## The Town of Taylor, Mississippi

Mayor James E. Hamilton Clerk Richard Williams Alderman Tim Bridges Alderman Betty Kisner Alderman Ellen Meacham Alderman Courtney Covington Alderman Jimmie Willingham

June 8, 2017 Municipal General Election (June 6, 2017) Tie Breaker Results

At 5:30 PM on June 8, 2017, the following candidates for Alderman:

42 Ellen Meacham

Tied 5th Seat (56% of Ballots Voted);

42 No

**Noel Montgomery** 

Tied 5th Seat (56% of Ballots Voted);

and the Town of Taylor Election Commissioners:

Richard McCoy; Keith Stewart; and Junie Sweeney;

and the following qualified electors as witnesses:

Lynnette Williams; and James Hamilton

met at the Taylor Town Hall to hold the tie breaker drawing of lots for the tied 5<sup>th</sup> alderman seat.

The results of the drawing of lot by way of rolling a die were Ellen Meacham 4, Noel Montgomery 2.

Winner is Ellen Meacham with the high number.

Candidates:

Ellen Meacham

Noel Montgomery

Election Commissioners:

Richard McCoy

Keith Stewart

Junie Sweene

Qualified Elector Witnesses:

Symmette William

Lynnette Williams

James Hamilton

Righardo Villiams

SMAL

12 Main Street, P. O. Box 6, Taylor, Mississippi 38673 • taylortownhall@att.net• 662.236.7551 • taylorms.org

Official Recapitulation		The Municipal Election Commissioners will prepare three Official Recapitulation Sheets containing the vote of the entire municipality by ward.  They will forward one copy to Delbert Hosemann, Secretary of State, P.O. Box 136, Jackson, MS 39205, file one copy with the Municipal Clerk, and keep the third copy for their records			
2017 General Election		OFFICIAL RECAPITULATION of votes cast in the General Election held in the Municipality of Taylor, Mississippi on the 6th day of June, 2017			
Votes cast in the Municipality of Taylor, Mississippi on the 6th day of June, 2017		Names of Election Wards			
Race and Candidate Names	Party	AT LARGE	Total	Percentage	
Mayor			•		
James E. Hamilton	I	,	70	93	
				4	
			_	-	
Alderman at Large					
Jimmie Willingham	1		52	169	
Carolyn (Lyn) Roberts	1		59	78	
Justin Reic			40	53	
Noel Montgomery		Tie Breaker - Lost Tie Breaker - WON	42	56	
Ellen B. Meachan		Tie Breaker - WON	42	56	
Courtney Covingtor			45	64	
Tim Bridge:	S 1		_5.7	75	
Writein Charlie McCain			2	3	
			- 1		
				10	

We, the undersigned Municipal Election Commissioners, hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and complete Recapitulation and statement of the results of a General Election held on the 6th day of June, 2017, in the Municipality of Taylor, Mississippi, and that the foregoing correctly shows the votes cast for each person and for the office set opposite the respective names at said election.

In Testimony Whereof, Witness our hands this garday of June 2017.

Municipal Election Commissioners of the Municipality of Taylor, Mississippi.

Town of Taylor, Mississippi, Town Clerk

JUN 1 3 2017

FLECTIONS DIVISION

## The Town of Taylor, Mississippi

Mayor James E. Hamilton Clerk Richard Williams Alderman Tim Bridges Alderman Betty Kisner Alderman Ellen Meacham Alderman Courtney Covington Alderman Jimmie Willingham

June 8, 2017 June 6, 2017 Municipal General Election Results

76 Total Ballots Voted
69 Regular Ballots
7 Absentee Ballots
1 Rejected Affidavit Ballot

## **VOTES**

MAYOR:

70 Jim Hamilton

Elected (93% of Ballots Voted)

## ALDERMEN (5 AT LARGE SEATS)

59 57 52	Carolyn (Lyn) Roberts Tim Bridges Jimmie Willingham	Elected (78% of Ballots Voted) Elected (75% of Ballots Voted) Elected (69% of Ballots Voted)
48	Courtney Covington	Elected (64% of Ballots Voted)
42	Ellen Meacham *Won tie breaker on	Tied 5th Seat (56% of Ballots Voted) June 8, 2017 Elected
42	Noel Montgomery *Lost tie breaker on	Tied 5th Seat (56% of Ballots Voted) June 8, 2017 Defeated
40	Justin Reid	Defeated (53% of Ballots Voted)

\*Tie breaker for the fifth alderman seat was held June 8, 2017 and Ellen Meacham won the lot.\*

Richard Williams

WN OFTOWNICIERK