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Subpart 10  Construction and Oil Field 

 

Chapter 01 Construction Contractors  

 

100  Definitions.  

 

101  The terms “contractor” and “prime contractor” mean a person entering into an agreement, 

either verbal or written, with the owner of a project to perform such work as is described 

in the following paragraphs.  A person may not contract with himself.  

 

102  A “subcontractor” is a person entering into an agreement with a prime contractor or other 

subcontractor to perform work required under the prime contract.  

 

103  A person entering into an agreement, or “management contract”, on a fee basis is not 

considered a prime contractor when that person acts as a liaison between the owner of the 

project and the various contractors who are hired and paid directly by the owner.   

 

104 (Reserved)  

 

200  Qualification and Payment of Tax.  

 

201  A contractor, except for drilling contractors, taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-

65-21 must apply to the Commissioner for a Material Purchase Certificate (MPC) 

identifying the specific contract before work is begun. Contracts for residential 

construction are not taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21 and do not qualify 

for an MPC. 

 

202  The contractor's tax, together with any use tax due, must be paid before work is begun on 

any contract exceeding seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) unless a bond is filed with 

the Department of Revenue. Bond forms are made available on request.  
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203  On taxable contracts between ten thousand dollars ($10,000) and seventy-five thousand 

dollars ($75,000), or when a bond is required to be filed, the tax must be paid monthly as 

compensation is received regardless of a contractor’s sales tax filing status. Any use tax 

due on equipment shall be paid on or before the twentieth (20th) day of the month following 

the month in which the property is brought into Mississippi.  

 

204  Persons or firms without a permanent place of business within Mississippi are required to 

qualify and pay the three and one-half percent contractor's tax and any use tax due on the 

total contract amount before work is begun unless a bond is filed as provided by Miss. 

Code Ann. Section 27-65-27 in an amount sufficient to cover these taxes.  

 

205  The contractor’s tax is levied upon the prime contractor. Subcontractors who perform work 

on a qualified prime contract owe no tax on the subcontract price or gross income unless 

the prime contractor fails to pay the tax due.  A subcontractor may want to request a copy 

of the MPC from the prime contractor. Should the prime contractor fail to qualify the 

contract and pay the amount of tax due, the subcontractor is liable for the contractor's tax 

on the portion of the work sublet to him.  

 

206  The two percent taxpayer discount is not allowed on sales tax imposed and levied by Miss. 

Code Ann. Section 27-65-21 (contractor's tax).  

 

207 Failure to comply with the requirements to obtain an MPC before work begins, prepay 

contractor’s and use taxes, or obtain a bond shall result in the contractor being prohibited 

from performing the contract until such requirements are met. 

 

208 A ten percent (10%) penalty is due on all deficiencies. Deficiencies include failure to post 

a bond or prepay the tax in full on all contracts requiring the posting of a bond or 

prepayment of tax before work has begun.  This penalty is based on the total amount of tax 

due on the total contract price. A ten percent (10%) penalty is also due on the tax applicable 

to monthly compensation not reported timely on subsequent returns.   

 

209  There will not be a ten percent (10%) penalty on the same deficiency more than once.  Any 

portion of tax related to compensation that was penalized as a failure to post a bond or 

prepay the tax in full on contracts before the work was begun will not be subject to a ten 

percent (10%) penalty on the late remittance of monthly returns.  Any portion of tax related 

to the late remittance of monthly returns that was penalized will not also be subject to a ten 

percent (10%) penalty for failure to post a bond or prepay the tax of a contract.  

 

210 In the instance a contractor or subcontractor incorrectly uses an MPC number to purchase 

non-component materials or services, and it is determined by the Commissioner that there 

is intentional disregard of the law or intent to defraud, there will be a fifty percent (50%) 

penalty assessed. This penalty will be used when the contractor or subcontractor misuses 

an MPC number or when an audit of taxpayer records reveals an attempt to disguise or hide 

the misuse of an MPC number. This penalty will not be assessed if the taxpayer can prove 

reasonable cause for failure to comply. 
   

211 (Reserved)  
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300  Activities Taxed and Application of Rates.  

 

301 A tax of three and one-half percent is levied on the total contract amount or compensation 

received from all contracts, except contracts for residential construction, that exceed ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) when the work to be performed is constructing, building, 

erecting, repairing, grading, excavating, drilling, exploring, testing or adding to any of the 

following:  

1.  Air conditioning system  

2.  Bridge  

3.  Building  

4.  Culvert  

5.  Dam  

6.  Dock  

7.  Drainage or dredging system  

8.  Electrical system  

9. Heating system  

10.  Highway  

11.  Irrigation or water system  

12.  Levee or levee system  

13.  Pipeline  

14.  Power plant  

15.  Railway  

16.  Reservoir  

17.  Sewer  

18.  Sidewalk  

19.  Storage tank  

20.  Street  

21.  Tower  

22.  Transmission line  

23.  Water well  

24.  Wharf  

25.  Wiring for communication or information systems  

26.  Any other improvement or structure or any part thereof (fences, etc.)  

 

302  The tax is levied on contracts with the United States Government, the State of Mississippi 

and its political subdivisions, and any other exempt agency, without any deduction for 

amounts paid to subcontractors, architects, engineers, landscapers, or for any other costs or 

expenses (including the three and one-half percent contractor’s tax) incurred by the 

contractor.  Liquidated damages that are withheld by the owner are not to be included in 

taxable contract receipts.  

 

303 The portion of the total contract price attributable to design or engineering services is 

excluded from the contractor’s tax if the total contract price for the project exceeds one 

hundred million dollars ($100,000,000); or if the engineering services are performed by a 



    

Page 6 of 40 

 

professional engineer, as defined in the Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-13-3, who is the 

general or prime contractor.      

 

304  A person taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-23 who performs any of the 

activities listed in section 301 as a prime contractor for compensation in excess of ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) shall qualify and pay tax as a contractor instead of the seven 

percent retail rate. Activities subject to the seven percent  tax rate are:  

1. Air conditioning installation or repairs.  

2. Electrical work, wiring, and all repairs or installations of electrical equipment.  

3. Elevator or escalator installation or repairs.  

4. Grading, excavating, ditching, dredging, or landscaping.  

5. Insulating services or repairs.  

6. Plumbing or pipe fitting.  

7. Tin and sheet metal work.  

8. Welding, etc.  

 

305  Persons performing any services taxed under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-23 for 

contracts of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or less owes the seven percent retail rate of 

sales tax on gross income. A person performing contracts of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) 

or less that do not include services taxed under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-23 owes 

no tax on gross income but is required to pay the regular retail rate of sales or use tax on 

all taxable purchases.  

 

306  Continuous contracts on projects embracing activities taxable under Miss. Code Ann. 

Section 27-65-21, which are to be carried on for a definite period of time and a definite 

amount, will be qualified and taxed at the three-and-one-half percent rate. Otherwise, the 

determination of whether a contract is subject to tax under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-

65-21 will be made from purchase orders, work orders, or invoices.  Purchase orders, work 

orders or invoices that are a continuation of prior purchase orders, work orders, or invoices 

will be considered part of one project. Generally, work on a project takes place in the same, 

adjacent, or adjoining area. Transmission lines (gas, water, sewage, power, telephone, etc.) 

are considered a project. Amounts included in the contract for non-taxable activities (grass 

cutting, tree trimming, etc.) may be excluded from the taxable amount of the contract.   

 

307  Individual contracts for the construction of several buildings, streets, etc., or parts thereof, 

may together be qualifiable as a prime contract despite the fact that the compensation for 

each separate part of the project is ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or less. To determine 

whether such contracts are qualifiable, consideration must be given to the types of activities 

involved.  

 

308  Contracts for the performance of work upon personal property, such as shipbuilding or ship 

repairing, or activities that consist of demolishing or razing old property or clearing land, 

are not subject to the provisions of Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21.  However, where 

land clearing or building razing activities are incidental to the primary purpose of the 

contract, such as highway or building construction, the total contract is taxable. No 

separation of incidental activity will be allowed even though it may be subcontracted.  
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309  Contractor’s tax does not apply to the contract price or compensation received to restore, 

repair, or replace a utility distribution or transmission system (electric, gas, water, sewage, 

telephone, etc.) damaged by an ice storm, hurricane, flood, tornado, wind, earthquake or 

other natural disaster if the entity performing the restoration, repair or replacement is 

reimbursed for its cost only. 

 

310 The portion of the contract price or compensation received from the sale and installation 

of manufacturing or processing machinery that loses its identity as tangible personal 

property to a manufacturer or a customer processor is to be taxed at the special sales tax 

rate of one-and-one-half percent. 

 

311 Drilling contractors are required to pay retail sales or use tax on the purchase of all 

equipment, materials, or supplies. Material Purchase Certificates are not issued to drilling 

contractors.  

 

312 Directional drilling, for purposes other than oil or gas production, is subject to the seven 

percent retail rate of tax for contracts equal to or less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000).  

Directional drilling jobs, for purposes other than oil or gas production, exceeding ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) are subject to the three and one-half percent contractor’s tax. 

 

313 A truck (chassis, motor, etc.) used to haul specialized equipment is taxed at the special 

three percent rate of sales or use tax and the specialized equipment mounted thereon is 

taxed at the applicable rate of sales or use tax that applies to the equipment. 

 

314 Persons using business property in this state which has been used by them in other states 

shall be entitled to a credit for sales and/or use tax paid to other states equal to the aggregate 

of all such state rates multiplied by the value of the property at the time it was imported 

into this state.  The value of the property at the time it is imported into this state may not 

be less than twenty percent (20%) of the original cost of the property.  Credit for sales or 

use tax paid to other states requires invoices clearly showing the tax as a separate item, and 

no credit is allowed otherwise.  The credit allowed may not exceed the Mississippi use tax 

due. 

 

315  Persons using business property in this state which was acquired from another person who 

used it in other states is allowed a credit equal to the applicable rate in the state where the 

property was last used by the previous owner multiplied by the value of the property at the 

time it was imported into this state.  The value of the property at the time it is imported into 

this state may not be less than twenty percent (20%) of the original cost of the property.  

The credit allowed may not exceed the Mississippi use tax due. 

 

 

316 Owners or other persons receiving benefits from the use of tangible personal property in 

this state are liable for use tax on such property. 

 

317 (Reserved)  
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400  Floating Structures.  

 

401  A three-and-one-half percent tax is levied on the gross proceeds or gross receipts from the 

sale of any tangible personal property that becomes a component part of any floating 

structure, or on the performance of any construction activity upon any floating structure 

(not limited to casinos). These floating structures are located within the waters of the State 

of Mississippi and are normally moored and not normally engaged in the business of 

transporting people or property. This tax does not apply to tangible personal property that 

does not become a component part of the structure.  If one contractor is doing both land-

based and floating structure construction, this tax may be paid by the contractor; otherwise, 

the owner of a floating structure is responsible for the tax. The owner of a floating structure 

subject to the three-and-one-half percent tax will be issued a Casino Construction Project 

Certificate. The owner will provide the CCPC number to the prime contractors and sub-

contractors performing work on the structure. This will allow the component materials and 

parts used in the construction activities to be purchased exempt from sales tax. 

 

402  The owner of a floating structure will also be issued a direct pay number.  With the use of 

the CCPC number and this direct pay number, tax is accrued on the owner’s use tax return 

and not paid to vendors.  

 

403 The contractor will be allowed to qualify those contracts involving both land-based and 

water-based structures that cannot be easily separated, as long as the land-based portion of 

the contract is in excess of ten thousand dollars ($10,000).  

 

404  (Reserved)  

 

500  Material Purchase Certificates and Component Materials.  

 

501  A Material Purchase Certificate is a certificate issued by the Department upon application 

by a construction contractor with a qualifying contract.  Each MPC is assigned an 

identifying number that relates to a specific contract.  Application to the Commissioner for 

an MPC number is required before work is begun to cover all qualifying commercial, non-

residential construction. The MPC number allows the contractor and his subcontractors to 

make tax-free purchases of materials and services that become a component part of the 

structure covered by the qualified contract.  The MPC number does not apply to other 

contracts and expires upon completion of the contract.  

 

502  The contractor and his subcontractors must provide their vendors with the MPC number 

when purchasing component materials.  The vendors shall list the MPC number on each 

sales invoice as a prerequisite to claiming the exemption. Contractors and subcontractors 

incorrectly using an MPC number to purchase non-component materials or services will 

be held liable for the applicable sales tax due on their purchases.  See Mississippi 

Department of Revenue vs Hotel and Restaurant Supply 192 So.3d 942 (Miss. 2016). 

Vendors who incorrectly accept an MPC number to exempt the sale of consumables or 
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services such as the rental of construction and related equipment will be liable for the 

applicable sales tax due.   

 

503  Component materials are all materials that become an integral part of the structure being 

erected. Certain taxable services provided under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-23 are 

also considered to be component of the structure. Component materials may include built-

in furniture, fixtures, appliances and similar personal property. For personal property to 

become real property, it must be permanently attached to real property.  To be considered 

permanently attached, the property must lose its identity as personal property and one or 

more of the following criteria must be met:  

1. The property or equipment must be attached to building walls, floors, and/or ceilings 

in such a way as to require design or structural alterations to the real property to which 

it is being attached; or  

2.  The property cannot be removed intact, or its removal would result in the alteration 

or destruction of the structure or property; or  

3.  The property must become an independent structure, itself (real property).  

 

504  Non-component material is property that retains its identity as tangible personal property. 

Free-standing furniture, fixtures, appliances and similar personal property are non-

component materials. Non-component property may be excluded from the measure of the 

contractor's tax. 

 

505 Items that are considered to be non-component materials include, but are not limited to, the 

following: 

 1. Awnings; 

 2. Building signage (channel letters, etc. ); 

3. Cellular telephone tower additions (antennas, radio equipment, platforms, etc.); 

4. Conveyor systems, non-integrated; 

5. Digital billboard screens; 

6. Fuel dispensers; 

7.  Generators; 

8. Gutters; 

9. Irrigation systems, above the ground; 

10. Motors; 

11. Movable bleachers or stadium seating; 

12. Playground equipment; 

13. Removable/replaceable pumps; 

14. Solar panels; 

15. Walk-in cooler/freezer; 

16. Water treatment clarifiers, descales and water conditioning/filtration equipment, 

etc, and 

17. Catwalks or raised walkways that are not permanently attached to real property.  

 

  

506 The purchase price or sales price of non-component materials is taxed as a withdrawal of 

stock at the seven percent retail rate and any applicable special tax levy when these items 
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are purchased exempt with an MPC. The sales tax on purchases of non-component 

materials should be reported on the contractor’s or subcontractor’s Sales Tax return.  Any 

special tax levy should be reported by the contractor or subcontractor on their sales tax 

return at the applicable rate.   

 

507  Free-standing personal property sold under a contract with the United States Government, 

the State of Mississippi and its political subdivisions, or any other exempt agency that has 

been qualified can be purchased tax free. The contractor must apply to the Department for 

a letter granting the authority to purchase free-standing personal property exempt from tax.  

 

508 When records and invoices are not kept to substantiate the exemption, sales made to the 

contractor or subcontractor will be considered retail sales, taxable at the seven percent retail 

rate. Contractors with contracts taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21 who have 

paid retail sales tax on purchases of materials and services in the state that become a 

component part of a structure being erected or repaired may take a credit against their sales 

tax liabilities for the sales tax paid on these purchases after obtaining the MPC for the 

related project. 

 

509  A valid MPC number or direct pay permit is required to make an exempt purchase of 

concrete or asphalt for use in any commercial construction job that is required to be 

qualified under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21.  All purchases of asphalt or concrete 

for commercial construction jobs of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or less are taxable at 

the seven percent retail rate of tax at the time of purchase, unless the purchaser is an exempt 

entity or provides the seller with a direct pay permit.  An exempt entity is one that is exempt 

from sales tax as provided in Miss. Code Ann. Sections 27-65-101 through 27-65-111.  

Direct pay permits are issued to taxpayers under the provisions of Miss. Code Ann. Section 

27-65-93.   

 

510  A person with a valid sales tax number who is purchasing concrete to use in the 

performance of a taxable service is considered the consumer of the concrete and must pay 

tax to the vendor at the time of purchase.  Contractors who mix concrete or asphalt for use 

in the performance of a job owe sales tax on the value of the concrete or asphalt.  Any 

person purchasing concrete or asphalt from an out-of-state vendor for delivery and use in 

this state will be liable for remitting use tax on the purchase price of the concrete or asphalt.  

Any person who mixes concrete or asphalt out of state for delivery and use in this state will 

be liable for remitting use tax on the value of the concrete or asphalt. The term “vendor,” 

as used in this section, means the person who is manufacturing or producing concrete or 

asphalt from raw materials either at a fixed plant site location, a portable plant, or through 

ready-mix trucks. Materials used to form concrete are not considered component materials 

and may not be covered by the use of an MPC number.  

 

511  (Reserved)  

 

600  Bond Requirement.  
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601  A bond must be filed on taxable contracts exceeding seventy-five thousand dollars 

($75,000) that are performed in this state unless the tax is prepaid.  Persons or firms without 

a permanent place of business within Mississippi must file a bond on any taxable contract 

in excess of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) unless the tax is prepaid.  

 

602  Such bonds must be either (a) job bonds which guarantee the payment of taxes resulting 

from the performance of a specified job or activity regardless of date of completion; or (b) 

blanket bonds which guarantee the payment of taxes resulting from the performance of all 

jobs or activities taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21 that are begun during a 

specified period, regardless of the date of completion. The bond must be sufficient to cover 

the liability for sales, use, income, withholding, and motor fuel taxes and must be approved 

by the Commissioner.  

 

603 In lieu of a job or blanket bond, a tax rider, with a copy of a performance and/or payment 

bond, may be accepted. In order for the tax rider to be accepted, a copy of the performance 

and/or payment bond for which the tax rider is executed must be on file with the 

Department. 

 

604 It is in the discretion of the Department to require that a job bond be filed when making an 

application to the Commissioner for an MPC for continuous and/or maintenance projects.  

This request must be updated annually along with the submission of proof of continued 

bonding coverage. 

 

605  Where a contractor prepaid the sales tax, but a use, income, withholding, or motor fuel tax 

bond is still required, the contractor will be notified of the bond requirement after an 

application for a Material Purchase Certificate has been received.  

 

606  When a contractor defaults on the execution of his contract and the bonding company 

acting as surety for the performance of the contract assumes completion of the contract, the 

bonding company becomes liable for the payment of the sales, use, income, withholding, 

and motor fuel tax accruing as a result of its activities.  The contractor’s MPC number 

becomes void at the time of default.  The surety company shall make an application to the 

Commissioner for an MPC covering the remaining/unfinished portion of the contract.  The 

application must include proper bonding and/or prepayment of tax.   

 

607  (Reserved)  

 

700 Owner Construction.  

 

701  A person constructing buildings on property he owns is not a contractor and is liable for 

the retail sales or use tax on all materials or services purchased even though the person may 

enter into a contract to sell the building and lot (real property) before construction is 

completed.  

 

702 (Reserved)  
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800  Residential Construction.  

 

801  The contract price or compensation received for constructing, building, erecting, repairing, 

or adding to any building, electrical system, heating system, or any other improvement or 

structure that is used for or primarily in connection with a residence or dwelling place for 

human beings is excluded from the three and one-half percent contractor’s tax provided by 

Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21.  

 

802 Sales of materials and services for use in residential construction activities are taxed at the 

regular retail rate of tax provided by Miss. Code Ann. Sections 27-65-17, 27-65-23 and 27-

67-5.  Such residences shall include homes, mobile homes, summer cottages, fishing and 

hunting camp buildings, and similar buildings, but shall not include hotels, motels, 

hospitals, apartments, condominiums, nursing or retirement homes, tourist cottages, 

military barracks, school dormitories, sorority and fraternity houses, churches or other 

commercial establishments. An “apartment” is a collection of four or more dwellings on 

continuous land with kitchen facilities and common ownership that are rented to tenants 

rather than transient guests.  Groups of single-family homes do not constitute apartments.  

A “nursing home”, as the term is used in this section, is any complex that provides any 

type of assisted living.  The caregivers can be either medical or non-medical personnel.  

 

803 It is in the discretion of the Department to separate out residential housing from a 

construction contract for nonresidential construction. 

 

804  All purchases of concrete and asphalt for residential use are taxable at the seven percent 

retail rate of sales tax at the time such materials are purchased from the vendor unless the 

purchaser is an exempt entity or provides the seller with a direct pay permit.  An exempt 

entity is one that is exempt from sales tax as provided in Miss. Code Ann. Sections 27-65-

101 through 27-65-111. Direct pay permits are issued to taxpayers under the provisions of 

Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-93.  A direct pay permit relieves the seller of the 

responsibility for collecting tax and requires the holder to remit any taxes due on the 

purchase directly to the state.  

 

805  A person with a valid sales tax number who is purchasing concrete to use in the 

performance of a taxable service is considered the consumer of the concrete and must pay 

tax to the vendor at the time of purchase.  Contractors who mix concrete or asphalt for use 

in the performance of a job owe sales tax on the value of the concrete or asphalt.  Any 

person purchasing concrete or asphalt from an out-of-state vendor for delivery and use in 

this state will be liable for remitting use tax on the purchase price of the concrete or asphalt.  

Any person who mixes concrete or asphalt out of state for delivery and use in this state will 

be liable for remitting use tax on the value of the concrete or asphalt.  The term “vendor”, 

as used in this section, means a person who is mixing concrete or asphalt from raw 

materials either at a fixed plant site location, a portable plant, or through ready-mix trucks.  

 

806  (Reserved)  

 

900  Equipment and Supplies.  
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901  Purchases by contractors and subcontractors of work equipment, tools, building forms, 

repair parts for work equipment, and similar items of tangible personal property that do not 

become component parts of the structure being erected are taxed at the regular retail rate 

of sales or use tax and any applicable special tax.  

 

902 Owners or other persons receiving benefits from the use of tangible property in this state 

are liable for use tax on such property.  

 

903  The rental or lease of equipment and other tangible personal property is taxed at the same 

rates as a sale of the same property.  

 

904 (Reserved) 

  

1000  Persons or Firms Domiciled Outside the State 

 

1001 Persons or firms domiciled outside Mississippi who perform contracts in Mississippi are 

construed to be doing business within the State and are subject to the various provisions of 

the Sales and Use Tax Laws, the Income and Withholding Tax Laws, the Franchise Tax 

Laws, and the Motor Fuel Tax Laws in the same manner as resident taxpayers.  

 

1002  (Reserved)  

 

35.IV.10.01 revised effective  December 22, 2024 

 

 

Chapter 02  Construction Equipment – Dealers  

 

100 Tax Rates 

 

101 Sales of all construction equipment, attachments, parts, labor, and services are taxable at 

the applicable retail rate of sales tax. 

 

102 Sales under a warranty agreement with a manufacturer are not taxable on that part charged 

to the manufacturer under the warranty agreement.  Any part of the charge made to the 

customer is taxable at the applicable retail rate. 

 

103 Internal sales of parts and labor that are necessary to repair construction equipment in 

inventory of the dealers are not taxable because the tax will apply on the sale of the repaired 

equipment. 

 

104 “Sales price” or “purchase price” means the full amount received from the sale of property 

delivery charges, manufacturers excise tax, and any other additions to the selling price.  

Finance charges, carrying charges, or any other addition to the selling price as a result of 

deferred payments by the purchaser are excluded from the sales price or purchase price and 

are not subject to sales or use tax.  No distinction is made between sales of new, used, or 
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trade-in equipment for tax purposes, all being taxed on the differences in the sales price 

and the amount allowed for a trade-in. 

 

105 (Reserved) 

 

200 Repossessions 

 

201 Repossessions shall be treated as returned merchandise and credit will be allowed only for 

the uncollected part of the selling price previously reported.  The subsequent sale of the 

repossessed item will be taxable on the same basis as the sale of new merchandise. 

 

202 (Reserved) 

 

300 Rentals 

 

301 Income from renting or leasing tangible personal property is taxed at the same rates as sales 

of the same property. 

 

302 Licensed dealers owe no tax on the cost of property withdrawn from inventory for lease or 

rental.  Subsequent sales of property that has been rented or leased are taxed on the full 

sales price with no deduction allowed as a result of tax paid on rental or lease income. 

 

303 (Reserved) 

 

400 Out of State Sales 

 

401 All sales of equipment by Mississippi dealers are presumed to have been made in this state 

unless the dealer can provide factual evidence that the equipment was delivered to the 

customer outside of this state for first use in another state. 

 

402 (Reserved) 

 

500 Use Tax 

 

501 Persons who buy equipment in other states are liable for the payment of a use tax at the 

same rate and on the same basis as the sales tax, with proper credit allowed for another 

state’s tax. 

 

502 Purchases of property for resale are wholesale sales and exempt from sales or use tax. 

 

503 (Reserved) 

 

35.IV.10.02 revised effective  December 22, 2024 

 

 

Chapter 03  Oil Field Services 
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100 Levy 

 

101 Persons involved in the business of providing services related to geophysical surveying, 

exploring, developing, drilling, producing, distributing, or testing of oil, gas,  and other 

mineral resources are subject to a four-and-one-half percent retail sales tax on their gross 

income. Services connected to geophysical surveying, exploring, developing, drilling, 

producing, distributing, or testing of water resources that are not linked to the development 

of oil, gas, and other mineral resources are subject to a seven percent retail sales tax rate. 

 

102 Consultants, supervisors, and engineers whose presence is required at the well site or inside 

the oil field on a permanent or continuing basis are considered to be engaged in an oil field 

service and are liable for sales tax. Where the operator owns an interest in a well under his 

management, he is liable for tax on compensation received from the other owners. 

 

103 Well operators that rebill services to nonoperating working interest owners on behalf of the 

joint account through the joint interest billing (JIB), where the sales tax has been paid or 

accrued by the operator shall not be charged a sales tax on the JIB as services income.  

 

104 For this chapter, an  “operator” holds all or a fraction of the working or operating rights in 

an oil or gas lease and is obligated for the costs of production either as a fee owner or under 

a lease or any other form of contract creating working or operating rights. 

 

105 (Reserved) 

 

200 Gross Income 

 

201 Any business which performs taxable services incurs business expenses which of necessity 

must be recovered through charges for its services.  Such expenses include meals and 

lodging for employees, mileage, equipment rental, and supplies such as chemicals, swab 

cups, and explosives which are used or consumed in the performance of services.  The term 

"gross income" includes charges made for recovery of these expenses and are taxable 

irrespective of the fact that they may be itemized or that the goods or services have borne 

a retail tax at the time of purchase. 

 

202 Charges for transportation, outside an oil or gas field, in connection with rigging up or 

rigging down are not includable in taxable receipts.  Companies that rig up or down a 

derrick in connection with hauling said derrick are deemed to be in the transportation 

business and are subject to tax only on the portion of the service performed in the oil or gas 

field.  Transportation from one location in a field to another location in the same field is 

considered an oil field service taxable at the four and one-half precent  retail rate of sales 

tax. 

 

203 Services such as saltwater disposal, but not limited thereto, are considered oil field services 

taxable at the four and one-half percent retail rate of sales tax on the gross income received 



    

Page 16 of 40 

 

from such service.  Any transportation charges in connection with such services are 

considered an expense of performing the service and are not excludable from gross income. 

 

204 "Gross income" from gathering and interpreting data within and without this state may be 

apportioned between the states if adequate records are maintained.  "Gross income" does 

not include receipts which constitute reimbursement by clients for the cost of easements to 

cross or enter land of property owners for property damage payments.  In addition to 

services ordinarily rendered, the operator of a management company may also act as an 

agent for well owners in arranging for other services.  In such cases, the operator is not 

liable for tax on receipts which represent rebilling to the owners of payments made to 

vendors by the operator for property purchased and services performed for owners on 

which the regular retail rate of tax has been paid to the vendors. 

 

205 The gross income from oil field services performed in Mississippi is taxable at the  four 

and one-half percent rate of sales tax however, no sales tax is due when service is 

performed for another licensed dealer in the same service. 

 

206 Adequate records must be maintained to substantiate exempt sales. 

 

207 (Reserved) 

 

300 Equipment 

 

301 Purchase or rentals of equipment and materials used in connection with geophysical 

surveying, exploring, developing, drilling, redrilling, completing, working over, 

producing, distributing, or testing of oil, gas, and other mineral resources shall be taxed at 

the rate of four and one-half percent.   

 

302 Manufactured or produced products withdrawn for use or consumption are taxable at the 

four-and-one-half percent rate of tax, measured by the cost or value when converted to use.  

In no instance shall the value be less than the selling price of similar products. 

 

303 A truck (chassis, motor, etc.) used to haul specialized equipment is taxed at the special 

three percent rate of sales or use tax and the specialized equipment mounted thereon is 

taxed at the four and one-half percent retail rate of tax when the equipment is used in 

connection with geophysical surveying, exploring, developing, drilling, producing, 

distributing, or testing of oil, gas, and other mineral resources. 

 

400 Permit Requirements  

 

401 Businesses working in oil and gas fields may apply for a permit that will allow them to rent 

or purchase equipment and materials to be used in the oil or gas field at the reduced four 

and one-half percent rate. Operators will be able to present the permit to vendors to be 

eligible for the reduced rate.  
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402 Operators may apply for this permit on the Taxpayer Access Point (TAP) on the 

Department’s website.  

 

403 Each permit will be issued for 4 years. 

 

 

35.IV.10.03 revised effective December 22, 2024 
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Sub Part 10  Construction and Oil Field 

 

Chapter 01 Construction Contractors  

 

100  Definitions.  

 

101  The terms “contractor” and “prime contractor” mean a person entering into an agreement, 

either verbal or written, with the owner of a project to perform such work as is described 

in the following paragraphs.  A person may not contract with himself.  

 

102  A “subcontractor” is a person entering into an agreement with a prime contractor or other 

subcontractor to perform work required under the prime contract.  

 

103  A person entering into an agreement, or “management contract”, on a fee basis is not 

considered a prime contractor when that such person acts as a liaison between the owner 

of the project and the various contractors who are hired and paid directly by the owner.   

 

104 (Reserved)  

 

200  Qualification and Payment of Tax.  

 

201  A contractor, except for drilling contractors, taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-

65-21 mustshall apply to the Commissioner for a Material Purchase Certificate (MPC) 

identifying the specific contract before  work is begun.   Contracts for residential 

construction are not taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21 and do not qualify 

for an MPC. 

 



    

Page 22 of 40 

 

202  The contractor's tax, together with any use tax due, must be paid before work is begun on 

any contract exceeding seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000), unless a bond is filed with 

the Department of Revenue.  Bond forms are made available on request.  

 

203  On taxable contracts between ten thousand dollars ($10,000) and seventy-five thousand 

dollars ($75,000), or when a bond is required to be filed, the tax must be paid on a monthly 

basismonthly as compensation is received regardlessreceived regardless of a contractor’s 

sales tax filing status.  Any use tax due on equipment shall be paid on or before the 

twentieth (20th) day of the month following the month in which the property is brought into 

Mississippi.  

 

204  Persons or firms without a permanent place of business within Mississippi are required to 

qualify and pay the the three and one-half percent 3½% contractor's tax and any use tax 

due on the total contract amount before work is begun, unless a bond is filed as provided 

by Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-27 in an amount sufficient to cover these taxes.  

 

205  The contractor’s tax is levied upon the prime contractor. Subcontractors who perform work 

on a qualified prime contract owe no tax on the subcontract price or gross income unless 

the prime contractor fails to pay the tax due.  A subcontractor may want to request a copy 

of the MPC from the prime contractor.  Should the prime contractor fail to qualify the 

contract and pay the amount of tax due, the subcontractor is liable for the contractor's tax 

on the that portion of the work sublet to him.  

 

206  The two percent2%  taxpayer discount is not allowed on sales tax imposed and levied by 

Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21 (contractor's tax).  

 

207 Failure to comply with the requirements to obtain an MPC before work begins, prepay 

contractor’s and use taxes, or obtain a bond shall result in the contractor being prohibited 

from performing the contract until such requirements are met. 

 

208 A ten percent (10%) penalty is due on all deficiencies.  Deficiencies include failure to post 

a bond or prepay the tax in full on all contracts requiring the posting of a bond or 

prepayment of tax before work has begun.  This penalty is based on the total amount of tax 

due on the total contract price.  A ten percent (10%) penalty is also due on the tax applicable 

to monthly compensation not reported timely on subsequent returns.   

 

209  There will not be a ten percent  (10%)  penalty on the same deficiency more than once.  

Any portion of tax related to compensation that was penalized as a failure to post a bond 

or prepay the tax in full on contracts before the work was begun will not alsobe subject to 

a ten percent (10%) penalty on the late remittance of monthly returns.  Any portion of tax 

related to the late remittance of monthly returns that was penalized will not also be subject 

to a  ten percent (10%)  penalty for failure to post a bond or prepay the tax of a contract.  

 

210 In the instance a contractor or subcontractor incorrectly uses an MPC number to purchase 

non-component materials or services, and it is determined by the Commissioner that there 

is intentional disregard of the law or done with intent to defraud, there will be a fifty percent 
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(50%) penalty assessed. This penalty will be used when the contractor or subcontractor 

misuses an MPC number or when an audit of taxpayer records reveals an attempt to 

disguise or hide the misuse of an MPC number. This penalty will not be assessed if the 

taxpayer can prove reasonable cause for failure to comply. 
   

211 (Reserved)  

 

300  Activities Taxed and Application of Rates.  

 

301 A tax of three and one-half percent3½%  is levied on the total contract amount or 

compensation received from all contracts, except contracts for residential construction, that 

exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000) when the work to be performed is constructing, 

building, erecting, repairing, grading, excavating, drilling, exploring, testing or adding to 

any of the following:  

1.  Air conditioning system  

2.  Bridge  

3.  Building  

4.  Culvert  

5.  Dam  

6.  Dock  

7.  Drainage or dredging system  

8.  Electrical system  

9. Heating system  

10.  Highway  

11.  Irrigation or water system  

12.  Levee or levee system  

13.  Oil or gas well 

134.  Pipeline  

145.  Power plant  

156.  Railway  

167.  Reservoir  

178.  Sewer  

189.  Sidewalk  

1920.  Storage tank  

201.  Street  

212.  Tower  

223.  Transmission line  

234.  Water well  

245.  Wharf  

256.  Wiring for communication or information systems  

267.  Any other improvement or structure or any part thereof (fences, etc.)  

 

302  The tax is levied on contracts with the United States Government, the State of Mississippi 

and its political subdivisions and any other exempt agency,, without any deduction for 

amounts paid to subcontractors, architects, engineers, landscapers, or for any other costs or 

expenses (including the the three and one-half percent (3½%)3½% contractor’s tax) 
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incurred by the contractor.  Liquidated damages that are withheld by the owner are not to 

be included in taxable contract receipts.  

 

303 The portion of the total contract price attributable to design or engineering services is 

excluded from the contractor’s tax if the total contract price for the project exceeds one 

hundred million dollars  ($100,000,000); or if the engineering services are performed by a 

professional engineer, as defined in the Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-13-3, who is the 

general or prime contractor.      

 

304  A person taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-23 who performs any of the 

activities listed in section 301 as a prime contractor for compensation in excess of ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) shall qualify and pay tax as a contractor in lieu ofinstead of the 

seven percent (7%) retail rate.tax levied by Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-23.   Activities 

subject to the seven percent (7%) tax rate so taxed under Miss Code Ann. Section 27-65-

23 are:  

1. Air conditioning installation or repairs;repairs.  

2. Electrical work, wiring, and all repairs or installations of electrical 

equipment;equipment.  

3. Elevator or escalator installation or repairs;repairs.  

4. Grading, excavating, ditching, dredging, or landscaping;landscaping.  

5. Insulating services or repairs;repairs.  

6. Plumbing or pipe fitting;fitting.  

7. Tin and sheet metal work;work.  

8. Welding, etc.  

 

305  Persons performing any services taxed under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-23 for 

contracts of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or less owes the regular seven percent (7%) 

retail rate of sales tax on gross income.   A person performing contracts of ten thousand 

dollars ($10,000) or less that do not include services taxed under Miss. Code Ann. Section 

27-65-23 owes noowes no tax on gross income but are is required to pay the regular retail 

rate of sales or use tax on all taxable purchases.  

 

306  Continuous contracts on projects embracing activities taxable under Miss. Code Ann. 

Section 27-65-21, which are to be carried on for a definite period of time and a definite 

amount, will be qualified and taxed at the three and one-half percent3½% rate.   Otherwise, 

the determination of whether a contract is subject to tax under Miss. Code Ann. Section 

27-65-21 will be made from purchase orders, work orders, or invoices.  Purchase orders, 

work orders or invoices that are a continuation of prior purchase orders, work orders, or 

invoices will be considered part of one project.  Generally,, work on a project takes place 

in the same, adjacent, or adjoining area.   Transmission lines (gas, water, sewage, power, 

telephone, etc.) are considered a project.  Amounts included in the contract for non-taxable 

activities (grass cutting, tree trimming, etc.) may be excluded from the taxable amount of 

the contract.   

 

307  Individual contracts for the construction of several buildings, streets, etc., or parts thereof, 

may together be qualifiable as a prime contract despite the fact that the compensation for 



    

Page 25 of 40 

 

each separate part of the project is less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or less..  In 

order toTo determine whether such contracts are qualifiable, consideration must be given 

to the types of activities involved.  

 

308  Contracts for the performance of work upon personal property, such as shipbuilding or ship 

repairing, or activities that consist of demolishing or razing old property or clearing land, 

are not subject to the provisions of Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21.  However, where 

land clearing or building razing activities are incidental to the primary purpose of the 

contract, such as highway or building construction, the total contract is taxable.  No 

separation of incidental activity will be allowed even though it may be subcontracted.  

 

309  Contractor’s tax does not apply to the contract price or compensation received to restore, 

repair, or replace a utility distribution or transmission system (electric, gas, water, sewage, 

telephone, etc.) damaged by an ice storm, hurricane, flood, tornado, wind, earthquake or 

other natural disaster if the entity performing the restoration, repair or replacement is 

reimbursed for its cost only. 

 

310 The portion of the contract price or compensation received from the sale and installation 

of manufacturing or processing machinery that loses its identity as tangible personal 

property to a manufacturer or a customer processor is to be taxed at the special sales tax 

rate of one and one-half percent1 ½%. 

 

311 (Reserved) Drilling contractors are required to pay retail sales or use tax on the purchase 

of all equipment, materials, or supplies. Material Purchase Certificates are not issued to 

drilling contractors.  

 

312 Directional drilling, for purposes other than oil or gas production, is subject to the seven 

percent (7%) retail rate of tax unless it is performed by the drilling contractor. If the 

directional drilling is performed by the drilling contractor, it is subject to the contractor's 

tax as a part of the drilling contract.for contracts equal to or less than ten thousand dollars 

($10,000).  Directional drilling jobs, for purposes other than oil or gas production, 

exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000) are subject to the three and one-half percent 

(3½%) contractor’s tax. 

 

313 A truck (chassis, motor, etc.) used to haul specialized equipment is taxed at the special 

three percent rate of sales or use tax and the specialized equipment mounted thereon is 

taxed at the seven percent retail rate of tax (example: drilling or workover rigs).the 

applicable rate of sales or use tax that applies to the equipment. 

 

314 When property has not been used in another state and is imported into this State for use, 

the taxable basis is the value of the property at the time of importation. Persons using 

business property in this state which has been used by them in other states shall be entitled 

to a credit for sales and/or use tax paid to other states equal to the aggregate of all such 

state rates multiplied by the value of the property at the time it was imported into this state.  

The value of the property at the time it is imported into this state may not be less than 

twenty percent (20%) of the original cost of the property.  Credit for sales or use tax paid 
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to other states requires invoices clearly showing the tax as a separate item, and no credit is 

allowed otherwise.  The credit allowed may not exceed the Mississippi use tax due. 

 

315  Persons using business property in this state which was acquired from another person who 

used it in other states is allowed credit equal to the applicable rate in the state where the 

property was last used by the previous owner multiplied by the value of the property at the 

time it was imported into this state.  The value of the property at the time it is imported into 

this state may not be less than twenty percent (20%) of the original cost of the property.  

The credit allowed may not exceed the Mississippi use tax due. 

Credit for sales or use tax paid to another state in which the property was acquired or used may be 

taken in computing the amount of use tax due this state, but such credit must be computed 

by applying the rate of sales or use tax paid to another state of the value of the property at 

the time it enters Mississippi.  

 

315316 Owners or other persons receiving benefits from the use of tangible personal 

property in this state are liable for use tax on such property. 

 

316317 (Reserved)  
 

 

400  Floating Structures.  

 

401  A three and one-half percent3½% tax is levied on the gross proceeds or gross receipts from 

the sale of any tangible personal property that becomes a component part of any floating 

structure, or on the performance of any construction activity upon any floating structure 

(not limited to casinos).  These floating structures are located within the waters of the State 

of Mississippi and are normally moored and not normally engaged in the business of 

transporting people or property.  This tax does not apply to tangible personal property that 

does not become a component part of the structure.  If one contractor is doing both land-

based and floating structure construction, this tax may be paid by the contractor; otherwise, 

the owner of a floating structure is responsible for the tax.  The owner of a floating structure 

subject to the three and one-half percent3½% tax will be issued a Casino Construction 

Project Certificate. The owner will provide the CCPC number to the prime contractors and 

sub-contractors performing work on the structure.  This will allow the component materials 

and parts used in the construction activities to be purchased exempt from sales tax. 

 

402  The owner of a floating structure will also be issued a direct pay number.  With the use of 

the CCPC number and this direct pay number, tax is accrued on the owner’s use tax return 

and not paid to vendors.  

 

403 The contractor will be allowed to qualify those contracts involving both land-based and 

water-based structures that cannot be easily separated, as long as the land-based portion of 

the contract is in excess of  ten thousand dollars ($10,000).  

 

404  (Reserved)  

 

500  Material Purchase Certificates and Component Materials.  
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501  A Material Purchase Certificate is a certificate issued by the Department upon application 

by a construction contractor with a qualifying contract.  Each MPC is assigned an 

identifying number which that relates to a specific contract.  Application to the 

Commissioner for an MPC number is required before work is begun to cover all qualifying 

commercial, non-residential construction.   The  MPC number allows the contractor and 

his subcontractors to make tax-free purchases of materials and services that become a 

component part of the structure covered by the qualified contract.  The MPC number is not 

applicabledoes not apply to other contracts and expires upon completion of the contract.  

 

502  The contractor and his subcontractors must shall provide their vendors with the MPC 

number when purchasing component materials.  The vendors shall list the MPC number on 

each sales invoice as a prerequisite to claiming the exemption. Contractors and 

subcontractors incorrectly using an MPC number to purchase non-component materials or 

services will be held liable for the applicable sales tax due on their purchases.  See 

Mississippi Department of Revenue vs Hotel and Restaurant Supply 192 So.3d 942 (Miss. 

2016). Vendors who incorrectly accept aann MPC number to exempt the sale of 

consumables or services such as the rental of construction and related equipment will be 

liable for the applicable sales tax due.   

 

503  Component materials are all materials that become an integral part of the structure being 

erected. Certain taxable services provided under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-23 are 

also considered to be component of the structure. Component materials may include built-

in furniture, fixtures, appliances and similar personal property.  For personal property to 

become real property, it must be permanently attached to real property.  To be considered 

permanently attached, the property must lose its identity as personal property and one or 

more of the following criteria must be met:  

1. The property or equipment must be attached to building walls, floors, and/or ceilings 

in such a way as to require design or structural alterations to the real property to which 

it is being attached; or  

2.  The property cannot be removed intactintact, or its removal would result in the 

alteration or destruction of the structure or property; or  

3.  The property must become an independent structure, itself (real property).  

 

504  Non-componentNon-component material is property that retains its identity as tangible 

personal property. Free-standing furniture, fixtures, appliances and similar personal 

property are non-component materials. Non-component property may be excluded from 

the measure of the contractor's tax. 

 

505 Items that are considered to be non-component materials include, but are not limited to, the 

following: 

 1. Awnings; 

 2. Building signage (channel letters, etc. h); 

3. Cellular telephone tower additions (antennas, radio equipment, platforms, etc.); 

4. Conveyor systems, non-integrated; 

5. Digital billboard screens; 
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6. Fuel dispensers; 

7.  Generators; 

8. Gutters; 

9. Irrigation systems, above the ground; 

10. Motors; 

11. Movable bleachers or stadium seating; 

12. Playground equipment; 

13. Removable/replaceable pumps; 

14. Solar panels; 

15. Walk-in cooler/freezer; 

16. Water treatment clarifiers, descales and water conditioning/filtration equipment, 

etc, and. 

17. Catwalks or raised walkways that are not permanently attached to real property.  

 

  

506 The purchase price or sales price of non-component materials is taxed as a withdrawal of 

stock at the regular seven percent (7% retail rate and any applicable special tax levy when 

these items are purchased exempt with an MPC.  The sales tax on purchases of non-

component materials should be reported on the contractor’s or subcontractor’s Sales Tax 

return.  Any special tax levy should be reported by the contractor or subcontractor on their 

sales tax return at the applicable rate.   

 

507  Free-standing personal property sold under a contract with the United States Government, 

the State of Mississippi and its political subdivisions, or any other exempt agency that has 

been qualified can be purchased tax free.  The contractor must apply to the Department for 

a letter granting the authority to purchase free-standing personal property exempt from tax.  

 

508 When records and invoices are not kept to substantiate the exemption, sales made to the 

contractor or subcontractor will be considered retail sales, taxable at the seven percent 

regular retail rate.  Contractors with contracts taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-

65-21 who have paid retail sales tax on purchases of materials and services in the state that 

become a component part of a structure being erected or repaired may take a credit against 

their sales tax liabilities for the sales tax paid on these purchases after obtaining the MPC 

for the related project. 

 

509  A valid MPC number or direct pay permit is required to make an exempt purchase of 

concrete or asphalt for use in any commercial construction job that is required to be 

qualified under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21.  All purchases of asphalt or concrete 

for commercial construction jobs of less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or less are 

taxable at the seven percentregular retail rate of tax at the time of purchase, unless the 

purchaser is an exempt entity or provides the seller with a direct pay permit.  An exempt 

entity is one that is exempt from sales tax as provided in Miss. Code Ann. Sections 27-65-

101 through 27-65-111.  Direct pay permits are issued to taxpayers under the provisions of 

Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-93.   
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510  A person with a valid sales tax number who is purchasing concrete to use in the 

performance of a taxable service is considered the consumer of the concrete and must pay 

tax to the vendor at the time of purchase.  Contractors who mix concrete or asphalt for use 

in the performance of a job owe sales tax on the value of the concrete or asphalt.  Any 

person purchasing concrete or asphalt from an out-of-state vendor for delivery and use in 

this state will be liable for remitting use tax on the purchase price of the concrete or asphalt.  

Any person who mixes concrete or asphalt out of state for delivery and use in this state will 

be liable for remitting use tax on the value of the concrete or asphalt. The term “vendor,” 

as used in this section, means the person who is manufacturing or producing the concrete 

or asphalt from raw materials either at a fixed plant site location, a portable plant, or 

through ready-mix trucks. Materials used to form concrete are not considered component 

materials and may not be covered by the use of an MPC number.  

 

511  (Reserved)  

 

600  Bond Requirement.  

 

601  A bond must be filed on taxable contracts exceeding seventy-five thousand dollars 

($75,000) that are performed in this sState unless the tax is prepaid.  Persons or firms 

without a permanent place of business within Mississippi must file a bond on any taxable 

contract in excess of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) unless the tax is prepaid.  

 

602  Such bonds must shall be either (a) job bonds which guarantee the payment of taxes 

resulting from the performance of a specified job or activity regardless of date of 

completion; or (b) blanket bonds which guarantee the payment of taxes resulting from the 

performance of all jobs or activities taxable under Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21 that 

are begun during a specified period, regardless of the date of completion.  The bond must 

be sufficient to cover the liability for sales, use, income, withholding, and motor fuel taxes 

and must be approved by the Commissioner.  

 

603 In lieu of a job or blanket bond, a tax rider, with a copy of a performance and/or payment 

bond, may be accepted.  In order for the tax rider to be accepted, a copy of the performance 

and/or payment bond for which the tax rider is executed must be on file with the 

Department. 

 

604 It is in the discretion of the Department to require that a job bond be filed when making an 

application to the Commissioner for an MPC for continuous and/or maintenance projects.  

This request must be updated annually along with the submission of proof of continued 

bonding coverage. 

 

605  Where a contractor prepaid the sales tax, but a use, income, withholding, or motor fuel tax 

bond is still required, the contractor will be notified of the bond requirement after an 

application for a Material Purchase Certificate has been received.  

 

606  When a contractor defaults ionon the execution of his contract and the bonding company 

acting as surety for the performance of the contract assumes completion of the contract, the 
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bonding company becomes liable for the payment of the sales, use, income, withholding, 

and motor fuel tax accruing as a result of its activities.  The contractor’s MPC number 

becomes void at the time of default.  The surety company shall make an application to the 

Commissioner for an MPC covering the remaining/unfinished portion of the contract.  The 

application must include proper bonding and/or prepayment of tax.   

 

607  (Reserved)  

 

700 Owner Construction.  

 

701  A person constructing buildings on property he owns is not a contractor and is liable for 

the retail sales or use tax on all materials or services purchased even though the person may 

enter into a contract to sell the building and lot (real property) before construction is 

completed.  

 

702 (Reserved)  

 

800  Residential Construction.  

 

801  The contract price or compensation received for constructing, building, erecting, repairing, 

or adding to any building, electrical system, heating system, or any other improvement or 

structure that is used for or primarily in connection with a residence or dwelling place for 

human beings is excluded from the the three and one-half percent3½% contractor’s tax 

provided by Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-21.  

 

802 Sales of materials and services for use in residential construction activities are taxed at the 

regular retail rate of tax provided by Miss. Code Ann. Sections 27-65-17, 27-65-23 and 27-

67-5.  Such residences shall include homes, mobile homes, summer cottages, fishing and 

hunting camp buildings, and similar buildings, but shall not include hotels, motels, 

hospitals, apartments, condominiums, nursing or retirement homes, tourist cottages, 

military barracks, school dormitories, sorority and fraternity houses, churches or other 

commercial establishments. An “apartment” is a collection of four or more dwellings on 

continuous land with kitchen facilities and common ownership that are rented to tenants 

rather than transient guests.  Groups of single familysingle-family homes do not constitute 

apartments.  A “nursing home”, as the term is used in this section, is any complex that 

provides any type of assisted living.  The caregivers can be either medical or non-medical 

personnel.  

 

803 It is in the discretion of the Department to separate out residential housing from a 

construction contract for nonresidential construction. 

 

804  All purchases of concrete and asphalt for residential use are taxable at the seven percent 

regular retail rate of sales tax at the time such materials are purchased from the vendor 

unless the purchaser is an exempt entity or provides the seller with a direct pay permit.  An 

exempt entity is one that is exempt from sales tax as provided in Miss. Code Ann. Sections 

27-65-101 through 27-65-111.   Direct pay permits are issued to taxpayers under the 
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provisions of Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-65-93.  A direct pay permit relieves the seller of 

the responsibility for collecting tax and requires the holder to remit any taxes due on the 

purchase directly to the state.  

 

805  A person with a valid sales tax number who is purchasing concrete to use in the 

performance of a taxable service is considered the consumer of the concrete and must pay 

tax to the vendor at the time of purchase.  Contractors who mix concrete or asphalt for use 

in the performance of a job owe sales tax on the value of the concrete or asphalt.  Any 

person purchasing concrete or asphalt from an out-of-state vendor for delivery and use in 

this state will be liable for remitting use tax on the purchase price of the concrete or asphalt.  

Any person who mixes concrete or asphalt out of state for delivery and use in this state will 

be liable for remitting use tax on the value of the concrete or asphalt.  The term “vendor”, 

as used in this section, means a person who is mixing concrete or asphalt from raw 

materials either at a fixed plant site location, a portable plant, or through ready-mix trucks.  

 

806  (Reserved)  

 

900  Equipment and Supplies.  

 

901  Purchases by contractors and subcontractors of work equipment, tools, building forms, 

repair parts for work equipment, and similar items of tangible personal property that do not 

become component parts of the structure being erected are taxed at the regular retail rate 

of sales or use tax and any applicable special tax.  When property of this type has been 

previously used in another state and is imported into this sState for use, the use tax is due 

on the fair market value of the property at the time of importation.  At no time shall the 

value be less than twenty percent (20%)  of the original cost.  Credit for sales or use tax 

paid to another state in which the property was acquired or used may be taken in computing 

the amount of use tax due this sState.  The credit must be computed by applying the rate of 

sales or use tax paid to another state to the value of the property at the time it enters 

Mississippi.  

 

902 Owners or other persons receiving benefits from the use of tangible property in this sState 

are liable for use tax on such property.  

 

903  The rental or lease of equipment and other tangible personal property is taxed at the same 

rates as a sale of the same property.  

 

 

904 (Reserved) 

  

1000  Persons or Firms Domiciled Outside the State  

 

1001 Persons or firms domiciled outside Mississippi who perform contracts in Mississippi are 

construed to be doing business within the State and are subject to the various provisions of 

the Sales and Use Tax Laws, the Income and Withholding Tax Laws, the Franchise Tax 

Laws, and the Motor Fuel Tax Laws in the same manner as are resident taxpayers.  
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1002  (Reserved)  

 

35.IV.10.01 revised effective April 1, 2018. December 21, 2024 

 

 

Chapter 02  Drilling Contractors (Oil and Gas Wells) Deleted 

 

Definitions 

 

100 Definitions.  Certain words, terms and phrases used in this regulation have meanings 

ascribed to them as follows: 

1.  Interest Well. When the driller owns a portion of the lease and one or more other persons 

own the remaining portion upon which a well is drilled, such a joint leasehold is known 

as an "interest well". 

2. Ownership Well. When a drilling contractor owns 100% of a lease and drills a well on 

it, he has no taxable income. 

3. Operator. One who holds all or a fraction of the working or operating rights in an oil 

or gas lease, and is obligated for the costs of production either as a fee owner or under 

a lease or any other form of contract creating working or operating rights. 

4. Bottom-Hole Contribution. Money or property given to an operator for his use in the 

drilling of a well on property in which the payor has no interest. The contribution is 

payable whether the well is productive or nonproductive. 

5. Dry-Hole Contribution. Money or property given to an operator for his use in the 

drilling of a well on property in which the payor has no interest. Such contribution is 

payable only in the event the well is found to be nonproductive. 

6. Total Contract Price or Compensation Received. Amounts received as compensation 

for performing a drilling contract, including assignments of dry-hole or bottom-hole 

contributions and anything else of value. When the kind and amount of compensation 

received by the contractor is contingent upon production, the compensation received 

shall be the total compensation receivable in the event the well is a dry-hole. 

7. a. Taxable Compensation. In determining "taxable compensation", certain items are 

 deductible from the "compensation received" when the regular retail tax or, if 

 applicable, the contractor’s tax (road construction, site preparation, etc.) has been 

 paid by the contractor to the person making the sale or rendering the service and 

 as enumerated below: 

  i.   Additives  

  ii. Casing  

  iii. Cement  

  iv.  Coring  

  v.  Directional Drilling  

  vi. Fishing tool rentals 

  vii. Logging 

  viii.   Mud 

  ix. Perforation 

  x. Road Construction 
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  xi. Site preparation 

  xii. Testing  

  xiii. Water 

 b. No other expenses or cost incurred by the driller in the drilling operation is 

 excludable in determining "taxable compensation". 

 

101 (Reserved) 

 

Qualifications and Payment of Tax 

 

200 Qualifications and Payment of Tax.  A drilling contractor taxable under Section 27-65-21 

on a specified contract exceeding $10,000 shall qualify with the State Tax Commission to 

identify the specific contract before work is begun. 

 

201 The contractor's tax together with any use tax due must be paid before work is begun on 

contracts exceeding $75,000 unless a surety bond is filed with the State Tax Commission 

for these taxes (Section 27-65-21). (See "Bond Requirement".) 

 

202 On taxable contracts of $75,000 or less, or when a bond is filed, the tax due under Section 

27-65-21 must be paid on a monthly basis as compensation is received. Any use tax on 

equipment shall be payable on or before the twentieth (20th) day of the month following 

the month in which the property is brought into Mississippi. 

 

203 The 2% vendor's discount does not apply to the tax levied under Section 27-65-21. 

 

204 (Reserved) 

 

Tax Rates and Activities Taxed 

 

300 Tax Rates and Activities Taxed.  A tax of 3½% is levied on the "taxable compensation" 

received when the contract price exceeds $10,000 for drilling, redrilling, directional 

drilling or working over a gas well, oil well or salt water disposal well. This tax applies 

also to interest well contracts on the "taxable compensation" received from the other 

owners. Drilling, redrilling, directional drilling or working over a gas well, oil well or salt 

water disposal well performed as sub work for a prime contractor is not subject to tax when 

the prime contractor has paid the 3½% tax on the total "taxable compensation". 

 

301 Contracts of $10,000 or less and oil field services involving activities other than those listed 

in the preceding paragraph are taxed at the regular retail rate of tax on the gross income of 

the business as provided by Section 27-65-23 of the Sales Tax Law.  

 

302 (Reserved) 

 

Bond Requirement 
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400 Bond Requirement.  A surety bond must be filed on taxable contracts exceeding $75,000 

performed in this state unless the tax is prepaid. Such bonds shall be either (a) "job bonds" 

which guarantee payment when due of the aforesaid taxes resulting from performance of a 

specified job or activity regardless of date of completion; or (b) "blanket bonds" which 

guarantee payment when due of the aforesaid taxes resulting from performance of all jobs 

or activities taxable under Section 27-65-21 begun during the period specified therein, 

regardless of the date of completion. The bond must be sufficient to cover the liability for 

sales, use, income and withholding taxes and must be approved by the Commissioner. 

 

401 (Reserved) 

Sales or Use Tax on Purchases 

 

500 Sales or Use Tax on Purchases.  Drilling contractors and operators are required to pay retail 

sales or use tax on the purchase of all equipment, materials or supplies. Material Purchase 

Certificates are not issued to drilling contractors. 

 

501 Directional drilling is subject to the regular retail rate of tax unless it is performed by the 

drilling contractor. If the directional drilling is performed by the drilling contractor, it is 

subject to the contractor's tax as a part of the drilling contract. 

 

502 A truck (chassis, motor, etc.) used to haul specialized equipment is taxed at the special 3% 

rate of sales or use tax and the specialized equipment mounted thereon is taxed at the 

regular retail rate of tax (example: drilling or workover rigs). 

 

503 When property has not been use in another state and is imported into this State for use, the 

taxable basis is the value of the property at the time of importation. Credit for sales or use 

tax paid to another state in which the property was acquired or used may be taken in 

computing the amount of use tax due this State, but such credit must be computed by 

applying the rate of sales or use tax paid to another state of the value of the property at the 

time it enters Mississippi.  

 

504 Owners or other persons receiving benefits from use of tangible personal property in this 

State are liable for use tax on such property. 

 

505 (Reserved) 

 

Rentals  

 

600 Rentals.  Rental or lease of equipment and other tangible personal property is taxed at the 

same rates as sales of the same property. The lessor is primarily liable for this tax but is 

required to add tax to his invoice and to collect the amount of tax due from the lessee.  

 

601 Adequate records must be maintained to substantiate classifications of income and 

purchases. 

 

602 (Reserved) 
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Chapter 02  Construction Equipment – Dealers  

 

100 Tax Rates 

 

1010 Tax Rates.  Sales of all construction equipment, attachments, parts, labor, and services are 

taxable at the seven percent regularapplicable retail rate of sales tax. 

 

 

1012 Sales under a warranty agreement with a the manufacturer are not taxable on that part 

charged to the factorymanufacturer under the warranty agreement.  Any part of the charge 

made to the customer is taxable at the seven percent regularapplicable retail rate. 

 

1023 Internal sales of parts and labor that are necessary to repair construction equipment in 

inventory of the dealers are not taxable because the tax will apply on the sale of the repaired 

equipment. 

 

1034 “Sales price” or “purchase price” means the full amount received from the sale of property, 

including carrying charges when a dealer carries his own paper, delivery charges, 

manufacturers excise tax, and any other additions to the selling price.  Finance charges, 

carrying charges or any other addition to the selling price as a result of deferred payments 

by the purchaser are excluded from the sales price or purchase price and are not subject to 

sales or use tax.  No distinction is made between sales of new, used, or trade-in equipment 

for tax purposes, all being taxed on the differences in the sales price and the amount 

allowed for a trade-in. 

 

104105  (Reserved) 

 

 

200 Repossessions 

 

200201  RepossessionsRepossessions shall be treated as returned merchandise and 

credit will be allowed only for the uncollected part of the selling price previously reported.  

The subsequent sale of the repossessed item will be taxable on the same basis as the sale 

of new merchandise. 

 

201202 (Reserved) 

 

300 Rentals 

 

300301 Rentals.  Income from renting or leasing tangible personal property is taxed at the 

same rates as sales of the same property. 

 

301302 Licensed dealers owe no tax on the cost of property withdrawn from inventory for 

lease or rental.  Subsequent sales of property that has been rented or leased are taxed on 
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the full sales price with no deduction allowed as a result of tax paid on rental or lease 

income. 

 

302303 (Reserved) 

 

400 Out of State Sales 

 

400401  Out-of-state-sales.  All sales of equipment by Mississippi dealers are 

presumed to have been made in this sState unless the dealer can provide factual evidence 

that the equipment was delivered to the customer outside of this sState for first use in 

another state. 

 

401402  (Reserved) 

 

500 Use Tax 

 

500501 Use Tax.  Persons who buy equipment in other states are liable for the payment of 

a use tax at the same rate and on the same basis as the sales tax, with proper credit allowed 

for another state’s tax. 

 

501502 Purchases of property for resale are wholesale sales and exempt from sales or use 

tax. 

 

502503 (Reserved) 

 

35.IV.10.02 revised effective  December 21, 2024 

 

 

Chapter 03  Oil Field Services 

 

100 Levy 

 

1010 Persons involved in the business of providing services related to geophysical surveying, 

exploring, developing, drilling, producing, distributing, or testing of oil, gas, water, and 

other mineral resources isare subject to a four-and-one-half percent (4½%) retail sales tax 

on their gross income unless stated otherwise. Services connected to geophysical 

surveying, exploring, developing, drilling, producing, distributing, or testing of water 

resources that are not linked to the development of oil, gas, and other mineral resources 

development are subject to a seven percent retail sales tax rate.Every person engaging in 

the business of performing services in connection with geophysical surveying, exploring, 

developing, drilling, producing, distributing or testing of oil, gas, water and other mineral 

resources is liable for the regular retail rate of tax on gross income received except as 

otherwise provided.  

 

102  This Persons performing services in connection with geophysical surveying, exploring, 

drilling, producing, distributing, or testing of water resources not related to the 
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development of oil, gas, and other mineral  includesresources includes persons acting as 

operators or performing management services for a fee in connection connection with 

developing, producing or distributing mineral resources.  Consultants, supervisors, and 

engineers whose presence is required at the well site or inside the oil field on a permanent 

or continuing basis are considered to be engaged in an oil field service and are liable for 

sales tax.  Where the operator owns an interest in a well under his manage-

mentmanagement, he is liable for tax on compensation received from the other owners. 

 

103 Well operators that rebill services to nonoperating working interest owners on behalf of the 

joint account through the joint interest billing (JIB), where the sales tax has been paid or 

accrued by the operator shall not be charged a sales tax on the JIB as services income.  

 

104 For this chapter, aAn Operator “operator” holds all or a fraction of the working or operating 

rights in an oil or gas lease and is obligated for the costs of production either as a fee owner 

or under a lease or any other form of contract creating working or operating rights. 

 

1015 (Reserved) 

 

200 Gross Income 

 

2010 Any business which performs taxable services incurs business expenses which of necessity 

must be recovered through charges for its services.  Such expenses include meals and 

lodging for employees, mileage, equipment rental, and supplies such as chemicals, swab 

cups, and explosives which are used or consumed in the performance of services.  The term 

"gross income" includes charges made for recovery of these expenses and are taxable 

irrespective of the fact that they may be itemized or that the goods or services have borne 

a retail tax at the time of purchase. 

 

2021 Charges for transportation, outside an oil or gas field, in connection with rigging up or 

rigging down are not includable in taxable receipts.  Companies that rig up or down a 

derrick in connection with hauling said derrick are deemed to be in the transportation 

business and are subject to tax only on the portion of the service performed in the oil or gas 

field.  Transportation from one location in a field to another location in the same field is 

considered an oil field service taxable at the four and one-half precent regular retail rate of 

sales tax. 

 

2032 Services such as salt watersaltwater disposal, but not limited thereto, are considered oil 

field services taxable at the four and one-half percent regular retail rate of sales tax on the 

gross income received from such service.  Any transportation charges in connection with 

such services are considered an expense of performing the service and are not excludable 

from gross income. 

 

2043 "Gross income" from gathering and interpreting data within and without this sState may be 

apportioned between the states if adequate records are maintained.  "Gross income" does 

not include receipts which constitute reimbursement by clients for the cost of easements to 

cross or enter land of property owners for property damage payments.  In addition to 
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services ordinarily rendered, the operator of a management company may also act as an 

agent for well owners in arranging for other servicesservices.  In such cases, the operator 

is not liable for tax on receipts which represent rebilling to the owners of payments made 

to vendors by the operator for property purchased and services performed for owners on 

which the regular retail rate of tax has been paid to the vendors. 

 

204205  The gross income from oil field services performed in Mississippi is taxable 

at the regular retail four and one-half percent1/2 rate of sales tax with the following 

exceptions: however, 

1.  Compensation received from a contract in excess of $10,000 to drill, redrill or work   

over an oil well or a gas well is taxable at the 31/2% contractor's rate of tax.  

2. Nno sales tax is due when service is performed for another licensed dealer in the same 

service. 

 

2065 Adequate records must be maintained to substantiate exempt sales. 

 

2076 (Reserved) 

 

300 Equipment 

 

3010 Equipment purchases or rentals and purchases of supplies are taxable at the regular retail 

rate of sales or use tax. Purchase or rentals of equipment and materials used in connection 

with geophysical surveying, exploring, developing, drilling, redrilling, completing, 

working over, producing, distributing, or testing of oil, gas, and other mineral resources 

shall be taxed at the rate of four and one-half percent.   

 

3012 Manufactured or produced products withdrawn for use or consumption are taxable at the 

regular retail four and one-half percent rate of tax, measured by the cost or value when 

converted to use.  In no instance shall the value be less than the selling price of similar 

products. 

 

3023 (Reserved) A truck (chassis, motor, etc.) used to haul specialized equipment is taxed at the 

special  three percent rate of sales or use tax and the specialized equipment mounted thereon 

is  taxed at the four and one-half percent retail rare of tax when the equipment is used in 

 connection with geophysical surveying, exploring, developing, drilling, producing, 

 distributing, or testing of oil, gas, water, and other mineral resources. 

 

400 Permit Requirements  

 

401 Businesses working in oil and gas fields may apply for a permit that will allow them to rent 

or purchase equipment and materials to be used in the oil or gas field at the reduced four 

and one-half percent rate. Operators will be able to present the permit to vendors to be 

eligible for the reduced rate.  

 

402 Operators may apply for this permit on the Taxpayer Access Point (TAP) on the 

Department’s website.  
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403  Each permit will be issued for 4 years. 

 

 

35.IV.10.03 revised effective  December 21, 2024 
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