The Office of the Secretary of State is dedicated to being both a service and information agency. There are eight divisions of the Secretary of State’s Office: Business Services & Regulation, Charities, Elections, External Affairs, Policy & Research, Publications, Public Lands and Securities. In addition, the agency employs executive and administrative staff which help oversee the various functions of the office.

The Business Services & Regulation Division administers Mississippi’s Corporation, Limited Liability Company and Uniform Commercial Code laws and handles filings related to business formations and other business regulation. The Division also issues notary commissions, registers correspondence schools, and administers trademark, service mark, and non-profit laws and serves as a default agent for service of process. It is also tasked with regulating pre-need/perpetual care providers, enforcing scrap metal laws in the State, and overseeing administrative procedures for State government.

The Charities Division oversees charities and nonprofits in the State, in addition to investigating potential charities fraud.

The Elections Division trains local elections officials, who run elections in Mississippi, and collects campaign finance and lobbying reports​.

The External Affairs Division develops partnerships with industry and business leaders throughout the state for economic growth opportunities and oversees legislative affairs.

The Policy & Research Division acts as a research and development arm for the agency, looking for new ways to streamline our services and develop potential legislation.

The Publications Division responds to press inquiries, handles all public communications, and receives and issues documents and publications of the State, including the Official and Statistical Register, known as the “Blue Book.” The division also oversees Promote the Vote and other educational outreach programs.

The Public Lands Division administers and supervises all state lands, including Agency Held 16th Section School Trust and Lieu Lands, Tax-Forfeited, and Public Trust Tidelands. 

The Securities Division administers Mississippi’s Uniform Securities Laws and investigates securities fraud.

The Constitution also designates the Secretary of State as “Keeper of the Capitol.”

The Offices of the Secretary of State locations are as follows:

401 Mississippi Street
Jackson, MS 39201-1004

125 S. Congress Street
Jackson, MS 39201

1141 Bayview Avenue (Suite 120)
Biloxi, MS 39530

5779 Getwell Rd., Bldg. D1
Southhaven, MS 38672

2844 Traceland Drive, Suite 100
Tupelo, MS 38801