substantiate preparation for the subject to be taught. The superintendent shall submit a letter of justification with the supporting documents to the Office of Educator Licensure for consideration. (*Note: In no case, shall any local school board hire non-licensed personnel in excess of five percent of the total number of licensed personnel in any single school.*)

Denial, Revocation, or Suspension

According to MS Code 37-3-2 (11) an application for licensure may be **denied** for one or more of the following reasons:

• Lack of qualifications which are prescribed by law or regulations adopted by the State Board of Education;

• The applicant has a physical, emotional or mental disability that renders the applicant unfit to perform the duties authorized by the license, as certified by a licensed psychologist or psychiatrist;

• The applicant is actively addicted to or actively dependent on alcohol or other habitforming drugs or is a habitual user of narcotics, barbiturates, amphetamines, hallucinogens, or other drugs having similar effect, at the time of application for a license;

• Revocation of an applicant's certificate or license by another state;

• Fraud or deceit committed by the applicant in securing or attempting to secure such certification and license; Failing or refusing to furnish reasonable evidence of identification; The applicant has been convicted, has pled guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a felony, as defined by federal or state law;

• or The applicant has been convicted, has pled guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a sex offense as defined by federal or state law.

•

According to MS Code 37-3-2 (12), teachers' or administrators' licenses may be **suspended** or **revoked** for a specified period of time for one or more of the following reasons:

- Breach of contract or abandonment of employment may result in the suspension of the license for one (1) school year as provided in Section <u>37-9-57</u>;
- Obtaining a license by fraudulent means shall result in immediate suspension and continued suspension for one (1) year after correction is made;
- Suspension or revocation of a certificate or license by another state shall result in immediate suspension or revocation and shall continue until records in the prior state have been cleared;
- The license holder has been convicted, has pled guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a felony, as defined by federal or state law;
- The license holder has been convicted, has pled guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a sex offense, as defined by federal or state law; or
- The license holder knowingly and willfully committing any of the acts affecting validity of mandatory uniform test results as provided in Section 37-16-4 (1).
- The license holder has engaged in unethical conduct relating to an educator/student relationship as identified by the State Board of Education in its rules;
- The license holder has fondled a student as described in Section 97-5-23, had any type of sexual involvement with a student as described in Section 97-3-95;
- The license holder has failed to report sexual involvement of a school employee with a student as required by Section 97-5-24.

• Dismissal of a licensed employee by a local school board may result in suspension or revocation of a license for a length of time, which shall be determined by the Commission and based upon the severity of the offense. Any offense committed or attempted in any other state shall result in the same penalty as if committed or attempted in this state.

A person may voluntarily surrender a license. The surrender of such license may result in the Commission's recommendation of any of the above penalties without the necessity of a hearing. However, any such license, which has voluntarily been surrendered by a licensed employee may be reinstated by a unanimous vote of all members of the Commission.

Any person, whose license has been suspended on any grounds, may apply for reinstatement of the license after one (1) year from the date of suspension, or after one half (1/2) of the suspension time has lapsed, whichever is greater. A license revoked on criminal grounds may be reinstated upon petition to the Commission filed after expiration of the sentence, parole, or probationary period imposed upon conviction, whichever is shorter. The Commission may require an applicant for reinstatement to furnish evidence satisfactory to the Commission of good character; good mental, emotional, and physical health; and such other evidence as the commission may deem necessary to establish the applicant's fitness to perform the duties authorized by the license.

Class Levels of Mississippi Licenses

Class A = Bachelor's level license Class AA = Master's degree level license Class AAA = Specialist degree level license Class AAAA = Doctorate degree level license

Note: To upgrade a standard license to a higher class level, the degree earned must be from a regionally or nationally accredited college or university. To verify an institution's accreditation, an educator can search the database found on the website for the Council of Higher Education Accreditation at: <u>http://www.chea.org/search/default.asp</u>.

APPLICATION PROCESS

- 1. Read <u>Licensure Instructions</u> and <u>Checklist</u> (located with the paper application) to locate the license for which you are applying.
- 2. Download a <u>Licensure Application Packet</u> or apply online at: <u>http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/OEL/LA</u>. (The Office of Educator Licensure cannot, by law, take action against any license without a license application request by the educator.)
- 3. All supporting documents are required in your license category to the Mississippi Department of Education, Office of Educator Licensure, P.O. Box 771, Jackson, MS 39205-0771 for a paper or an online application.

MISSISSIPPI LICENSES

Candidates for Mississippi educator or administrator license(s) may request one of the following Licenses (*see table of contents for page numbers*).

Teacher Education Route Licenses

One Year Teacher Intern License Five Year Educator License

Alternate Route Licenses

MS Alternate Path to Quality Educators/ *Three Year Alternate Route License* Teach MS Institute/*Three Year License* Masters of Arts in Teaching/*Three Year License* American Board Certification Five Year Alternate Route License

Special Subject Five Year Educator Licenses

Audiologist Business Administrator Child Development Dyslexia Therapy Early Oral Intervention Hearing Impaired B-K Emotional Disability Guidance and Counseling Library Media Performing Arts Psychometrist School Psychologist Speech/Language Clinician Speech/Language Therapist Special Education Birth-Kindergarten Special Education Mild/Moderate Disability K-12

Career Technical Educator Licenses

Career Technical Non-Education Degree (Associate's Degree)/*Three Year License* Career Technical Non-Education Degree (Bachelor's Degree)/*Three Year License* Career Technical Educator License Non-Degree or Non-Education Degree/*Five Year License*

Licenses by District Request Only JROTC One-Year License for Veteran Teachers Expert Citizen

Reciprocity

Two Year License Five Year License

Administrator License

Non-practicing Entry Level Career Level Alternate Route Athletic Administrator

ONE YEAR TEACHER INTERN LICENSE

The non-renewable teacher intern license (101) is issued to a student of a nationally accredited teacher preparation program in MS and is NOT currently employed in a teaching position. This license is specific to those working to complete a teacher preparation degree program in MS.

License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Educator License
Class A	 Current enrollment in a traditional education degree program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning in MS Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent OR Passing Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination. No less than 2.75 GPA on premajor coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 	1 year	 An online recommendation from the teacher preparation program should be made upor completion of the degree and certification requirements. Bachelor's degree on higher in Teacher Education from a state approved or NCATE/CAEP approved program from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) in Degree program

*This license requires an online recommendation from the teacher preparation program. Once the online recommendation is made, the educator must apply for the license online.

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – TRADITIONAL TEACHER EDUCATION ROUTE

A five year educator license is granted to applicants meeting all licensing requirements and completing a state approved or National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) or Council for the Accreditation for Educator Preparation (CAEP) approved teacher education program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
License Class A	 5. Bachelor's degree or higher in Teacher Education from a state approved or NCATE/CAEP approved program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning 6. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 7. Praxis II scores at or above 	Validity 5 years	RenewalTen (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORThree (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaANDFive (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORSix (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaORSix (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaORCompletion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process
	7. Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0.		-
	 Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) 		

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – TRADITIONAL TEACHER EDUCATION ROUTE (CONTINUED)				
Class AA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Master's degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process	
Class AAA	 3. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License 4. Specialist degree in the endorsement area in which the license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA	
Class AAAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Doctoral degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA	

FIVE YEAR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPROVED PROGRAM ROUTE

The <u>Non-Practicing Administrator License</u> is issued to an educator NOT currently employed in an administrative position. The <u>Entry Level Administrator License</u> is issued upon request to an educator employed as a beginning administrator. The <u>Standard Career Level</u> <u>Administrator License</u> is issued to a practicing administrator who has completed all requirements for conversion to Career Level.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Non-practicing Administrator License	6. Holds Five-year standard educator license	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
Class AA, AAA, or	7. Verification of three years education experience	OR	OR
Class AA, AAA, or AAAA	 8. Completion of an approved master's, specialist, or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership from a state-approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning 9. Successful completion of School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)-Educational Testing Service 10. Institutional recommendation documenting completion of an approved planned program in educational leadership/supervision through a state-approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning 	Based upon validity period of standard license currently held	Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

FIVE YEAR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPROVED PROGRAM ROUTE (CONTINUNED)					
A Entry Level Administrator License Class AA, AAA, or AAAA			NUNED) NON-RENEWABLE Five (5) years to complete requirements to convert to Career Level Standard License which include the following: 2. Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry level requirements For current requirements, visit: http://www.mde.k12.ms .us/docs/educator- licensure/k-12-		
	 Service (ETS) 11. Institutional recommendation documenting completion of an approved planned program in educational leadership/supervision through a state-approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning 12. Application for Entry Level license upon obtaining first job as administrator 7. Letter from District stating the administrative position and date of administrative employment 		<u>administrator-licensure-</u> <u>renewal.pdf?sfvrsn=0</u> .		

FIVE YEAR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPROVED PROGRAM ROUTE (CONTINUNED)						
Standard Career Level Administrator	Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry level	5 years OR	Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits			
License	requirements (Orientation		OR			
Class AA, AAA, or AAAA	to School Leadership- OSL)	Based upon validity period of standard license currently held	OR Six (6) hours of coursework OR 35 SEMI credits plus 3 hours coursework OR Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/ leadership (Completion of these renewal requirements will also renew all existing standard educator licenses for the applicant)			

FIVE YEAR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE – ALTERNATE ROUTE Business Track

<u>Alternate Route Entry Level Administrator License</u> is issued to an applicant who has not completed an educational administration/leadership program and is limited to entry-level administrative positions, such as assistant principals or assistant coordinators.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class AA Alternate Route Entry Level Administrator License	 Completion of one of the following: Master of Business Administration (MBA) Master of Public Administration (MPA) Master of Public Planning and Policy (MPP) Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) and Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Five (5) years administrative/supervisory experience* Successful completion of School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)-Educational Testing Service Priority will be given to Superintendent/Board recommendation for admittance into an alternate route program Successful completion of alternate route training *NOTE: Administrative/supervisory experience is defined as direct supervision of individuals and/or programs within a business, industry, and/or organization. 	5 years	NON-RENEWABLE Five (5) years to complete requirements to convert to Career Level Standard License which include the following: Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry level requirements Completion of Six (6) hours of Educational Leadership coursework from an approved educational leadership/administrator program (Coursework should be selected from the following areas: Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Improvement or Leadership, School Law or School Finance.)

ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE – ALTERNATE ROUTE

Education Track

<u>Alternate Route Administrator License</u> is issued to an applicant who has not completed an educational administration/leadership program and is limited to entry-level administrative positions, such as assistant principals, coordinators or assistant coordinators.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
One year Alternate Route Administrator License Class AA	 Completion of Masters of Education (MED) or higher education degree Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) and Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Three (3) years teaching experience for MED Priority will be given to Superintendent/Board recommendation for admittance into an alternate route program Successful completion of alternate route training 	1 year	To convert to Five (5) year Entry Level Alternate Route Administrator License - Must: 3. Complete Alternate Route program 4. School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA) - Educational Testing Service

ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE – ALTERNATE ROUTE								
	EDUCATION TRACK (CONTINUED)							
Five year Entry Level Alternate Route Administrator License Class AA	 Completion of Masters of Education (MED) or higher education degree Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) and Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Successful completion of School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)- Educational Testing Service Three (3) years teaching experience for MED Successful completion of alternate route training Priority will be given to Superintendent/Board recommendation for admittance into an alternate route program 	5 years	NON-RENEWABLE Five (5) years to complete requirements to convert to Career Level Standard License which include the following: Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry level requirements Completion of Six (6) hours of Educational Leadership coursework from an approved educational leadership/administrator program (Coursework should be selected from the following areas: Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Improvement or Leadership, School Law or School Finance)					

	ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE – ALTERNATE ROUTE EDUCATION TRACK (CONTINUED)						
Standard Career Level Alternate Route Administrator License Class AA, AAA, AAAA	 Completion of Masters of Education (MED) or higher education degree Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) and Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Successful completion of School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)-Educational Testing Service Three (3) years teaching experience for MED Completion of School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) entry-level requirements. 	5 years	Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits OR Six (6) hours of coursework OR 35 SEMI credits plus 3 hours coursework OR Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership (Completion of these renewal requirements will also renew all existing standard educator licenses for the applicant.)				

FIVE YEAR ATHLETIC ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE APPROVED PROGRAM ROUTE (495)

This license is only issued for athletic administration. It cannot be used for any other administrative positions.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Non-practicing Athletic Administrator License Class AA	 Holds five-year standard Mississippi educator license Completion of an approved master's degree in Interscholastic Athletic Administration 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
Standard Athletic Administrator License Class AA	 Holds five-year standard Mississippi educator license Completion of an approved master's degree in Interscholastic Athletic Administration 	5 years	70 SEMI credits OR 6 semester hours of college/university courses* OR 35 SEMI credits and 3 semester hours college/university courses* (Completion of these renewal requirements will also renew all existing standard educator licenses for the applicant)

* Graduate hours in curriculum, instruction, or educational leadership, as well as preapproved courses in technology and other job skill areas are acceptable.

THREE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE MISSISSIPPI ALTERNATE PATH TO QUALITY TEACHERS (MAPQT)

<u>Areas available</u>: Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Chinese, Economics, English, French, German, Health, Home Economics, Latin, Library Media, Music, Marketing, Math, Physics, Physical Education, Social Studies, Spanish, Speech Communications, Special Education

License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Alternate Route Educator License
Class A	 Hold a bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) Acquire admission to the MAPQT Program. (See Appendix H) Complete 90 clock hours of training. (Times and dates determined by offering colleges.) *Apply for the Three Years Educator License-Alternate route 	3 years	 Complete New Teacher Practicum (Saturdays during first year of teaching) Pass evaluation by local school district after first year of teaching Complete a local school district mentoring program during first year of teaching Apply for a Five Year Alternate Route License

THREE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE <u>TEACH MISSISSIPPI INSTITUTE</u>

<u>Areas available</u>: Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Chinese, Economics, English, French, German, Health, Home Economics, Latin, Library Media, Marketing, Math, Music, Physical Education, Physics, Social Studies, Spanish, Speech Communications, Special Education

License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Alternate Route Educator License
Class A	 Hold a bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) Acquire admission to the Teach MS Institute Program (<i>See Appendix H or http:://www.mde.k12.ms.us/educator- licensure/alternate-route-programs</i>) Complete an eight week training session (<i>see Note</i>) or 8-week online program. (<i>Times and dates determined by offering colleges/universities</i>) *Apply for the Three Years Educator License – Alternate Route 	3 years	 Completion of one year internship period with mentoring and induction program in local school district. Secure recommendation by school district for continued licensure Apply for a Five Year Alternate Route License

Note: This program requires 12 hours of coursework which may be applied toward completing a master's degree.

*This license requires an online recommendation from the alternate route program. Once the online recommendation is made, the educator should apply for the license online.

THREE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE MASTER OF ARTS IN TEACHING

<u>Areas available</u>: Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Chinese, Economics, English, French, German, Health, Home Economics, Latin, Library Media, Music, Marketing, Math, Physics, Physical Education, Social Studies, Spanish, Speech Communications, <u>Elementary</u> <u>Education</u>

License	Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Alternate Route Educator License
Class A	 8. Hold a bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning 9. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 10. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) 11. Apply for entrance into MAT Program (<i>See</i> <i>Appendix H for information</i>) 12. Complete 6 hours of pre-teaching courses in an approved MAT Program 13. * Secure Verification of Program Completion 14. Apply for a Three Year Educator License – Alternate Route 	3 years	 Secure a teaching position. Complete 6 additional hours of coursework to include supervised internship Secure Verification of Program Completion Apply for a Five Year Alternate Route License

THREE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE MASTER OF ARTS IN TEACHING

117 ELEMENTARY EDUCATION (4-6 GRADES)

All educators completing approved programs for elementary education must pass Foundations of Reading with a passing scale score of 229 in order to obtain an elementary education endorsement.

License	<u>Requirements</u>	<u>Validity</u>	<u>To Convert to a Five</u> <u>Year Alternate Route</u> <u>Educator License</u>
Class A	 Hold a bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) Foundations of Reading assessment score of 229 or 	<u>3 years</u>	 Secure a teaching position. Complete 6 additional hours of coursework to include supervised internship Secure Verification of Program Completion Apply for a Five Year Alternate Route License
	 higher. 5. Apply for entrance into MAT Program (See <u>Appendix H for information</u>) 6. Complete 6 hours of pre-teaching courses in an approved MAT Program 7. * Secure Verification of Program Completion 8. Apply for a Three Year Educator License –Alternate <u>Route</u> 		
	ense requires an online recommendation from the alte commendation is made, the educator should apply for		

	ONE YEAR ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSE <u>AMERICAN BOARD CERTIFICATION</u> <u>Areas available</u> : Biology, Chemistry, English, Math, Physics				
License	<u>Areas available</u> . Biology, Chemistry, English, I Requirements	Validity	To Convert to a Five Year Alternate Route License		
Class A	 Hold a bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) Enroll in ABCTE program Pretesting assessment, assign advisor ABCTE Passport to Teaching exam Apply for 1-year license 	1 year	 Secure a teaching position, complete 1-year internship with mentor Complete one of the following: 6 hours of MAT coursework 3-week MAPQT summer program MDE online professional development 		

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE - ALTERNATE ROUTE

A five year educator license is granted to applicants who hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning and who have met all requirements in one of the Mississippi Alternate Route Programs.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A	 Bachelor's degree (non-education) from a regionally/ nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); AND No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II Specialty Area Test Successful completion of a one or three year alternate route program. (See Appendix H for information on these Programs or http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/OEL/ARP) Hold a bachelor's degree (with a minor or concentration in secondary education). Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis I scores at or above the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis II scores at or above the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II specialty Area Test Documentation of completion of student teaching from a state or NCATE/CAEP approved program. 	5 years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEUs) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEUs) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE ALTERNATE ROUTE (CONTINUED)						
Class AAA Class AAAA	2. Meet the requirements for a Class A License Master's, Specialist, or Doctoral degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process				

RECIPROCITY

TWO YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – RECIPROCITY

Any applicant with a valid, standard license (excluding provisional, emergency, and nonrenewable licenses) from another state who has not met minimum certification requirements for MS certification may apply for a two year educator license through reciprocity.

Class A3. Original valid out-of-state license (Due to falsifications, we can no longer accept photocopies. Your out-of-state license will be returned to you.)Current teaching year plus one (1) additional school year to expire on June 30Non-Renewable4. Sealed copy of all college transcriptsSealed copy of all college transcriptsFive Year Mississipp License	License		equirements	Validity	Renewal
		3.	Original valid out-of-state license (Due to falsifications, we can no longer accept photocopies. Your out-of-state license will be returned to you.) Sealed copy of all college	Current teaching year plus one (1) additional school year to expire on	Non-Renewable Applicant must complete the requirements for a Five Year Mississippi

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE RECIPROCITY

A five year license is granted to applicants who hold a valid standard out of state license (K-12) in an area in which Mississippi issues an endorsement if it meets Mississippi's minimum license requirements or equivalent.

License Requirements	Validity	Renewal
EncenseRequirementsClass A4. Original valid out-of-state license (Due to falsifications, we can no longer accept photocopies. Your out-of-state license will be returned to you.)5. Sealed copy of all college transcripts6. Documentation must be provided to show a passing score on a core subject test required for certification by the issuing state, or documentation that verifies the out-of-state license was obtained in a manner equivalent with current Mississippi license guidelines for that license.	5 years	RenewalTen (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORThree (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaANDFive (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORSix (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaORCompletion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE RECIPROCITY (CONTINUED)							
Class AAA or Class AAA Or Class AAAA		Meet the requirements for a Class A License Original valid out-of-state Standard Class AA (master's degree); Class AAA (specialist degree); or Class AAAA (doctoral degree) License in a Mississippi endorsement area	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process			

DISTRICT REQUESTED LICENSES

THREE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE JROTC INSTRUCTOR

The <u>JROTC Instructor License</u> must be approved by the appropriate branch of the military and may be used to teach JROTC/Military Science only. No other endorsements may be added to this license and districts may not use instructors with this license to teach other courses as "out of field" teachers.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A Class AA Class AAA Class AAAA	 REQUESTED BY LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT 5. Letter of request from the local school district 6. Completed licensure application 7. Verification of approval from military 8. Transcript(s) 	3 years	May be renewed only through written request from the local school district which must include letter from military and submission of completed licensure application.

ONE-YEAR CERTIFICATION FOR VETERAN TEACHERS TEACHING OUT-OF-FIELD (obtained by district request only)

This license is for a teacher who has documented teaching experience. Evidence of progress in completing the necessary requirements for adding the designated endorsement to become Highly Qualified must be documented in order to renew this license. Obtained by district request only.

sted by local district atendent using "Local District at Packet" <u>www.mde.k12.ms.us</u> eted application for One-Year cation a cation from school district ag process by which the needed ement will be permanently added ent license ripts, test scores and/or other ed documents necessary for ement mentation of utilization of MS or Center's recruitment services	1 Year	Renewable up to 3 years (District must show progress toward licensure as specified in Plan of Action for license to be renewed.)
		referred to as the 1 year Emergency Cert

SPECIAL LICENSES

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE CHILD DEVELOPMENT (PRE K – K) (153)				
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal		
License Class A	 Requirements 6. Bachelor's degree or higher with child development emphasis from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning 7. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators); and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 8. Official verification of program accreditation by the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences or National Association for Education of Young Children (Form #OEL 02-04 E) 9. Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) for Early Childhood 10. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test) OR 3. Hold a valid five-year license in Elementary Ed. K-3, K-4 or K-6 4. Complete an approved supplemental 	Validity 5 years	Renewal Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area KND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area		
	endorsement program in Pre K-K OR				
	 Hold a valid five-year license in Elementary Ed. K-3, K-4 or K-6 				
	4. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test)				

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE CHILD DEVELOPMENT (PRE K – K) (153) (CONTINUED)						
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal				
Class AA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License in Child Development Master's degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area				
Class AAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License in Child Development Specialist degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA				
Class AAAA	 3. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License in Child Development 4. Doctoral degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA				

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LIC GUIDANCE AND COUNSELIN		
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class AA	 Either 4. Hold a five year educator license 5. Complete a master's degree program in guidance and counseling 6. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test for Guidance Counselor) OR 4. Complete an approved master's degree program for guidance and counseling which includes a full year internship 5. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) process for National Certified School Counselor (NCSC)
	 No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 6. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test for Guidance Counselor) OR 		
	2. Hold National Certified School Counselor (NCSC) credential issued by National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)		
Class AAA	 Meet the requirements for a Class AA License Hold a specialist degree in guidance and counseling 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing
Class AAAA	 Meet the requirements for a Class AA License Doctoral degree in guidance and counseling 	5 years	education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

	FIVE YEAR LICENSE LIBRARY/MEDIA (440)						
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal				
License Class A	Requirements EITHER 5. Complete a bachelor's degree program or higher in Library/Media 6. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 7. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching) 8. Praxis II (Specialty Area for Library/Media) OR 3. Hold a five year educator license 4. Complete an approved Library/Media program OR 3. Hold a five year educator license	Validity 5 years	RenewalTen (10) continuing education units(CEU's) in content or job/skill related areaORThree (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related areaANDFive (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in 				
	4. Praxis II (Specialty Area for Library/Media)						
Class AA, AAA, or AAAA	 3. Meet requirements for a Five Year Class A license 4. Completion of an approved master's, specialist, or doctorate in library/media from a state approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process				

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE- PERFORMING ARTS (DANCE 121, DRAMA 123, MUSIC 125, OR VISUAL ARTS 127)				
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal	
	Requirements 4. Complete a bachelor's degree program or higher in the performing arts 5. Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) 6. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching) OR 5. Have at least a bachelor's degree 6. Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) 7. Have at least a bachelor's degree 6. Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) 7. Validate artistic competency by one of the following methods: * Certificate of Completion from a recognized performing arts school, school of fine arts, or conservatory OR * A record of inclusion in a regional and/or national completion with a listing of awards or placement in completion OR * At least two (2) years of active membership in a performing arts company in the area for which performing arts is being considered OR * At least two (2) years of full-time teaching experience in a specific art form at an elementary school,		-	
	 secondary school, performing arts school, school of fine arts conservatory, or college or university 8. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) 			

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE- PERFORMING ARTS (DANCE 121, DRAMA 123, MUSIC 125, OR VISUAL ARTS 127)						
Class AA For dance, drama, music, or visual art(s)	 3. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License 4. Master's degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area			

Class AAA For dance, drama, music, or visual art(s)	 3. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License 4. Specialist degree or Doctoral degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested 	5 years	Same as for AA

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – PSYCHOMETRIST (213)				
Requirements	Validity	Renewal		
EITHER 3. Hold a five year teaching license 4. Complete a master's degree program in psychometry OR Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for psychometry OR 3. Complete an approved master's degree program in psychometry OR 3. Complete an approved master's degree program in psychometry 4. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.	5 years	Kenewai Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area		
	Requirements EITHER A Hold a five year teaching license A Complete a master's degree program in psychometry OR Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for psychometry OR 3. Complete an approved master's degree program in psychometry OR 3. Complete an approved master's degree program in psychometry OR 3. Complete an approved master's degree program in psychometry A. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or	RequirementsValidityEITHER5 years3. Hold a five year teaching license54. Complete a master's degree program in psychometry0RHold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for psychometry0R3. Complete an approved master's degree program in psychometry0R3. Complete an approved master's degree program in psychometry14. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and1No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or1		

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGIST (451)					
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal			
Class AAA	4. Complete an approved specialist degree or equivalent program in school psychology approved by the National Association of School Psychologist – NASP	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR			
	5. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related			
	No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		area			
	 Praxis II (Specialty Area for School Psychology) 					
Class AAAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AAA License Doctoral degree in psychology 	5 years	Same as for AAAA			

FIVE	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – SPEECH/LANGUAGE CLINICIAN (215)			
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal	
Class AA	6. Complete an approved master's degree program for speech pathology (American Speech Language Hearing Association- ASHA)	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR	
	7. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related	
	No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		area	
	8. Praxis II (Specialty Area for Speech Pathologist)			
	OR			
	9. Complete an approved master's degree program for speech pathology (American Speech Language Hearing Association ASHA)			
	10. Original ASHA Membership Card			
Class AAA	3. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA	
	4. Specialist degree in speech pathology			
Class AAAA	3. Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA	
	4. Doctoral degree in speech pathology			

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE –SPEECH/LANGUAGE THERAPIST (216)

This is a five-year license issued on the bachelor's level for Speech Pathology. The bachelor's level Speech Associate would be limited to the type of services that they could provide to students. A bachelor's level Speech Associate could provide Articulation functional articulation therapy, articulation testing, write IEP's and provide speech therapy. They could not provide language therapy, language assessments, voice or fluency or their corresponding assessments and they could not chair any type of eligibility determination committee. The bachelor's level Speech Associate must be supervised by a master's level fully certified Speech/Language Clinician.

License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A	4. 5.	Licensure application Complete an approved bachelor's degree program from an accredited institution in Speech Pathology, Communication Disorders, or Speech and Hearing Sciences	5 years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR
	6.	Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND
		No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major		Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
		coursework.		OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
				OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – BUSINESS ADMINISTRATOR

Each school district is required by Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards to employ one individual whose qualifications meet the criteria established by the Mississippi Department of Education and whose primary job responsibilities are conducting, supervising, and/or directing the financial affairs and operations of the school district. <u>No other</u> <u>endorsements may be added to this license</u>. If an applicant desires to be licensed to teach academic subjects, they must meet standard approved testing and licensure requirements. This license cannot be used as a substitute for the School Administrator license. If an applicant desires to be licensed as a School Administrator, they must meet all requirements for that license.

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A Provisional	 Completed licensure application Transcript(s) verifying at least a bachelor's degree in either Business Administration, Accounting, Finance or business related field with a minimum of 15 hours of Accounting coursework as specified in SBE Policy 	3 years	Non-renewable
Class A Standard	 Completed licensure application Transcript(s) verifying at least a bachelor's degree in either Business Administration, Accounting, Finance or business related field with a minimum of 15 hours of Accounting coursework as specified in SBE Policy Holds the required certificate of training from the Office of School Financial Services, or provides documentation in the form of a letter from the individual's superintendent that the individual has been satisfactorily performing as a school district business manager for a minimum of four (4) calendar years in a Mississippi Public School District. Individuals with less than four (4) calendar years of service as a school business manager at the time a provisional license is issued are required to obtain the required certificate of training from the Office of School Financial Services. 	5 years	100 hours continuing education units (CEU's). One hour of credit will be given for each hour of training. Hours may be obtained by participating in local, state, regional or national school business related conferences, courses or workshops.

License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A	4.	Bachelor's degree in Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten from a state approved or NCATE approved program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning	5 years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
	5.	Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
		No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related
	6.	Praxis II Principles of Learning & Teaching test 5622		area
				OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
				OR
				Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE SPECIAL EDUCATION/BIRTH TO KINDERGARTEN (211) (EARLY INTERVENTION) (CONTINUED)					
Class		EITHER	5 years	Three (3) semester		
AA	3.	Hold a five year educator license		hours in content or job/skill related area		
	4.	Complete a master's degree program in Special Education/ Birth to Kindergarten		OR		
		OR		Five (5) continuing education units		
	2.	Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten		(CEU's) in content or job/skill related area		
		OR				
	4.	Complete an approved master's program for a degree in Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten		Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process		
	5.	Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and				
		No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.				
	6.	Praxis II Principles of Learning & Teaching test 5622				
Class AAA	3.	Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA		
	4.	Specialist degree in Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten				
Class AAAA	3.	Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA		
	4.	Doctoral degree in Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten				

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A	 7. Bachelor's degree in Special Education - Mild/Moderate Disability from a state approved or NCATE/CAEP approved program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning 8. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 9. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) 10. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test for Special Education) OR 11. Hold a valid five-year license 12. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test for Special Education) 	5 Years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process

5	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE SPECIAL EDUCATION - MILD/MODERATE DISABILITY K-12 (221) (CONTINUED)					
4 5 6 7	 ETTHER Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A License Master's degree in the endorsement area in which license is requested OR Complete an approved master's program for a degree in Special Education - Mild/Moderate Disability that includes a minimum of 18 semester hours in Special Education course work from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching Test) Praxis II (Specialty Area Test for Special Education) 	5 Years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process			

SPE	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE SPECIAL EDUCATION - MILD/MODERATE DISABILITY K-12 (221) (CONTINUED)					
Class AAA	3. 4.	Meet the requirements for a Five Year A or AA License Specialist Degree in Special Education	5 Years	Same as for AA		
Class AAAA	3.	Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class A or AA license Doctoral degree in Special Education	5 Years	Same as for AA		

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE							
	EMOTIONAL DISABILITY (206)						
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal				
Class AA	 EITHER 1. Hold a five year educator license 2. Complete a master's degree program in special education - emotional disability OR Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for special education - emotional disability OR 5. Complete an approved master's program for a degree in special education - emotional disability 6. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 7. Praxis II (Principles of Learning and Teaching) 8. Praxis II (Specialty Area for Emotional Disability) 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area				
Class AAA	 Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License Specialist degree in emotional disability 	5 years	Same as for AA				
Class AAAA	 Specialist degree in emotional disability Meet the requirements for a Five Year Class AA License Doctoral degree in emotional disability 	5 years	Same as for AA				

License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
License Class AA	EITHER 3. Hold a five year teaching licens 4. Complete a master's degree prodyslexia therapy OR 3. Hold a five year teaching licens 4. Hold a five year teaching licens 4. Hold a master's degree in anoth and complete an approved prog dyslexia therapy	se ogram in se her area	Renewal Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

	FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – AUDIOLOGIST (202)			
License		Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class AA		EITHER	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in
1 11 1	5.	Hold a five year educator license		content or
	6.	Complete a master's degree program in audiology		job/skill related area
		OR		OR
	7.	Hold a master's degree in another area and complete an approved program for audiology.		Five (5) continuing
	8.	Praxis II (Specialty Area for Audiologist)		education units (CEU's) in
		OR		content or
	4.	Complete an approved master's degree program for audiology		job/skill related area
	5.	Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and		
		No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		
	6.	Praxis II (Specialty Area for Audiology)		
Class	3.	Meet the requirements for a Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA
AAA	4.	Specialist degree in audiology		
Class	3.	Meet the requirements for a Class AA License	5 years	Same as for AA
AAAA	4.	Doctoral degree in audiology		

FIVE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE – EARLY ORAL INTERVENTION (209) (Birth to Kindergarten Hearing Impaired)			
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class	 EITHER 4. Hold a five year teaching license 5. Complete a master's degree program in Early Oral Intervention for Hearing 6. Impaired Children Birth to Kindergarten OR 4. Complete an approved master's degree program in Early Oral Intervention for Hearing Impaired Children Birth to Kindergarten 5. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis CORE (Core Academic Skills for Educators) examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on pre-major coursework of the institution's approved teacher education program provided that the accepted cohort of candidates meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. 6. Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) for Early Childhood 	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area

License	(Applicants with an associate degree but l Requirements	Validity	Renewal
Class A Career Technical License	 4. Associate degree 5. Two years of verifiable occupational experience in the past ten years. Experience must be appropriate to the subject area to be taught (Verify by submitting "Statement of Qualifications," Form OEL V1-03.) 	3 years	Complete the following requirements to convert to a Five Year Class A License: Complete 1 st available Best Practices workshop during 1 st year of employment Validate Occupational
	6. Verification of enrollment in the Career Technical Instructor Preparation (VIP) program through the local Career Technical administrator and approved by MDE/OVEWD.		Competency during the 3- year validation period of license by attaining the established minimum score or higher on an occupationa assessment approved by MDE.
			Validate Technology Competency during the first year of 3-year validation period of license by attaining the established minimum score of higher or a technology competency assessment approved by MDE.
			Complete all requirements of the Career Technical Instructor Preparation program during the three year validity period.

THREE YEAR CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATOR LICENSE FOR NON-EDUCATION DEGREE APPLICANTS

*The related work experience requirements must be approved by the Superintendent, Principal or Career Technical Director to ensure the work experiences are relative to the teaching area. The administrator and the employer must provide verification of successful completion of these activities to be submitted in the application packet when renewal is requested.

* Academic endorsements may not be added to the initial 3-year Career Technical Education license

THREE YEAR CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATOR LICENSE FOR NON-EDUCATION DEGREE APPLICANTS (Applicants with a bachelor's degree)				
License	Requirements	Validity	Non-Renewable	
License Class A Career Technical License	 Requirements 4. Bachelor's degree or higher degree *See note 5. One year of verifiable appropriate occupational experience in past ten years. Experience must be appropriate to the subject area to be taught (Verify by submitting "Statement of Qualifications," Form OEL V1-03). 6. Verification of enrollment in the Career Technical Instructor Preparation (VIP) Program through the local Career Technical administrator and approved by MDE/OVEWD. 	Validity 3 years	Non-RenewableComplete the following requirements to convert to a Five Year Class A License:Complete 1st available Best Practices workshop during 1st year of employmentValidate Occupational Competency during the during the 3-year validation period of the license byEITHERHolding a bachelor's degree in the specific area to be taughtORAttaining the established minimum score or higher on an occupational assessment approved by MDE.Validate Technology Competency during the first year of 3-year validation period of license by attaining the established minimum score of higher on a technology competency assessment approved by MDE.Complete all requirements of the Career Technical Instructor Preparation	
			Program during the three year validity period.	

*Note: The following areas of endorsement require a bachelor's degree <u>specific</u> to the license requested:

- Career Technical Agriculture-Related Program (7-12)
- Career Technical Agriculture Occupations (7-12)
- Lodging and Hospitality (7-12)
- Career Technical Family and Consumer Science (7-12)

*The related work experience requirements must be approved by the Superintendent, Principal or Career Technical Director to ensure the work experiences are relative to the teaching area. The administrator and the employer must provide verification of successful completion of these activities to be submitted in the application packet when renewal is requested.

* Academic endorsements may not be added to the initial 3-year Career Technical Education license.

	FIVE YEAR CAREER TECHNICAL LICENSE FOR NON-EDUCATION DEGREE APPLICANTS				
License	Requirements	Validity	Renewal		
Five Year Class A Career Technical License	2. Satisfy all requirements to convert the Three Year Career Technical License to a Five Year Class A Career Technical License	5 years	Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Two hundred forty (240) hours of related work experience* OR Three (3) semester hours in related area and one hundred twenty (120) hours of related work experience* OR Five (5) CEU's and one-hundred- twenty (120) hours of related work experience		

	FIVE YEAR CAREER TECHNICAL LICENSE FOR NON-EDUCATION DEGREE APPLICANTS (CONTINUED)			
Five Year Class AA Career Technical License		Hold a Five Year Class A Career Technical License Master's degree in the area of endorsement or Career Technical education	5 years	Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR One hundred twenty (120) hours of related work experience)*
Five Year Class AAA Career Technical License		Hold a Five Year Class A Career Technical License Specialist degree in the area of endorsement or Career Technical education	5 years	Same as for Class AA
Five Year Class AAAA Career Technical License		Hold a Five Year Class A Career Technical License Doctoral degree in the area of endorsement or Career Technical education	5 years	Same as Class for AA

*The related work experience requirements must be approved by the Superintendent

Principal or Career Technical Director to ensure the work experiences are relative to the teaching area. The administrator and the employer must provide verification of successful completion of these activities to be submitted in the application packet when renewal is requested.

FIVE YEAR LICENSE – REINSTATEMENT				
Mississippi educators may reinstate an expired five-year standard license with one of the following options:				
License	Requirements	Validity		
One-year Reinstatement (Issued at Class level of last five-year license)	1. Completed application requesting reinstatement (During the 1-year license, the educator must meet approved five-year <u>renewal</u> requirements with CEU's or coursework appropriate for the Class level of the standard license. CEU's or coursework for renewal must be completed within the last five-years. When renewal requirements are met, educators must reapply for the remaining four years of a standard five-year license).	1 year (non- renewable)		
Reinstatement By Reciprocity	 Completed application requesting reinstatement Valid out-of-state license 	5 years		
Reinstatement By Coursework	 Completed application requesting reinstatement Six (6) semester hours of course work (with a grade of "C" or higher) in content or job/skill related area* completed within the last five years. 	5 years		
Reinstatement of Retired educator from Mississippi public schools	 Completed application requesting reinstatement Official documentation of retirement from service in Mississippi public schools (<i>MS Retirement System</i> <i>may be contacted by calling 1-800-444-7377</i>) 	5 years		

Current requirements for Renewal of a five-year standard license:

Class A:
Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
OR
Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
OR
Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
OR
Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process
Class AA, AAA or AAAA:
Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area
OR
Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area
OR
Completion of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards process
Standard Career Administrator:
Seventy (70) School Executive Management Institute (SEMI) credits
OR
Six (6) hours of coursework
35 SEMI credits AND 3 hours coursework
OR
Completion of a specialist or doctoral degree in educational administration/leadership

*Licenses that have been revoked, suspended, or surrendered may only be reinstated by order of the Certification Commission after a disciplinary hearing.

SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENTS					
(See Append License	(See Appendix A for Supplemental Endorsement Areas that may be added.)LicenseRequirementsValidityRenewal				
SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENT AREAS ADDED TO A STANDARD OR THREE YEAR EDUCATOR LICENSE Note: Supplemental endorsements may not be added to a one year educator license, two year reciprocity license, JROTC License, or an expert citizen license. Note: Academic endorsements may not be added to the initial 3-year Career Technical Education license.	 3. Hold a bachelor's degree and a valid standard or three year Mississippi license. 4. A minimum of 21 semester hours in a content area (with a grade of "C" or higher) OR Institutional Program Verification documenting completion of a program in an additional content area through a state-approved or regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning OR Meet the minimum score on the Praxis II Specialty Area Test OR Complete MDE approved coursework at Mississippi State University *See Appendix A for specific information. 	Based upon validity period of standard license currently held	Five Year Class A License Renewal: Ten (10) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Three (3) semester hours in content or job/skill related area AND Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) in content or job/skill related area OR Six (6) semester hours in content or job/skill related area Five Year Class AA or Higher License Renewal: Three (3) hours in content or job/skill related area OR Five (5) continuing education units (CEU's) or equivalent in content or job/skill related area (Completion of these renewal requirements will also renew all existing five year educator licenses)		

APPENDIX A: SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENTS ADDED TO A VALID MISSISSIPPI LICENSE (CONTINUED)

Supplemental Endorsements Added By Praxis II Specialty Area Test

CODE	AREA
102	Art Education
181	Biology Education
105	Business
186	Chemistry
153	Child Development*
193	Economics
119	English
131	French
132	Chinese
134	German
143	Health Education
208	Hearing Disability K-12
323	Home Economics
135	Latin
441	Library/Media
318	Marketing
154	Mathematics
901	Math 7-8
902	Language Arts 7-8
903	Social Studies 7-8
904	Science 7-8
166	Music Education
144	Physical Education
189	Physics
192	Social Studies
140	Spanish
221	Special Ed (Mild/Mod K-12)
910	Special Education Fundamental Subjects
197	Speech Communications
218	Visually Impaired K-12

*Can only be added if the educator already has an elementary certification that includes Kindergarten.

APPENDIX A: SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENTS ADDED TO A VALID MISSISSIPPI LICENSE (CONTINUED)

Supplemental Endorsements Added by Completion of Approved Program (Institutional Program Verification required)

CODE	AREA
111	Computer Applications
114	Driver Education
143	Health Education
150	Nursery-Grade 1 (N-1)
154	Mathematics
174	Reading
177	English as a Second Language
182	Physical Science
193	Economics
207	Gifted
208	Hearing Impaired (K-12)
218	Visually Impaired (K-12)
221	Mild/Moderate Disability (K-12)
222	Severe Disability (K-12) added to 221 only
223	Mild/Moderate Disability (K-8) added to elem. only
224	Mild/Moderate Disability (7-12) added to secondary or special subject license only
314	Career Technical Guidance (added only to 436)
317	Cooperative Education (added to Career Technical license only)
328	Child Care (only added to 322 or 321—Home Economics)
329	Aging Services (only added to 322 or 321-Home Economics)
330	Clothing (only added to 322 or 321—Home Economics)
331	Food Production, Management, and Services
	(only added to 322 or 321-Home Economics)
440	Library/Media

APPENDIX A: SUPPLEMENTAL ENDORSEMENTS ADDED TO A VALID MISSISSIPPI ENSE (CONTINUED)

Supplemental Endorsements Added with 21 Hours of Coursework in Subject (Course work must have a grade of "C" or higher)

CODE	AREA
102	Art Education
104	Bible
105	Business Education
119	English
123	Drama (Performing Arts)
130	French
132	Chinese
134	German
135	Latin
136	Italian
139	Russian
140	Spanish
144	Physical Education
149	Journalism
165	Music Education Instrumental
166	Music Education Vocal
171	Psychology
181	Biology
185	Chemistry
188	General Science
189	Physics
192	Social Studies
193	Economics
196	Speech Communications
302	Agriculture
318	Marketing
322	Home Economics

Added by Completion of MDE Approved Math & Science Partnerships

Added to Elementary or Special Education licenses only:

901 or 905	Math 7-8
904 or 908	Science 7-8

Advanced Placement endorsements are added by completion of College Board Approved AP Training (see Appendix E for list)

405 and 411 are academic endorsements that are added by completion of the requiremens listed on pages 64 & 65

405 Business Management

This is an "add on" endorsement that may be earned only by persons who hold a currently valid 5-year standard Mississippi Educator License with endorsement 105 Business Education, 318 Marketing, or 193 Economics.

A 405 Business Management endorsement allows a person to teach:

Business Law	Personal Finance
Entrepreneurship	Business Finance
Accounting Fundamentals	Business Fundamentals I
Management Fundamentals	Management Essentials
International Business	Marketing Essentials
Sales and Distribution	

This endorsement requires the following:

- 5. Applicant must hold a current 5-year standard teaching license in one of the following subject areas: 105 Business Education, 318 Marketing, or 193 Economics.
- 6. Applicant must validate competency in the field of instructional technology by attaining the established minimum score or higher on an assessment approved by the Mississippi Department of Education (MOE). The assessment must be directly related to technology competency required by the grade level and subject matter being taught. Approved assessments for this license are IC3, Propulse, or other specific assessment created by third-party vendors, authorized by the Local Education Agency (LEA) and approved by the MOE.
- 7. Applicant must successfully complete a Certification for an online learning workshop, module, or course that is approved by the MOE.
- 8. Applicant must successfully complete a teacher preparation training based on the curricula to be taught (refer to the above list of courses). This training may be either a workshop, module, or course approved by the MOE for this purpose.

Note: If the applicant meets all requirements listed above, the applicant will be issued a 405 Business Management endorsement five-year license. If the applicant does not meet <u>all</u> requirements, the applicant may be issued a three-year endorsement (license), and all requirements stated above must be satisfied prior to the ending date of that license.

411 Business Technology

This is an "add on" endorsement that may be earned only by persons who hold a currently valid 5-year standard Mississippi Educator License with endorsement: 111 Computer Applications, 113 Computer Education, or 118 Instructional Technology.

A 411 Business Technology endorsement allows a person to teach:

Information & Communication Technology IWed Design and Media Rich ContentInformation & Communication Technology IIIntroduction to Information TechnologyGraphic Design ITechnology FoundationsGraphic Design IIIntroduction to Information Section S

This endorsement requires the following:

- 5. Application must hold a current 5-year standard teaching license in one of the following subject areas: 111 Computer Applications, 113 Computer Education, or 118 Instructional Technology.
- 6. Applicant must validate competency in the field of instructional technology by attaining the established minimum score or higher on an assessment approved by the Mississippi Department of Education (MOE). The assessment must be directly related to technology competency required by the grade level and subject matter being taught. Approved assessments for this license are IC3, Propulse, or other specific assessment created by third-party vendors, authorized by the Local Education Agency (LEA) and approved by the MOE.
- 7. Applicant must successfully complete a Certification for an online learning workshop, module, or course that is approved by the MOE.
- 8. Applicant must successfully complete a teacher preparation training based on the curricula to be taught (refer to the above list of courses). This training may be either a workshop, module, or course approved by the MOE for this purpose.

Note: If the applicant meets all requirements listed above, that applicant will be issued a 411 Business Technology endorsement a five-year license. If the applicant does not meet all requirements, the application may be issued a three-year endorsement (license), and all requirements stated above must be satisfied prior to the ending date of that license.

APPENDIX B:

PRAXIS II EXAMINATION SCORES REQUIRED BY MISSISSIPPI

SPECIALTY AREA TEST CODE SCALED SCORE

Art Education (5134)	158
Audiology (5342)	170
Biology (5235)	150
Braille Proficiency (0631) – Visually Impaired (5282) is also required.	158
Business Education (5101)	153
Chemistry (5245)	151
Chinese Mandarin (5665)	164
Economics (0911)	150
Education of Young Children (5024)	160
Elementary Education (K-6) (5017)	153
Elementary Education (4-6) (5018) Alternate Route Only	163
Emotionally Disturbed/Behavior Disorders (5372)	154
English Language and Literature (5038)	167
French (5174)	153
German (5183)	154
Professional School Counselor (5421)	156
Health Education (5551)	149
Hearing Disability (5272)	160
Home Economics/Family & Consumer Science (5122)	153
Latin (5601)	152
Library Media Specialist (5311)	143
Marketing (5561)	151
Mathematics (5161)	160
Middle Grade Math (5169) supplemental only	165
Middle Grade Language Arts (5047) supplemental only	164
Middle Grade Social Studies (5089) supplemental only	149
Middle Grade Science (5440) supplemental only	150
Music Education (5113)	161
Physical Education (5091)	145
Physics (5265)	139
School Leaders Licensure Assessment (6011)	169
School Psychologist (5402)	147
Social Studies (5081)	150
Spanish (5195)	160
Special Education (5354)	152
Special Education Fundamental Subjects HQ (5511)	142
Speech Communication (5221)	143
Speech-Language Pathology (5331)	162
Technology Education (5051)	159
Visually Impaired (5282) – Braille Proficiency (0631) is also required.	163

N APPENDIX C: PRAXIS CORE & PRAXIS II PLT SCORES

CORE ACADEMIC SKILLS FOR EDUCATORS (CORE)

Reading (5712) Writing (5722) Mathematics (5732) PASSING SCORE 156 162 150

PRAXIS II REQUIREMENTS FOR EDUCATOR LICENSURE

(For Approved Teacher Education Program Candidates)

PRINCIPLES OF LEARNING AND TEACHING (PLT)

Grade Level Pre-K – K (5621) Grade Level K-6 (5622) Grade Level 4-6 (5623) Grade Level 7-12 (5624) **PASSING SCORE** 157 160 160 157

APPENDIX D: <u>PRAXIS INFORMATION</u> Schedules, Registration, Locations, Preparations From Educational Testing Service (ETS) See **PRAXIS SERIES REGISTRATION BULLETIN** for information about test dates, test center locations, fees, test codes, registration, study materials, and procedures, The Bulletin is available from ETS, colleges of education offices, university test centers, and district offices of education, **OR** access it at **PRAXIS SERIES** WEBSITE - www.ets.org/praxis.

TELEPHONE

Recorded information is available 24 hours a day by touch-tone phone. 1-609-771-7395

Customer service representatives are available Monday-Friday. 1-800-772-9476

Test takers who are deaf or hard-of-hearing can call TTY 1-609-771-7714.

FAX 609-530-0581 or 609-771-7906

MAIL

ETS-The Praxis Series P. O. Box 6051 Princeton, NJ 08541-051 Ewing, NJ 08628-7435

OVERNIGHT MAIL/FEDERAL EXPRESS

ETS – The Praxis Series Distribution and Receiving Center 225 Phillips Boulevard

COMPUTERIZED PRAXIS TESTS

In addition to the paper/pencil versions of the tests, Praxis CORE (and a limited selection of Praxis II tests) may be taken by appointment on the computer. The following centers offer computerized testing:

Prometric Testing Center	Flowood	<u>601-664-9960</u>
1-800-967-1100 (Testing Hot Line)		
Meridian Community College	Meridian	601-484-8724
Mississippi State University	Starkville	662-325-6610
University of Southern Mississippi	Hattiesburg	601-266-6123
Prometric Testing Center 1-800-967-1100 (Testing Hot Line)	Tupelo	662-844-2998
University of MS	Oxford	662-915-6501

APPENDIX E:

Mississippi State Board Approved License Endorsement Codes

AP Courses and Licensure Endorsement Codes

Advanced Placement endorsements can only be added as a supplemental endorsement to a standard 5-year license. This endorsement cannot be renewed with CEU's or coursework. It must be renewed every 5 years with additional AP training.

Mathematics

- 609 Calculus AB, Advanced Placement
- 610 Calculus BC, Advanced Placement
- 611 Statistics, Advanced Placement

Computer Science

- 612 Computer Science A, Advanced Placement
- 613 Computer Science AB, Advanced Placement

English

- 614 English Language and Composition, Advanced Placement
- 615 English Literature and Composition, Advanced Placement

Foreign Language

- 616 Chinese Language and Culture, Advanced Placement
- 617 French Language, Advanced Placement
- 618 French Literature, Advanced Placement
- 619 German Language, Advanced Placement
- 620 Italian Language and Culture, Advanced Placement
- 621 Japanese Language and Culture, Advanced Placement
- 622 Latin Literature, Advanced Placement
- 623 Latin: Vergil, Advanced Placement
- 624 Spanish Language, Advanced Placement
- 625 Spanish Literature, Advanced Placement

Science

- 626 Biology, Advanced Placement
- 627 Chemistry, Advanced Placement
- 628 Environmental Science, Advanced Placement
- 629 Physics B, Advanced Placement
- 630 Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Advanced Placement
- 631 Physics C: Mechanics, Advanced Placement

Social Studies

- 632 European History, Advanced Placement
- 633 Government and Politics: Comparative, Advanced Placement
- 634 Government and Politics: United States, Advanced Placement
- 635 Human Geography, Advanced Placement
- 636 Macroeconomics, Advanced Placement
- 637 Microeconomics, Advanced Placement
- 638 United States History, Advanced Placement

• 639 - World History, Advanced Placement

Visual and Performing Art

- 640 Art History, Advanced Placement
- 641 Music Theory, Advanced Placement
- 642 Studio Art: 2-D Design, Advanced Placement
- 643 Studio Art: 3-D Design, Advanced Placement
- 644 Studio Art: Drawing, Advanced Placement Psychology
- 645 Psychology, Advanced Placement

APPENDIX F DEPARTMENTS OF EDUCATION MISSISSIPPI COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES

STATE SUPPORTED FOUR YEAR INSTITUTIONS

Dr. Robert Carr, Dean Alcorn State University School of Education and Psychology 1000 ASU Drive, #409 Lorman, MS 39096 Phone: (601) 877-6141 rcarr@lorman.alcorn.edu

Dr. Leslie Griffin, Dean

Delta State University College of Education P. O. Box 3121 Cleveland, MS 38733 Phone: (662) 846-4400 lgriffin@deltastate.edu

Dr. Daniel Watkins, DeanDr. Mary Alice Jennings, ChairJackson State UniversityMississippi Valley StateSchool of EducationUniversity1440 J. R. Lynch StreetCollege of Professional StudiesJackson, MS 39217and EducationPhone: (601) 979-24331400 Hwy 82 W #5111daniel.watkins@jsums.eduItta Bena, MS 38941-1400

Dr. Richard Blackbourn, Dean Mississippi State University College of Education P.O. Box 9710 Mississippi State, MS 39762-9710 Phone: (662) 325-3717 rlb277@msstate.edu

Dr. Marty Hatton, Interim Dean Mississippi University for Women College of Education & Human Sci. P.O. Box W-1637 Columbus, MS 39701 Phone: (662) 329-7175 sjolly@edhs.muw.edu **Dr. David Rock, Dean** University of Mississippi

School of Education 223 Guyton Hall University University, MS 38677 Phone: (662) 915-7063 rock@olemiss.edu

Dr. Ann Blackwell, Dean

University of Southern Mississippi College of Education and Psychology P.O. Box 5023 Hattiesburg, MS 39406 Phone: (601) 266-4568 ann.blackwell@usm.edu

Phone: (662) 254-3619 majennings@mvsu.edu

APPENDIX F DEPARTMENTS OF EDUCATION MISSISSIPPI COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES (CONTINUED)

INDEPENDENT FOUR YEAR INSTITUTIONS			
Dr. Jenetta Waddell, Chair Blue Mountain College Department of Education P.O. Box 158 Blue Mountain, MS 38610 Phone: (662) 685-4771 jwaddell@bmc.edu	Dr. Marylys Vaughn, Chair Millsaps College Department of Education 1701 North State Street Jackson, MS 39210 Phone: (601) 974-1351 <u>vaughmt@millsaps.edu</u>	Dr. Don Locke, Dean Mississippi College School of Education P.O. Box 4009 Clinton, MS 39058 Phone: (601) 925-3250 or 3226 locke@mc.edu	
Dr. Pamela Russ, Dean Tougaloo College Tougaloo, MS 39174 Phone: (601) 977-7757 pruss@tougaloo.edu Dr. David Hand, Dean Belhaven University School of Education 1500 Peachtree Street Jackson, MS 39202 Phone: (601) 965-7020 dhand@belhaven.edu	Dr. Leon Howard, Chair Rust College College of Education 150 Rust Avenue Holly Springs, MS 38635 Phone: (662) 252-8000 Ext. 4053 Ihoward@rustcollege.edu	Dr. Benjamin Burnett, Dean William Carey University School of Education P. O. Box 3 Hattiesburg, MS 39401 Phone: (601) 318-6144 Coast Office: (228) 702-1842 bburnett@wmcarey.edu	

APPENDIX G

Guidelines for "Highly Qualified" status

NEW TEACHERS

The "No Child Left Behind Act" of 2001 (NCLB Act) mandates that teachers *new* to the profession (employed for the first time in a Mississippi public school after the first day of school 2002-2003) meet the following "highly qualified" status:

New Elementary K-6

- Hold a baccalaureate degree
- Complete one of the following:
 - 3. an approved pre-service teacher preparation program for elementary education from a regionally/nationally-accredited Institution of Higher Learning **OR**
 - 4. an approved alternate route to certification program (4-6 only)
- Pass designated Praxis tests

New Secondary 7-12

- Hold a baccalaureate degree
- Complete one of the following:
 - 3. an approved pre-service teacher preparation program for middle/secondary education from a regionally/nationally-accredited Institution of Higher Learning **OR**
 - 4. an approved alternate route certification program for middle/secondary education
- Pass designated Praxis tests
- Hold an endorsement for every core academic subject taught (*English, reading, language arts, mathematics, science, foreign language, civics, government, economics, arts, history, geography*)

VETERAN TEACHERS

The "No Child Left Behind Act" of 2001 (NCLB Act) mandates that teachers *not new* to the profession (employed in a Mississippi public school before or on the first day of school, 2002-2003) have until the end of the 2005-2006 school year to meet the following "highly qualified" status:

Veteran Elementary K-6

- Hold at least a bachelor's degree
- Pass the Praxis II (specialty-area assessment)
- Hold at least a valid Class A Educator License
- Teach in a grade covered by that license

Veteran Secondary School 7-12

- Hold at least a bachelor's degree
- Hold at least a Class A Educator License with an endorsement for every core academic subject taught (*English, reading, language arts, mathematics, science, foreign language, civics, government, economics, arts, history, geography*)

Options for "Highly Qualified" Status for Secondary School 7-12:

- Pass the Praxis II (specialty-area assessment), **OR**
- Pass Praxis II (specialty-area assessment for middle school available 9/04), **OR**
- Hold a master's degree in each core academic subject taught, **OR**
- Obtain an endorsement with a minimum of 21 hours of coursework with a grade of "C" or higher for each core academic subject taught (*English, reading, language arts, mathematics, science, foreign language, civics, government, economics, arts, history, geography*)

APPENDIX H				
ALTERNATE ROUTE LICENSES				
	Master Of Arts In Teaching			
Subject Areas of Licensure Art-5134, Biology-5235, Business-5101, Chemistry-5245,				
& Praxis II Specialty Area	Chinese- 5665, Economics-0911, English-5038, French-5174,			
Test Codes	German-5183, Health- 5551, Home Economics-5122, Latin-5601,			
	Library Media-5311, Music-5113, Marketing-5561, Math5161,			
	Physics-5265, Physical Education-5091, Social Studies-5081,			
	Spanish-5195, **Special Education-5354, Speech			
	Communications-5221, Elementary Education (4-6)-5018			
Program Entrance	4. Bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited			
Requirements	institution of higher learning			
Requirements	5. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally			
	recommended passing score on the Praxis Core Academic			
	Skills for Educators examination; and			
	No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested			
	area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the			
	national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort			
	of candidates of the institution's teacher education program			
	meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.			
	6. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test)			
Dequinements for Three	3. Complete six (6) hours pre-teaching course requirements from			
Requirements for Three Year Alternate Route	an approved Master of Arts in Teaching program			
License	4. Program Completion Verification			
License	• •			
Leasting and Contact	MAT Program offers a three year alternate route license.			
Location and Contact	Alcorn State University			
Information	Belhaven College			
	Delta State University			
Jackson State University				
	Mississippi College			
	Mississippi Valley State University			
	University of Mississippi (Grades 4-6 not offered)			
	William Carey University			
	Mississippi State University			
	University of Southern Mississippi (Grades 4-6 not offered)			
	Mississippi University for Women (Grades 4-6 not offered)			
	Tougaloo College			
	**William Carey University and Mississippi State University are the only locations approved for Special Education. More information can be obtained at			
	the following link:			
	For contact information see Appendix F			
Requirements for Five Year	Complete six semester hours including the internship prescribed			
Alternate Route License	by the participating institution			
Fees	Colleges charge normal fees for 12 semester hours			
	on offering the program for enrollment information, application			
deadlines, fees, starting dates,	eic.			

APPENDIX H			
ALTERNATE ROUTE TEACHING LICENSES (CONTINUED)			
MS Alternate Path to Quality Teachers			
Subject Areas of	Art-5134, Biology-5235, Business-5101, Chemistry-5245, Chinese-		
Licensure &	5665, Economics-5911, English-5038, French-5174, German-5183,		
Praxis II Specialty	Health-5551, Home Economics-5122, Latin-5601, Library Media-5311,		
Area Test Codes	Music- 5113, Marketing-5561, Math- 5161, Physics-5265, Physical		
	Education-5091, Social Studies-5081, Spanish-5195, Speech		
	Communications-5221, Special Education (7-12)-5354		
Program Entrance	4. Bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution		
Requirements	of higher learning		
•	5. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally		
	recommended passing score on the Praxis Core Academic Skills for		
	Educators examination; and		
	No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area		
	of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national		
	recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates		
	of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0		
	GPA on pre-major coursework.		
	6. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test)		
Requirements for	Training Program consisting of 90 clock hours. (Time and dates		
Three Year	determined by offering colleges.)		
Alternate Route			
License	MAPQT offers a three year alternate route license		
Location and	Mississippi Community College Foundation		
Contact	601-321-3902		
Information	E-mail: <u>mapqt@mccfms.org</u>		
	Site Locations:		
	Itawamba Community College – Tupelo		
	Hinds Community College – Raymond		
	MS Delta Community College – Indianola		
	Pearl River Community College – Hattiesburg		
	Northwest Community College – Senatobia		
	East Central Community College – Philadelphia		
Doguinom on ta for	MS Gulf Coast Community College - Gautier 3. Verification of Completion of Practicum (9 Saturdays), with an		
Requirements for Five Year	1		
Alternate Route	Online Recommendation by MAPQT 4. Documentation of District Evaluation/Mentoring Program		
License	+. Documentation of District Evaluation/Intentorning Program		
Fees	Fee to be determined each year depending on funding		
NOTE: Contact the institution offering the program for enrollment information,			
application deadlines, fees, starting dates, etc.			

APPENDIX H ALTERNATE ROUTE TEACHING LICENSES (CONTINUED)

	Teach Mississippi Institute		
C1 :4 A	Art 5124 Dislows 5225 Dusiness 5101 Chamistry 5245 Chinasa		
Subject Areas of	Art-5134, Biology-5235, Business-5101, Chemistry-5245, Chinese-		
Licensure & Praxis II	5665, Economics-5911, English-5038, French-5174, German-5183,		
Specialty Area Test	Health-5551, Home Economics-5122, Latin-5601, Library Media-		
Codes	5311, Music- 5113, Marketing-5561, Math- 5161, Physics-5265,		
	Physical Education-5091, Social Studies-5081, Spanish-5195,		
	Speech Communications-5221, Special Education (7-12)-5354		
Program Entrance	4. Bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited		
Requirements	institution of higher learning		
	5. Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally		
	recommended passing score on the Praxis Core Academic Skills		
	for Educators examination; and		
	No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested		
	area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the		
	national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort		
	of candidates of the institution's teacher education program		
	meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework.		
	6. Praxis II (Specialty Area Test)		
Requirements for	Eight Week Training Session in the summer - (Times and dates		
Three Year Alternate	determined by offering colleges/universities)		
Route License	OR		
	TMI Online program through University of Mississippi Continuing		
	Education		
	TMI offers a three year alternate route license		
Location and Contact	Delta State University - summer graduate program		
Information	University of Southern Mississippi - summer graduate program		
	University of Mississippi - online program only - 1-877-915-7313		
	Dr. Susan Lee 601-432-6522		
	Institutions of Higher Learning		
	E-mail: slee@ihl.state.ms.us		
Requirements for	3. Completion of one year internship period with mentoring and		
Five Year Alternate	induction program in local school district		
Route License	4. Recommendation by local school district		
Fees	Fee to be determined by the offering university		
NOTE: Contact the institution offering the program for enrollment information, application deadlines for starting datas atc			

deadlines, fees, starting dates, etc.

	APPENDIX H		
ALTERNATE ROUTE FOR TEACHERS (CONTINUED)			
American Board Certification for Teacher Excellence Passport to Teaching			
Subject Areas of Licensure	Biology, Chemistry, English, Math, Physics (7-12)		
Program Entrance Requirements	 Bachelor's degree from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning Twenty-one (21) ACT equivalent or achieve the nationally recommended passing score on the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators examination; and No less than 2.75 GPA on content coursework in the requested area of certification or passing Praxis II scores at or above the national recommended score provided that the accepted cohort of candidates of the institution's teacher education program meets or exceeds a 3.0 GPA on pre-major coursework. Enroll in ABCTE program Assessments in subject area and pedagogy Assignment of advisor and prescribed individual study profile ABCTE Passport to Teaching exam Apply for 1-year license 		
Requirements for Initial One Year Alternate Route License	 ABCTE Passport to Teaching Certificate Letter from school district stating commitment to employ 		
Location and Contact Information	ABCTE offers a one year alternate route license American Board Certification for Teacher Excellence 1225 19 th St. NW, Suite 400 Washington, D.C. 20036 Website: www.abcte.org E-mail: contact@abcte.org Phone: 1-877-669-2228		
Requirements for Five Year Alternate Route License	 One-year teaching internship with mentoring (mentoring must be by National Board Certified teacher or MDE trained mentor certified in same subject area or mentor can complete the ABCTE approved mentor training) Must complete training in one of the following: MAPQT 3-week summer training MS Public Broadcasting (MPB) E-Learning online professional development course MAT 6 hours of initial graduate university courses earned by an approved Mississippi alternate route program (can be applied to master's degree) 		
Fees	Fee to ABCTE for initial assessment and fee for exam Fee for mentor Fee for training varies per selection		

APPENDIX H ALTERNATE ROUTE FOR ADMINISTRATORS MS ALTERNATE PATH TO OUALITY SCHOOL LEADERSHIP

MS ALTERNATE PATH TO QUALITY SCHOOL LEADERSHIP	
Program	2 tracks:
Entrance	Education track:
Requirements	• Master's degree in any endorsable field of Education
_	• Five-year educator license
	• 3 years of teaching experience
	• Priority for admittance given to applicants with
	Superintendent/School District Recommendation
	Business track:
	• Masters of Business Administration (MBA),
	Masters of Public Administration (MPA),
	Masters of Public Policy (MPP)
	• 5 years of documented supervisory experience
	• Passing scores on Praxis CORE,
	Praxis II: Principles of Learning and Teaching,
	and SLLA (School Leadership Licensure Assessment) exam
	• Priority for admittance given to applicants with
	Superintendent/School District recommendation
Requirements	3. Certificate of completion from Summer Training Program consisting of
for One-Year	90 clock hours
Alternate	4. Letter of commitment from school district of an administrative position
Route	4. Letter of communent from school district of an administrative position
Assistant	
Administrator	
License	
Location and	Mississippi Community College Foundation
Contact	601-321-3903
Information	Email: mapqsl@mccfms.org
	Site Locations:
	Itawamba Community College – Fulton
	Hinds Community College – Raymond
	Pearl River Community College – Hattiesburg
Requirements	4. Verification of Completion of Practicum (9 Saturdays), with an Online
for Five Year	Recommendation by MAPQSL
Entry Level	5. Documentation of District Evaluation/Mentoring Program
Alternate	6. Passing score on SLLA exam
Route	
Administrator	
License	
Fees	Fee to be determined each year
NOTE: Contact the MS Community College Foundation for enrollment information	
application deadlines and fees.	

application deadlines and fees.

APPENDIX I GLOSSARY

Administrative/Supervisory Experience - Direct supervision of individuals and/or programs within a business, industry, and/or organization.

Approved Teacher Education Institution - In the state of Mississippi is an institution of higher education which includes teacher preparation in its curriculum and whose curriculum, program of study, training of personnel, and directed teaching procedures have been reviewed and officially approved by the State Board of Education.

Approved Teacher Education Program - A program within a teacher education institution which prepares students to enter a specific area of education and includes student teaching. (e.g., math education, special education, science education, etc.).

Approved Program - Courses of study approved by the Mississippi Department of Education leading to a five year license or a supplemental endorsement. (Requires Verification of Approved Program [side 2] of Licensure Application.)

Content Area Courses - Refers to course work in the area of endorsement (e.g., mathematics, science, special education, etc.).

Continuing Education Unit (CEU) - Unit of educational credit offered through an approved CEU granting agency. One CEU is earned through ten (10) contact hours of instruction/training.

Endorsements - Areas in which educators are licensed.

Job/Skill Related Areas - Include pedagogy and skills for effective teaching and leadership (e.g., computer technology, cooperative learning, learning styles, methodology, etc.).

Supplemental Teaching Endorsement - Areas of endorsement added to a valid five year or three year license by (1) completing 21 hours in an endorsement area with all course work having a grade of "C" of higher, **OR** (2) by completing an approved program in an additional content area through a state-approved or an approved degree program from a regionally/nationally accredited institution of higher learning, **OR** (3) by meeting the minimum score on the Praxis II Specialty Area Test in the endorsement area, **OR** (4) by completing a Mississippi Department of Education Competency Based Training course at Mississippi State University.

Subject Area - A division or field of organized knowledge for which state curriculum guidelines have been prepared.

Teaching Experience - Experience accrued by a properly licensed staff member in a grade or subject under legal contract to an accredited public, private, elementary, or secondary (N-12) school; or teaching/administrative experience accrued at a state approved or regionally/nationally accredited Community/Junior College or Institution of Higher Learning.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 37-3-2, 37-1-3