THE THREE BRANCHES OF STATE GOVERNMENT 473 SEAT OF GOVERNMENT The Mississippi State Capitol is located between President and West streets on High Street in downtown Jackson. The current capitol building was completed in 1903 and is the third capitol building constructed in Jackson. Theodore Link, an architect from St. Louis, Missouri, designed the building. Construction costs totaled more than $1 million and were paid for by back taxes from the Illinois Central Railroad lawsuit settlement. Originally, the Beaux Arts-style building was created to house all three branches of Mississippi state government. Currently, the capitol contains formal chambers for the state Senate and House of Representatives and legislative staff and committee meeting rooms. The ceremonial office of the governor and the secretary of state also operate in the capitol. quality of data and data controls in public schools. The state treasurer serves as the chief financial officer for the state and maintains financial records (i.e. receipts, deposits, and disbursements) relating to funds that flow through the state’s coffers. The treasurer also invests state funds, serves as custodian of securities held by other agencies, pays state warrants, and manages unclaimed property. The treasurer administers Mississippi’s two 529 College Savings Programs: MPACT, Mississippi’s Prepaid Affordable College Tuition Program and MACS, Mississippi’s Affordable College Savings Program. The commissioner of agriculture and commerce promotes and regulates the business of aquaculture and agriculture in the state. The department performs regulatory functions in the areas of aquaculture inspection for all non- native species of fish and game fish for stocking and food consumption purposes. In addition, the Department of Agriculture and Commerce investigates agricultural theft and inspects meat, fruit, and vegetables sold for public consumption. The commissioner of insurance is charged with execution of all laws relative to all insurance companies, PHOTO COURTESY OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE’S OFFICE