RE@E v

HERE IS THE ENTIRE BALLOT INITIATIVE [Noflizi

E

I

ELECTIONS DIVISION
nN- SECRETARY OF STATE

D

MISSISSIPPI'S CONSTITUTION SHALL BE AMENDED TO

ARTICLE 15, SECTION 286, AND ARTICLE FIVE, SECTION 124-A

ARTICLE 15, SECTION 286: The people of Mississippi declare an end to the prohibition on cannabis, and
fully legalize the use, taxation (if applicable), medical use, cultivation and sale of both industrial hemp,
and cannabis (as defined by the Federal Government), only for adults who are 21 years or older,
Cannabis farmers growing plants that exceed 8% THC lavels must secure their crops from unauthorized
harvesting. Cannabis, with THC levels exceeding 8% will be regulated and distributed like alcoho! and
cigarettes no later than 240 days from enactment. '

Regulations will require an annual Mississippi Cannabis Sales license issuad by any Mississippi County
Circuit Clerk for a fee of no more than $1500.00 to all adult residents, who apply, and a $500.00 annual
city or county governing locality fee to farm 25 - 500 plants, Locality fees for cannabis farms with more
than 500 plants will not exceed $5,000.00. A Mississippi excise tax will be placed upon cannabis plants in
excess of 8.0% thc, the excise tax is to be $5.00 per plant an never to exceed $10.00, an shall be
collected from proceeds of sale to a licensed and permitted retailer, A cannabis exchange shall be set up
in Jacksan, MS where the growers can bring their crops and registered buyers can purchase product for
sale at their retail establishments or wholesale customers. Lots of 25 or greater plants can be
auctioned. Every permitted grower shall be a member of the exchange. Each cannabls plant with 8% or
greater THC potency shall be equipped with a radio monitor bracelet from seedling to harvest and
enclosed in a secure an video monitored facility. A Mississippi sales tax of 7%, a county sales tax of 3.5%
and a municipality sales tax of 7% will be collected upon every sale, except sales for cannabis sold for
medicinal purposes shall be subject to 50% of the sales tax rate and for industrial hemp which will be
exempt from taxation. Mississippi Department of Health will be in charge of the licensing of
dispensaries and testing facilities to ensure quality of the cannabls. Sales License Fees and annual
tocallty fees are to be retained by the locality, Owners of 24 or fewer cannabis plants are not considered
farmers and are not required to pay a farming locality fee or excise tax. The 7% cannabis sales tax, and
the farming locality fees may be reviewed in 2030 and every 10 years thereafter. The cannabis sales tax
shall adjust with the state’s sales tax; farming locality fees may be adjusted but only by 10%. All sales
taxes collected shall be placed in the general funds of state, county and local municipalities for
distribution by the appropriate elected authorities, Cannabis-related crimes may be punished in a
manner similar to, or to a lesser degree, than alcohol-related crimes. The legislature shall add a process
for expunging the criminal record of any person convicted of non-violent cannabis possession, sales and
manufacture against the State of Mississippi. Industrlal hemp shall be regulated by the Dept. of
Agriculture. The Dept, of Health shall be responsible for a state-wide dispensary program and begin the
issuing of identification for medicinal cannabis patients within 180 days from enactment. The Dept. of
Health shall permit testing facilities for ensuring quality of cannabis.




Retail distributlon shall consist of any use or sale of cannabis flower past the point of purchase from the
cannabis exchange. Stems, Stalks an Seeds from the cannabis plant are exempt from taxation.
Convenience stores, Dispensaries, Vape shops, Liguor stores and Smoke shops shall be able to apply for
sales license. Convenience stores, Vape shops and Smoke shops may only offer cannabis products with
less than 13% thc content. Liquor stores and Dispensaries may offer the products above 13% the
content. Business owners within cannabis legal counties shall be able to establish cannabis consumption
protacol for their premises. The Chancery Courts of this state shall have the power to enforce this
section with injunctive rellef,

ARTICLE FIVE, SECTION 124-A; The governor shall pardon persons convicted of non-violent
cannabls violations against the State of Mississippi, both prior and current, within 60 days of receipt of
thelr written request, as long as they meet the qualifications. The Chancery Courts of this state shall
have the power to enforce this section with Injunctive relief,

AMOUNT AND SOURCE OF REVENUE REQUIRED TQ IMPLEMENT BALLOT

INITIATIVE; The estimated gross Income from the 7% cannabis sales tax is $50 million dollars for the
first 7 months of sales,

INTENT; it is the intent of this Amendment to the Mississlppi Constitution to legalize the use,
cultivation and sale of cannabis and industrial hemp for adults and regulate it like alcohol an cigarettes,
Mississippi will be fargiving.




