## BEFORE THE ELECTION COMMISSION FOR THE TOWN OF MERIGOLD

Re: 2017 Municipal Election

## MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ELECTION COMMISSIONERS OF THE TOWN OF E, BEFORE THE ELECTION COMMISSION FOR THE TOWN OF MERIGOLD, MISSISSIPPI AT ITS TOWN HALL

TOWN OF MERIGOLD Election Commission P.O. Box 348 Merigold, MS 38759 662-748-2765

**BE IT REMEMBERED** that the Election Commissioners met in a Regular Meeting at 3:00 p.m. on March 7, 2017 at the Merigold Town Hall, here being present, Town Clerk, Edna Scott Lloyd, and Election Commissioners Everett Fisher, Jeannie Smith and Deloris Anderson.

In accordance with Mississippi Code section 23-15-361, we the Election Commissioners of The Town of Merigold certify the candidates for Mayor, and Aldermen for Wards 1-2-3-4-& 5 are unopposed and since there is only one (1) person qualified as an independent candidate for each office, the Town of Merigold, MS, through its Election Commission hereby declares that the candidates qualified for Mayor and Alderman for Wards 1-2-3-4 & 5 are unopposed and therefore are deemed elected to their respective offices and the 2017 municipal elections are here by dispensed with. The names for those persons elected unopposed for the respective offices are as follows:

Andrew M. W, Westerfield - Mayor

Johnny W. Thomas- Alderman- Ward 1

Pierce L. Criss- Alderman- Ward 2

John Latham Myers- Alderman Ward 3

Ken McGarrh- Ward 4

Charles W. Miller- Alderman at Large

Jeannie Smith made a motion to certify the independent candidates as unopposed and therefore elected without the need of an General Election on June 6, 2017, and that all candidates meet all the qualifications required by law to hold office. The motion was duly seconded by Deloris Anderson and unanimously approved by all commissioners who voted in favor.

Signed March 7, 2017

Deloris Anderson

**Everett Fisher** 

leannie Smith

Attest: (

Town Clark Edna Scott Lloyd

SEAL:

JUN 0 9 2017

ELECTIONS DIVISION
SECRETARY OF STATE