

352 Fourth Street P.O. Box 326 Lula, Mississippi 38644

Mayor and Board of Aldermen Town of Lula P.O. Box 326 Lula, MS 38644

## Ladies and Gentlemen:

At a meeting of the Town of Lula Municipal Election Commission, after certifying the candidates for mayor, five aldermen, and town clerk, we realized that each candidate is running unopposed. We contacted the town clerk to discuss our findings. We suggested to him that we did not see the need to hold an election and spend unnecessary town funds when there was no opposition in any seat. As we are not totally abreast of the procedure in this particular situation, Mr. Hosemann's Secretary of State office was contacted to seek advice on how to proceed.

As a result of the conversation, we found that the state election board is in agreement. Therefore, it is the recommendation of this commission that we do not hold a municipal election this term. Having been stated, we petition the mayor and board of aldermen to accept our decision in this matter and vote not to hold an election in June.

Respectfully submitted,

Mr. Willie Fletcher Ms. Joyce Miller Mrs. Estell Morgan Lula Election Commission

## Town of Lula

BOX 326 LULA, MISSISSIPPI 38644



May 5, 2017

Andrew Dailey Director of Election Compliance 401 Mississippi Street Jackson, MS 39201

Dear Mr. Dailey:

The Town of Lula Municipal Election Commission presented a letter to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen after certifying the candidates for Mayor, Aldermen, and Town Clerk in the up coming election, and after contacting your office if none of the candidates is running was unopposed we didn't have to have an election in June.

Attached you will find a copy of the letter to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen approving said request.

Respectfully submitted,

Rodrick D. Monroe

Town Clerk

Mayor Patricia Furdge - Unopposed

<u>Aldermen – Unopposed</u>

Lavonne Young

Andrew Brown

Nancy Johnson

James Mitchell III

Vincent Tompkins

All Unopposed

Town Clerk Rodrick D. Monroe - Unopposed